Fantasy dramas have an uncanny way of bringing out the magic in a real-life location – just look at what Lord of the Rings has done for tourism in New Zealand – so its no surprise that Croatia has seen a spike in tourist interest since fan-favorite  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 190 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

adnil48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Even if you are not a game of thrones fan, you will enjoy the spectacular views

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: Viator Exclusive 'Game of Thrones' Tour

dennisgoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Worth every penny! Our guide was patient and personable! This tour is a brilliant way to see Old Town and if you watch/love Game of Thrones, you'll love this tour! The optional Tower Wall section is quite a bit of climbing and if you have any issues with high places, beware! In the event of rain, a poncho is preferable to an umbrella in order to have both of your hands free for railings and safety. Plenty of excellent photo ops!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really good, Natasha was fun and informative with good mix of Game of Thrones and local knowledge. Well worth it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had Agatha as our tour guide and she was amazing!
Not only was she knowledgeable on Game of Thrones and showed us all the sights, but she is a historian as well. We were so happy that she gave us the history of Split, Kliis Fortress and the Diocletian's palace as well.

Ask her where to eat and how to avoid the tourist gift shops to get yourself something genuinely Dalmatian.
10 out of 10 would do again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

TINA T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Beautiful location with game of thrones connections. Good equipment and instruction, felt very steady in kayak, hard work for beginners but well worth the effort with plenty of breaks. Excellent value for money and would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Sea Kayaking and Snorkeling Tour

Joanne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was really informative and amazing if you are a Game of Thrones fan.
Tour guide showed pictures of movie scenes and related it to where we were standing in
the Old City. Best scene was Walk of Shame So cool to be there where it all happened.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

andrewwyles

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

highly recommend this tour. Guide was very knowledgeable about both Dubrovnik and its Croatian history and Game of Thrones. Book early as very busy.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Daniel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fun tour. The cruise on the ship was a lot of fun, we got to dress in costumes, take pictures, see the sights of Dubrovnik from the sea and hear stories about Game of Thrones. We had a nice walking tour of the old town visiting various filming sights and got to take pictures on the Iron Throne. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Game of Thrones Tour with Karaka Cruise and Dubrovnik Walking Tour

Naked W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was excellent and the tour guide gave us a lot of insider information. Be prepared to walk a lot but of course, I found it extremely fun and satisfying being a Game of Thrones fan!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Jana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Andrea our guide was fabulous!!!! Smart, articulate, and combined great Game of Thrones information with wonderful historical knowledge of Dubrovnik over the past 2000 years. She made the trip so fun for all of us as not everyone knew the show in our group. She was a great guide for this beautiful city.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: Viator Exclusive 'Game of Thrones' Tour

Matthew S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about both Croatian history and Game of Thrones. We got to see all the filming locations in Split with references to specific shots and scenes from the show, if you are a fan this is can't miss. Our guide also went into great depth about the history and significance of the actual locations and Split itself. This is a great tour and I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Leeann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is more than a Game of Thrones tour. It's a tour with great photo opportunities, fantastic vistas and excellent information about the history of the town. Our guide Zoran was excellent. Very clear in communication, passionate about his city and very informative about GoT. Throughout the tour he held up images of the various scenes filmed around the town from season 2 onwards, so his stories, images from the show and the actual setting for filming combined bring GoT to life. From the outside shots of Little Finger's brothel, to the scenes in the Red Keep, and from the filming locations for the walk of shame to the tower of the undying....you see it all in 3 hours. You also get tickets to walk the walls of Dubrovnik and some tips for the restaurants to try - as recommended by locals. Yes, this was an excellent tour. Afterwards go buy a souvenir and have your photo take in the iron throne on Boshkoviceva laneway No. 7 - it's off the main street Stradun of the old town near the clock tower end of town.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

