Cozumel’s white-sand beaches are the hatching ground of marine turtles, the launching pad for peerless scuba diving, and a sunset promenade for romantic strolls from luxurious resorts on the waterfront. Day 1: Cruises & Water Activities  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

crystal m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun!!! The tour guide was amazing we ate food items I would of never tried on my own, cactus, octopus, barley water and many more items. We visited a local grocery which was very interesting. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a break from the tourist part of town or the ocean. One of our favorite tours.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Tannaz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Cozumel snorkeling tour was incredible! There was a wide range of amazing sea creatures and beaches that we visited.
The boat ride to the sites was longer than expected, but the snorkel was worth it. We saw different types of tropical fish, a barracuda, sting ray, and a wild sea turtle.
Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organized tour with a excellent, English speaking guide. Restaurants were often small mom and pop places with much interest. All of the food was excellent: corn smut and cactus tortillas pork roasted underground in banana leaves ceviche of conch, octopus and shrimp home-made chicken soup and a bakery stop. Unusual juices and beers were included. We go a detailed review of items in the local farmer's market. Great experience! I would do it again tomorrow.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Harold M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our second visit to Cozumel, and based on our previous positive experience with Viator in other cities we chose this tour. We met Gerry at the assigned point and were surprised that we were the only people participating. Gerry explained that we would be off the grid which is what we were looking for, but would not have known where to go on our own , or frankly been very comfortable in some of the districts. The first two stops were to shops where the owners lived in back, cooked in the middle, and served up front. The combinations were unusual, but delicious. Other reviewers have given good descriptions of the food itself, but the salsas and the drinks were special. I had never heard of hibiscus juice, or lemonade with cucumber, or apple soda and the salsas were all combinations we had never considered, but very good. At the third stop, I chose the octopus taco and my wife the shrimp. Both were outstanding. As our taxi driver drove us from stop to stop, Jerry gave us lots of information about the area, his background and made the tour a very positive experience. We cruise often and many stop in Cozumel. I wouldn't hesitate to join Jerry on another excursion.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Randall G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful tour. The guide was able to answer questions about the food and history. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

cnovak1084

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My whole family was so happy with this tour. Jerry, the tour guide, was very friendly and so informative. He worked with the restaurants to make sure everyone had a great experience and accommodated picky eaters. My 9 year old son was very hesitant at the beginning of the tour, but by the second restaurant he was ready to try it all! If you go on a culinary tour in Mexico, you will eat onions, pork, and fish. Most of the food is pretty mild on their own, but the sauces at the restaurants can get VERY spicy!

The trip to the local market was great. I only wish we could have taken food back with us on the ship! I would have loved to buy some of the beautiful local produce and spices.

If you would like to get off the beaten path and explore local culture beyond Senor Frogs, then I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

davidabee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great host, Martin, and enjoyed the chocolate tasting as well as the tequila tasting. Both were lots of fun.

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

Rose Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Not in the tourist area of town. We had a great tour guide . The food was very good and we enjoyed the fact that is was real down home Mexican food.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

manishsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed a peaceful day, paddle boat ride, water slide and park, drinks and beach. The best part was the inflatabl play place in the middle of the ocean. Scarry yet fun!

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

stacie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We have cruised 8 different times to many different locations, and this excursion is by far and away the best we have had. As avid Amazing Race fans this local race was everything we thought it would be, and my wife and I came in second because of a blunder on our part. From start to finish well organized and very funny. You certainly get a workout if you are trying to be competitive.
Good luck to all future racers!!!

Doing what: Amazing Cozumel Race: Small-Group Tour and Scavenger Hunt

wv2308

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Paid for the transportation but didn't see any transport to go that way so paid for a taxi. Need to be more clear on the transportation set up.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Michaela B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a fun day. Making the chocolates and tasting tequila can't be beat. Good times and good food and drinks.

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

Mark R

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We took this tour thinking that it might be a little kitschy, but were pleasantly surprised. After the welcome margarita and short video there was an interesting sample of Mexican cultural art from around their country. The attached descriptions did a good job explaining what each was, as did our guide. A quick word about the guides I think they would make or break the experience, and our's was very good. There were also only 6 people in our group. Our guide Zori, and I recommend requesting her if you can. The chocolate making section of the tour was interesting and a lot of fun, and the tequila tasting, with Zori as the lead was almost elegant, as well as informative. Most of the brands of tequila they sell at the gift shop our cheaper in the duty free store They offer a drink special with large hand painted margarita glasses at about the middle of the tour my wife loved the mango flavor. If you like the glasses get them there, as they are the same price as DTN, but at least you're getting a drink at this place. The diorama of the ancient civilizations were OK, but again, the info presented at each display was interesting. I thought the diorama of Mexico city wasn't worth walking through. The taco buffet was plentiful and you could tell everything was freshly prepared. We have enthusiastically recommended this tour to friends who will be visiting the island shortly. One final tip: bring a bunch of singles, as you will expected to tip the help that cleans up after the chocolate and tequila tasting. We'd rate this as a 8.5-9 out of 10.

