Cozumel ATTRACTIONS See all

Cozumel Cruise Port

Cozumel welcomes you to Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula for peerless scuba diving and snorkeling, and Caribbean beach resorts. The idyllic island drifts 20km (12 miles) from the Mexican mainland, just south of Cancun off the peninsula’s east coast. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 116 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Marilyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Beyond fabulous! We are loyal Viator customers and our Cozumel 5-hour tour proved why we are. From the beginning, at the very crowded, confusing Cozumel pier stop, Victor, our guide, with his bright yellow cap was easy to spot, on time, and whisked us away with ease. From that point on we saw and heard about the island with a knowledgeable native. Chocolate factory, rum tasting, scenic sites to take photos, time to relax at the beach and a highlight, the small independent pottery shop. Oh the fun and purchases there. Victor was incredibly charming, professional, and customized the tour to our needs. We all agreed Cozumel was the highlight of our seven day cruise.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Was an amazing experience and Leo made it awesome he was very informative and our comfort was his main concern. We went to the chocolate factory, the tequila tour both where awesome and we bought products at both place the Tequila was awesome and we stoped at a awesome remote restuerant which was amazing Playa Bonita and Carlos our waiter was awesome. I would definatly recommend this tour Ask for Leo he made it great

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

Mona L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I've been to Cozumel a few times and usually just stroll around the area, then head back to the ship. However on this cruise my traveling companions and I decided we wanted to see more of the City. We were a party of 6 and decided to do a private Tequila tour. This tour included a stop at a chocolate store, Tequila history tour, sights of the city and a stop at the beach for scuba diving.
Well were are seniors and had no desire to scuba dive or go to the beach, so we made our own plans......
Jerry, who was our guide for the day, was exactly where he said we would find him at the time we told him. He stood out by wearing a yellow cap. We followed him to a pretty new Spacious air conditioned van. Our first stop was to a Chocolate factory not too far. We spent over 90 minutes, first listening to the history of chocolate, then putting on our hats, nets, aprons and plastic gloves, grinding churning kneeding our way from the chocolate beans to a smooth Mayan hot chocolate disc.. which we took home. Lots of fun and laughter. It did cost us an extra 20.00pp as this was not included in the tour but worth every nickel. We were then able to purchase delicious chocolate candy if desired.
Our next stop was the Mi Mexico Llindo Tequila Tour.. We were giving a history lesson and got to see how the Tequila was made from the Agave plant only grown in Mexico, and aged. Very information. Of course we were able to sample 6-7 different tequilas tastes. We purchased an after dinner Tequila drink. Delicious.
Next, We stopped at the other end of CozumelMirador San Martin for the beach scenery then tried to stop for lunch at Coconuts but unfortunately much too crowded. We stop at another location and the lunch was awesome. After lunch headed back to the ship. Time flew by on this tour. It was a 5 hour tour but we were out almost 6 hours. Thank you Jerry for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

Michael O'Connell

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

The Atlantis Submarine Adventure was one of the highlights of our vacation. The crew was awesome and put everyone at ease. I would recommend this adventure to everyone going to Cozumel. Thank you.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Atlantis Submarine Adventure

Gina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our driver was such a gentleman!! Kind, courteous and caring!!! Made sure to explain what was included and was not prior to trip. Louis is the best...ask for him :

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We booked the tour for a family group of 7 to be met at the International Pier coming off an RCCL ship. Our meeting time was 11 am we got to the very busy taxi area about ten minutes early and our driver Leo was waiting for us with a sign. The tour was excellent as we explained what we wanted to see on Cozumel including the San Gervasio Mayan ruins. We started thought the tourist part of downtown Cozumel and then Leo took our through the local neighborhoods and we stopped at a chocolate factory which was nice and interesting. Leo suggested that we stop at a very interesting Mayan village before going the ruins. There was an entrance fee but we found the stop to be well worth the fee. It was fascinating and full of information about Mayan life both adults and children enjoyed the stop. We then proceeded to the ruins where Leo could not guide us here, also a modest entrance fee. These ruins are interesting but less impressive than if you go to the mainland to see Tulum or Coba.
However his explanation and map were enough for us to spend about 45 minutes inside the ruins and get a good idea of the layout. We then headed across the island to the open water side which is quite pretty with big waves breaking along the short. It was about a 30 minute very scenic drive to our final stop at the beach where we spent about hour and a half. Nice beach side restaurant where grandparents sat and kids enjoyed the water. After that Leo delivered us to the pier. This was a great tour with the nice feature that it was customized to the children's interest.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

ourjanae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We toured with Jerry, wonderful tour guide. We chose an island tour and Jerry did not disappoint!
He took us through different neighborhoods, pointed out different areas of interest and explained Mexico's
History very well. He took us to an airplane library, to the supermarket, a local restaurant along the beach side
To eat, and shop from the local vendors. After lunch, jerry drove us to yet another beach for relaxation-then he took us
back to our cruise ship.
Overall, Jerry was very patient and attentive to us. We left Cozumel Mexico with a better understanding of his country
Than when we got there.
Thanks from all of us Jerry.
Virginia

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

Katie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great day! We weren't able to snorkel due to sea conditions, but everything else was perfect and our guide was fantastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

Donna J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a great way to see the island! Absolutely loved the jeep tour - although our jeep kept have clutch problems, the guide was able to fix the issue quickly. The snorkeling was good but we didn't see a great deal. It was very tiring as the undercurrent was a little rough on the day we went. The tour finished with a tour of a tequila facility. What a fantastic way to end the day. Be prepared to have some of the best tequila you have ever tasted!

