Copenhagen ATTRACTIONS See all

National History Museum (Frederiksborg Slot)

A pristine Renaissance palace in the middle of a lake that has been repurposed as the National History Museum is a fairytale look into the past. Frederiksborg Slot was constructed for King Christian IV from 1602 - 1620 and was the site of Danish ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1088 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joshua L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I especially enjoyed the scenic bus rides between castles. The countryside is very picturesque and, even though Copenhagen is beautiful, it provided different glimpse into Danish life. Unfortunately, time doesn't allow for stopping, but there are plenty of photo ops once the bus arrives at its destination.

I also liked that audio guides were provided during the trip, so we had the opportunity to learn about Danish history and culture along the routes between castles.

My favorite part of the tour was a sub tour: The Hamlet tour in Hamlet Castle. The actors were full of energy and gave excellent performances. If you can, definitely try to catch one or at least a part of one.

I would recommend this tour. I only visited Copenhagen for a few days and was worried I was going to waste too much time with this day-long outing. However, getting out of the city was a nice change of pace and we were back before dinner.

Pro tip: Brings snacks/drinks. There are opportunities to buy food/drinks, but the tour is allotted a specific amount of time at each location and must keep moving. You don't want to miss something like the changing of the guards because you were waiting in line for ice cream.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Mary Ellen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Definitely buy this card for everyone in your party if you plan to visit more than a couple of locations. Saves time in lines and money. Good on trains and public transportation too.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

nazali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I got the 72 hour city card and was the best thing I had for my 3 days in Copenhagen. I was able to go around not worrying about transit and made use of free entrance to a number of attractions including the round tower, aquarium to name a few. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Holly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide was very affable and knowledgeable. A great storyteller he kept us entertained even when on the road. The optional lunch was delicious! All the castles were lovely and interesting the travelling was a good pace. My only regret was not having more time at Fredricksborg Castle. Our guide had so many good stories and good information we didn't get around to seeing the whole castle. Took advantage of the discount ticket to Tivoli afterwards!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

pmspaeth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The cards were great! it was so convenient being able to pick them up at the airport and the map was very helpful. We were able to get a lot of use out of the cards. I would absolutely use them again.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

debiaze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really recommend this tour. It was wonderful to visit nside the two castles. Our guide and the bus driver were nice and explained everything to us. Our guide had so many funny stories about the castles owners. The bus was very confortable. An excellent tour for anyone visiting the Copenhagen. I took the Castle tours on Tuesday. Unmissable!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous guide and this tour was the highlight of our stay in Denmark.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy to use, very convenient

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy way to see attractions outside of Copenhagen, The castles were very interesting.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Terrific tour guides. Time is a little cramped but you get to see a lot in a day. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

SARAH P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great value

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

lev f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting, but need at least an extra 45 min. To an hour at each of the 2 Castles visited with the guide.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT!!!! Money well spent towards an amazing day. Of course it would not be fitting if I did not mention the extra ordinary service provided by our guide Emilo. What an amazing person he is and so full of knowledge. He's well suited for this tour with such a large group. We were lucky enough to be able to visit the gardens at the castle that I could only describe as something out of a fairytale. Added to this, we were lucky to arrive in time to witness the changing of the guards at the royal summer residence. Keep up the good work Viator.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Jeff E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Basically used for the public transport access, but visited quite a few places we may have avoided if we had of had to pay extra entry fees. Thus I feel it was good value.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

laniuyehara

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide. Ample time. Comfortable transportation. Wonderful, beautiful castles. Everything I hoped for.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Gregory M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well organized day trip out of Copenhagen to Kronborg Castle the Hamlet castle and Frederiksborg Castle which is really just a country palace. Both were great visits though and worth seeing. The driver and guide were experienced and professional.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Olga R United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour is very nice but time the visit to the castles was done in a very rushed manner. The tour was supposed to start at 10:30am and end at 5:00pm but, didn't start until 11:00am because it was oversold and they had to wait for another bus to accommodate all the tourists that were affected. Of course the tour ended at 5:00pm and every stop was a rush, rush to end at 5:00pm.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

BudEguy

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The card was easy to use,and tourist office was easy to find ,but the card did not feature big discounts on some of the bus tours that were free in other cities.Had no problems using the card.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Debra G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Not too much to comment on except that its worth getting if u travel on a tight budget. It gets u into some amazing signts most of which are at a reduced cost. If u'd rather take the bus then its worth the money.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

dremse

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was worthwhile. Our guide was attentive and knowledgeable and the two castles we toured were impressive. However, there were simply too many people in our tour group. This prevented us from being able to hear some of what our guide was saying. It would have been better if we had been issued the portable headphone sets that many tours use.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Stuart B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The stops were too short. It could have started earlier and had more time at each stop. The size of the group also hindered the guide. Too much wasted time.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Umesh B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Due to a Royal Person visiting palace part of it was closed for visitors and left us with slight disappointment.

Although it was a nice trip.

Bus ride was comfirtable and staff was really helpfull as well as joybale.

Worth visiting it.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sydney H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Nice for travel and sites but there are cheaper options out there.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Chuck&Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We used this to take the train to the Louisiana Museum. Worked perfectly.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message