Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

All the mystique of Morocco is just a short trip away from the Costa del Sol. You can be there on a short flight from Malaga, or by water on a one-hour catamaran ferry. Morocco lies just over the Mediterranean, but this exotic North African gem ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 954 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melinda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is absolutely the best way to go to Tangier the first time. The tour is a bit of walking, which I liked and an overview of cultural, historic, natural sights plus some limited shopping. The shopping was pre-planned and included some things such as carpets that a day tourist might not have in mind. Still, it was a good balance between many different activities and the lunch with live traditional music was very good. The Guides were helpful and well-informed, all the transport was comfortable and on time and I felt very safe and well looked after the entire time. There was an extra guide through the narrow and lively streets of the old city in Tangier and he kept his eye on all 18 of us, when I lost my daughter in a shopping area, he knew exactly where she was. THANK YOU Said 1, Said 2 and Pepe!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

kedwards01 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even though it was semi-difficult to determine where we were meeting the tour group and other members of the same tour had free hotel pickup and drop off this was a very nice tour. We spent ten days traveling through Morocco including Rabat, Casablanca, and Marrakech and got more in depth information on the culture and customs of Morocco from this trip in one day than we did in the previous ten days. I would have appreciated it if they would have made the pick-up process a bit easier but overall this tour was an excellent value for the price and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Anna K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Organization was ok but Tangier was not as like i think . Medina was just dirty slums with full of beg for money people .

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

William R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

First time I've gone on a trip with a tour group. This tour was misleading in it's representation. Also, getting historical facts is always interesting, but I'm not intetested in a religious presentation. The hotels were Ok except for the internet connectivity which was poor to non existent.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

KC W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

This was absolutely awful. This isn't a trip to tangier as much as its a forced excursion to a rug seller, and a vitamin shop. Nothing cultural about it. 13 -14 hours for a depressing parking lot camel ride, and hordes of souvenir hawkers. save your money, save your time.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

james r v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

We were supposed to take the tour on January 18, but it got moved to January 19. We spoke to several people who took it and they said it was awful. The bus ride was too long and they were harassed by street beggars. Even though we had paid for it, we decided not to go.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

rimer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved this trip to Morocco! We stayed at the beautiful AC Marriott and took a cab from there in the morning to the meeting place where there were several others waiting and we walked back to the hotel at the end of our tour. I was traveling with my in-shape 80 year old mother and the day was perfect for her in terms of getting around. As others mentioned in their reviews, the bus ride was long, but it was wonderful seeing the countryside along the way! The ride back was much shorter as we were not waiting for anyone and the bus driver was extremely safe. The ferry ride was fun and the bus in Morocco was a nice bus. The Moroccan guide was awesome, lunch was tasty and the musicians in the restaurant added to the authenticity of the experience! Loved the market and especially the carpet emporium which had a lot of other items to shop for as well. The people were knowledgeable and non pressure for sales although we did purchase two carpets and a large vase! The communication from the store has been good since we have returned home and the vase is already arrived in less than one month's time. I purchased Moroccan money before leaving the US but everyone there accepts dollars or euro. I definitely recommend this Morocco experience. My favorite part was the Moroccan guide and the Moroccan people we met. They are all so wonderful!!!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Christian S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

Poorly coordinated tour. You will spend a lot of time and I mean A LOT of time in the bus and most of the tour is called panoramic tour meaning to say, you will just stay in the bus while passing through the cities mentioned on this tour. The only real tour will happen in Fez, Marrakech and in the city of Tangier walking tour. Guide mostly talk in Spanish and will explain some in English. The hotel in Fez, Zalagh Parc Palace is a horrible place, staffed with unprofessional people.

