Cozumel’s white-sand beaches are the hatching ground of marine turtles, the launching pad for peerless scuba diving, and a sunset promenade for romantic strolls from luxurious resorts on the waterfront. Day 1: Cruises & Water Activities  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Harold M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our second visit to Cozumel, and based on our previous positive experience with Viator in other cities we chose this tour. We met Gerry at the assigned point and were surprised that we were the only people participating. Gerry explained that we would be off the grid which is what we were looking for, but would not have known where to go on our own , or frankly been very comfortable in some of the districts. The first two stops were to shops where the owners lived in back, cooked in the middle, and served up front. The combinations were unusual, but delicious. Other reviewers have given good descriptions of the food itself, but the salsas and the drinks were special. I had never heard of hibiscus juice, or lemonade with cucumber, or apple soda and the salsas were all combinations we had never considered, but very good. At the third stop, I chose the octopus taco and my wife the shrimp. Both were outstanding. As our taxi driver drove us from stop to stop, Jerry gave us lots of information about the area, his background and made the tour a very positive experience. We cruise often and many stop in Cozumel. I wouldn't hesitate to join Jerry on another excursion.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Donna L T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. We were a team of 2 60 sisters and our goal was not to be last and we succeeded. Overall, it was a great time. I would definitely recommend the race to others.

Doing what: Amazing Cozumel Race: Small-Group Tour and Scavenger Hunt

jacquelyn.n.luna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was exactly as described. We were a bit concerned finding our with the ferry, but the tour staff made it easy by meeting up with us to give the ferry tickets and finding us once we arrived in Playa Del Carmen. Bus was nice and comfortable for the long ride to and from, and the included beverages with the package was a definite bonus. The ruins were very impressive and the hotel was very cool and relaxing. The whole trip was pretty tiring due to all the travel, but overall very good experience!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Russell J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was definitely worth it! Ruy was an amazing guide. Thoroughly enjoyed everything from the tour of the museum to the chocolate bar making to the Jose Cuervo tequila tasting to the authentic Mexican lunch to the amazing flyers. The day was a real treat!

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

Gina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The experience was excellent. The kids said that it was more fun than the dolphin experience. You get one on one time to cuddle and the feed the manatees. Don't pay for the buffet that they offer. The food is horrible and a huge waste of money.

Doing what: Manatee Encounter in Cozumel at Chankanaab Beach Adventure Park

Lies Ariagna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I highly recommend it . The only bad thing was that my cruise docked earlier then expected therefore I had to rush to the Park and wait outside for about an hour until the park opened so that I can change my time and leave after the dolphin experience was over , therefore I did not have the opportunity to walk the park . I was able to change the time without any set backs. I have to say the staff were very friendly and courteous. Although everyone said that the picture package was expensive , I believe it was reasonable . The food was great . Lastly my daughter and I enjoyed the experience WILL DEFINATELY DO IT AGAIN .

Doing what: Cozumel Dolphin Swim at Chankanaab National Park

kyle t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip. Delio was the best guide Ive ever had. Very nice, jovial, knowledgeable, and he has some great night pics of the pyramid! Answered everyone's questions with enthusiasm and insight!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

pakfosnow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved playa mia, my family and I had a great time

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Jody K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was fabulous! The manatees were friendly and it was a laid back, gentle experience that was thrilling. My mom and I were the only nes there, so it was unique and intimate. Loved feeding all 4 of the manatees at the same time. It was an experience of a lifetime!

Doing what: Manatee Encounter in Cozumel at Chankanaab Beach Adventure Park

Donald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed a virtually private tour of local family based restaurants with Jerryas our guide. The food was excellent and more importantly we were treated like family in the establishments. The hospitality was warm. We really had the opportunity to see and enjoy the local fare. I would highly recommend this tour. The price was right and there was no cruise ship crowd for this excursion. Jerry was knowledgeable and professional.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

kelleyo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour! SAVED 40 booking independently. Just grab a local cab after you get off ship. It's 4 USD per person. Cabs are nice and air-conditioned. Only 10 minute cab ride from port. Same on the return. Same price.

Doing what: Cozumel Dolphin Encounter Including Lunch at Chankanaab National Park

James C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Excellent. We were bumped from the morning to the afternoon not sure who was at fault but Viator made is right by giving us a discount. We were very worried about getting back to the ship on time. No problems! We walked to the tour both ways - about 30 min each way. Meet in the main waiting area next to the cab stand. Bring a dry bag to keep your stuff from getting wet.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

drinda.reynolds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great Tour! Once I was able to find the tour desk, it was a total breeze, getting to the resort, enjoying the day and transporting back to the boat! I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Katia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Martin our tour guide was totally amazing. Both my husband and I loved this tour. Tequilla tasting was our favorite part, but all was great!

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

saless-c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When visiting the Yucatan, Chichen Itza is a must see for anyone interested in history or ancient cultures, .

There are many tour operators providing tours of this fabulous site, but I can't imagine an operator in better position to provide this tour than Mayaland Tours, Viator.com's contractor for this tour. They operate the Mayaland Resort which is adjacent to the Chichen Itza site with their own private entrance. The trip to from Playa del Carmen takes a little over two hours, one way. Fortunately Mayaland Tours use the Gray Line buses for transportation to the site from Playa Del Carmen, which were comfortable and professionally operated.

