Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Questions?

Call (888) 651-9785

All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 960 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JOHN G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I will review in 3 parts. Our guides Paco and Hassan were the best. Paco was informative and humorous while Hassan spoke with pride and fervor about his city Tangier. The demonstrations at the carpet place and the spice store were good. The meal was a quick 45 minute endeavor with inconsistent food. Lastly, I know it is a cultural thing to bargain but I felt we had to run a gauntlet to get past the various vendors selling things.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Jean A

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Although our guides one for the bus in Spain and ferry and another for Tangier were outstanding and the bus comfortable, visiting Morocco on this tour was a mixed experience. The Tangier city bus tour was informative, but was a simple drive through with one stop for a beautiful view, followed by an opportunity to ride camels stationed in a parking lot. The included lunch was held in an appropriately atmospheric restaurant, with musicians playing arabic music and an acceptable lunch of kibbeh kebab and couscous. However, we were whisked through the fascinating narrow alleys of the old city and through the enticing bazaars and food markets so quickly that we barely had time to take photos, let alone have an opportunity to browse or buy....for example, we would love to have had the chance to buy bags of the lucious dates and nuts to take home. Instead, we were quickly herded into a huge department store to a pre-planned sales pitch for carpets and hard sell employees attempting to help us purchase jewelry or crafts. The goods were beautiful and appeared to be high quality, but the sales technique was annoying and ineffective. Later we WERE given 20 minutes to browse in a few shops, but that was also pre-arranged with the brother of a guide trying to sell items in his shop. Meanwhile there were street vendors pursuing us mercilessly through the streets shoving carved wooden camels and trinkets at us. Our guides had warned us, and told us what to say to them, but nothing stopped them. Finally, we were ushered into a supposed spice market, where another sales pitch was intended to sell an expensive oil or cosmetics made from it. We were glad we took the tour, but would have preferred it to have allowed browsing time in the REAL markets and eliminated those time-consuming stops for arranged sales pitches. Compliments on having experienced, savvy, personable guides and great, safe, organization for a tourist group,.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Maurice V

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

It is something to see and experience, however too much was devoted at the Tangier end to selling merchandise to us. I paid to tour Tangier not buy cheap merchandise. I would have liked more time spent touring and visiting important sites in Tangier, we spent have the time in the tour fending off guys trying to sell things to us. The guy purposely brought us into areas that we were not able to escape and would disappear for half an hour, only to reappear and bring us to another area where we were at the mercy of the people trying to sell us 5 euro Rolexes and colourful stones. They especially targeting women. We also spent over 20 minutes having a merchant trying to sell us some carpets. I can see 15 minutes in the merchant area, not half the tour. The guide from the Spanish side was good, but very busy. They need to have better organization, I waiting for the tour at 5:30 in the morning for the 6 am tour, only to get picked up at 8 am no advance notice was given to me email or phone message. I would like to stress that the trip is worth the money, but would like less time spent with the merchants of Tangier and more time spent touring Tangier. We I an a lot of others felt like cattle being routed through a corral for the slaughter house not as people.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Lupita P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

The transportation to Morroco and the tour guide from Spain and from Morroco were excellent, the food was good.
the visits in Tanger to the handcraft's store and and the oil and spice's sotre was not so good, but the 20 minutes that they gave us, was the wost harassment experienceof the street vendors. the 20 minutes were the longest 20 minutes of my life.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Melinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is absolutely the best way to go to Tangier the first time. The tour is a bit of walking, which I liked and an overview of cultural, historic, natural sights plus some limited shopping. The shopping was pre-planned and included some things such as carpets that a day tourist might not have in mind. Still, it was a good balance between many different activities and the lunch with live traditional music was very good. The Guides were helpful and well-informed, all the transport was comfortable and on time and I felt very safe and well looked after the entire time. There was an extra guide through the narrow and lively streets of the old city in Tangier and he kept his eye on all 18 of us, when I lost my daughter in a shopping area, he knew exactly where she was. THANK YOU Said 1, Said 2 and Pepe!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even though it was semi-difficult to determine where we were meeting the tour group and other members of the same tour had free hotel pickup and drop off this was a very nice tour. We spent ten days traveling through Morocco including Rabat, Casablanca, and Marrakech and got more in depth information on the culture and customs of Morocco from this trip in one day than we did in the previous ten days. I would have appreciated it if they would have made the pick-up process a bit easier but overall this tour was an excellent value for the price and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Anna K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Organization was ok but Tangier was not as like i think . Medina was just dirty slums with full of beg for money people .

