Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

Christchurch Tramway

Hop aboard a vintage tram for a leisurely tour of central Christchurch. It’s the most relaxing, fun way to get your bearings and see the city's attractions and landmarks. The trams leave from Cathedral Square in downtown Christchurch. The route ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katherine B K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Truly enjoyed this experience. The food was great as was the staff. It was a fun and different way to enjoy dinner while seeing a bit of Christchurch.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Lloyetta W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent, unique experience. Pricey, but you pay a premium for nice food, and the wine pairings were lovely. Waitstaff was great, incredible service!

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Diane M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This is a wonderful tour and such a good way to see the city

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Suzanne B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The punting was good and something we wouldn't have thought of doing and the driver's local knowledge was very helpful.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

kmmkfriedel

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I enjoyed the dinner and the tram ride, but the sights were pretty limited and mostly construction sites. The tour company and Viator need to get their act together, as the tour company added a mid-day tour which shifted the time for the dinner tour by over 30 minutes. We got there a half hour earlier than scheduled to make sure we were on time, so we sat for over an hour. Due to a large group being on board, our tour was extended about another half hour because they required more servicing than the normal staff could handle, putting us an hour beyond our scheduled time. They actually had to let some other diners off because they needed to catch an early flight the next day. More narration would have been nice. I am sure that there is more of a guided tour on the earlier trips.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

susanna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great experience. The staff were fantastic and the meals were beautiful. This is a must do experience. The tram driver also stopped and let us off near our cars at the end of the night. A fun night.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful way to see Christchurch at night whilst we ate an amazing meal and sipped beautiful local wines and beer

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

fiona.towney

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I had a lovely sunny day for this trip - the punt, gardens and gondola were great - I'd especially like to thank Reg, our driver. I needed to get away a bit early to catch a flight - he was able to arrange an earlier departure for me from the gondola - without impacting the rest of the group - without a hassle - I even had time to jump on the tram for a few stops - a great trip

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing staff, delicious food, the tram itself is lovely!
There was no 'tour' I was l looking forward to learning about the beautiful city but we didn't get taught anything.
All staff were beautiful. I recommend the company including a TOUR.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

snoopy250cr Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, its worth while if you want to see Christchurch and surrounds.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

snoopy250cr Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our first time to new Zealand, what a great way to start with a great meal , seeing Christchurch at night.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Richard Pearce United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic food and lovely atmosphere. We did this dinner tour in winter and it was dark so there's not much to see but the driver gave some interesting information. Nevertheless, we highly recommend this tour as the quality of the food and high level of services was exceptionally good.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Jan A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Tram trip was so much fun and the meal absolutely superb. The constant movement was also a unique experience and the map to follow our route was very helpful. My only negative comment would be the trip could have been half an hour shorter. That last half hour dragged a little.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A most enjoyable way to have dinner. The fact that we were on the move was not a problem. We had a good meal

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic. Thank you to our driver and guide Barry. He is a wealth of information with a terrific sense of humour. The tour enables the tourist to see the diversity of Christchurch and surrounds. Great value for money. Memorable.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Diane U

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A Very relaxing evening and nice food. I was a little disappointed as I thought we got a commentary of the CBD as we went along but soon found out that was day time only. Apart from that very pleasant and friendly staff.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Carl D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The dinner was very nice. The food and service were both excellent and it was a fun ride with a chance to make some new friends. However, be aware that there is no narration about what you may be seeing from the tram, as they don't want to interrupt conversations. Very nice, but considering the area's recent history, some background/narrative would be nice.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Micheal L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Disappointed that the commentary going arund Christchurch was very limited, would like to have heard more.. The meal was excellent and the service level superb, really enjoyed the evening.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Kelvin Tan Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Worth to try it, as nothing much to explore in the city. Food and drinks was superb, with friendly duty manager and staffs to provide an unforgettable experience to dine in tram.

Doing what: Tramway Restaurant Dinner Tour of Christchurch

Colleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful way to see Christchurch. Recommend it to everyone. Highlight was the magnificent botanical gardens. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and very experienced. The weather was not great but we were undercover most of the time.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Fascinating review of the sites of Christchurch. Insightful tour leader

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

d4fwilson

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a great guide who knew a lot about the history of Christchurch. We particularly liked the Gondola and the restaurant at the top. Wonderful views of Christchurch, great and inexpensive food, lots of souvenirs to buy. The hop-on, hop-off tram was also fun as we wended our way through construction sites and saw the huge effort being made to rebuild Christchurch. Very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great tour and to experience the tragedy in Christchurch from the earthquake

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message