Cozumel’s white-sand beaches are the hatching ground of marine turtles, the launching pad for peerless scuba diving, and a sunset promenade for romantic strolls from luxurious resorts on the waterfront. Day 1: Cruises & Water Activities  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charles W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is a great tour for those who want to enjoy the real ambience of the Mexican people. Our guide, Jerry, was so personable and truly made the tour a memorable experience. Worth every penny!!

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Jacquelyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

If you're in Cozumel looking for a taste of Mexican culture, a nice break from the cruise ship atmosphere, this is the place! I loved the art exhibit, the chocolate-making, and tequila tasting. The gardens with 120:1 replicas of Mexico City and the Mayan/Aztec ruins were an unexpected pleasure. Food was authentic and guides were delightful.

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I am so glad we did this instead of one of the excursions through the cruise line. Gerry, our guide, was a gem. We were immediately comfortable interacting with him and excited to get started. The total party was my friend and myself, and another couple, so there was not much waiting and lots of fun conversation. Gerry did a great job of talking about Cozumel, Mexico, and the neighborhoods that we were driving through. The restaurants that we ate at were clean, attractive, and I would go back in a heart beat! The food was AMAZING!!!! I can't say enough how delicious the food was. The owners and staff were engaging and receptive. I was so happy to eat local food and try local drinks and see kids walking home from school and hear about the neighborhoods. This was a much better way to spend my money than buying over-priced margaritas at one of the tourist trap chain restaurants on the main drag.
You will not regret choosing this tour. If I'm ever lucky enough to go back to Cozumel, I will take this tour again.
Thank you, Gerry, for a memorable day!

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

banditjs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We arrived by boat NCL at the International Pier, which is the farthest pier from the water park. Those coming in on a Carnival boat arrive at the closest pier, Puerta Maya Pier, to the water park. If you arrive at Punta Langosta Pier, this is the middle pier. Just to help you know where you will arrive at in comparison to the water park. We did not get the transportation package or Buffet. We got a taxi from the pier for 20 tip for the four of us. On the way back the taxi charge was 18 tip for four of us. Not sure why the difference. There were lots of taxis available on both ends of the trip so not a problem to find one. The weather was questionable when the boat docked at port, but it cleared up for a great day at the beach. So we were not to much of a hurry to leave the boat until about 9:30. We got to Playa Mia by 10:00 am. Once you pass through the shops there, you will come to the reservation both that will have your reservation confirmation. You get your wrist band for what you selected and your on your way for exploration and fun. There was lots of options for everyone in our group to find something to do for the day. The floating island of swimming objects was something else. You need to try that out. Umbrellas are available for rent for 7.50 for the day includes a 4 deposit-refundable when you leave just let the guys know when you are leaving. I would suggest getting one for the sun is intense here and not much shade. We stayed until 3:00. It was a great day at the beach. The items they promised to be there were as included in the price. They were up front with what had additional fees, no surprises. I like that. We would consider doing this again. Just to sit back on the beach and talk to fellow travelers is fun too. If your looking for hair braiding or a massage, they were available here too.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

RK618WS

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

we thought this tour was good my wife and i had done a tour like this before with in home cooking we rated as excelent kinda hard to top that but jerry the tour guide did a nice job.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

pchapman3

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Playa Mia was overall an excellent experience for our family. We have two children 6 and 3, and they absolutely loved their time at the park. After meeting the Playa Mia team right at the end of the cruise pier, we were quickly guided to a taxi for transport. We paid for the shuttle option, which is well worth it, since you get a private taxi that takes you the 15mins to the beach. The big cruise tours were all shuttled on big buses, which I'm sure are fine, but leave you arriving with 100 other people all at the same time. Once we arrived, we spent quite a bit of time at the beach area, which includes the amazing water park with various slides, climbers, and trampolines. The park provides life jackets for you, so no need to bring any. You do, however, need to bring your own towels. Once we moved to pool area, the kids had a blast in the shallow water park and on the twister slides. Those are lots of fun to race in. The ONLY reason I can't give this experience a full 5 stars I'm saying 4.5, is that the food at the lunch buffet is very mediocre. It's not terrible, but it's about as basic, bland, and uninspired as you can get. If you do plan to purchase the lunch buffet option, just be prepared that it's fairly poor. The kids probably won't care, but if you have any respect for food, you'll understand what I mean.

Other than the food, the park is fantastic. Bathrooms were clean, staff was very upbeat and helpful, and our entire experience went off without a single glitch. If you have kids, this experience really can't be beat Also, as an added convenience, there's a Starbucks just as you enter the grounds that has free WIFI no purchase required if you need it. The Starbucks near the cruise terminal requires you to buy something for their WIFI password, so take advantage if you can!

