Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 929 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sara S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is the best value for money tour and very well organised. Just be prepared for the street tour once in Tangier, Morocco as you will be followed constantly by street vendors selling all variety of items. They are friendly but persistent. Just enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Joanne L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A long day, but very educational and enjoyable.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

ehynes

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I enjoyed visiting Tangier and the first half of the day with the bus and walking tour was great and informative. However, the manipulation of the tour group by Julia Travel was really off-putting in the second half of the day.

We had been rushed through the kasbah and the market, not being given a chance to look at the stalls and shops or even take many pictures. The reason for this was very clear when it became apparent that the tour company had made arrangements with only a couple of shops and those were the only places we were given an opportunity to browse and shop. We even saw the kickbacks being paid to the tour guides quite openly.

In particular, there was a group of about 7 aggressive vendors selling tourist trinkets that followed our group around all day. All day being harassed by the same people pushing the same junk, and not taking no for an answer. I stepped outside during a stop at one of the designated shopping opportunities and these vendors were all sitting around, chatting and waiting for us. Not one tried to sell me anything but, as soon as the tour emerged, it was right back to the really aggressive and intrusive selling. It's bad enough to have to put up with that sort of thing but even worse to know that we paid a tour company to subject us to this set up.

I don't know if Viator uses multiple tour companies and/or if others do a better job of respecting their guests you are not given the name of the tour company until after you purchase your tickets from Viator, but I wouldn't recommend Julia Travel for a visit to Tangier.

I would recommend a day trip to Tangier, though. I great opportunity when you are so close.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Beth S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

I would have preferred more history and culture and less shopping.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Samir A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

If you are starting in Malaga, I would just not recommend this tour. We were picked up at 6am from a pickup spot, and all we did for the next 3.5 hours was picking up others along the way at their hotels and resorts. And the way back was worse still. We dropped off everyone along the way, and reached our spot past 11pm. Of the 17 hours on the tour we spent 8 hours picking and dropping people. The tour operator, Julia, could easily have assigned a separate bus for the resort drop-offs while taking others to Malaga. Also, good to note that there is no refreshment break, so until you get on the ferry, you stay hungry!

The first half of the tour was ok. The second half -- the trip to the old city, the Kasbah - had zero sightseeing or storytelling. It was all about free time and the sales tours.- rugs, oils, ...

I should have paid more attention the reviews. Had I truly expected this, I would not have done the tour.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Faisal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great! Frank was excellent and there were complications with my passport due to me having an Arabic name but frank sorted it!
Definitely would use again

Regards

Faz Hassan

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Roshawn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do!!! Both of our tour guides were great. My only negative is that the tour doesn't give you time to stop by the local markets. You are taken to specific locations that doesn't include stopping at the local markets. The tour is fast pace but a must do none the less. You must keep up and pay attention to your guide.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Qi T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Lack some tour places but with too much shops.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Richard L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

interesting and well done

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Sharyl E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a very unique experience for us! Without local language skills, I would not have traveled here without a tour group. My daughter and I felt very safe with Viator. The lunch with live music, shopping, and the snake charmer were the highlights for us. Even the ferry ride was exciting as we crossed the Strait of Gibraltar to Africa! Bring an umbrella to guard against the sun and to annoy the very competent tour guide, Alberto!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

RICHARD F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Should tell customers that 7 hours of the day are spent on the bus, with no bathrooms.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Iliana R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Though Marocco is absolutely worth seeing, the tour was too focused on shopping. I understand that local merchants and #39; livelihood is tourists and I am all for supporting local economies. However, there was too much time spent at the bazaar that I would have rather spent exploring Tangiers further.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Eino K

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Our guide with the bus were almost 30min late arriving at the pick-up place in Malaga. The guide was not very informative, he did not utter a word for the first hour. He was extremely rude when we, the passengers, later on asked if the bus could stop at any hotel on way so we could use toilets. He said there are no stops at all to use the toilets and when one of the passengers saw a hotel at one of the pick-up places few of us rushed out to the toilets. Our guide shouted after us that if you need to use the toilet you should not come on this excursion at all ! Then he rushed to the gentlemens toilet and started to pull the passengers out! On these long tours a bus with the toilet would be a massive relief.

