Copenhagen ATTRACTIONS See all

Fredensborg Palace

Originally built as a hunting retreat for Frederick IV in 1719, the grand Fredensborg Palace now serves as the summer residence of the Danish Royal family, as well as a popular location for Royal weddings, anniversaries, birthdays and state visits. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Started off with really heavy rain as we boarded the bus so we we quite worried. However it stopped almost at once. The tour guide and driver were friendly, chatty and knowledegable giving us comprehensive info on the sights as we went. The first stop was Kronborg Castle, made famous in Hamlet. here we had ample time to have a guided tour of the castle rooms and some of the amazing views across to Sweden. We also had an opportunity to pre-order lunch from out guide, a choice of awesome sandwiches which would be picked up and passed out later. Then on to Fredensborg Palace, where the Royal Family are still in residence. Not allowed inside but ample time for photographs outside and a break for an icecream or coffee at one of the little shops / cafe's nearby. Finally ending up at Frederiksborg Castle, with picture postcard views and photo opportunities outside and extensive guided tours inside at the beautiful rooms. AT all of the castles and sights along the way, so much to see and a wonderful introduction to so much of the history that Denmark has to offer. I'd certainly recommend this as a must for anyone visiting Copenhagen, a truly marvellous day.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Pei L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a great time! the Hamlet Castle and Frederiksborg Castle are so beautiful, and the guide Hanna is really sweet and informative. But I didn't realize it was going to be so cold, since the weather had been so nice. Caught a terrible cold at Fredensborg Palace. Stay warm even in the summer!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Jeffrey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent itinerary and good allocation of time to each location. Stop at Fredensborg was too short for anything but a picture and could be eliminated without much loss. Knowledgeable and friendly guide.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed this tour and felt it was worth taking. Our only recommendation/complaint and the reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is that we consider the visit to Fredensborg Palace to be a waste of time. It is beautiful but it is only seen from the outside. We would have preferred to have more time at Kronberg and Frederiksborg Castles.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

caroline.alper

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Really enjoyed the castles and seeing the countryside. Nice tour guide but a little longer than it needed to be. Don't think it was necessary to stop at Fredensborg Palace.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sudipro R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Kronborg Castle was the best among the 3 from the outside, while the interior of Frederiksborg Castle was mindblowing. The Fredensborg palace was nice, but you don't get to go inside. The tour was well-organized and the guide was nice. However, we felt it was a very expensive tour, especially considering it was not a long tour, and the entry fee for each castle is only about 12 euro per person as we found out later. No wonder there were only a few people on this tour with us. At this price, they could have at least included the sandwiches and drinks they sell on board for lunch remember: there is no lunch stop.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Marina G USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We really liked this tour. The castles are very beautiful. We were inside Kronborg Castle and inside Frederiksborg Castle, and we saw the Fredensborg Palace from outside. The tour guide was knowledgeable and nice. We recommend this tour.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David E. C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Departure point was hard to find as we received the wrong information from the tourist office. Construction work in the city meant even the info on our voucher was not correct. Our driver , Salem, was very nice, and our tour guide, Thomas, made all the history so interesting. He was a fountain of knowledge and delivered his info so clearly. What a nice man ! Despite the rain and a rather rushed lunch stop, we made it in time to see the changing of the guard at Fredensborg Palace. Frederiksborg Castle was beautiful.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

joel W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour. Just the right amount of riding and walking. The commentary while we were riding was informative and entertaining. Good balance of slow ride out and fast ride back when we were tired and anxious to be home. I suppose I could have skipped Fredensborg. There's not much to see from the outside.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

ENG NUNO C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Frederiksborg slot is very nice. So was the photo stop at Fredensborg slot, where we were fortunate that the stop coincided with the changing of the guard. I did'nt like Kronborg slot. The castle is very much in need of some work and the rooms have very few furniture. Also there is a lack of explanations for the tourist at each room. Per, the bus driver, was a very helpful fellow, though we think that he talked too much, giving "information" and not guiding, as he several times insisted on saying. On the way back, people are normally tired and profit the trip to rest. But Per insisted on giving "information" through the loudspeakers of the bus, holding the microphone in one hand and the wheel on the other, which seemed to us that was not very safe.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Kimmy C