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Vi T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We had a lot of fun at this park. The hostess was very courteous. We had difficulties to find the meeting place after arrived via the Carnival Cruise Ship. We wished that better direction was provided.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

crystal m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was so much fun!!! The tour guide was amazing we ate food items I would of never tried on my own, cactus, octopus, barley water and many more items. We visited a local grocery which was very interesting. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a break from the tourist part of town or the ocean. One of our favorite tours.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Tannaz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Cozumel snorkeling tour was incredible! There was a wide range of amazing sea creatures and beaches that we visited.
The boat ride to the sites was longer than expected, but the snorkel was worth it. We saw different types of tropical fish, a barracuda, sting ray, and a wild sea turtle.
Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

John Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organized tour with a excellent, English speaking guide. Restaurants were often small mom and pop places with much interest. All of the food was excellent: corn smut and cactus tortillas pork roasted underground in banana leaves ceviche of conch, octopus and shrimp home-made chicken soup and a bakery stop. Unusual juices and beers were included. We go a detailed review of items in the local farmer's market. Great experience! I would do it again tomorrow.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Cynthia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

My husband and I very much enjoyed this tour and will look for similar opportunities for future vacations. Jerry was our tour guide and David was our driver. Both were excellent. We had 5 stops and each stop provided us a better understanding of authentic Mexican food. One stop was at a produce market where we were introduced to the ingredients of the food we ate to include veggies and fresh meat. This was a very fun, informative, and enjoyable way to spend our day in Cozumel. Much more enjoyable than just staying at the port stores and seeing the same souvenirs and jewelry that you find at every port.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

carolyn p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was more than I expected. All of the places we visited had the friendliest people, the food was great and our guide, Jerry, was very nice, entertaining and informative. well worth the experience!

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

donnakoester

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This honestly was such a great activity for our family to work together and rely on each other. Each person brought something valuable to the group in order to accomplish the tasks. Great bonding activity and team building for sure!

Doing what: Amazing Cozumel Race: Small-Group Tour and Scavenger Hunt

douglas o

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

very nice and helpful guides left on time good equipment life jackets, if desired nice drinks on board, but saw only a relatively small number of fish, although we did see some sea turtles, which was a plus. The tour left from Marina Fonatur, which is an 8 taxi from the cruise port. The snorkel site is 30-minute ride away, picking up more passengers at 3 stops along the coast to the south....which afforded us a nice view of the coastline. The guides led all the swimmers in the water between the 2nd and 3rd reefs.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Marc J

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Too many stops to pick up other guests before 1st snorkel stop. Nice people

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Richard T

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

We booked this tour after reading the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor and booked it thru their Low Price Guarantee. The boat staff was very nice and capable but the tour did not totally match the description. We only snorkeled at two locations and did not have access to the Money Bar. We would have rated the day higher but for the fact that as the tour guide was picking up the other passengers, it was very obvious to us that they were paying 36 for a tour we paid 56 for. This price disparity was confirmed by other passengers on the tour. Low price guarantee? If you plan to snorkel on the Reef, make your own plans in the city and save some money.

Doing what: Cozumel Snorkeling Tour: Palancar, Columbia and Cielo Reefs

Harold M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our second visit to Cozumel, and based on our previous positive experience with Viator in other cities we chose this tour. We met Gerry at the assigned point and were surprised that we were the only people participating. Gerry explained that we would be off the grid which is what we were looking for, but would not have known where to go on our own , or frankly been very comfortable in some of the districts. The first two stops were to shops where the owners lived in back, cooked in the middle, and served up front. The combinations were unusual, but delicious. Other reviewers have given good descriptions of the food itself, but the salsas and the drinks were special. I had never heard of hibiscus juice, or lemonade with cucumber, or apple soda and the salsas were all combinations we had never considered, but very good. At the third stop, I chose the octopus taco and my wife the shrimp. Both were outstanding. As our taxi driver drove us from stop to stop, Jerry gave us lots of information about the area, his background and made the tour a very positive experience. We cruise often and many stop in Cozumel. I wouldn't hesitate to join Jerry on another excursion.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

Randall G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful tour. The guide was able to answer questions about the food and history. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

cnovak1084

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My whole family was so happy with this tour. Jerry, the tour guide, was very friendly and so informative. He worked with the restaurants to make sure everyone had a great experience and accommodated picky eaters. My 9 year old son was very hesitant at the beginning of the tour, but by the second restaurant he was ready to try it all! If you go on a culinary tour in Mexico, you will eat onions, pork, and fish. Most of the food is pretty mild on their own, but the sauces at the restaurants can get VERY spicy!

The trip to the local market was great. I only wish we could have taken food back with us on the ship! I would have loved to buy some of the beautiful local produce and spices.

If you would like to get off the beaten path and explore local culture beyond Senor Frogs, then I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

davidabee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great host, Martin, and enjoyed the chocolate tasting as well as the tequila tasting. Both were lots of fun.

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

Rose Mary G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great tour. Not in the tourist area of town. We had a great tour guide . The food was very good and we enjoyed the fact that is was real down home Mexican food.

Doing what: Cozumel Food Tour

manishsh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyed a peaceful day, paddle boat ride, water slide and park, drinks and beach. The best part was the inflatabl play place in the middle of the ocean. Scarry yet fun!

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

stacie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We have cruised 8 different times to many different locations, and this excursion is by far and away the best we have had. As avid Amazing Race fans this local race was everything we thought it would be, and my wife and I came in second because of a blunder on our part. From start to finish well organized and very funny. You certainly get a workout if you are trying to be competitive.
Good luck to all future racers!!!

Doing what: Amazing Cozumel Race: Small-Group Tour and Scavenger Hunt

wv2308

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Paid for the transportation but didn't see any transport to go that way so paid for a taxi. Need to be more clear on the transportation set up.

Doing what: Playa Mia Grand Beach and Water Park Day Pass

Michaela B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

This was a fun day. Making the chocolates and tasting tequila can't be beat. Good times and good food and drinks.

Doing what: Cozumel Combo: Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting plus Discover Mexico and Chocolate Workshop

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message