Cordoba ATTRACTIONS See all

Mezquita (Mosque-Cathedral)

Originally the site of the Christian Visigoth Church San Vicente, Córdoba’s Mezquita -- or Grand Mosque -- stands as the city's most proud monument and one of the most exquisite Islamic structures in the western world.  Its initial ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 569 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Modesto R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

There were just four of us in the bus going from Seville to Cordoba that morning. The other couple was from Paris. The bus driver was pleasant but spoke hardly any English. We arrived at tour agents office in Cordoba fifteen minutes early to meet with the rest of the group. Our guide Ana had studied in London and was very knowledgeable and facile in the Language. Again there were just two of us in the English speaking group and so we pretty much had Ana for ourselves. She showed us the Alcazar and the surrounding gardens. In early December, all the flowers are gone but for a few pansies. But then one can see the ponds and fountains, lemon trees and palm trees in the beatiful garden.
The highlight of the tour was the guided tour of the Mesquita-Cathedral. The architectural beauty of the Christianized Mosque is well known but it will take a quide to appreciate the different arches and columns used as the Chirstian church expanded and kept preserving it's Moorish beginnings. She pointed out the North and south orientation of the original mosque and the eat and west orientation of the Christian church, in the same builbing. Then again how they preserved from further tear down of the south wall as it was too close to the river, thus preserving the beautiful mosaics and wooden carvings made by craftsmen from Constantinopol that the Christian King had asked for.
The short trip to the Jewish quarters was a waste of time as there but one old small synagogue left of the settlement. We could spent the time walking on the Roman bridge and entering through the Entrance Arch.
For those expecting a narrative of the countryside or of Cordoba,as we drove for two hours each way, that just didn't happen. If they could not provide a tour guide for the trip, a video on the bus would have been helpful.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Bart V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wildly enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide showed us an impressive mosque

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Archie f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very good guide who made history come alive.

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Mahrukh M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide Carmen was so knowledgeable about the history of Córdoba and the mezquita. She's also an enthusiastic speaker so you can't help but remember everything she says and makes the tour incredibly fun!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

classygyal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent! You can see Cordoba on your own, but the guide REALLY enhances the experience. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide - very knowledgeable and interesting

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

William S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Four of us took this tour as a day trip from Malaga which took about 2.5 hours each way to get to Córdoba. We were added as a part of an existing multi-day tour and our guide really didn't do much, but relied on a great local guide Maria in the fantastic mosque cathedral in Córdoba. The mosque is over 23,000 meters and is beautiful and a must see. We then took a really nice walking tour of the old city. We then had about an hour to try local cuisine and do some shopping. We visited the local food court which consisted of 6 different local restaurants. We had Moroccan cuisine that was fantastic. It would have been nice to have had more time to shop at the end, otherwise this was a great look at Córdoba.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

Jennifer C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

it was expected, no surprises or adventures, a normal guided tour takes you to the things that should be seen, in a group tour based speed, which is kinda hurry most of the time, but you know, a tour is a tour. The description is pretty much what it is.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Manuel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent!! Worth the trip.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

Manuel L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent!! Worth the trip.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Malaga

Luc V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very nice and well organized trip.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This building is nothing much from the outside but inside it's really amazing. The female tour guide Name? was very knowledgable and had a good command of English. I had some difficulty with my reception device as the earpiece only fits in the right ear and that's my worst hearing ear. A double would have been better. Overall I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

joan m g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Ruth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous tour! Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Christine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic day out!!
However I wish I'd done this over two days because I ended up with information overload. The Mosque is incredible and the town itself full of narrow streets and lots of shops. Our guide Anna really knew her stuff when telling us about the history of the place.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Nancy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour! We really enjoyed it, especially the beautiful Mezquita!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a wonderful tour and day spent in Cordoba which we loved. the Mesquitzo was amazing....we did take off early from the tour and spent some time in the Museo de Judiaca which was fascinating!!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful, well organized tour. First we toured the Alcazar for an hour. Then our guide walked us over to the cathedral to meet our next tour guide, and we had an hour tour of the cathedral. Then we did a walking tour of the Jewish quarter with a stop at the synogue. Our trip ended with 2 hours of free time. After this we stopped in Carmona for an hour. Carmona was not worth stopping at and I don't suggest you waste your money on the optional tour. We should have skipped Carmona and spent extra time in Cordoba. Anyhow, Cordoba is beautiful and the tour of this city is excellent.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Jonathan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a must see if you are visiting southern Spain.

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville

Bill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the highlights of our trip to Spain...extremely beautiful mosque/cathedral. Amazing Roman bridge just behind the building. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Dominique G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It doesn't look much from the outside but the inside of the Mosque-Cathedral is spectacular. Our tour guide from Viator was very knowledgeable and explained really well the history of this great place.

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Antonio G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Trip was great. Very punctual and Petra was a lot of fun. Ana was very knowledgeable and our driver Geraldo was very courteous and a great driver. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cordoba Day Trip from Seville Including Skip-the-Line Entrance to Cordoba Mosque and Optional Tour of Carmona

Danuta P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent guide who brought the history to life.

Doing what: Great Mosque-Cathedral of Cordoba History Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message