With its laid-back café culture and easily walkable city center, it would be easy to spend your whole vacation hanging out in Copenhagen, but there are plenty of sights to explore outside of the city. To give you some ideas, here are some of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 14 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mike S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Driver/Guide was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. Great 6 hour day trip with everything taken care of for you. Bring sunscreen - it can get hot on the canal ride

Doing what: Malmö Independent Day Trip from Copenhagen with Canal Cruise

Billie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting day trip, enjoyed the tour but disappointed with the tour guide, English wasn't that great and didn't understand most of what he was talking about.

Doing what: Malmö Independent Day Trip from Copenhagen with Canal Cruise

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great day trip from Copenhagen! Even if the castles weren't part of the tour which of course they are!, the trip was a great way to see the Danish countryside. Make sure to see the dungeons at Hamlet Castle - so cool!

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Carmel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was efficiently run, good guide and driver and the countryside and castles were above expectations. A lovely day trip from Copenhagen.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a fantastic day trip. A great opportunity to see Denmark outside of Copenhagen. The castles were amazing and our guide was excellent. We had a lot of time at each castle guided and free time to explore on our own. If you have limited time in Denmark, and want to get outside of Copenhagen this is a memorable trip.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

dbphillips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our one day trip was wonderful. Our drive was comfortable and we saw a section of Denmark that was quite beautiful. Hamlet's castle was impressive. The climb to the fourth level was exhausting, yet interesting..
Over all we saw so many sights and the views across the straight to Sweden were beautiful.
My husband, who travels by electric scooter, was only able to see the outside of Hamlet's Castle. The third castle was handicap accessible and quite grand.
Well worth the cost for a great tour of the countryside and I took lots of photos. Spring was chilly but the flowers were abundant and colorful.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Christa V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic day trip! Great opportunity to see the beautiful countryside and learn a bit about Denmark. Castles were very nice, tour guide was very knowledgeable and driver safe and hilarious with his inputs! The lunch was delicious, I had the roast beef and it is the best roast beef sandwich I have ever had! Leaves at a decent time in the morning and arrives back early evening leaving time to explore the city.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

TERRY Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Good day trip away from Copenhagen and into the north historic castle areas,, so pupular we had to change from a regular size bus to a larger double decker. Good guide to amazing locales,

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Gayle H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We did enjoy this tour to the outskirts of Copenhagen. It was a lovely day, although a little cool, but we had the opportunity to see the castles and the surrounding countryside. The Frederiksborg Castle was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our day trip with Viator. We've used their service many times in the past and will continue to use their services in the future.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

TVUSA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The Hamlet Castle was fun to see and historical. This was a real old castle with great history to learn. The Fredriksborg Castle burned down and was replaced so little disappointed not to see a real castle from 17th century. We ordered sandwiches for lunch and ate the in the bus after the first stop extra 60. You could take your own picnic lunch if you like. Ride was interesting with lots of older buildings to see. Driver and Guide were awesome. We enjoyed ourselves for the day trip.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Karen B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

It was a very good day trip -- and I was happy that I visited the sweet city of Malmo.
But I have a couple of suggestions -- your tour guide was completely unhelpful when it came to pointing us in the right direction for things to do or places to eat. He said that the canal tour guides would do that -- which they didn't nor do I think it was their responsibility. My suggestion is for your company to provide maps of the city to those on the tour as well as a Top 10 Things to Do list, including restaurants or cafes. I think my experience would have been much better had this information been provided.

Doing what: Malmö Independent Day Trip from Copenhagen with Canal Cruise

Nanie F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

We booked our day trip to the Kronborg Castle using Viator.com. On the day of excursion, we brought our vouchers and followed the instructions /map to the bus meeting point. We were there at 10am (bus was supposed to leave at 10:30am), we waited for twenty minutes and saw no signs of bus so we got worried. We asked the agent of a Hop On and Hop Off bus to discover that Viator.com had been providing bad instructions (apparently it happened to other tourists the day before) and the actual meeting point was 10 minutes away. The agent made few calls to the tour company and finally reached the bus driver...who was nice enough to detour the bus to come pick us up so we won't miss the tour. So on that note, I am not sure if I can trust Viator.com.

The excursion itself was nice. We first visited the Kronborg castle with a guided tour. Then we passed by the Fredensborg Palace (stopped for 15 minutes), and spent more time at the Frederiksborg Castle. We didn't have the time to visit the garden at the Frederiksborg Castle, that was a bummer. Overall, it was a pleasant day trip.

The bus was a double decker and can accommodate 50+ people. We only had 10 on our bus, which made our tour extremely relaxing and flexible. I cannot imagine if the bus were full...

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

julianab923

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

We travel around the world and often take organized day trips like this one. This tour covers the important places on the route. However, it was poorly planned and organized. The driver and the tour guide is the same person - one man show. Not sure if tour guides require license in CPH, But the person we had did not give much of the explanations. He tried hard to accomodate the people on the tour, but being the driver and the tour guide without other help, he was struggling to get the tour going. I would not recommend this tour unless they assign a separate tour guide besides the driver.

Doing what: Castles Tour from Copenhagen: North Zealand and Hamlet Castle

Caleb M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

We paid a lot for the 'Malmö Independent Day Trip from Copenhagen with Canal Cruise', variant of this tour, purchased from viatour This sets out from Copenhagen and includes a 10 min stop at the viewpoint for the Øresund Bridge.
While the actual canal tour part 1hr of whole day was quite good - in fact the tour guide was excellent, the rest of the arrangement was a waste of time and money:

We set out in a cramped bus, with the air conditioning struggling to keep us from fainting, with a slow disinteresting drive. Once in Malmo, we were informed that we'd get the 12 o'clock boat for an hour and then be abandoned to our own devices for 2 hours ... with little to see or do.
In hindsight, we would have gone by car we have a hire one anyway or train - done the canal cruise, which is good .. we could then have seen what we wanted the church or park and then come back when we are done. It would have cost far less and have got better things done.

I do feel bad giving this review for the driver - he was friendly and helpful perhaps not so engaging
I want be clear the issue is the structure of the tour from Copenhagen - all the additional cost getting ourselves to Malmo and getting the canal cruise directly for 4 of us added little to no value to the experience over what we could have arranged ourselves - in fact it constrained us, because we had to be back for 3pm.

Doing what: Malmö Independent Day Trip from Copenhagen with Canal Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message