Castle addicts, hold on to your hats – the jackpot is waiting for you just outside Copenhagen! Full of ornate and amazing structures, you'll feel like you're in a fairy tale come to life.  So where do you start? The picturesque region of North ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 519 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

garyrgeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip is very well organized. It starts on time, the guide is very good and interested in his topic and very informative. The main sights are fantastic. The guide even organizes a lunch to be bought and brought on the bus to save time for sightseeing.

The scenery up to the sights are almost as interesting as the castle and palaces.

A trip well worth taking.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Leia V

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

I really enjoyed seeing three castles outside the city. And the tour guide was very knowledgeable and we learned a lot, when we could hear him. The group was a little large for us to crowd around and hear him at times. It would have been better if he had a mic and we had headphones so we weren't fighting to be up close to hear him. Also the tour was very rushed so he would often move to the next room and start talking before everyone was there, and there really wasn't any free time to explore, look at souvenirs, take photos, etc.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

KHanlon78

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great time - loved our guide and the tour!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Pauline Y

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great tour, but not enough time at Hamlet's castle, so it felt a bit rushed at times. The sandwiches that the bus offers were amazing, really!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

James M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour itself was good. Places were interesting and beautiful scenery. However,
there were 110 people on this tour. Far more than were expected and so we had to wait 1 hour to get a second bus. Since there was only one guide,it was very difficult to hear what he was saying and it took a long time to move this number of people around in the venues. We had told our friends how great viator is and we were totally embarrassed. Though the tour guide and bus driver kept apologizing, it unfortunately didn't fix he issues we were having. Definitely didn't get what we paid for. Major disappointed.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Joshua L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I especially enjoyed the scenic bus rides between castles. The countryside is very picturesque and, even though Copenhagen is beautiful, it provided different glimpse into Danish life. Unfortunately, time doesn't allow for stopping, but there are plenty of photo ops once the bus arrives at its destination.

I also liked that audio guides were provided during the trip, so we had the opportunity to learn about Danish history and culture along the routes between castles.

My favorite part of the tour was a sub tour: The Hamlet tour in Hamlet Castle. The actors were full of energy and gave excellent performances. If you can, definitely try to catch one or at least a part of one.

I would recommend this tour. I only visited Copenhagen for a few days and was worried I was going to waste too much time with this day-long outing. However, getting out of the city was a nice change of pace and we were back before dinner.

Pro tip: Brings snacks/drinks. There are opportunities to buy food/drinks, but the tour is allotted a specific amount of time at each location and must keep moving. You don't want to miss something like the changing of the guards because you were waiting in line for ice cream.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Holly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide was very affable and knowledgeable. A great storyteller he kept us entertained even when on the road. The optional lunch was delicious! All the castles were lovely and interesting the travelling was a good pace. My only regret was not having more time at Fredricksborg Castle. Our guide had so many good stories and good information we didn't get around to seeing the whole castle. Took advantage of the discount ticket to Tivoli afterwards!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

debiaze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really recommend this tour. It was wonderful to visit nside the two castles. Our guide and the bus driver were nice and explained everything to us. Our guide had so many funny stories about the castles owners. The bus was very confortable. An excellent tour for anyone visiting the Copenhagen. I took the Castle tours on Tuesday. Unmissable!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous guide and this tour was the highlight of our stay in Denmark.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy way to see attractions outside of Copenhagen, The castles were very interesting.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Terrific tour guides. Time is a little cramped but you get to see a lot in a day. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

lev f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting, but need at least an extra 45 min. To an hour at each of the 2 Castles visited with the guide.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Debra G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT!!!! Money well spent towards an amazing day. Of course it would not be fitting if I did not mention the extra ordinary service provided by our guide Emilo. What an amazing person he is and so full of knowledge. He's well suited for this tour with such a large group. We were lucky enough to be able to visit the gardens at the castle that I could only describe as something out of a fairytale. Added to this, we were lucky to arrive in time to witness the changing of the guards at the royal summer residence. Keep up the good work Viator.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

laniuyehara

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide. Ample time. Comfortable transportation. Wonderful, beautiful castles. Everything I hoped for.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Gregory M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well organized day trip out of Copenhagen to Kronborg Castle the Hamlet castle and Frederiksborg Castle which is really just a country palace. Both were great visits though and worth seeing. The driver and guide were experienced and professional.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Olga R United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour is very nice but time the visit to the castles was done in a very rushed manner. The tour was supposed to start at 10:30am and end at 5:00pm but, didn't start until 11:00am because it was oversold and they had to wait for another bus to accommodate all the tourists that were affected. Of course the tour ended at 5:00pm and every stop was a rush, rush to end at 5:00pm.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

dremse

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was worthwhile. Our guide was attentive and knowledgeable and the two castles we toured were impressive. However, there were simply too many people in our tour group. This prevented us from being able to hear some of what our guide was saying. It would have been better if we had been issued the portable headphone sets that many tours use.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Stuart B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The stops were too short. It could have started earlier and had more time at each stop. The size of the group also hindered the guide. Too much wasted time.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Umesh B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Due to a Royal Person visiting palace part of it was closed for visitors and left us with slight disappointment.

Although it was a nice trip.

Bus ride was comfirtable and staff was really helpfull as well as joybale.

Worth visiting it.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great castles.
Wish we had more time to explore the grounds.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sebms_boss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I just returned from our Baltic Sea cruise with additional days in Copenhagen, Denmark. We took the Castle tours on Monday. It was a trip that we can recommend without question. We visited three castles, although we were only able to go inside two of them. Our guide and bus driver were both very knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating. The only concern we would have would be that there is no time built in for lunch during the seven hour trip. Sandwiches were available as well as water on the bus, but they were not anything we were interested in having. It would have been nice to know in advance about this so that we could have brought a bagged lunch. One added extra for the trip was the views of the beautiful countryside we saw during the drive to the castles.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Jane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful views of Cop city, as well as countryside. Castles are not to be missed!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

komin c

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent itinerary. Beautiful castles. Very worthwhile day trip to go out of the city to appreciate the landscape and the history.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Wonderfull tour excellent guide great views a Quality experience

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message