Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 946 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1viaje

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tour from Malaga to Morocco is worted!!! if You want to experience the Highlight of other Culture and the exitmen of passing through the Gibraltar Straight in the Ferry. They pick up every passenger at they're Hotel early in the morning it take a while to pick every body along the way and the same in the way back. The only bad situation is the Tour guide Was not very nice explaining and sore of rude, but the one that We had in Morocco save the day!!! and the visit to various places and the lunch it was different but good, musicians where at the Restaurant to entretain. Beautiful sightseeing and views along the coast of the Mediterranean where meet with the Atlantic, We visit the Hercules caves a beautiful sight and then along the way stop for a Camel ride and view the different Palacetes along the way., I highly recommended the Tour, be ready with comfortable shoes and cloth, tour is from aprox 6am till 10 to 11pm depend where You're hotel.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

value for your money

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

RJW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do experience. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Anton N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience, especially for someone like me, who hadn't been to Africa or to the Arab world before. On the way home you were just left wishing you had spent more time there. While being an important part of the experience, the most significant thing on the downside would be the very pushy salesmen. Don't be rude to them, though, and if you want to buy, remember that they will accept a price way lower than what they initially suggest!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

andreea.lada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip is with Julia Travel, though I read bad reviews, the guide was ok, however you should know that it and #39;s 4 hour drive + 45 min by boat, then you are taken to Tanger we and #39;re they put you to listen a carpet and oil sale, everyone wants to sell you stuff, food is horrible and there is no free time.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

cavogt

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Long trip due to hotel pickups. There was no pickup at our hotel and we were dropped off with no taxi in vicinity quite late due to ferry problems. Lunch was very good. Did not get to see a snake charmer.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Pat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

OK, not as exciting as I thought it would be

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Manuel L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Long trip, the highlight was the camel ride. Too much time spent for commercial break.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

pampettie

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This trip does not tell you that you will be picked up in Malaga at 6am for a 10am ferry because you will be picking people up all along the Costa del Sol. Not just on the main roads but pulling into residential areas to pick up people. In some towns stopping almost every block. 4 hours of picking up means another 4 hours on the bus return.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Shannon J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour was arranged through Julia travel and was very deceiving. Right from the beginning, the meeting place was unclear no address given but only landmarks which was ridiculous, the guide was rude, and we spent most of the day in a bus or getting harassed by street vendors.

We were instructed to meet at 6AM in Malaga to drive to Tarifa. We spent 3 hours getting there as there were so many stops to pick up more people this was NOT clear in the tour description. Then there was a ferry ride to Tangier which was pleasant, however the ferry was dirty and in need of a remodel. Once in Tangier, we visited Cap Spartel for 10 minutes to take photos. Next we were taken to a platform by the sea to ride camels for 2 euros if we wanted. The camels were treated poorly and their knees were worn down from having to get up and down on the platform for tourists. We then saw the Caves of Hercules where we were charged 1 euro to use the restroom. Ridiculous as we were not given a chance otherwise! We were rushed through the Casbah in town in less than 10 minutes and it was very sketchy. We had a nice lunch but drinks were not included. It was 4 euro for a bottle of water!! We were then subjected to a sales pitch at a rug merchant and a spice merchant. In between, we were swarmed by street vendors who did not take no for an answer. The entire afternoon was an attempt to sell things to tourists. It was clear our guide was working together with the locals to make us purchase things. He kept pushing us into stores and saying I brought more! We were also set up for pick-pocketing. I felt very uneasy and nervous. It was very unsafe, especially as we were traveling with no men. We were so relieved to get back on the bus. I could not believe we spent 100 each on this trip!!! We then took the 6PM ferry to Tarifia and 3 hours back to Malaga on the bus. It was approaching 10PM when we returned. There was no breakfast in the morning and no dinner at night so we were starving.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jwan M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

the Spanish tour guide Jane is the most unprofessional and rude person.

it was 6 clock in the morning we took the bus at the gathering point mentioned in the information email sent to , I found that we are going from one gathering point to another to collect passengers. I had no idea that there will be more than one collection point so I asked her a simple question: when are we going to reach the ferry?

she said at 10.

so I told here there was only one gathering point mentioned in the email. why this information was not provided to us?

and here when she started to loos her mind. can you imagine that this was her reply: Do you think this bus is only for you?

at that point I knew that she is so unprofessional so I tried not to engage more with her in any fuhrer argument. I just told her that I do not like the way you are talking to me.

after few minuets she stood up and came down to my seat and told me: if you don't like this you can leave the bus it was the two of us me and my mom an old women take your passports with you.

and here I could not take it any more so I shouted at her and I told here that she can not talk to me like this and that you should have told me this from the beginning not now in the middle of no where.

she made our experience very unpleasant, she was very confused and unorganized, her English is not very good and instructions was not very clear.