Doing what: 7-Day Morocco Tour from Costa del Sol: Fez, Meknes, Marrakech, Casablanca, Rabat and Tangier

1viaje

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The Tour from Malaga to Morocco is worted!!! if You want to experience the Highlight of other Culture and the exitmen of passing through the Gibraltar Straight in the Ferry. They pick up every passenger at they're Hotel early in the morning it take a while to pick every body along the way and the same in the way back. The only bad situation is the Tour guide Was not very nice explaining and sore of rude, but the one that We had in Morocco save the day!!! and the visit to various places and the lunch it was different but good, musicians where at the Restaurant to entretain. Beautiful sightseeing and views along the coast of the Mediterranean where meet with the Atlantic, We visit the Hercules caves a beautiful sight and then along the way stop for a Camel ride and view the different Palacetes along the way., I highly recommended the Tour, be ready with comfortable shoes and cloth, tour is from aprox 6am till 10 to 11pm depend where You're hotel.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Peter L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

value for your money

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

RJW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do experience. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Anton N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience, especially for someone like me, who hadn't been to Africa or to the Arab world before. On the way home you were just left wishing you had spent more time there. While being an important part of the experience, the most significant thing on the downside would be the very pushy salesmen. Don't be rude to them, though, and if you want to buy, remember that they will accept a price way lower than what they initially suggest!

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

andreea.lada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The trip is with Julia Travel, though I read bad reviews, the guide was ok, however you should know that it and #39;s 4 hour drive + 45 min by boat, then you are taken to Tanger we and #39;re they put you to listen a carpet and oil sale, everyone wants to sell you stuff, food is horrible and there is no free time.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

cavogt

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Long trip due to hotel pickups. There was no pickup at our hotel and we were dropped off with no taxi in vicinity quite late due to ferry problems. Lunch was very good. Did not get to see a snake charmer.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Pat

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

OK, not as exciting as I thought it would be

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Manuel L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Long trip, the highlight was the camel ride. Too much time spent for commercial break.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

pampettie

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

This trip does not tell you that you will be picked up in Malaga at 6am for a 10am ferry because you will be picking people up all along the Costa del Sol. Not just on the main roads but pulling into residential areas to pick up people. In some towns stopping almost every block. 4 hours of picking up means another 4 hours on the bus return.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Shannon J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

The tour was arranged through Julia travel and was very deceiving. Right from the beginning, the meeting place was unclear no address given but only landmarks which was ridiculous, the guide was rude, and we spent most of the day in a bus or getting harassed by street vendors.

We were instructed to meet at 6AM in Malaga to drive to Tarifa. We spent 3 hours getting there as there were so many stops to pick up more people this was NOT clear in the tour description. Then there was a ferry ride to Tangier which was pleasant, however the ferry was dirty and in need of a remodel. Once in Tangier, we visited Cap Spartel for 10 minutes to take photos. Next we were taken to a platform by the sea to ride camels for 2 euros if we wanted. The camels were treated poorly and their knees were worn down from having to get up and down on the platform for tourists. We then saw the Caves of Hercules where we were charged 1 euro to use the restroom. Ridiculous as we were not given a chance otherwise! We were rushed through the Casbah in town in less than 10 minutes and it was very sketchy. We had a nice lunch but drinks were not included. It was 4 euro for a bottle of water!! We were then subjected to a sales pitch at a rug merchant and a spice merchant. In between, we were swarmed by street vendors who did not take no for an answer. The entire afternoon was an attempt to sell things to tourists. It was clear our guide was working together with the locals to make us purchase things. He kept pushing us into stores and saying I brought more! We were also set up for pick-pocketing. I felt very uneasy and nervous. It was very unsafe, especially as we were traveling with no men. We were so relieved to get back on the bus. I could not believe we spent 100 each on this trip!!! We then took the 6PM ferry to Tarifia and 3 hours back to Malaga on the bus. It was approaching 10PM when we returned. There was no breakfast in the morning and no dinner at night so we were starving.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jwan M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

the Spanish tour guide Jane is the most unprofessional and rude person.