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

Hermenegildo A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wonderful amazing experience with a great tour guide, with excellent knowledge of the place.
Had a sumptuous lunch which he highly recommended.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

Lakhvinder B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

i booked this excursion to have a driver but we ended up riding in the back of buggy with another couple. Fun excursion's guide Filippe was great and we had good time on the beach. I didn't go snorkeling due to choppy ocean.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

bdavisnp

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The overall resort was not as luxurious as many other places. A matter of fact they didn't really even have a pool. The beach was rocky as you entered the water, but the snorkeling was phenomenal. Our snorkeling guide was awesome, and there was a photographer to take pictures under water, which was awesome except the cost of the disc of pics was ridiculous. It was only a 12 cab fair from the port one way and there were taxis waiting on us when we were ready to return to the port. Food and drinks were great.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Playa Uvas Private Beach Pass

wheez88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide, Jerry, was amazing!! So nice and gave us not only a great tour but gave us the history of the island. I would recommend booking an excursion from Viator for any trip!

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

BARBARA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Antonio was great! Had an awesome day at a beautiful, non-crowded beach. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the country and had visual aids to help us understand the geography of the island and the history. The vehicle was clean and he was
very courteous and patient. Great photo stops and friendly service. I would highly recommend requesting Antonio!

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: 5-Hour Sightseeing Tour with Private Driver

Dwayne H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great trip, the guys running it were very professional

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

CACEY.SANDERS

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

and #34;Beach and #34;-more like 100 chairs stacked so close you can feel your neighbor sweating on you, up against the coral beach with no sand- bring shoes! It only includes 4 hrs of drinks. PROS: lots of fish and a few stingrays while snorkeling, food was decent, drinks were strong (too strong for me to enjoy)

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Playa Uvas Private Beach Pass

Tasha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an incredible way to see Cozumel. I have been many times over the past 25 years and this by far was the most memorable. Phillipe was our tour guide and he did a phenomenal job. We had four teenagers with us and they couldn't stop talking about what a great day we had had. Punta Sur was breathtaking. The snorkeling was perfect. Lunch at the end of the day was at a stunning beachside restaurant and was ready for us upon arrival as Phillipe called it in. The jeeps were a lot of fun and in great condition. 5 STARS!!!

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

Michael Z

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Our voucher had a place to go from the cruise ships that the company no longer picks up at, which of course we didn't know until we got there. Getting to this beach club which has changed names since the company picked up here apparently was near impossible with the national triathlon in town for the week. The road to it was literally closed. A 2KM walk to the beach club later, we called the company from a nearby hotel. They told us to go to the Hard Rock Cafe, which from their instructions we then come to realize was steps from the exit of the cruise ship piers. So we're 1 cab ride and 2, 2km walks and ANOTHER cab ride back to the Hard Rock at this point. Awesome start.

At pick up at the Hard Rock, we were dropped at the location for the tour and all excited. They upsold us on a 39 package for a hankerchief, rentashoes, and bug spray. Factor this into your costs. It was no big deal for us, although it all seemed rather unnecessary in hindsight. For some reason, everyone else we were with went on their own tour, and my girlfriend and I went on our very own personalized tour! Awesome right? Well we were informed the snorkeling part of our trip was closed, so that won't be happening. Bummer. No water action. While our guide was 100 awesome and in control of none of this and a Mayan descendant with a lot of knowledge of the area, we saw 3 places on an ATV and did a lot of riding to get there. One of the trails we were supposed to go down was also closed. It seemed like a disorganized mess, although the park and ruins we did see not pyramid looking ruins, more like freshwater/saltwater lakes and small caves important to the Mayans were interesting.

All in all, I think this place has potential - it just seemed a bit of a disorganized mess the day we were there. Fix your pickup locations. Nothing like sending tourists on a wild goose chase. Luckily I plan to be ultra early or we'd have missed this completely by an hour.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: ATV Jungle and Snorkel Combo

Susana B

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Misleading. They donotpickyou up at port. You must provide your own transportation. Actual touris only 30 minutes.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Mini-SUB Diving Adventure

landry.lorenzo

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The ATV was fun, but it was a big group of people with different levels of expertise- some who wanted to drive fast and some who went slow. When I pictured this, I thought we would be getting gorgeous jungle views and learn about some of the local plant life or just see something really beautiful. It was a pre-blazed dirt trail BRING A BANDANA TO COVER YOUR MOUTH!!! and it was essentially follow the leader. It might have been more fun if my husband and I could have gone off on the path on our own, even following the designated area, but it was very regulated. After, they do have showers and bathrooms for changing bring something to change into, its likely you'll get very dirty! and they offered a complimentary tequila tasting. The tour then proceeded to snorkeling- DON'T DO IT. They take you to a resort that has terrible, over priced food and a very small beach. They hand you a snorkel and you're able to independently swim around with the mask- but just in the 30 feet of beach they have. They do not take you out on a boat or show you any of the pretty reefs. Definitely a WASTE OF MONEY.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: ATV Jungle and Snorkel Combo

Bernard S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Guide was over the top and extremely attentive. It took a walk and a half but it was worth it. Hardest thing was to get out of the hammock

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

Tania J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Felipe, on our adventure of snorkeling, he pointed out many exotic sea creatures. The jeep rides were very fun to drive around, and the Mexican lunch was delicious, we had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

Jason L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much better and less expensive than any excursion the cruise ship offers. It was completely customized to us. Went out to a great reef for snorkeling and it was amazing. Had a great lunch. Stopped for a tequila tasting. This is the way to go. Only reservation is that you have to be able to drive a stick shift.

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

ADAM D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was more than expected. Our guide Ernie was great. He let us move about freely and joined us when needed. He was very pleasant and personable. GREAT TIME!!!!

Doing what: Cozumel Shore Excursion: Jeep and Snorkel Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message