Built above 12 kilometers (8 miles) of beautiful beaches paved with soft, golden sand, the medieval town of Palafrugell has long been a port of some importance. Until recently, it was also the region's top producer of cork, for popping off fine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 358 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sonya K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a brilliant tour, and our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

If you like history, beach, seafood and Game of Thrones, go for it!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing trip--especially once you get to Costa Brava--mixing it with the rich and famous--make sure you take your bathers and a towel--beautiful spot--take time to find a cafe and have a meal and a beer and watch the world go buy

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

sequesi30

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great - Feliciano was engaging and lively and full of information. I particularly liked the stop in Pals. One caveat: in mid-November, the resort town of Calella and the other resort towns, I'm sure are closed up until April. I suggest bringing your own lunch, otherwise you are stuck with the very limited options available this time of year.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

IAN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent guide full of history and information.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

margjunor

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This tour is a great way to see more of the countryside and really interesting small towns near Barcelona. Girona's old city and cathedral are certainly a must-see, we also had a great local bakery visit there! In Pals I enjoyed our visit to a little shop selling local produce as well as the old stone streets and houses. There were great views, including breaking waves, at the coast. The only negative was a very long wait for some of us for our food at lunchtime, which left very little time for sightseeing.
Our guide was a passionate Catalan who was willing to share his personal opinions and experiences as well as giving us detailed information about his region and its history.The staff at the Explore Catalunya office were very friendly and helpful.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

dougblack1118

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Too much time spent in Costa Brava... Would have enjoyed more time in Girona.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Wayne W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Well organized and informative guide. The only negative was the vehicle which was a bit small for the numbers in our group - made traveling from site to site a bit uncomfortable.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jonathan G

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Nice tour guide but not nearly enough dialogue during the bus ride or at the locations. Everyone was pretty much on thie own once they arrived at Girona, Pals and Calella

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nicole L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a fantastic day and our guide David was well informed and made our day memorable with his vast knowledge. All the towns we visited were worth a visit alone, but Costa Brava was truly the Jewell on the crown. Stunning. Lunch and an afternoon swim in this picturesque place will be long remembered

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Barbara Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Everything about this day trip was wonderful! Great experiences in ancient cities plus a beautiful beach - how can you go wrong? Our tour guide, the Spanish equivalent of Arthur, was also over and above what we expected. He was very friendly and made a point of striking up conversations with the group when he wasn't doing the official information. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Dariusz D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A truly spectacular trip. I wished it lasted longer. True star of the trip was our guide David. This guy is a born entertainer. Funny, charming and eloquent. My only concern was that at time I felt rushed I wanted to stay longer to explore the location but it is nobody's fault. Catalonia simply offers so much to see.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Karen C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We very much enjoyed our day trip. Thanks to Anna, our tour leader, and to the other visitors for a memorable day. It was a good choice.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Fahad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour with a very funny and personable guide. The group should be a given a little more time in Pals, but I highly recommend this for everyone.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

John J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the perfect day trip with Julia as the perfect guide.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

R Silver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

After 10 days in Madrid and Barcelona, seeing all the sights, this was the best part of our trip. I'm in love with Pals. Quiet, beautiful, warm Mediterranean breeze, hospitable people. Costa Brava is not to be missed. Tour was great mix of tour and info and personal time to wander around. Can't recommend this tour enough!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

phungconifer Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

the tour guide was fabulous.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Ron T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Great tour guide.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

fgrunner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a very interesting tour with lots to see. Our guide, David, made our ventures even better due to his knowledge of history, religion, and politics. His engaging personality, helpful suggestions, and passion for Catalonia fueled our desire to come back as soon as possible.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Ming I W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

very cool tour guide who can speak Chinese. We appreciate her kindness and really love the beach view in Costa Brava.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Ronald R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This trip suffered from many significant problems. I would definitely not recommend it to others. Our guide was virtually silent during the hours we spent on the bus to Girona, to the other stops, and back again. Even at the places we stopped, our guide mostly just left us on our own with little explanation. In Girona we were pickpocketed and our guide provided us with no helpful support afterward. In Palafrugell we were dropped off to find a place to eat. All of the restaurants were full. Eventually, because of the mercy of one of the restaurants, we were able to get a bite to eat, but by that time we didn't have time to see any of Palafrugell. We tried to do too much in one day Girona, Pals, Palafrugell, which caused us to spend almost all day on the bus and very little time at each place. If all of the tours were like ours I would have preferred to not go on the tour at all, but simply gone to one place on my own that day.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

matthewrakowski

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Was not a fan of this tour. Girona was OK. I have no idea why we stopped at Pals.There was no time to do anything other than find a bathroom, which was not easy. The beach at Costa Brava was disappointing. We could have used more direction to make Costa Brava a better experience. Had we known finding a place to change would be time-consuming, we would have worn our bathing suits under our clothes. The beach itself was crowded and too many boats in the water. Too expensive for what you get.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

awardtravelers

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

Highlight of our trip! We loved the Costa Brava beaches and town - it was phenomenal!

Unfortunately the bus started making a bad knocking sound about 1.5 hours into our journey. I instantly recognized the sound as the tread coming off a tire, but when the driver stopped, went to investigate and came back and said everything was fine I assumed it was. But after she started driving again I felt unsafe and went to the front to tell the driver and our guide that the sound was from one of the tires and that we should stop and check it out. No, no I was told. She just checked it out and everything is fine the guide says. Well, guess what? Not more than 5 minutes after I said that the tire blew and we were stranded on the side of the road for almost 2 hours.

If I had it to do over again I'd spend more than a few hours in Palafrugell, I just wouldn't go with this company.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Amy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Laura was wonderful!! The trip could not have been better. Everywhere we went was great and the amount of time in each spot was perfect. This trip shouldn't be missed and hopefully everyone can have Laura.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message