Our tour guide, Faustino, was friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. The tour progressed at an easy pace throughout the site with stops to learn of the history, culture and little inside details from Faustino.

The lunch, which was advertised as a 5-cousre gourmet lunch ... with beer and wine, has changed to an all-you-can-eat buffet with drinks at additional cost. The buffet however was stupendous with many local dishes to try and some international items, like hot dogs and hamburgers.

After lunch we had a couple hours on or own. Some of the tour returned to the site for another look or to shop the numerous vendors tables. Others took advantage of the resorts pool and bar.

The trip back to the ferry dock to Cozumel was another two hours, which tends to make this a long day, but the experience is well worth the time and the fee.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

jeff p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What an amazing experience! This was not our first time to Cozumel, or Mexico, Our family has been going from country to country looking for a place to buy our new home. We wanted to see and experience the people and life of the local people to get a true feeling of each community and this tour was a great way to visit Cozumel. Jerry was a great guide with a wealth of knowledge. We were looking to learn more about the people, local governments, and the business culture for someone wanting to earn a living. Jerry helped us accomplish this while having a great time in beautiful place that was full of amazing people. Thank you for making this tour possible.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Branda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Playa Mia was PERFECT for my family. The kids loved the water obstacle course, my husband loved the food, and I loved to soak up the rays on the lounge chairs. We really enjoyed snorkeling as well. The guys took us out to two amazing reefs where we saw so many fish. My kids were amazed as this was their first time snorkeling. I recommend this place to anyone and highly recommend snorkeling here since it's not overcrowded and seems more personable. It was well worth the price and we will definitely be back to visit again.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Kelly G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was amazing!! Couldn't have asked for anyone better. Very knowledgeable, ensured that everyone had a great time, and we could see everything we wanted. I wish we could have spent more time here, but this tour would be something that I would love to go on once more!!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Bob L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The wife and i are not beach people so we look for the off beaten path things to do. As we both are cooks the Cozumel food tour struck our interest. we booked it thru viator tours and then found out another couple on board was doing the same tour. The tour is at lunch time so you can sleep in and not get in a rush to leave the ship. You meet your guide at the mega mart in downtown Cozumel.8 U.S. from the pier by cab at 11 am. Mega mart is a Mexican wal mart so go early and look around. Our guide Jerry met us down stairs in front of office depot. there was 1 more couple who was staying on the island for a couple of weeks and this was their 3rd time taking this tour hint hint We loaded the 6 of us , Jerry and the driver in a nice van w/ AC and off we went. Jerry explained that we would be away from the tourist areas and that the restaurants we would be visiting were all in the front part of peoples homes. At stop 1 we were seated and offered sodas or flavored waters. then we had cactus and Huitlacoche quesadillas. The cactus reminded most of us of an okra taste. The huitlacoche tasted like a fine black truffle. back to the van and off to stop 2. Stop 2 was a market where there are open air butchers and fish mongers. At this stop we had a choice of sodas or cervesas. The food here was fresh beef and chicken grilled quickly over coals at high heat and served as tacos. The sauces that they provide are medium and HOT. The hot is made with habaneros and has a great fruity taste till the heat kicks in. even with the hot sauce you could taste the fillings for the tacos. Third stop was pork wrapped in banana leaves and cooked in a wood fired oven served w/ beans and rice and more cervesa. very good not overly spiced and just a bit of smoke flavor. Fourth stop was a whole Hog fish cleaned scored and dusted in course corn meal and flash fried. I am not much on bone in fish but the flavor of this fish made it worth the time to eat it. The fish was served w/ a civece some slaw and pico and fresh tortillas to make fish tacos. After this stop the guest are given the option of desert at a bakery or a chocolate factory. My advice is pick the chocolate factory.
The whole time you are in the van Jerry is giving you the history of old Cozumel and is very good about answering questions. The tour ends back at the mega mart and the driver will take anyone that is ready back to the pier for 8 U.S. There was no hard alcohol served on the tour as they want you to enjoy the food. The tour takes a total of about 3 hrs and gives you plenty of time to shop or enjoy senior frogs after the tour.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Vince A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good diving. Highly colarful.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

mobmarser

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Palya Mia was great, the hole family enjoy the park.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Michael S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The beach was awesome, not crowded, we enjoyed the aqua trikes and did the banana boat ride . The food was not great ate all. The chicken fajita meat, beans and rice were the only good things on the buffet. I expected bod.etter food on the buffet. Mixed drinks were really good.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Cim C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The whole experience was awesome. The only thing is they charge for the pictures of your encounter. They are very pricey. The can ride over was USD12 each way for 4 people.

Doing what: Cozumel Dolphin Encounter Including Lunch at Chankanaab National Park

Kelly G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Fun to see these beautiful creatures, but still animals shouldn't be locked up.

Doing what: Manatee Encounter in Cozumel at Chankanaab Beach Adventure Park

Melanie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A totally awesome experience! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Cozumel Dolphin Swim at Chankanaab National Park

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message