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

Amanda A

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

We purchased the basic package with transportation. Very well organized transportation that made it stress free. There's a café that served great food and cheap beer. Overall it was a great experience and well worth the money!

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Nicole M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Our children, ages 2 and 4, really enjoyed the water park. My husband and I had very low expectations for the buffet and were pleasantly surprised that it was better than expected. We did not rate it higher because the transportation to and from the cruise port was a mess. There were no clear instructions on how to utilize this service. Once we figured out how to get to the office the communication between the company and the taxi service was terrible. We wasted a lot of time on the travel logistics and with two small children it was very stressful. But our time at the park itself was fun.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Donna L T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great experience. We were a team of 2 60 sisters and our goal was not to be last and we succeeded. Overall, it was a great time. I would definitely recommend the race to others.

Doing what: Amazing Cozumel Race: Small-Group Tour and Scavenger Hunt

jacquelyn.n.luna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour was exactly as described. We were a bit concerned finding our with the ferry, but the tour staff made it easy by meeting up with us to give the ferry tickets and finding us once we arrived in Playa Del Carmen. Bus was nice and comfortable for the long ride to and from, and the included beverages with the package was a definite bonus. The ruins were very impressive and the hotel was very cool and relaxing. The whole trip was pretty tiring due to all the travel, but overall very good experience!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Russell J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was definitely worth it! Ruy was an amazing guide. Thoroughly enjoyed everything from the tour of the museum to the chocolate bar making to the Jose Cuervo tequila tasting to the authentic Mexican lunch to the amazing flyers. The day was a real treat!

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

kyle t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent trip. Delio was the best guide Ive ever had. Very nice, jovial, knowledgeable, and he has some great night pics of the pyramid! Answered everyone's questions with enthusiasm and insight!

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

pakfosnow

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved playa mia, my family and I had a great time

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Donald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We enjoyed a virtually private tour of local family based restaurants with Jerryas our guide. The food was excellent and more importantly we were treated like family in the establishments. The hospitality was warm. We really had the opportunity to see and enjoy the local fare. I would highly recommend this tour. The price was right and there was no cruise ship crowd for this excursion. Jerry was knowledgeable and professional.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

James C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Excellent. We were bumped from the morning to the afternoon not sure who was at fault but Viator made is right by giving us a discount. We were very worried about getting back to the ship on time. No problems! We walked to the tour both ways - about 30 min each way. Meet in the main waiting area next to the cab stand. Bring a dry bag to keep your stuff from getting wet.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

drinda.reynolds

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great Tour! Once I was able to find the tour desk, it was a total breeze, getting to the resort, enjoying the day and transporting back to the boat! I would highly recommend this excursion!

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Katia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Martin our tour guide was totally amazing. Both my husband and I loved this tour. Tequilla tasting was our favorite part, but all was great!

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

saless-c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

When visiting the Yucatan, Chichen Itza is a must see for anyone interested in history or ancient cultures, .

There are many tour operators providing tours of this fabulous site, but I can't imagine an operator in better position to provide this tour than Mayaland Tours, Viator.com's contractor for this tour. They operate the Mayaland Resort which is adjacent to the Chichen Itza site with their own private entrance. The trip to from Playa del Carmen takes a little over two hours, one way. Fortunately Mayaland Tours use the Gray Line buses for transportation to the site from Playa Del Carmen, which were comfortable and professionally operated.

Our tour guide, Faustino, was friendly, approachable and knowledgeable. The tour progressed at an easy pace throughout the site with stops to learn of the history, culture and little inside details from Faustino.

The lunch, which was advertised as a 5-cousre gourmet lunch ... with beer and wine, has changed to an all-you-can-eat buffet with drinks at additional cost. The buffet however was stupendous with many local dishes to try and some international items, like hot dogs and hamburgers.

After lunch we had a couple hours on or own. Some of the tour returned to the site for another look or to shop the numerous vendors tables. Others took advantage of the resorts pool and bar.

The trip back to the ferry dock to Cozumel was another two hours, which tends to make this a long day, but the experience is well worth the time and the fee.

Doing what: Chichen Itza Day Trip from Cozumel

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message