kellymclaughlin28

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had a great time on tour with Ivana. Although the tour is quite highly priced, you do get a lot for your money. The guides know a lot of interesting information about Game of Thrones and are very passionate about it, which you could easily see throughout the tour. I was in a group of around 10-15 people and we were taken lots of the places scenes were filmed as well as shown photos of comparisons which really made you be able to imagine the characters being there. There were also some great views and photo opportunities of Dubrovnik which added even more to the experience. The tour doesn't really cover much history of Dubrovnik itself so if you are looking for an overview of the city this tour might not be right for you. If you are a GOT fan however and wanting to learn more about where it was filmed than this tour is definitely for you!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour and our guide was absolutely AMAZING and surpassed all my expectations. We did the 3 hour walking tour option without the added visit to Trsteno Arboretum, which was more than enough! Our tour guide I wish I could remember his name to give credit where much credit is due was SO knowledgeable about anything and everything related to Game of Thrones as well as the history behind every filming location and landmark that we visited during the tour in Old Town. He was essentially a walking encyclopedia of information and was more than prepared to answer any questions that the group had. He was also very well spoken and eloquent. In a nutshell, I HIGHLY recommend this tour. It was the perfect mix of Game of Thrones trivia and historical information and the highlight of our trip! It was also the perfect way to see all the highlights that Old Town has to offer in just one day, including walking the city walls!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Trevor P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very very good from start to finish. Guide had very good knowledge of Dubrovnik and fan of game of thrones with lots information of how the show achieved its images along with film shots of what you were looking at.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved, loved, loved this tour. Our guide was fantastic and full of modern and historic information about the town as well as so much detail on the locations for Game of Thrones. It gave us a different perspective on the city and I always love that when visiting a place because you end up seeing parts of it that you wouldn't have normally.

So much has been filmed here and they explain what's real and what's CGI mostly real and how the crews worked around the tourists. It's really interesting and worth doing. This particular tour seemed to us to be more detailed and interesting than the other Game of Thrones tours we saw going around the place.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We met Agnes by the sea entrance to the cellars and she greeted us with a friendly face. The tour was very intimate, which was pleasant, as there were only 5 of us. We were taken to the air-conditioned minibus a god-send in the heat and we drove up to Klis Fortress first. Agnes was knowledgeable and friendly as she told us information about the history of the fort as well as the filming of Game of Thrones and she took us to lots of different locations. We then returned to Split and were given a historical walking tour and a Game of Thrones tour of the different locations in the Diocletian Palace, including the cellar locations where there is still fake blood on the walls from the filming! Agnes was friendly and humorous, sharing her own theories about the show. The only thing that would have made this better would have been more time for pictures as we were rushed taking photos and my boyfriend and I did revisit a few locations to take more photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kevin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an absolute blast on this tour! It was fun to experience Croatia in a different way. We enjoyed the workout and the snorkeling was fantastic. The guides were a little difficult to hear since we were unable to get close to them but what we did hear was great. They informed us of history, game of thrones sites and fun tales. We recommend this trip! Be sure to bring extra water since they provide one bottle but we were glad to have extra!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Sea Kayak and Snorkeling Small-Group Tour

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour our guide Lana was extremely knowledgeable and showed us a whole host of locations used in Game of Thrones - from memorable moments to smaller scenes, it really did bring King's Landing to life. The tour is a great way to get around to see the city too. We really enjoyed hearing about the history of Dubrovnik as well as the GoT connections. Highly recommended! My husband and I also did the Trsteno Arboretum tour in the afternoon as well. It was just us and Lana but we had an amazing time - the location was just half an hour from Dubrovnik and we seeing the famous locations here too was great. It was also just a beautiful spot to spend and afternoon. The instructions of where to meet the guides were easy to follow and we felt the tour was great value for money for all we did. Thomson, our tour operator, offered a walking GoT tour also through a third party but it was considerably more expensive than booking in advance. A must-see for any Game of Thrones fans visiting Dubrovnik!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

vassili_gr Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Natasa was such a great tour guide, she had all the knowledge both of the city and Game of Thrones. She has a great attitude, positive and hilarious at the same time. I never imagined that i could get the best of both in one tour. I highly recommend anyone to take this tour especially with Natasa :

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Agnes was an excellent guide with a vast knowledge not only of Game of Thrones but also of the real history of the places we visited. Her enthusiasm for her job was refreshing. The tour was everything we expected and more. Great value for money too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

cowangreenside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A really great tour. Very interesting from a historical as well as 'Game of Thrones' point of view. Our guide was very helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. Visiting the arboretum is a must. All locations stunning.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Sharanya N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely loved this tour!! Zrinka was an amazing tour guide. She had so much inside knowledge about Game of Thrones scenes and production. Definitely one of the highlights of our whole trip. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

tghetherington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was fantastic. Our guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. not only was she a game of thrones expert but also gave us some history Dubrovnik which was very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Lindsay P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

To start, our tour guides were lovely and VERY helpful. They gave us lots of facts about our surroundings, including where some Game of Thrones scenes were filmed. The lunch was nice and the snorkelling was fun! If you haven and #39;t kayaked before, don and #39;t worry, there were plenty of breaks.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Sea Kayak and Snorkeling Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message