The guide in Morocco was very knowledgeable. The tour was rushed because we were ushered into shops what most of us were definitely not interested in thus leaving us no time to do any shopping of our own choice. The street venders were really aggressive. My grandson was actually scared of so many street vendors hustling around his mum. Tangier is a very beautiful city.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Colleen C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Super quick trip, but our Spanish guide was delightful. Downfall is the sales pitch in Tangier - be prepared.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Sonia Alexandra P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Too long a travel and very little time to spend in Tangier. We hit the most touristic places and we were followed by people all the time. We stopped in a car park to take a photo with the camels, in a corner to take a photo with the cobras. Wouldn't recommend it.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Sophie M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

I was really excited about the prospect of having a whirlwind tour of exotic Tangier for a day. Although it was an enjoyable experience I don't think I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

Firstly, even though the voucher advises you to be in central malaga 15 mins before departure, the bus didn't actually come until approx. 6.15am and then we spent close to 3hours on a bus before reaching the boat for 10am. After arriving in Morocco we did a flash tour of Tangier and then stopped off at a 'park' to see/ride camels. The 'park' is a car park and there were a few very small baby? camels and some that looked liked they hadn't eaten in quite a while I didn't agree with exploiting the camels so I didn't bother with the 2 euro, 2 min camel ride. then a 'snake charmer' 2min show. After a quick bit of walking through some of the streets, surrounded by locals trying to sell you things and being quite pushy and aggressive, lunch was in a local restaurant which was soup, couscous and chicken, followed by a sweet pastry and then a sweet, mint tea.

After lunch we were ushered to a 'rug' factory/ warehouse where we were given a sales pitch about various rugs. we were then given 40 mins to shop in this place, where the salesmen were quite pushy and irksome. Then we were brought to a herb shop where again another 'presentation' sales pitch was made about all the unique benefits of moroccan and argan oil instead of browsing around the shop independently, the employee give us out shopping bags and went around with products to put into our bags. then a 15min slot to walk around 2-3 shops. all the shops sold the same thing as the rug/herb store at a fraction of cost.

Advice: don't panic buy at the rug/herbal store. the whole tour was rather contrived and staged and the salesmen/local traders refused to take no for an answer they literally chased us back to the bus which was very off-putting.

An interesting day but wouldn't go with an 'staged' tour again.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Petru I

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This trip was a big dissapointment for me, one of the worst experiences as a traveler. The itinerary was very limited, as we visited the local vegetable Market and the bazaar only. No local history, no important landmarks, the guide was truly just full of herself, arrogant, denying to answer the tourists ' questions... The trip lasted 5 hours in the town, but I feel like all this time was wasted without seeing the town of Tanger and it's culture and history.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

David W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

This tour was awful and not worth the money. It took us 3 hrs each way bc of the long bus ride with many stops. The tour guides were horrible. They acted like con artists trying to get us to buy wares from their friends. We did not learn about the culture or any history.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Sofia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is perfect to learn about other cultures, explore Tangier in one day, and be adventurous. I highly recommend it if you are open-minded!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Rhonda United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Saw a lot in little time. Lots of fast walking through busy streets and markets on cobblestone. My sister who was having difficulty walking was able to catch up since the tour stopped often along the way.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Elizabeth D

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The trip overall was great. Even though it was a day trip, I didn't feel rushed at all and felt that it was enough time to see everything. The only issue was being picked up by the coach bus. They were 20 minutes late which caused some panic because we thought we had missed the bus! I would definitely recommend this day trip to anyone looking to explore a city unlike no other and learn about the history.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Raphael S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I really enjoyed the time this tour gave us in Morocco. Our local guide was excellent. We spent a lot of time traveling from the pick up place to the ferry which made it a very long day of traveling.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Maria L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Next time i will like to shop a little more time with the street vendors. Because the store where they took us was very expensive.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

A m T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Good tour, not particularly cultural enriched. Still fun and a great experience for my teenagers. Need more consistent clarity on the pick up points. Expected a confirmation email with the address and time but never got one. Pick was smooth and tour guides Raphael and Samir were great. Note two hour time change, bring snacks especially , during Ramadan, kids were getting hungry.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Soo Hwang N

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Too much walking trips through narrow lanes in the old town. Leg pain not suitable for older people.
Very good tour guides. Need more toilet stops in the beginning of trip and please advice to bring along snacks and drinks, cause is a long bus ride on the 1st and 2nd day.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message