Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

International Antarctic Centre

Experience everything you want to know about the icy continent of Antarctica at the International Antarctic Centre, from indoor ice storms to Hagglund rides and penguins. Feeding time at the NZ Penguin encounter is hugely popular, as is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

6 of us did this trip and our driver was great. We also enjoyed the Antarctic exhibition . It was great to see Christchurch rebuilding but it still had beautiful flowers and plenty to offer. We were extremely sad to hear of the bush fires and the death of such a brave helicopter pilot. Would recommend this to any one visiting New Zealand. My apologies for forgetting driver's name have had a senior moment once again Marg from Brisbane

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Margaret M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour ! Really saw a lot of the beautiful countryside on the way into Christchurch. Tour guide did a great job taking us to the various places in Christchurch and explaining areas in depth - with a wide knowledge and deep feeling for the area

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Sgrossman1010

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very interesting and well run trip. Good value, Antartic center was excellent! The drive from Akaroa to Christchurch was ver scenic.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Neil A

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

This was a long day of touring with a lot of driving. The problem was trying to do too much with too little time. We lacked sufficient time to take in the exhibits at the Antarctic Centre and had virtually no time in Christchurch. The specialty exhibits at the Antarctic Centre were very interesting and well worth while.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

sue

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Our tour guide was forced to rush us through the tour because we had to wait for 3 extra tourist from another ship to fill up our bus, this made the whole trip less enjoyable as the tour guide keep reminding us to hurryup every 10 mts. the rest stops could have been organised better and the lunch bewak was very late about 2.30 pm and again we were reminded to hurry up as we were running late.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good tour, but a little bit more time in Christchurch would help.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Sandy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on this tour - the Antarctic Centre was one of the highlights of our entire trip, our kids loved it. We had a fantastic tour guide who was extremely informative - he gave a running commentary for the whole trip which was really interesting. We had a short tour around the earthquake affected areas of Christchurch, and then on to the Antarctic Centre. The reenactment of an Antarctic blizzard was very fun but very cold!!.

Just a word of warning - It's a 1.5 bus trip from Akaroa to Christchurch along very windy roads. If you suffer from motion sickness, you should definitely take medicine before the trip, make sure you sit towards the front and bring a sick bag in case you throw up on the trip as happened on our tour!.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Highly recommended! The trip from Akaroa which was a very pretty seaside village, worth investigating on its own to Christchurch was about an hour over the top of a volcanic rim and very pretty, while the Christchurch City Tour was very interesting and showed the determination and resourcefulness of the city in rebuilding after the massive earthquake almost six years ago. An absolute highlight was the International Antarctic Centre with a ride in a Haglund snow mobile and the 4D movie experience, together with the snow experience room and a close encounter with the penguins. Both the coach driver and the Antarctic Centre guide were very informative and a credit to the tourism industry on NZ. We loved it.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

David R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a full day tour. The drive to and from Christchurch was worth it with spectacular views. The Antarctic Center was really amazing - do not miss it, and the ride on the Haggelund vehicle memorable. The tour of Christchurch was quite detailed. We are till talking about the memorial white chairs in the city, 1 for each person who died in the earth quake. We highly recommend this trip that was very enjoyable and quite informative.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Richard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Loved this excursion. The ride to Christchurch from Akaroa is spectacular and the city tour of Christchurch was really interesting. There is still much construction going on and still more demolition needed. The reconstruction appears to be extremely well planned. The building and architecture are beautiful. We are just sorry that we didn't have several days to spend in this beautiful city. We equally enjoyed the Internstional Antarctic Center. We would highly recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

stepres

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip is fantastic! We had been before and knew that our 11 year old grandson would love it. He did --- definitely his favorite excursion during our 17 day cruise. Christchurch was interesting more from the perspective of the damaging earthquake that it 6 years ago --- so much of the city has yet to be re-built. But the International Antarctic Research Center is the BEST part of the tour. From riding in the Hagglund, to the penguin exhibit they were molting, to donning a parka and standing in an Antarctic blizzard, to viewing the 4-D movie plan to sit in the front row---it's all terrific. Of all the excursions we have been on around the world this rates in the top 5. It's a MUST.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Kymberly P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing tour, great sites, Antarctica center was fantastic, guide was very knowledgeable on sites in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Bob