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

If you could do this tour yourself and in your own time, you'd be better off. This tour covered a lot, but in a short amount of time. We boarded a bus that had audio commentary, and though this provided interesting insights, they were few and far between. Our tour guide did not provide much interesting commentary during the tours of the castles either. Also note there is no stop for lunch, you can only place an order for sandwiches on board the tour, so it may be worthwhile to pack something beforehand. The first castle was Kronborg Hamlet castle which was plain but rich in history. We then had a very brief stop of 15 minutes at Fredensborg Palace, where we managed to see changing of the guards. Frederiksborg was the last castle visit and was a good stand out, but again, the stop was very quick. We only managed to pace the castle and then have a quick peek into the garden. If you have a full day morning till late afternoon or 2 days, you can organise yourself to get to these castles and you may enjoy it more with the additional time. You'll probably be able to pick up more interesting facts from the brochures too.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Kathleen R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

This was a great and easy way to see some of the Danish coastline as well as three great castles. The tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable, and I appreciated the guided tours at the two castle stops. Getting to see Fredensborg castle was a special extra treat, and we were just in time for the changing of the guard ceremony.

While we had limited time at each stop, I felt I was able to see all I wanted. However, the guides were constantly reminding us of how little time we had, and almost rushing us along. My one complaint would be that behavior. I understand we're on a strict timeline, and maybe won't be able to spend as much time as some would like. But I knew that going in I wouldn't have booked the tour if I didn't think it would be enough time. The guides' frantic reminders really started to stress me out, and make me feel like I was a school kid on a field trip, with the harried chaperones hustling everyone along.

Despite that, I think this is worth doing if you're interested in the castles. It was neat to see some of the typical Danish houses along the coastline and get to see some of the countryside. I think this was easier than trying to get out to the castles on my own via public transit and walking. And the lunch offered was sufficient, not the best but better than nothing. But if you want to take your time and not feel rushed along, maybe just go on your own.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Douglas K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We took the regional train to Copenhagen central station and walked to the meeting place for the tour. When we arrived at the designated place though, there was no bus or representatives from the tour company to be seen. We walked back and forth in front of Tivoli and finally I asked someone and he told us it was a half mile back in the direction we had come from. So we walked back and still found nothing. I asked a representative for one of the hop on hop off tours and he gave me excellent instructions for finding our bus. It was of course back in the other direction the half mile that we had just walked. We finally found the bus and soon after the tour started.

The tour would visit three castles, two of which we would take a tour of (the third was just a photo stop). We drove along the coast of Denmark which featured seaside vistas and arrived at Kronborg Castle, which is the setting for Hamlet. It started to rain when we arrived but the tour company had umbrellas for everyone which was handy and appreciated. Kronborg Castle had a medieval feel to it and had wonderful views of the sea. My only comment about this stop is that the tour guide refused to wait when some in our party were using the restroom so we had to run to catch up. Our next stop was at Fredensborg Palace, which is a summer residence for the Danish Royal family. We only stopped here for 15 minutes to take some photos.

We stopped for lunch at an informal café type restaurant which was average but did the trick for satiating our growing hunger. The lunch stop wasn’t until 1:45 pm which I felt was a bit late. After lunch we visited the 17th century Frederiksborg Castle, built in Renaissance style with a touch of Baroque. It is now a national museum containing paintings, tapestries, furniture, porcelain and silver. The castle was huge and hours could have been spent here but our tour was fairly thorough and enjoyable. We arrived back in Copenhagen at 5:30 pm.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Nanie F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We booked our day trip to the Kronborg Castle using Viator.com. On the day of excursion, we brought our vouchers and followed the instructions /map to the bus meeting point. We were there at 10am (bus was supposed to leave at 10:30am), we waited for twenty minutes and saw no signs of bus so we got worried. We asked the agent of a Hop On and Hop Off bus to discover that Viator.com had been providing bad instructions (apparently it happened to other tourists the day before) and the actual meeting point was 10 minutes away. The agent made few calls to the tour company and finally reached the bus driver...who was nice enough to detour the bus to come pick us up so we won't miss the tour. So on that note, I am not sure if I can trust Viator.com.

The excursion itself was nice. We first visited the Kronborg castle with a guided tour. Then we passed by the Fredensborg Palace (stopped for 15 minutes), and spent more time at the Frederiksborg Castle. We didn't have the time to visit the garden at the Frederiksborg Castle, that was a bummer. Overall, it was a pleasant day trip.

The bus was a double decker and can accommodate 50+ people. We only had 10 on our bus, which made our tour extremely relaxing and flexible. I cannot imagine if the bus were full...

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message