Christchurch is often described as the most English of New Zealand's cities. But for all its self-consciously inherited charm, it can hold its own as a thoroughly modern New Zealand city. Kiwi art has pride of place in the city's gallery, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great trip. It just ended up being our party of 4 which was fantastic. We skipped the Botanic Gardens and opted for more time at the top of the mountain. The punting boat ride was excellent. Highly recommend this tour :

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Kathleen Anne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

breathtakingly views over Christchurch with our wonderful pilot Jonno who gave us expert commentary throughout our flight. This was an unhurried flight you didn't feel like you were being hurried and he was happy to answer all questions and flew over the main parts of the coast and city. Now compared to other helicopter flights we have taken mainly in the U.S. this was excellent value for money and a must try experience.

Doing what: Christchurch Helicopter Tour

Bev B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We saw the old and the new of Auckland. We covered the whole city. A great way to see the city.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

sschneider11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pino was a great guide.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

JAMES O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a very good value for the money as we only had one full day2 nights in Christchurch. We arrived late in the day via the train the night before the earthquake in November and left early the morning after. The gondola did not start operating until later in the day for safety checks, but we able to go and enjoy great views of the city and its surroundings. Having experienced an earthquake firsthand, we were really ready for a slow-paced, laid-back day, and the punt ride delivered, as did the caterpillar ride thrush Botanic Gardens. Both guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Our hop-on-hop-off tour was not as long as we would have liked, but we were late in the day getting on. Again, the driver was well-informed and very helpful, as we were the last two on the tram as it ended for the day. Wish we hah had more time in Christchurch, but were covering as much of this beautiful country as possible in the 2 weeks we had.

Doing what: Christchurch Sightseeing Pass

Robert United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Really varied trip .,, you get three hours at the gondola . Which if you do a walk works out fine but otherwise could be too late Mt.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Alexandra G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Did not have time for thermal pools but jet boat experience was another highlight of our holiday. Enjoyed the trip round Christchurch.

Doing what: Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools and Jet Boat Day Trip from Christchurch

Ash Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was really good and exciting and the views were so stunning but I thought a little risky with the boat so close to the rocks.

Doing what: Waimak Gorge Jet Boating from Christchurch

Richard C D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An easy way to get around the center of Christchurch. The trams, we rode on, were old motor cars from the US. Motor man gave a good overview of the areas we passed. Make sure to visit Re:START Mall quaint shopping and eating in businesses housed in shipping containers, Canterbury Museum, Antigua Boat Sheds go punting on the Avon river, and transfer at the museum to the Gondola shuttle transfers you to gondola ride which allows tremendous views of the city. Admission for the latter two are included in the Pass fee.

Doing what: Christchurch Sightseeing Pass

Joyce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful trip! The route design is very well, take you to the most beautiful place in NZ.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful scenery and overall wonderful day. Small size of the tour made it very special. Loved taking the short hike to see more of the area!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Maria R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had a amazing trip. well worth the experience.

Doing what: Christchurch Sightseeing Pass

Diane M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This is a wonderful tour and such a good way to see the city

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Suzanne B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The punting was good and something we wouldn't have thought of doing and the driver's local knowledge was very helpful.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

DAVID D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I didnt do that trip!!!!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

fiona.towney

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I had a lovely sunny day for this trip - the punt, gardens and gondola were great - I'd especially like to thank Reg, our driver. I needed to get away a bit early to catch a flight - he was able to arrange an earlier departure for me from the gondola - without impacting the rest of the group - without a hassle - I even had time to jump on the tram for a few stops - a great trip

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

snoopy250cr Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, its worth while if you want to see Christchurch and surrounds.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

john.bewley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a very good day well recommend

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

C J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed our gondola ride - gives a good sense of the 'lay of the land'. Operators happy to help. We were pleased we chose Christchurch for our weekend escape - great to support the city in this way.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Patricia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was fantastic. Thank you to our driver and guide Barry. He is a wealth of information with a terrific sense of humour. The tour enables the tourist to see the diversity of Christchurch and surrounds. Great value for money. Memorable.

Doing what: Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On Hop-Off Tram

Woz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth doing - was great. Booked this directly through the Viator App and simply presented the voucher and away I went. Great scenery and the views are amazing. You also get the 'history' mine tour' which is free and worth doing also.

Doing what: Christchurch Gondola Ride

Dianne J

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great way to see the city. Shame we didn't have more time. One day not enough do all

Doing what: Christchurch Sightseeing Pass

Aydin M A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great trip. We had a great guide, Hank, who was extremely helpful. The weather was not cooperative but we had, I believe, one the rare experiences of seeing a glacier in the middle of a snow storm. A trip I will never forget. Thanks again.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message