I would never travel or recommend traveling with Julia group anymore because of her.

just for the record, after this fight she behaved and was trying to be nice.

on the other side, the tour in Morocco was very organized and pleasant. I would do it again but with a different agent than Julia.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jeremy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I took this trip with our two teenage daughters and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable day courtesy of Julia Travel. It was perfect for our requirements and great value. Our guides, Jeanette and Hassan were very good, providing an informative and stress free experience for all. Staying near Estepona, we had considered driving to Tariffa ourselves and taking the ferry, but I know we would not have taken in anywhere near as much of Tangier in the limited time and it would have probably cost us more. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a flavour of Morocco in one day!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Cassandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Could have been better, could have been worse. The tour guide Paco wasn't too personable and didn't say much during the long drive to Tangier. It would have been nice to have some information/history provided during this time. The pick up/drop off was incredibly long as we had to pick up people from hotels - why not have a separate shuttle bus?
When we got to the boarding the ferry it was beyond anyone's control that it took a long time, understandably it was a Saturday so of course it's likely to be busy but better organization on the company would also be something they should look into.
We got to drive through the city where we got our tour along with the camel ride and caves which was all great. We had lunch at an authentic Moroccan restaurant where they had lively music playing for us. We got to walk the streets of Tangier where we were rushed into this massive store and were pressured to buy things. It would have been nice to just shop through the street vendors instead of being harassed into buying things we don't want for a straight hour.
Due to the extended times at the border/ferry, along with dropping other people off, we didn't get back to the original meeting point until about 11pm.

Overall, I loved seeing Tangier but this tour is not organized and should make a few amendments.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

JANIS Z

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip was O.K. The only one minus - too long we spent a carpet store.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Richard F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were so glad to spend 5 days in Morocco. The trip was very well organized. We paid extra for a nicer hotel but were confused as the entire group stayed in the same hotels during the entire trip. Hotels were not as high a standard as we've seen on other trips. One was so hot that everyone was complaining. The trip was supposed to be in Spanish and English but the guide translated only about 1/3 of what he said to English. Other than that he was fantastic. The local guides are great and very informative. When they take you shopping, you must act uninterested and ready to leave. We bought a carpet and paid less than 1/2 of their asking price. Don't get ripped off.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

Jennifer P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was an interesting tour, yet insightful tour. We went on a Moroccan religious holiday and we wish we were told of the holiday, because most of the shops were closed. We also wished we could have been picked up at a closer location to our resort, rather than driving to downtown Malaga.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Daniel E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This explanation was submitted already. 12 hours total of traveling for 5 1/2 hours in Tangiers. Everyone was completely exhausted and frustrated at the end 6 a.m. until 11:30 pm

Very bad.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Sara S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is the best value for money tour and very well organised. Just be prepared for the street tour once in Tangier, Morocco as you will be followed constantly by street vendors selling all variety of items. They are friendly but persistent. Just enjoy the experience.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Joanne L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A long day, but very educational and enjoyable.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

ehynes

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

I enjoyed visiting Tangier and the first half of the day with the bus and walking tour was great and informative. However, the manipulation of the tour group by Julia Travel was really off-putting in the second half of the day.

We had been rushed through the kasbah and the market, not being given a chance to look at the stalls and shops or even take many pictures. The reason for this was very clear when it became apparent that the tour company had made arrangements with only a couple of shops and those were the only places we were given an opportunity to browse and shop. We even saw the kickbacks being paid to the tour guides quite openly.

In particular, there was a group of about 7 aggressive vendors selling tourist trinkets that followed our group around all day. All day being harassed by the same people pushing the same junk, and not taking no for an answer. I stepped outside during a stop at one of the designated shopping opportunities and these vendors were all sitting around, chatting and waiting for us. Not one tried to sell me anything but, as soon as the tour emerged, it was right back to the really aggressive and intrusive selling. It's bad enough to have to put up with that sort of thing but even worse to know that we paid a tour company to subject us to this set up.

I don't know if Viator uses multiple tour companies and/or if others do a better job of respecting their guests you are not given the name of the tour company until after you purchase your tickets from Viator, but I wouldn't recommend Julia Travel for a visit to Tangier.

I would recommend a day trip to Tangier, though. I great opportunity when you are so close.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Beth S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

I would have preferred more history and culture and less shopping.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Samir A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

If you are starting in Malaga, I would just not recommend this tour. We were picked up at 6am from a pickup spot, and all we did for the next 3.5 hours was picking up others along the way at their hotels and resorts. And the way back was worse still. We dropped off everyone along the way, and reached our spot past 11pm. Of the 17 hours on the tour we spent 8 hours picking and dropping people. The tour operator, Julia, could easily have assigned a separate bus for the resort drop-offs while taking others to Malaga. Also, good to note that there is no refreshment break, so until you get on the ferry, you stay hungry!

The first half of the tour was ok. The second half -- the trip to the old city, the Kasbah - had zero sightseeing or storytelling. It was all about free time and the sales tours.- rugs, oils, ...

I should have paid more attention the reviews. Had I truly expected this, I would not have done the tour.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Faisal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great! Frank was excellent and there were complications with my passport due to me having an Arabic name but frank sorted it!
Definitely would use again

Regards

Faz Hassan

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Roshawn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must do!!! Both of our tour guides were great. My only negative is that the tour doesn't give you time to stop by the local markets. You are taken to specific locations that doesn't include stopping at the local markets. The tour is fast pace but a must do none the less. You must keep up and pay attention to your guide.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Qi T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Lack some tour places but with too much shops.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message