Fantasy dramas have an uncanny way of bringing out the magic in a real-life location – just look at what Lord of the Rings has done for tourism in New Zealand – so its no surprise that Croatia has seen a spike in tourist interest since fan-favorite  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 173 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour and our guide was absolutely AMAZING and surpassed all my expectations. We did the 3 hour walking tour option without the added visit to Trsteno Arboretum, which was more than enough! Our tour guide I wish I could remember his name to give credit where much credit is due was SO knowledgeable about anything and everything related to Game of Thrones as well as the history behind every filming location and landmark that we visited during the tour in Old Town. He was essentially a walking encyclopedia of information and was more than prepared to answer any questions that the group had. He was also very well spoken and eloquent. In a nutshell, I HIGHLY recommend this tour. It was the perfect mix of Game of Thrones trivia and historical information and the highlight of our trip! It was also the perfect way to see all the highlights that Old Town has to offer in just one day, including walking the city walls!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Trevor P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very very good from start to finish. Guide had very good knowledge of Dubrovnik and fan of game of thrones with lots information of how the show achieved its images along with film shots of what you were looking at.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved, loved, loved this tour. Our guide was fantastic and full of modern and historic information about the town as well as so much detail on the locations for Game of Thrones. It gave us a different perspective on the city and I always love that when visiting a place because you end up seeing parts of it that you wouldn't have normally.

So much has been filmed here and they explain what's real and what's CGI mostly real and how the crews worked around the tourists. It's really interesting and worth doing. This particular tour seemed to us to be more detailed and interesting than the other Game of Thrones tours we saw going around the place.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Lucy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We met Agnes by the sea entrance to the cellars and she greeted us with a friendly face. The tour was very intimate, which was pleasant, as there were only 5 of us. We were taken to the air-conditioned minibus a god-send in the heat and we drove up to Klis Fortress first. Agnes was knowledgeable and friendly as she told us information about the history of the fort as well as the filming of Game of Thrones and she took us to lots of different locations. We then returned to Split and were given a historical walking tour and a Game of Thrones tour of the different locations in the Diocletian Palace, including the cellar locations where there is still fake blood on the walls from the filming! Agnes was friendly and humorous, sharing her own theories about the show. The only thing that would have made this better would have been more time for pictures as we were rushed taking photos and my boyfriend and I did revisit a few locations to take more photos.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Kevin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an absolute blast on this tour! It was fun to experience Croatia in a different way. We enjoyed the workout and the snorkeling was fantastic. The guides were a little difficult to hear since we were unable to get close to them but what we did hear was great. They informed us of history, game of thrones sites and fun tales. We recommend this trip! Be sure to bring extra water since they provide one bottle but we were glad to have extra!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Sea Kayak and Snorkeling Small-Group Tour

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour our guide Lana was extremely knowledgeable and showed us a whole host of locations used in Game of Thrones - from memorable moments to smaller scenes, it really did bring King's Landing to life. The tour is a great way to get around to see the city too. We really enjoyed hearing about the history of Dubrovnik as well as the GoT connections. Highly recommended! My husband and I also did the Trsteno Arboretum tour in the afternoon as well. It was just us and Lana but we had an amazing time - the location was just half an hour from Dubrovnik and we seeing the famous locations here too was great. It was also just a beautiful spot to spend and afternoon. The instructions of where to meet the guides were easy to follow and we felt the tour was great value for money for all we did. Thomson, our tour operator, offered a walking GoT tour also through a third party but it was considerably more expensive than booking in advance. A must-see for any Game of Thrones fans visiting Dubrovnik!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

vassili_gr Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Natasa was such a great tour guide, she had all the knowledge both of the city and Game of Thrones. She has a great attitude, positive and hilarious at the same time. I never imagined that i could get the best of both in one tour. I highly recommend anyone to take this tour especially with Natasa :

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Kim H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Agnes was an excellent guide with a vast knowledge not only of Game of Thrones but also of the real history of the places we visited. Her enthusiasm for her job was refreshing. The tour was everything we expected and more. Great value for money too.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

cowangreenside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A really great tour. Very interesting from a historical as well as 'Game of Thrones' point of view. Our guide was very helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. Visiting the arboretum is a must. All locations stunning.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Sharanya N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely loved this tour!! Zrinka was an amazing tour guide. She had so much inside knowledge about Game of Thrones scenes and production. Definitely one of the highlights of our whole trip. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

tghetherington

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was fantastic. Our guide was friendly and very knowledgeable. not only was she a game of thrones expert but also gave us some history Dubrovnik which was very interesting. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Lindsay P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

To start, our tour guides were lovely and VERY helpful. They gave us lots of facts about our surroundings, including where some Game of Thrones scenes were filmed. The lunch was nice and the snorkelling was fun! If you haven and #39;t kayaked before, don and #39;t worry, there were plenty of breaks.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Sea Kayak and Snorkeling Small-Group Tour