it was 6 clock in the morning we took the bus at the gathering point mentioned in the information email sent to , I found that we are going from one gathering point to another to collect passengers. I had no idea that there will be more than one collection point so I asked her a simple question: when are we going to reach the ferry?

she said at 10.

so I told here there was only one gathering point mentioned in the email. why this information was not provided to us?

and here when she started to loos her mind. can you imagine that this was her reply: Do you think this bus is only for you?

at that point I knew that she is so unprofessional so I tried not to engage more with her in any fuhrer argument. I just told her that I do not like the way you are talking to me.

after few minuets she stood up and came down to my seat and told me: if you don't like this you can leave the bus it was the two of us me and my mom an old women take your passports with you.

and here I could not take it any more so I shouted at her and I told here that she can not talk to me like this and that you should have told me this from the beginning not now in the middle of no where.

she made our experience very unpleasant, she was very confused and unorganized, her English is not very good and instructions was not very clear.

I would never travel or recommend traveling with Julia group anymore because of her.

just for the record, after this fight she behaved and was trying to be nice.

on the other side, the tour in Morocco was very organized and pleasant. I would do it again but with a different agent than Julia.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Jeremy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I took this trip with our two teenage daughters and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable day courtesy of Julia Travel. It was perfect for our requirements and great value. Our guides, Jeanette and Hassan were very good, providing an informative and stress free experience for all. Staying near Estepona, we had considered driving to Tariffa ourselves and taking the ferry, but I know we would not have taken in anywhere near as much of Tangier in the limited time and it would have probably cost us more. Highly recommended for anyone wanting a flavour of Morocco in one day!

Doing what: Tangier, Morocco Day Trip from Costa del Sol

Cassandra C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Could have been better, could have been worse. The tour guide Paco wasn't too personable and didn't say much during the long drive to Tangier. It would have been nice to have some information/history provided during this time. The pick up/drop off was incredibly long as we had to pick up people from hotels - why not have a separate shuttle bus?
When we got to the boarding the ferry it was beyond anyone's control that it took a long time, understandably it was a Saturday so of course it's likely to be busy but better organization on the company would also be something they should look into.
We got to drive through the city where we got our tour along with the camel ride and caves which was all great. We had lunch at an authentic Moroccan restaurant where they had lively music playing for us. We got to walk the streets of Tangier where we were rushed into this massive store and were pressured to buy things. It would have been nice to just shop through the street vendors instead of being harassed into buying things we don't want for a straight hour.
Due to the extended times at the border/ferry, along with dropping other people off, we didn't get back to the original meeting point until about 11pm.

Overall, I loved seeing Tangier but this tour is not organized and should make a few amendments.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

JANIS Z

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip was O.K. The only one minus - too long we spent a carpet store.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Richard F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We were so glad to spend 5 days in Morocco. The trip was very well organized. We paid extra for a nicer hotel but were confused as the entire group stayed in the same hotels during the entire trip. Hotels were not as high a standard as we've seen on other trips. One was so hot that everyone was complaining. The trip was supposed to be in Spanish and English but the guide translated only about 1/3 of what he said to English. Other than that he was fantastic. The local guides are great and very informative. When they take you shopping, you must act uninterested and ready to leave. We bought a carpet and paid less than 1/2 of their asking price. Don't get ripped off.

Doing what: 5-Day Morocco Tour from Malaga: Casablanca, Marrakech, Meknes, Fez and Rabat

Jennifer P

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

This was an interesting tour, yet insightful tour. We went on a Moroccan religious holiday and we wish we were told of the holiday, because most of the shops were closed. We also wished we could have been picked up at a closer location to our resort, rather than driving to downtown Malaga.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Daniel E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This explanation was submitted already. 12 hours total of traveling for 5 1/2 hours in Tangiers. Everyone was completely exhausted and frustrated at the end 6 a.m. until 11:30 pm

Very bad.

Doing what: Morocco Day Trip from Malaga to Tangier

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message