Copenhagen ATTRACTIONS See all

National History Museum (Frederiksborg Slot)

A pristine Renaissance palace in the middle of a lake that has been repurposed as the National History Museum is a fairytale look into the past. Frederiksborg Slot was constructed for King Christian IV from 1602 - 1620 and was the site of Danish ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1101 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Enrique T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Worth every penny and get more for your money

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

garyrgeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip is very well organized. It starts on time, the guide is very good and interested in his topic and very informative. The main sights are fantastic. The guide even organizes a lunch to be bought and brought on the bus to save time for sightseeing.

The scenery up to the sights are almost as interesting as the castle and palaces.

A trip well worth taking.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Mark L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I enjoyed the bus trip moving around seeing the city. I can do this several times in a day and this really make my trip enjoying.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Rhonda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I can't recommend this more highly it is great value for money and means that you aren't worrying about local currency all the time. I found that we used the card to see more places than we otherwise would have as we entered places like the Hans Christian Anderson museum which I probably would not have done if I had to pay individually. The card gives entry to a huge number of places and based on my experience here I would look for similar cards in other cities.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Janet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great value. We used the public transportation ,went into museums and places that we may not have seen by paying separate admission and spent every night at Tivoli Gardens.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Victor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I used this card on a solo trip to Copenhagen. It did everything as advertised. I know the next time I'm there, I'll use this card again.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Leia V

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I really enjoyed seeing three castles outside the city. And the tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot, when we could hear him. The group was a little large for us to crowd around and hear him at times. It would have been better if he had a mic and we had headphones so we weren't fighting to be up close to hear him. Also the tour was very rushed so he would often move to the next room and start talking before everyone was there, and there really wasn't any free time to explore, look at souvenirs, take photos, etc.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

KHanlon78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great time - loved our guide and the tour!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

cstranger4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Super easy to obtain and use.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Eileen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

If you are going to explore Copenhagen definitely get this card. You can use for the metro and buses and free or discounted admission to many attractions.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Pauline Y

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, but not enough time at Hamlet's castle, so it felt a bit rushed at times. The sandwiches that the bus offers were amazing, really!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Jemma P

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Not great value if you aren't hugely into museums etc. Convenient, although you can't skip lines. And don't lose it as it's like cash, not registered to you!

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

James M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour itself was good. Places were interesting and beautiful scenery. However,
there were 110 people on this tour. Far more than were expected and so we had to wait 1 hour to get a second bus. Since there was only one guide,it was very difficult to hear what he was saying and it took a long time to move this number of people around in the venues. We had told our friends how great viator is and we were totally embarrassed. Though the tour guide and bus driver kept apologizing, it unfortunately didn't fix he issues we were having. Definitely didn't get what we paid for. Major disappointed.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Joshua L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I especially enjoyed the scenic bus rides between castles. The countryside is very picturesque and, even though Copenhagen is beautiful, it provided different glimpse into Danish life. Unfortunately, time doesn't allow for stopping, but there are plenty of photo ops once the bus arrives at its destination.

I also liked that audio guides were provided during the trip, so we had the opportunity to learn about Danish history and culture along the routes between castles.

My favorite part of the tour was a sub tour: The Hamlet tour in Hamlet Castle. The actors were full of energy and gave excellent performances. If you can, definitely try to catch one or at least a part of one.

I would recommend this tour. I only visited Copenhagen for a few days and was worried I was going to waste too much time with this day-long outing. However, getting out of the city was a nice change of pace and we were back before dinner.

Pro tip: Brings snacks/drinks. There are opportunities to buy food/drinks, but the tour is allotted a specific amount of time at each location and must keep moving. You don't want to miss something like the changing of the guards because you were waiting in line for ice cream.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Mary Ellen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Definitely buy this card for everyone in your party if you plan to visit more than a couple of locations. Saves time in lines and money. Good on trains and public transportation too.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

nazali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I got the 72 hour city card and was the best thing I had for my 3 days in Copenhagen. I was able to go around not worrying about transit and made use of free entrance to a number of attractions including the round tower, aquarium to name a few. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Holly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide was very affable and knowledgeable. A great storyteller he kept us entertained even when on the road. The optional lunch was delicious! All the castles were lovely and interesting the travelling was a good pace. My only regret was not having more time at Fredricksborg Castle. Our guide had so many good stories and good information we didn't get around to seeing the whole castle. Took advantage of the discount ticket to Tivoli afterwards!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

pmspaeth

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The cards were great! it was so convenient being able to pick them up at the airport and the map was very helpful. We were able to get a lot of use out of the cards. I would absolutely use them again.

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

debiaze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really recommend this tour. It was wonderful to visit nside the two castles. Our guide and the bus driver were nice and explained everything to us. Our guide had so many funny stories about the castles owners. The bus was very confortable. An excellent tour for anyone visiting the Copenhagen. I took the Castle tours on Tuesday. Unmissable!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous guide and this tour was the highlight of our stay in Denmark.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy to use, very convenient

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy way to see attractions outside of Copenhagen, The castles were very interesting.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Terrific tour guides. Time is a little cramped but you get to see a lot in a day. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

SARAH P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great value

Doing what: Copenhagen Card

lev f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting, but need at least an extra 45 min. To an hour at each of the 2 Castles visited with the guide.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message