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Mike, our guide was excellent, very knowledgeable about the area. The beginning of the experience was a disaster as we waited for the bus to arrive. It was raining buckets several tour groups were leaving at the same time 10:30am and there was no convenient place to wait so people were soaked. The on-ground staff person did not communicate very well as far as which bus we should take - a complete mess! The drive to Christchurch and driving tour of the city were very informative. The International Antarctic experience was okay informative, but the Antarctic guide rushed us through lunch and the exhibits and appeared to be new in her position. She kept changing the order of events and was disorganized.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

cabbage

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The content of this trip was excellent but there was just not enough time to cover it all. The drive to Christchurch was spectacular but long and slow due to the winding and hilly terrain. The bus also needed more power to make it up the hills! It was an eye opener to see the earthquake damage in Christchurch and the plans for rebuilding are interesting. Makes you want to come back in 10 years time to see how it all looks in the end. The Antarctic Centre was well worth the visit but was rushed due to lack of time, and there was a lunch break of all of 15 minutes at the end of the trip. Driver and guides were great. A slightly earlier start might help with the time constraints.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

marysuen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to the International Antarctic Centre was terrific. We were pleased to go to Christchurch but felt so much for the people who suffered the earthquake 5 years ago. Would have loved more time in Botanical Gardens and Museum.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

sirius

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Mike was our tour guide and was informative and drove safely and courteously given our bus was on the slow side. Lots of driving to get to Christchurch. The views where spectacular through Banks Peninsula LHS of bus better going to Christchurch. Lots of car parks where high rise building once stood in Christchurch but hard to visualise and comprehend the destruction that occurred. Mike relayed his personal story which made you realise the dramatic effect and impact it had on so many, and you pass by the location where most people lost their lives in one building which makes you reflect on the devastation.

However, the stop in Christchurch is fleeting at best and more like a toilet stop unfortunately so not a lot of time to explore on your own. A stop at the church that is still damaged whilst they decide what to do with it reminds you of how it must have looked shortly after the quake.

After a drive through Christchurch with the couple of stops, we were off to the airport - as that's where the Antarctic Centre is. Fantastic experience but again not enough time to enjoy it. We did the big ticket items there as a group Penguins/Ride/Cinema/Blizzard but had at best 40 mins to eat, shop and explore on our own - for a place like this, you'd need a couple of hours to fully explore. Not sure I'd go back there having done it the once either...Kids would really enjoy it but they wouldn't enjoy the long ride on the coach to get there IMO.

On the way back, Mike stopped for a few opportune photo stops which were magnificent.

Glad we made the effort to go to see Christchurch as was one our list of to do's in NZ. The Antarctic centre is a great attraction highly recommend to do it at some stage but whether I'd do it if the intention was to see Christchurch is debatable as it was a long day with little time actually in Christchurch - maybe there isn't that much to do there at the moment either?

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

CHRISTOPHER J B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had a brilliant day! All organisation was excellent but the highlight of the trip was the Antarctic Centre.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Shane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour..a wonderful drive into Christchurch from the port. Well worth the drive as you see such lovely scenery. The Antarctic Centre was great especially the blizzard storm at -18 degrees. Recommend this tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Stuart R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We were very lucky to be the only two people on the tour so had complete attention from the guide, he was brilliant from beginning to end.

Doing what: Discover Christchurch Sightseeing Tour with optional International Antarctic Center Admission

Elisa F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Tour was good except not enough time factored in for lunch break in the day. The International Antarctic is a must. Very good item in the intinerary. The drive to Christchurch from Akaroa is spectacular. Plenty to see, would have liked more time in Christchurch.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Anthea J

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The bus ride was way too long. Due to the earthquakes, the port was a long way. 3 hours on the bus is what ruined this tour.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Lyndall S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Late leaving the port on our tour due to inefficient tender system from cruise ship. No fault of the tour company. We left minus 2 passengers but the tour operator transported them to Christchurch and met us at the Antarctice Centre! Picturesque drive both ways to and from Christchurch. Arctic Centre visit was cut short due to loss of time waiting at port - definitely worth 2-3 hr visit. Drive through Christchurch again was hurried but we were time pressured. Our driver was full of information. Great day out.

Doing what: Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and the International Antarctic Centre

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message