Cologne ATTRACTIONS See all

Cologne Old Town (Altstadt)

Old Town is in many ways, the heart and soul of the city. It's near the Köln Dom, surrounded by "the Ring," a ring of streets, botanical space, and promenades following the path of the old city's walls. Inside the ring and along the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rhey

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

It was raining hard that day we did not enjoy it much. But it and #39;s a good way to see the city. Cologne is a simple city with gothic flare. A combination of old and new. Just be careful all the time and be mindful of your belongings. We are a victim of theft at the Central Station.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

janettejaudines

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We didnt quite enjoy these tours though the hop on hop off bus tour was convenient to visit the places of interest. I suggest to make use of the free earphones to hear the interesting facts pertaining each place. Its just that the bus conductors did not offer the earphones the first time we hopped on and validated our tickets. We had to ask for it the second time we hopped on. For first timers who are not familiar, the tourist may hesitate to even ask.
The rhine river sightseeing cruise was a bore....and we just kept cruising on the same spot. The coverage of the cruise in the river seems limited....

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Karin S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It might be good to include directions to the voucher/ticket booth. River cruise was awesome! Bus tour was good. The first bus I rode was with a live guide and very good. Unfortunately we encountered some mechanical issues and the bus had to stop for several minutes while they fixed the problem. Second bus I had to use head phones. This would not have been a problem if they had told me that and told me which dial number to use as I entered the bus. Tour was good for the price.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Cynthia C Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Nice tour to get overview of City. Changed the route from when I booked, so didn't see a couple of items.
Easy to locate near train station and Cathedral.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Nathan H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The hop-on hop-off tour was extremely convenient and took us to many attractions around town. The Rhine cruise provided some great views of Köln along the river. With this said the tour was ruined by some latecomers who were loud and shouldn and #39;t have been allowed on the boat (showed 5 mins late!)

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Vivian

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The bus tour station was difficult to find and the main central station did not really give us good direction.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Linda C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

There is just not a lot to see in this crowded, dirty city. The botanical gardens were awesome and of course, the DOM was an amazing experience as well. Those are the only worthwhile reasons to get off the bus. Enjoyed this but needed more.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Chase D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

River Tour: PA speaker sounded like crap, the sights were cool but I got the feeling like it was more about getting people to buy what's on board. I was either very tired or kind of bored because it was easy to doze off.
Bus Tour: Great way to see sights around town.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Beverley M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Earphones not working could not hear the guide!

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Michelle G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The city was nice to see but I was not happy with the bus driver on my first day. The guide onboard did not speak English well and directed us to the wrong ticket office to exchange the voucher. The woman there said the drivers don't know where to tell people to go for the exchange we had to walk at least 15 minutes to get the ticket. I don't like the fact that even paying for the voucher we had to get a ticket somewhere else. That is inconvenient in a strange city so I doubt I will buy vouchers again.
We were also not offered a headset and when I did see others returning one I was glad I didn't have one because the same headsets were passed to other people without sanitation! I brought my own headset on the second day. I did enjoy the Rhine river cruise and would recommend that.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Laura P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was absolutely marvellous. We were delighted with the quality and style of the whole morning. The food was lovely, the service great and the boat was stunning. We had a great view and could even see the live entertainment. I would highly recommend this trip and Viator to anyone considering booking something of this nature. THANK YOU everyone from 6 very happy people in Cologne

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Carl W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fantastic welcome as soon as we boarded the ship. Very friendly staff, good food and reasonable drinks prices. Shame about the weather but it was in December :-

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Peter C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good fun, good food, lovely weather for December.

Doing what: Cologne Christmas Sunday Brunch Cruise

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelent I would recoment it to everybody who wants to travel to Cologne.
The Rhine river crousse , beautyful.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Paul S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

A nice way to familiarize oneself with the various parts and attractions of Koeln.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Steve K

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

The headsets were not working and was frustrating to get information as trying to get the headsets to work on the hop on hop off bus.
The Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise was very nice and relaxing.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Charlie S B

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Great way to get an overall view of the riverfront and learn a little about evolution of Cologne. Did not do the bus tour as the city was so walkable and I could take my time without having to keep up with the bus. Plus, traffic was heavy in some parts/time so walking was faster!

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Ramona D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good way to get an overview of Cologne.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Randy P United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The length of this tour 48 hours gives you plenty of time to see the sites of Cologne. The Cathedral is he highlight along with the Roman-Germanic Museum which is next door. The Canal cruise is nice but it could be a little longer. Take a full trip around first as is good with most Hop On Hop Off Tours and get an idea where you want to spend time. Recommend this Tour..

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Casey B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

River tour was short and no audio explaining the sights, but was neat to see the city from the water. The bus tour was very informative and a good way to see the city in a short amount of time.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Terry C Thailand

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Difficult to find the office, then a long wait, not much of interest to see except the Dom

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Dale G

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

This is a quite small tour consisting of only 16 stops. The tour itself was interesting and seemed to cover the city well. My biggest complaint was that nowhere in the tour voucher did I find information that said one had to get the voucher exchanged for tickets in order to get on the bus. When I went to locate the departure site for a different event, I then found out the voucher was exchanged there for tickets for the hop on hop off bus tour. In the meanwhile I paid for a second set of bus tickets because the driver looked at our voucher and said that we were not at the right hop on hop off tour. As I found out after exchanging my voucher for tickets, this was exactly the same company as the one that did not accept or recognize our voucher. Other cities with this type of tour have accepted our vouchers as the tickets. I ended up paying twice for this tour.

Doing what: Cologne Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Rhine River Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message