On New Zealand’s South Island, Aoraki (Mt. Cook) soars up to 3,750 meters (12,315 feet) over the country’s Southern Alps. Australasia’s highest mountain, it’s one of the most popular day trip excursions from Christchurch, 330km (205 miles) away to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 75 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sonia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great way to travel between Christchurch and Queenstown. Although it made me wish I were staying in the Mt Cook village for an evening! Beautiful sights. If you can afford it, add on the lunch, it is bloody delicious.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Barbara H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I'm so glad I did this! The bus tour is a delightful way to not only see the beautiful countryside between Christchurch and Queenstown, but to learn more about it as well. The bus driver was amazing in what he shared about the land and about New Zealand itself. I actually took notes on what he shared so I would not forget it! The lakes we saw were breathtaking too.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

terrynancylynch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a good way to see the South Island on a short stay. The bus drivers were quite good at explaining what we were seeing as well as giving us a general history of New Zealand. We even got a partly guided tour from one Inter City driver that was not part of the package.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

sschneider11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Pino was a great guide.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Joyce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a wonderful trip! The route design is very well, take you to the most beautiful place in NZ.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Mary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Beautiful scenery and overall wonderful day. Small size of the tour made it very special. Loved taking the short hike to see more of the area!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

DAVID D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I didnt do that trip!!!!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Lucilla L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We enjoyed the tour to Queenstown via Mt Cook and the stops on the way.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

wehttamuk

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We booked this mainly as a means of transport from Christchurch to Queenstown, but expected a little more than we got. Be aware that this is basically just a very long bus journey with a rest stop in between.

We did stop at a couple of picturesque lakes along the way, but were only given 10mins at each. We then had a 30min stop in a souvenir shop/cafe, 15mins at a petrol station and another 20mins at a fruit n veg stall. I'm probably not like most in this regard, but I would have taken 20mins at each of the lakes and cut down the stops elsewhere. The trip to the fruit n veg stall was particularly annoying, as not only can I buy fruit n veg at home as well as in Queenstown and Christchurch.....and everywhere else in the world, but had I wanted to take any of it home with me the strict rules on import/export of these goods would not allow it.

When we arrived at mount cook, the weather was too poor to actually see it obviously this is not a fault with the tour, just bad luck on our part, but we then had an hour or so to explore a coffee shop. We went for a brief walk in the surrounding area, but couldn't really go far due to having to be back for the bus.

Overall a long day with a lot of spectacular scenery on the way, but don't expect to stop at many of them - unless you really like the look of Prunes and Oranges

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Anson M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect way to travel all the way from Christchurch to Queenstown, especially if you do not want to drive or fly - as you would definiely miss out the most amazing views of New Zealand! The coach is large and comfortable. We get to stop every 2hours to get photos taken and to have some break for a long day. Lunch arrangement beside the glacier is fantastic. A very packed day but not tiring at all. Really enjoy it, Mt. Cook and Lake Tekapo is amazing. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Bob O Mexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great way to spend 4 days. Being on a coach gave us a different perspective of the landscape having traveled for 4 days on the train previously.

Doing what: 4-Day Great Southern Island Circle Tour from Christchurch

Aydin M A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a great trip. We had a great guide, Hank, who was extremely helpful. The weather was not cooperative but we had, I believe, one the rare experiences of seeing a glacier in the middle of a snow storm. A trip I will never forget. Thanks again.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Michael C

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

great driver! the tour was very good too. loved the scenery along the way.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Michael C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

we missed our bus and the company rebooked us for the next day. since this was our means of transport to Queenstown, this saved our trip

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Jing C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a Fantastic trip we had! Thank You very much The Road Trip for organising this Amazing and Exciting tour for our family. My wife and I are very grateful for having a great tour guide, and he has become a friend of ours. Our tour guide was eager to show us all the beautiful scenery and activities that are available at the south Island. We can feel that he loves New Zealand and is passionate of New Zealand's natural wonders and cultures, and we feels that there is no better tour guide to have than someone who really knows and loves New Zealand.
Thank You The Road Trip and Simon and we will be back.

Doing what: Private Tour: 8-Day South Island Tour from Christchurch Including Franz Josef, Wanaka and Queenstown

garywyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great scenery including Mount Cook.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Comfortable bus, and regular stops along the way for photos and refreshments. Our driver's Mark commentary very informative and interesting. The views at Lake Pukaki and Mt Cook were fantastic. We were fortunate to have clear sky around the mountain.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Kathleen M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour overall was superb. It's a long day but a lot is packed in. The day started off rainy so I wasn't sure how much we would see but as the day went on, the sun came out and once we got to Mount Cook National Park it was beautiful. I really enjoyed that part of the day and the climb up to see the Tasman Glacier was amazing. Our guide was also helpful along the way.

I was expecting a little more direction throughout the day and timings weren't particularly clear. The microphone system also didn't work very well meaning we missed some of what he was telling us - I like to know as much as I can about the places I'm visiting so that was a bit frustrating.

Overall though, a superb day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Rachel P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

It is a long drive, bring an iPod or something for the journey but a nice day. The weather wasn't in our favor and we weren't able to see Mt. Cook. Morning Tea was great but lunch for me was lacking. I wished for more from the buffet. Even without great weather it was still a nice day.

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

kathysapp

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Our tour bus was initially a little late departing, so our time at Mount Cook was limited, but the meal was rushed but good. Overall, this was a good way to travel from Christchurch to Queenstown and see some great scenery along the way!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Nathan T

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Rush Rush Rush!! The description said you would stop and a winery or a wool place, neither of these happened on our trip! The lunch at the Hermatige was fairly average and if you don't like Asian cuisine then you would go hungry! Driver was not very helpful with us taking our flight and rushed us!

Doing what: Explore Mount Cook from Christchurch

Jason C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The driver was really knowledgeable and despite the bad weather, the trip was well worth it.

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Ranjiv R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Very good experience, fantastic and experienced driver!

Doing what: Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook One-Way Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message