Mimi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Split is just so lovely - feels much more like a modern city than Dubrovnik does. Diocletian's Palace is very interesting and houses so many hip restaurants and stores as well. You really get a taste of the rest of Croatia outside of the mainly tourism-driven Dubrovnik namely the Croatian obsession with their football teams!. The prices were a bit cheaper than Dubrovnik, I'm guessing from the fewer tourists that go! The old town of Split is full of alleyways but has a completely different feel than Dubrovnik. If you can, you should try to go to the Plitvice Lakes from Split, we hear it's an unforgettable experience. Our driver Mario was very interesting as well, giving a background on the numerous towns we passed by on our 4 hour drive. Oliver was our city guide and he was very knowledgeable about all the landmarks within the walls. He also does an excellent Game of Thrones tour. Also, do eat outside the city walls near the Marjan region past the church! We had an excellent lunch there. Overall, this was one of our best experiences on our trip and we advise everyone to not miss the day trip to Split.

Doing what: Split Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Emil C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour with an English speaking captain and guide. Very flexible schedule to accommodate our interests. We an 8 hour tour that included: a mini Game of Thrones tour, view of the old town from the sea, snorkling, walk along one of the Elaphite Island communities and lunch by the water. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Private Speed Boat Tour in Dubrovnik: Hidden Beauties of Elaphiti Islands

Ashley K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic for everyone, not just Game of Thrones fans. Agnes was very knowledgeable and told us a lot of history as well as showing us some sites from game of thrones. Klis fortress was my favourite, beautiful view of whole of Split from there.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Conny S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent. Apart from getting a lot of Game of Thrones info she also covered a lot of local history.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Tour in Split

Maria Rosa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a very good trip, our guide Natasha was knowledgeable and a fan of Game of Thrones herself, and very kind!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Emily P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Brilliant tour, perfect balance of Dubrovnik history/Game
Of Thrones information! Friendly guide who knew all the answers to our questions and was full of Game of Thrones trivia! Would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

sbclark@ameritech.ne ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was supposed to go to Cavtat and the Old Town, but we decided to just spend the day at the Old Town because of the length of the trip to Cavtat. After traveling on the ship, we wanted to minimize our land travel since the roads are rather curvy! The Old Town is beautiful and it is worth the additional cost to walk on the top of the wall for the magnificent views. If you are a fan of The Game of Thrones, this location will spur images from the series! My daughter and husband were thrilled to see these spots from the series in real life! Our tour guide was rather boring and we didn't enjoy her commentary compared to some of the other places we visited using Viator. I guess it is luck of the draw as to whether your guide is interesting and clicks with the needs of your group.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: Private Tour of Dubrovnik and Cavtat

Sandra Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour our guide was an extra on the set of Game of Thrones. She was very knowledgable about the show had great insight into the actors and was able to answer all questions. There are 500 stairs to climb throughout the tour so be aware it's hard work but well worth the climb.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Chris K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting tour with an amusing and very knowledgeable guide, Darko, who also gave us some offbeat snippets - especially where Game of Thrones is concerned. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Grand Split Walking Tour

laura h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you like game of thrones then this is a must tour while in Dubrovnik. Lots of stairs and walking but worth it for the views.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

suemills9912

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The karaka cruise makes the trip worthwhile on its own. There are beautiful views of Dubrovnik from the sea. The crew are dressed as Game of Thrones characters and encourage you to try on costumes for yourselves for a photo opportunity, which is optional but a bit of fun for series fans. The walking tour was also good fun. The guide used a tablet to show scenes from the series and demonstrated well where many scenes were filmed and told tales of what went on in the city while filming was taking place. The route was well planned as the paths upwards were less steep than the downward ones, making it easy to keep up the group. The final stop was at the Game of Thrones store where fans have a photo opportunity sitting on the iron throne. Light hearted and good fun all round.

Doing what: Game of Thrones Tour with Karaka Cruise and Dubrovnik Walking Tour

Amy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For anybody visiting Dubrovnik, if you are a game of thrones fan then this is a tour you definitely must participate in!!! The guide was extremely knowledgable and left plenty of time at each location for you to take plenty of photographs. The guide obviously loves her job and Dubrovnik as she would break out of the game of throne tour to tell you pieces about their history which was very interesting!! The tour lasted a lot longer than initially thought as she took us everywhere. I would recommend this tour to anybody visiting this beautiful city.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Charlotte H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was fantastic! Our tour guide was friendly, helpful and spoke good english. We saw not only the Game of Thrones scenes but the whole of old town dubrovnik which was beautiful and learnt about its history. Really got our moneys worth. Would recommend to anyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message