Castle addicts, hold on to your hats – the jackpot is waiting for you just outside Copenhagen! Full of ornate and amazing structures, you'll feel like you're in a fairy tale come to life.  So where do you start? The picturesque region of North ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 513 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joshua L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I especially enjoyed the scenic bus rides between castles. The countryside is very picturesque and, even though Copenhagen is beautiful, it provided different glimpse into Danish life. Unfortunately, time doesn't allow for stopping, but there are plenty of photo ops once the bus arrives at its destination.

I also liked that audio guides were provided during the trip, so we had the opportunity to learn about Danish history and culture along the routes between castles.

My favorite part of the tour was a sub tour: The Hamlet tour in Hamlet Castle. The actors were full of energy and gave excellent performances. If you can, definitely try to catch one or at least a part of one.

I would recommend this tour. I only visited Copenhagen for a few days and was worried I was going to waste too much time with this day-long outing. However, getting out of the city was a nice change of pace and we were back before dinner.

Pro tip: Brings snacks/drinks. There are opportunities to buy food/drinks, but the tour is allotted a specific amount of time at each location and must keep moving. You don't want to miss something like the changing of the guards because you were waiting in line for ice cream.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Holly E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide was very affable and knowledgeable. A great storyteller he kept us entertained even when on the road. The optional lunch was delicious! All the castles were lovely and interesting the travelling was a good pace. My only regret was not having more time at Fredricksborg Castle. Our guide had so many good stories and good information we didn't get around to seeing the whole castle. Took advantage of the discount ticket to Tivoli afterwards!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

debiaze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I really recommend this tour. It was wonderful to visit nside the two castles. Our guide and the bus driver were nice and explained everything to us. Our guide had so many funny stories about the castles owners. The bus was very confortable. An excellent tour for anyone visiting the Copenhagen. I took the Castle tours on Tuesday. Unmissable!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fabulous guide and this tour was the highlight of our stay in Denmark.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Easy way to see attractions outside of Copenhagen, The castles were very interesting.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Terrific tour guides. Time is a little cramped but you get to see a lot in a day. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

lev f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very interesting, but need at least an extra 45 min. To an hour at each of the 2 Castles visited with the guide.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

laniuyehara

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour guide. Ample time. Comfortable transportation. Wonderful, beautiful castles. Everything I hoped for.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Gregory M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Well organized day trip out of Copenhagen to Kronborg Castle the Hamlet castle and Frederiksborg Castle which is really just a country palace. Both were great visits though and worth seeing. The driver and guide were experienced and professional.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Olga R United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This tour is very nice but time the visit to the castles was done in a very rushed manner. The tour was supposed to start at 10:30am and end at 5:00pm but, didn't start until 11:00am because it was oversold and they had to wait for another bus to accommodate all the tourists that were affected. Of course the tour ended at 5:00pm and every stop was a rush, rush to end at 5:00pm.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

dremse

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was worthwhile. Our guide was attentive and knowledgeable and the two castles we toured were impressive. However, there were simply too many people in our tour group. This prevented us from being able to hear some of what our guide was saying. It would have been better if we had been issued the portable headphone sets that many tours use.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Stuart B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The stops were too short. It could have started earlier and had more time at each stop. The size of the group also hindered the guide. Too much wasted time.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Umesh B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Due to a Royal Person visiting palace part of it was closed for visitors and left us with slight disappointment.

Although it was a nice trip.

Bus ride was comfirtable and staff was really helpfull as well as joybale.

Worth visiting it.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Philip G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great castles.
Wish we had more time to explore the grounds.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Sebms_boss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My wife and I just returned from our Baltic Sea cruise with additional days in Copenhagen, Denmark. We took the Castle tours on Monday. It was a trip that we can recommend without question. We visited three castles, although we were only able to go inside two of them. Our guide and bus driver were both very knowledgeable, friendly, and accommodating. The only concern we would have would be that there is no time built in for lunch during the seven hour trip. Sandwiches were available as well as water on the bus, but they were not anything we were interested in having. It would have been nice to know in advance about this so that we could have brought a bagged lunch. One added extra for the trip was the views of the beautiful countryside we saw during the drive to the castles.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Jane D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful views of Cop city, as well as countryside. Castles are not to be missed!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

komin c

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Excellent itinerary. Beautiful castles. Very worthwhile day trip to go out of the city to appreciate the landscape and the history.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

John S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Wonderfull tour excellent guide great views a Quality experience

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Alexandra S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

The guide was very nice but not very knowledgeable. One of the castles was very disappointing--not much in it and the other was full of furnishings from donors--rather than the originals. Also, the guide took us down into the dungeon where it was so black, it was dangerous and there was nothing there to see---we heard since there was no lighting and you could not see anything anyway!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

M D P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour of the countryside and castles along the way. As with most European sites and cities, handicapped accessibility is very limited. Most of the castles my wife could not visit beyond the front entrance -- I got to see the whole castles, floor by floor, but not my wife. This is not the fault of the tour, but do we aware that Europe is not ADA attentive, for sure.

Add this tour to your bucket list.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Beth H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour grear but nowhere viator or on voucher or in advance informed no handbags/purses allowed inside castles. advised to leave purse on locked bus or to purchase a locker. Not comfortable leaving a $5K handbag on a tour bus! If I and #39;d known in advance I would have taken different bag!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message