Christchurch ATTRACTIONS See all

TranzAlpine Train

Praised as one of the most incredibly scenic train journeys in the world, the TranzAlpine chugs its way from Christchurch to Greymouth, via Arthur's Pass, daily. Making its way from one coast of New Zealand to the other, from the Pacific Ocean ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catherine L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Viator set up a five day tour of the South Island of New Zealand for us with less than 24 hour notice! Had a wonderful time . Itinerary was planned for us including transportation , hotels, tickets to sights, and meals. We were given a daily schedule of various activities . Easy to follow and all events went off without problem s. Viator makes traveling hassle free! Would definitely use this service again.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Rohan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great Experience - beautiful scenery from the train going there, while there and while headed back. John was a great guide and a great host and company for the small group!
The walks were intensive but uncomplicated and the scenery quite breathtaking.
Thank you!
Rohan

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Patricia A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The sights were great to see. Organized logistics - everything on schedule. Long distance from Christchurch to Queenstown but necessary just be prepared for it. Bus drivers talked way too much. Nice to learn things but passengers need a break at times.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Luke T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great option for those looking to get a brief taste of the NZ wilds without straying too far from Christchurch. Day was pretty much what it says on the box. Pickup from hotel in a custom-built 4WD, off-road adventure right up into the foothills overlooking Christchurch, jetboating through the Waimakariri River gorge followed by delicious lunch, then drive up to Arthur's Pass and return by scenic TranzAlpine train. Driver/guide was very friendly and involved. Run by Hassle Free Tours and that's what it was.

Doing what: Full-Day Alpine Safari 4WD tour including TranzAlpine Train from Christchurch

Preeti

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing experience while covering major spots on the South Island of New Zealand. The natural beauty in the country is breath taking. Great experience. Everything was well planned and went as planned.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Suresh G R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Myself and my wife did this tour and Gaike was our guide. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip, food was awesome, locations were scenic and company of Gaike - the guide was wonderful.

Doing what: Full-Day Alpine Safari 4WD tour including TranzAlpine Train from Christchurch

Katherine B K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed this tour. It was well run, our guide was very informative, and we got to experience a lot of things in one day. I would recommend it highly.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

kongclara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip and the driver marina was so nice and experience light up the trip

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Shivi S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were fortunate to have our own private tour van Canterbury Leisure Tours and tour guide Sue. We were picked up from our hotel and transported to the Springfield train station where we boarded the TranzAlpine train to Arthur's Pass. The train has a viewing deck from which one can not only see the amazing landscape gorges, braided stream beds, snow-capped mountains, etc. but also take some fantastic photos.Our very friendly and knowledgeable tour guide Sue met us at Arthur's Park and spent the rest of the day showing us around the park and surrounding areas. The visit to a sheep farm was one of the highlights of the day. Despite the cold temperatures, it was a memorable trip!

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Leonard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had limited time in Christchurch and one of the highlights we wanted to experience was the TranzAlpine train ride. It was proving to be a logistical problem because if we rode it all the way to Greymouth we would be on the train all day. Then we found the Day Tour and this allowed us to experience the train, enjoy the Coach ride which allowed us to get off for photo opportunities. In addition, we had the jet boat ride and the visit to the Farm. It was a small group which made it even more enjoyable and seemingly less commercial. We highly recommend this to anyone and especially if you are trying to get the most out of your day.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Lori S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I was in NZ on business and wanted to get a feel for the South Island in as little time as possible. This was the perfect tour! I hate to call it a tour because it is not your typical bus tour where you are with the same people the entire 5 days. You will be on 4 different buses. Don't let that throw you off! The tour company is well organised and provides all the details you need to get where you are going. I even had pre-booked taxis, all of which arrived on time, to take me to two of the bus pick-ups. On the final leg, the tour operator met me at the rail station and took me to my hotel. I felt like I had personalised treatment and enjoyed that I wasn't with the same people all 5 days. Make sure you call to confirm in advance. When I arrived at my Christchurch hotel, a packet was waiting for me at the desk with the detailed itinerary with times, hotels, etc.

Now about the itinerary. Perfect! The views! The bus drivers are as good as tour guides. They are knowledgeable on the area, the history and keep a running commentary throughout. There are scheduled comfort breaks and photo opportunities. The first day the main stop was Mount Cook. Wow! Don't doze off on the drive at any point in the 5 days or you will miss breathtaking views! The day ends in Queenstown which is your base for the next 3 nights. A taxi picks you up the next morning to catch the bus to Milford Sound. This is a long day, but amazing. Of course, it helped that the weather was incredible. I almost didn't get off the bus at Mirror Lake because there were so many people BUT DO IT! The mountains reflect into the water. Your photos will look like postcards! The hotels chosen by the tour company were great. Heritage in Queenstown pay the extra for breakfast and Scenic Hotel at Franz Josef where I was upgraded to their spa hotel. The scenic ride on the train was also amazing. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Emma R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was great! Would definitely recommend to others. If you're going during New Zealand's fall or winter, be sure to pack some warm clothes as the mountain will probably be chilly. The sheep farm owners, Trevor and Heather, were very nice and welcoming. The jet boat tour was tons of fun, and they provide jackets, clothes, and hats for you if you need them. Sue, our guide, was also great and very knowledgeable!

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Sharmila P

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Overall it was great, itinerary could not be beat to cover in 5 days. Canterbury travels was very organized and responsive. There were few hiccups. The taxi ride to the bus on the last day in Queenstown did not show up, we had to call. We were last in the bus and seating was scattered. Hotel in Queenstown could have been better. We were not near the water or the City Center. Rooms were ok. Queenstown, Mt. Cook, Franz Josef Glacier, Tranzalpine rail trip were amazing, spectacular. The tour was a very good price and covered a lot in 5 days. Would do it again.

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent day out. Expensive but worth it. Even though the weather was overcast and it rained the scenery was amazing.Take the jet boat ride - best part of a good day.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Harry Saputra

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

My tour leader: Chris Platt is very nice person. he is friendly and helpful.
I like the national park, amazing..

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Anne B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The train was crowded and the viewing car packed, so that part of the journey failed to live up to expectations. The return trip by minibus was far better though as we were able to stop and enjoy the scenery.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

RICHARD S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

absolutely fabulous

Doing what: 5-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch

Dan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The scenery was beautiful on the train trip. It gave you a sense of what the country was about. Sue our driver did a great job of telling us about NZ and answered all our questions. I would recommend this trip to everyone and would do it again. Dan O'Neal

Doing what: Arthur's Pass Day Tour including TranzAlpine Express Train from Christchurch

Gordon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Brilliant day out.
We were picked up from our hotel for our adventure.
our driver was very good and gave us details about the areas we travelled through.
The 4WD experience was good and we were taken high enough to get some stunning views of the Canterbury plains.
We were then taken to the alpine Jet for a thrilling ride on the Waimakariri river. This included a number of 360 degree turns. Lunch was fresh and plentiful. A nice drive to Arthurs pass befor boarding the Tranzalpine train back to Christchurch. The train has two viewing coaches from which you can take photos of the stunning scenery before being collected by our driver and taken back to our hotels.
Would thoroughly recommend this tour

Doing what: Full-Day Alpine Safari 4WD tour including TranzAlpine Train from Christchurch

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Nice train ride and great to have small group. Our driver/guide did a great job of taking care of us.

Doing what: Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Small Group Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message