Travel through the rolling hill country of North Canterbury, enjoying the beauty of its rural pastoral scenes, to Kaikoura where the mountains meet the sea. Only three hours from Christchurch, the rugged coastline around Kaikoura offers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yeong Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It is an amazing and awesome trip to me and my wife. Strongly recommended

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale and Dolphin Overnight Tour from Christchurch

Natalie R I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

I don't know if I booked something wrong or misread but I did not expect to be completely by myself for the tour, I thought that I would be part of a tour group. Other than that the places and the sights and activities were great! I would love the same tour but with more people to meet!

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Aaron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Everything went well, Hank, our personal driver, was there punctually in the morning, to pick us up. We had a nice ride north to Kaikoura. The whale watching was great, although a lot of people got seasick. We saw lots of birds and two, almost three sperm whales!
The train ride back to Christchurch was comfy, we were very tired though because of the jetlag, so we slept most of the ride home.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including Coastal Pacific Train Journey

mai.shihah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wish that the transit in Taupo Lake was longer...10 minutes was like touch and go...and should not be listed as highlight of the tour...

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

pigglywiggly

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic, the best tour we took in two weeks, the scenery on our trip was outstanding , don't miss it. It was not a 5, it was a 10

Doing what: Kaikoura Quad Bike Tour from Christchurch

Frances R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was just the 3 of us booked onto the tour over the winter season so we were picked up by Des in his car and had our own ersonalised tour experience which was great! He kept us well informed of many sights along the journey from christchurch to kaikoura, unfortunately the dolphin swim was cancelled, however we swapped to go on the albatross tour which was great and viator refunded the difference in cost. Gary the skipper was a great host and even found us some dolphins! As we had time to kill before the tour, Des took us and showed us the seal colony and done other bits in kaikoura. All in all a great experience and would definitely recommend :

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Jeremy Tsz Yik K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

One of the best experience I've had swimming with dolphins. Highly recommended. I was initially worried about being cold in the water, but the wetsuits were extremely warm.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale and Dolphin Overnight Tour from Christchurch

Jonathan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, well organised, tour guide was very helpful, Encounters Kaikoura were excellent, dolphins were amazing, would highly recommend!

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Alkhattab

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was good trip but the wave was too high and I got sea sickness.
I did not enjoy it that much.
If you are planning to go take sea sickness tablet .
We did not manage to see the whale and we get partial refund.
Boat stuff was very good and very helpful.
The boat was nice.
It was great adventur

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including Coastal Pacific Train Journey

David R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent experience with close to 300 dolphins who were very friendly and playful. The guide and equipment were good. It wasn't nearly as cold as I expected (wet suits kept us warm).

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Uolevi K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was ok, but why 5 days' tour is only 4 days tour with one free day? Heidi and Uolevi

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

mana

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

we saw a male Sperm whale,it's awesome!!

Doing what: Kaikoura Albatross Encounter Tour from Christchurch

Spacecloud

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2013

The dolphin encounter itself was an amazing experience. We got 5 swims and during the first 2 we had dolphins everywhere, swimming in groups all around us. I loved the fact they are wild and there by their own free will, not encouraged or fed. I would not want to swim with dolphins in a captive, artificial environment. I did get sea sick but to be fair they did put out a sea sickness warning and luckily it was after the swims.
My only complaint was the transfer itself, the driver was awful. I've never met a more grumpy, miserable man in all my life. He insisted on picking us up from the boat so we had to lug all our stuff around with us rather then leave it onsite and didn't get a chance to eat after. We were starving after the 3 hour drive back to Christchurch, especially after the seasickness!!

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Caroline D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Great tour with a well timed itinerary and wonderful local staff. Would have been useful to know of the names of the local places of accommodation or at least what type of rooms we were booked into as we could have made better use of the kitchenettes if we had known. It would also be helpful to have it stated clearly and upfront, that this is a self-guided tour with the occasional input from local operators. It was not a draw back for us, but certainly not expected when booking a "tour".

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Robert L USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2012

This was OK. The whale watching itself was amazing and we got to see Kaiko for a long time. The guide was nice but the wait between whale watching and the train back home was long (2.5 hours) without anything to do.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including Coastal Pacific Train Journey

Sheila D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

The details of this trip read that it was a tour. I signed up alone for my first trip to New Zealand. I expected a tour where the same people would be with me for the duration. This was very different. One day, I was transported to a public bus, which I rode for the day to Wellington. The hotel was in an area too far for any real sight seeing. You are left on your own quite a bit. That was OK in a couple of stops since there were things you could do and see on your own. I did enjoy NZ quite a bit and was able to see a bit of both islands. The tour ends in Christchurch. I was moved by what the people of Christchurch have been through. I think you should reconsider the end city of the tour. Access to the city, where most tourist attractions were, is closed. Based on the other Viator tours I've taken, this rated very low.

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Joel F

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

very nice trip
would book again!

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Sophie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Totally amazing. Best thing I did in New Zealand and I did a lot! Really really good. Dolphins everywhere, great interactions, beautiful animals. Do it!
Word of warning: at the moment (May/June 2011) Christchurch isnt very busy so this tour may not happen at all, or not on the day you want it to. My 2 dolphin swims got moved around to fit in with numbers so you may need to be flexible.

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

JOE P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Wonderful day & extremely well managed by the tour company when everything went south. Everyone was accommodated and nothing was lost. I cannot say enough for the tour company personnel and the way they handled everything...especially the driver, Chris. DON'T MISS THIS ONE!!!

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including Coastal Pacific Train Journey

Filomena P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

Make sure you travel light when you take this tour. You will be at the bus station, waiting for your particular bus to get you to your tour. One of the hotel ( Mercure)we stayed as not nice and no elevator, so we have to carry our large heavy luggage naad there was no porter to help us.

Doing what: 5-Day New Zealand North and South Island Highlights Trip

Valerie P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The owners run this amazing experience from the comfort of their own farm! The whole loop was a breathtaking view of the mountains and the coast and seeing their sheep and cows roaming was a bonus! Excellent teachers, they really let you take the time to learn how to ride the quad and the view really is spectacular. It's the best way to see Kaikoura!

Doing what: Kaikoura Quad Bike Tour from Christchurch

Lesley S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

We only had a short stay in NZ so wanted to see as much as we could. Guide on bus was very informative, the whale watch was good - professional, good safety briefing and equipment and we saw whales and dolphins. The train trip back enabled us to see more of the countryside. Pickups from hotel were good. Best to do 1 way coach and 1 way train.

Doing what: Kaikoura Whale Watch Tour from Christchurch including Coastal Pacific Train Journey

Maciej B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Most amazing experience ever! Very personal, friendly tour connecting with the Dolphin Encounter in Kaikoura, which is a one-of-a-kind experience in the world. You can't miss out on this one!!

Doing what: Kaikoura Swim with Dolphins Tour from Christchurch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message