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

William R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

First time I've gone on a trip with a tour group. This tour was misleading in it's representation. Also, getting historical facts is always interesting, but I'm not intetested in a religious presentation. The hotels were Ok except for the internet connectivity which was poor to non existent.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

KC W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This was absolutely awful. This isn't a trip to tangier as much as its a forced excursion to a rug seller, and a vitamin shop. Nothing cultural about it. 13 -14 hours for a depressing parking lot camel ride, and hordes of souvenir hawkers. save your money, save your time.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

james r v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We were supposed to take the tour on January 18, but it got moved to January 19. We spoke to several people who took it and they said it was awful. The bus ride was too long and they were harassed by street beggars. Even though we had paid for it, we decided not to go.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Daniel P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

Didn't really live up to the hype. Not sure I would recommend this tour to anyone. Didn't seem well organized on the Spanish side, and even much less on the Moroccan side. Problem after problem. Remember that if you are in Malaga it will take over 3 hours to get to Tarifa your exit port. Then the boat broke down so we had to wait an extra 2 hours. Once in Morocco there was a problem with the day visa that turned out to be a bigger problem on exiting Morocco. The guide in Morocco just seemed to rush us through the history and landmarks which were few, and take us to the touristy areas to get hounded by hawkers selling junk. Stay clear of this one. I have been told that is the story of Tangier. Better to go to another place to get the genuine feel of Morocco.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Gillian R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I should have asked questions before booking. From Malaga city it is almost 100 miles to the ferry port and picking up people on the way meant much of the day was taken sitting in a coach. We left Malaga at 08.00 and returned at 11pm. And in Tangier I expected street traders to be endlessly trying to sell to me but the tour was almost a complete selling job: stop for camel riding - in a car park! - only 2 euros take photos for free at the artisan co-op a sales pitch for their carpets and as soon as finished men swooped on us trying to get us to buy. You couldn't look at anything without someone appearing at your side. The herbalist with a nasty cold so his treatments don't work wanted to sell us argon oil three for two... the race through the old section market but not allowed to stop and look which would have been the interesting part of the day but we were on route for lunch lunch good though tips needed for the musicians. Every time we went inside somewhere we had to run a gauntlet of street sellers waiting for us to come out again. At least they were cheerful and didn't seem to resent our - polite - rejections. Guide Frank who got us to Tangier explaining in several languages how to get through stringent passport checks with entrance and exit forms and ensuring no-one got lost on the way, gets a special mention for patience. Hassan then took over for the Tangier tour and his mate suddenly appeared - not sure what for and what his contribution was supposed to be - but touted for tips at the end. This could have been very interesting trip if it had been more 'show and tell' and much less 'show and sell'.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

rimer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this trip to Morocco! We stayed at the beautiful AC Marriott and took a cab from there in the morning to the meeting place where there were several others waiting and we walked back to the hotel at the end of our tour. I was traveling with my in-shape 80 year old mother and the day was perfect for her in terms of getting around. As others mentioned in their reviews, the bus ride was long, but it was wonderful seeing the countryside along the way! The ride back was much shorter as we were not waiting for anyone and the bus driver was extremely safe. The ferry ride was fun and the bus in Morocco was a nice bus. The Moroccan guide was awesome, lunch was tasty and the musicians in the restaurant added to the authenticity of the experience! Loved the market and especially the carpet emporium which had a lot of other items to shop for as well. The people were knowledgeable and non pressure for sales although we did purchase two carpets and a large vase! The communication from the store has been good since we have returned home and the vase is already arrived in less than one month's time. I purchased Moroccan money before leaving the US but everyone there accepts dollars or euro. I definitely recommend this Morocco experience. My favorite part was the Moroccan guide and the Moroccan people we met. They are all so wonderful!!!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Christian S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Poorly coordinated tour. You will spend a lot of time and I mean A LOT of time in the bus and most of the tour is called panoramic tour meaning to say, you will just stay in the bus while passing through the cities mentioned on this tour. The only real tour will happen in Fez, Marrakech and in the city of Tangier walking tour. Guide mostly talk in Spanish and will explain some in English. The hotel in Fez, Zalagh Parc Palace is a horrible place, staffed with unprofessional people.

