Cologne ATTRACTIONS See all

Cologne Old Town (Altstadt)

Old Town is in many ways, the heart and soul of the city. It's near the Köln Dom, surrounded by "the Ring," a ring of streets, botanical space, and promenades following the path of the old city's walls. Inside the ring and along the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carmel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It's a nice experience I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Michael B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Nice cruise, food was nothing special and entertainment was so-so

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

sally

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The cruise was lovely, well done and the narration was excellent - in English and in German. I was interested to see so many German tourists as well as people from all parts of the world taking this cruise. The hop-On Hop-Off bus tour - the first bus was excellent and the gal that did the narrating was excellent as well as the bus driver, The last bus driver - did not speak English, had a taped narration and was a bit crude since he did not know English. Plus he was late getting there.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

jtrenwith

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

A very pretty town - must remember to let the driver know that you want to get off - does not stop unless requested.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Daniel H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

We arrived at the office to pick up our tickets only to find that the buses were not running. So we lost the most bey for the Hop on bus. You didn't give any indication on your site that the buses didn't run on Sundays. We're disappointed in the cruise which was very boring and we felt pressured to buy things in the dining room setting. Overall very disappointing

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Christopher N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was our highlight of our Hop-On-Hop-Off and our stay in Cologne. This river ride is highly recommended and no visitor to Cologne should give this a miss.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Rhey

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was raining hard that day we did not enjoy it much. But it and #39;s a good way to see the city. Cologne is a simple city with gothic flare. A combination of old and new. Just be careful all the time and be mindful of your belongings. We are a victim of theft at the Central Station.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

janettejaudines

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We didnt quite enjoy these tours though the hop on hop off bus tour was convenient to visit the places of interest. I suggest to make use of the free earphones to hear the interesting facts pertaining each place. Its just that the bus conductors did not offer the earphones the first time we hopped on and validated our tickets. We had to ask for it the second time we hopped on. For first timers who are not familiar, the tourist may hesitate to even ask.
The rhine river sightseeing cruise was a bore....and we just kept cruising on the same spot. The coverage of the cruise in the river seems limited....

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Karin S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It might be good to include directions to the voucher/ticket booth. River cruise was awesome! Bus tour was good. The first bus I rode was with a live guide and very good. Unfortunately we encountered some mechanical issues and the bus had to stop for several minutes while they fixed the problem. Second bus I had to use head phones. This would not have been a problem if they had told me that and told me which dial number to use as I entered the bus. Tour was good for the price.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Cynthia C Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Nice tour to get overview of City. Changed the route from when I booked, so didn't see a couple of items.
Easy to locate near train station and Cathedral.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Nathan H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The hop-on hop-off tour was extremely convenient and took us to many attractions around town. The Rhine cruise provided some great views of Köln along the river. With this said the tour was ruined by some latecomers who were loud and shouldn and #39;t have been allowed on the boat (showed 5 mins late!)

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Vivian

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The bus tour station was difficult to find and the main central station did not really give us good direction.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Linda C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

There is just not a lot to see in this crowded, dirty city. The botanical gardens were awesome and of course, the DOM was an amazing experience as well. Those are the only worthwhile reasons to get off the bus. Enjoyed this but needed more.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Chase D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

River Tour: PA speaker sounded like crap, the sights were cool but I got the feeling like it was more about getting people to buy what's on board. I was either very tired or kind of bored because it was easy to doze off.
Bus Tour: Great way to see sights around town.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Beverley M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Earphones not working could not hear the guide!

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Michelle G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The city was nice to see but I was not happy with the bus driver on my first day. The guide onboard did not speak English well and directed us to the wrong ticket office to exchange the voucher. The woman there said the drivers don't know where to tell people to go for the exchange we had to walk at least 15 minutes to get the ticket. I don't like the fact that even paying for the voucher we had to get a ticket somewhere else. That is inconvenient in a strange city so I doubt I will buy vouchers again.
We were also not offered a headset and when I did see others returning one I was glad I didn't have one because the same headsets were passed to other people without sanitation! I brought my own headset on the second day. I did enjoy the Rhine river cruise and would recommend that.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was absolutely marvellous. We were delighted with the quality and style of the whole morning. The food was lovely, the service great and the boat was stunning. We had a great view and could even see the live entertainment. I would highly recommend this trip and Viator to anyone considering booking something of this nature. THANK YOU everyone from 6 very happy people in Cologne

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Carl W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic welcome as soon as we boarded the ship. Very friendly staff, good food and reasonable drinks prices. Shame about the weather but it was in December :-

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good fun, good food, lovely weather for December.

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelent I would recoment it to everybody who wants to travel to Cologne.
The Rhine river crousse , beautyful.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Paul S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A nice way to familiarize oneself with the various parts and attractions of Koeln.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Steve K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The headsets were not working and was frustrating to get information as trying to get the headsets to work on the hop on hop off bus.
The Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise was very nice and relaxing.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Charlie S B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Great way to get an overall view of the riverfront and learn a little about evolution of Cologne. Did not do the bus tour as the city was so walkable and I could take my time without having to keep up with the bus. Plus, traffic was heavy in some parts/time so walking was faster!

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message