The star attraction of the Cozumel Reefs National Park - or Parque Nacional Arrecifes de Cozumel - not to mention Jacques Cousteau's television show, which quite literally put Cozumel on the map - is Palancar Reef. Actually composed of 4 separate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tannaz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Cozumel snorkeling tour was incredible! There was a wide range of amazing sea creatures and beaches that we visited.
The boat ride to the sites was longer than expected, but the snorkel was worth it. We saw different types of tropical fish, a barracuda, sting ray, and a wild sea turtle.
Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

douglas o

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

very nice and helpful guides left on time good equipment life jackets, if desired nice drinks on board, but saw only a relatively small number of fish, although we did see some sea turtles, which was a plus. The tour left from Marina Fonatur, which is an 8 taxi from the cruise port. The snorkel site is 30-minute ride away, picking up more passengers at 3 stops along the coast to the south....which afforded us a nice view of the coastline. The guides led all the swimmers in the water between the 2nd and 3rd reefs.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Marc J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Too many stops to pick up other guests before 1st snorkel stop. Nice people

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Richard T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We booked this tour after reading the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor and booked it thru their Low Price Guarantee. The boat staff was very nice and capable but the tour did not totally match the description. We only snorkeled at two locations and did not have access to the Money Bar. We would have rated the day higher but for the fact that as the tour guide was picking up the other passengers, it was very obvious to us that they were paying 36 for a tour we paid 56 for. This price disparity was confirmed by other passengers on the tour. Low price guarantee? If you plan to snorkel on the Reef, make your own plans in the city and save some money.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Kevin B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Timing was prompt and the voyage was great. Some basic snorkeling instructions for the novice would have helped, but all-in-all it was well organized and worth an afternoon.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

James C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Excellent. We were bumped from the morning to the afternoon not sure who was at fault but Viator made is right by giving us a discount. We were very worried about getting back to the ship on time. No problems! We walked to the tour both ways - about 30 min each way. Meet in the main waiting area next to the cab stand. Bring a dry bag to keep your stuff from getting wet.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Vince A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good diving. Highly colarful.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Laurenmmurray

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had an absolute blast! Tony, our leader, was enthusiastic and helpful. The beer was plentiful, the memories even more so. We saw starfish, stingrays, and even a full grown sea turtle! It was the highlight of our vacation!

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Amy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was spectacular! Only thing was a bit of a hassle at the beginning was having to get a cab to the tour site. We weren't aware of that so were scrambling a bit.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

cwluckydog United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing although there was only 4 people on this tour we had a blast. I want to thank the crew for being so patient and taking such good care of my boyfriend as it was his first time to snorkel could not have asked for a better crew. And thank you for playing Mexican music for me.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

James S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

The tour itself was pretty good but please stop this practice of begging for tips at the end of the tour. Just add into the fee whatever additional money the guides need to make and be done with it. It is so stressful to have them beg for tips because you don't know how much they expect and you may only have a credit card and no cash with you. I don't mind paying whatever the fee is. I just hate that begging process. It ruins an otherwise pleasant experience. Please stop this ridiculous process.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Tina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was amazing! The 4 guys on the boat we wonderful ! One of the guys takes pictures and you can buy the disc that has pics of you on it. They are very knowledgable in their job and make your experience fun! We saw star fish and a sea turtle along with other fish.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Jaimie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome tour! Great guides..was able to see 2 sea turtles, a sting ray and a multitude of fish. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Carla G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Snorkeling Tour and Cozumel Beach Party

Ankur S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Waters were choppy. 3 people on boat were sick. That was something the tour cannot control but thereally were 3 different pickup points. We spent more than an hour going in the small boat from one place to another. More time was spent on picking up and dropping people back than at the reefs.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

steve

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This started out nicely as the group was on time and very attentive. I'm a diver but my girlfriend and son only snorkel and I will say I enjoyed the entire trip...for the price it was well worth the trip and the staff was very attentive. If you are looking for a good time with your family that won't break the bank I highly recommend this one. plus free drinks for all!

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Ronald A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Enjoyed the whole excursion. Antonio (Tony) and the whole staff was attentive, fun and genuine. Would do it again.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

trina

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We only went to two reefs and we were late leaving the dock and still had others stops just to pick up others. I thought snacks were to have been provided also, but were not. It seemed to be a much smaller boat than what was described in information. I will not book with them again.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Mitchell K

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

It was a very long boat ride and the glass bottom boat isn't much. There was a lot of starfish at the first stop. At the other two stops there is fish but we were expecting more fish with more variety of colors. We did see one turtle, but I would not bank on seeing one, it was a very quick moment and then it was gone. The staff on the boat were nice.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Kathrynn L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

The tour guides were punctual, friendly, and very accommodating but the actual snorkeling time was only 25 min or so. Plus, and this is not this tour's fault, but the truth about Cozumel in general is that all their reef is pretty much dead/destroyed. This is not openly admitted because so much tourism on the island is based on diving and snorkeling, but it's sadly true. Great tour to briefly see some damaged, dying reef.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very enjoyable. We arrived late and someone drove us to meet the boat.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Amy M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The crew was very concerned about our safety throughout the trip which was important. I had hoped to see more while snorkeling. If you like to drink, this is the party for you. The sunset was beautiful. We got some great pictures.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Ashley L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Do NOT book this tour if you want to see any marine life other than starfish! Extremely disappointed. Our tour was cut short because the ocean was rough this day, but we were never told this. We did NOT go to Palancar reef. We went to Columbia reef which was basically large coral and almost NO fish. Then we swam to a deeper part of Columbia reef that the guides told us was Palancar. Wrong. The only redeeming part of the trip was the mini coronas on the boat ride home. My family snorkels and dives every summer in the Florida Keys, and this trip in Cozumel was such a let down. Worst excursion, hate we wasted our time and money on this trip!

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Kary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My sister and I were two young ladies travelling alone. Choosing an excursion that is both safe and fun can always be a challenge. However, the Fury sailing, snorkelling and sunset tour was absolutely amazing. The staff via phone prior to trip and boat members were more than helpful. They guided us to where we needed to be and ensured we were accounted for. The boat staff were friendly, highly energized and created an atmosphere that everyone enjoyed. This trip was a great bang for your buck! We received complimentary drinks throughout the tour both alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks available, explored 2 major reefs equipment included, saw amazing wildlife, spent over an hour on a private beach meal, drinks, and fun activities included, and the sunset was breathtaking. The staff ensured everyones safety both on and off the boat and there was also a photographer on board who captured photos both underwater and on the boat. The guides both in and out of the water made the experience memorable. The colours in and out of the water were vivid and worth the full day. Next time myself or my sister are in Cozumel, we will be rebooking this excursion. I highly recommend it to people of all ages and capabilities. Our boat ranged from children to grandparents and everyone had fun. Thank you again to all the staff members that made my sister and I's experience in Cozumel a great one. Hands down my favourite excursion we did.

Doing what: Caribbean Combo - Sailing, Snorkeling and Sunset

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message