Doing what: 7-Day Morocco Tour from Costa del Sol: Fez, Meknes, Marrakech, Casablanca, Rabat and Tangier

1viaje

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tour from Malaga to Morocco is worted!!! if You want to experience the Highlight of other Culture and the exitmen of passing through the Gibraltar Straight in the Ferry. They pick up every passenger at they're Hotel early in the morning it take a while to pick every body along the way and the same in the way back. The only bad situation is the Tour guide Was not very nice explaining and sore of rude, but the one that We had in Morocco save the day!!! and the visit to various places and the lunch it was different but good, musicians where at the Restaurant to entretain. Beautiful sightseeing and views along the coast of the Mediterranean where meet with the Atlantic, We visit the Hercules caves a beautiful sight and then along the way stop for a Camel ride and view the different Palacetes along the way., I highly recommended the Tour, be ready with comfortable shoes and cloth, tour is from aprox 6am till 10 to 11pm depend where You're hotel.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

value for your money

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

RJW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do experience. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Anton N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience, especially for someone like me, who hadn't been to Africa or to the Arab world before. On the way home you were just left wishing you had spent more time there. While being an important part of the experience, the most significant thing on the downside would be the very pushy salesmen. Don't be rude to them, though, and if you want to buy, remember that they will accept a price way lower than what they initially suggest!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

andreea.lada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip is with Julia Travel, though I read bad reviews, the guide was ok, however you should know that it and #39;s 4 hour drive + 45 min by boat, then you are taken to Tanger we and #39;re they put you to listen a carpet and oil sale, everyone wants to sell you stuff, food is horrible and there is no free time.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

cavogt

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Long trip due to hotel pickups. There was no pickup at our hotel and we were dropped off with no taxi in vicinity quite late due to ferry problems. Lunch was very good. Did not get to see a snake charmer.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Pat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

OK, not as exciting as I thought it would be

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Manuel L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Long trip, the highlight was the camel ride. Too much time spent for commercial break.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

pampettie

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This trip does not tell you that you will be picked up in Malaga at 6am for a 10am ferry because you will be picking people up all along the Costa del Sol. Not just on the main roads but pulling into residential areas to pick up people. In some towns stopping almost every block. 4 hours of picking up means another 4 hours on the bus return.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Shannon J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour was arranged through Julia travel and was very deceiving. Right from the beginning, the meeting place was unclear no address given but only landmarks which was ridiculous, the guide was rude, and we spent most of the day in a bus or getting harassed by street vendors.

We were instructed to meet at 6AM in Malaga to drive to Tarifa. We spent 3 hours getting there as there were so many stops to pick up more people this was NOT clear in the tour description. Then there was a ferry ride to Tangier which was pleasant, however the ferry was dirty and in need of a remodel. Once in Tangier, we visited Cap Spartel for 10 minutes to take photos. Next we were taken to a platform by the sea to ride camels for 2 euros if we wanted. The camels were treated poorly and their knees were worn down from having to get up and down on the platform for tourists. We then saw the Caves of Hercules where we were charged 1 euro to use the restroom. Ridiculous as we were not given a chance otherwise! We were rushed through the Casbah in town in less than 10 minutes and it was very sketchy. We had a nice lunch but drinks were not included. It was 4 euro for a bottle of water!! We were then subjected to a sales pitch at a rug merchant and a spice merchant. In between, we were swarmed by street vendors who did not take no for an answer. The entire afternoon was an attempt to sell things to tourists. It was clear our guide was working together with the locals to make us purchase things. He kept pushing us into stores and saying I brought more! We were also set up for pick-pocketing. I felt very uneasy and nervous. It was very unsafe, especially as we were traveling with no men. We were so relieved to get back on the bus. I could not believe we spent 100 each on this trip!!! We then took the 6PM ferry to Tarifia and 3 hours back to Malaga on the bus. It was approaching 10PM when we returned. There was no breakfast in the morning and no dinner at night so we were starving.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jwan M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

the Spanish tour guide Jane is the most unprofessional and rude person.

it was 6 clock in the morning we took the bus at the gathering point mentioned in the information email sent to , I found that we are going from one gathering point to another to collect passengers. I had no idea that there will be more than one collection point so I asked her a simple question: when are we going to reach the ferry?

she said at 10.

so I told here there was only one gathering point mentioned in the email. why this information was not provided to us?

and here when she started to loos her mind. can you imagine that this was her reply: Do you think this bus is only for you?

at that point I knew that she is so unprofessional so I tried not to engage more with her in any fuhrer argument. I just told her that I do not like the way you are talking to me.

after few minuets she stood up and came down to my seat and told me: if you don't like this you can leave the bus it was the two of us me and my mom an old women take your passports with you.

and here I could not take it any more so I shouted at her and I told here that she can not talk to me like this and that you should have told me this from the beginning not now in the middle of no where.

she made our experience very unpleasant, she was very confused and unorganized, her English is not very good and instructions was not very clear.

I would never travel or recommend traveling with Julia group anymore because of her.

just for the record, after this fight she behaved and was trying to be nice.

on the other side, the tour in Morocco was very organized and pleasant. I would do it again but with a different agent than Julia.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message