Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Aguas Calientes

If you're visiting Machu Picchu while you're in Peru - and why wouldn’t you? – there's a very good chance you'll pass through the small pueblo of Aguas Calientes en route. The gateway town to Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes is nestled in a valley of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 577 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stuart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The people did everything possible to make my experience as amazing as coule be. From pickup at exactly the given time to knowledgeable bilingual help the entire way. The guide was great, knowledgeable and good with people. The entire trip was fantastic.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

mercedes m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Tour Guide was excellent. Really was an amazing place to visit.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour. Very well managed with professional agents and tour guide.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Joe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Exceptional tour. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that everything went well. I could not imagine a better experience. I don't normally write reviews, but this tour demands a review because the service that came with it exceeded that of any tour that I have ever gone on. I highly advise you to book this tour if you are looking at going.

Doing what: 2-Day Tour to Machu Picchu from Cusco

Alexander W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Fabulous tour! Johnny was an amazing guide, full of knowledge and also a wonderful photographer!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jenny United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Machu Picchu more than lived up to its hype! Such a beautiful place! The tour company was prompt with our hotel pick-up, and explained the day's schedule thoroughly from the start. The only change that occurred, which I wish would have been communicated is that the train DOES NOT leave from Cusco, as described. We had to first take a 2 hour bus ride to Ollaytantambo to board the train. The bus ride was fine, but we were expecting a longer and more comfortable train ride than we had. Jaime was our tour guide at Machu Picchu and he was wonderful - full of knowledge and a very funny person. You can tell that he loves what he does and wants to be sure that his groups have the best experience possible.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Hector was awesome. The only down side is that it is a really long day to get from Cusco to Machu Pichu and back in one day.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Craig C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Except for the theft of my wifes large bag this was awesome. Unfortunately our camera her Ecll phone and my glasses were among the things traken.A part from that this was my second favorite tour in South America. !st place goes to the Guacamaya Lodge on Rio Cuyabeno I highlly reccomend this tour to Macchu Pichu. Everything was as promised.

Doing what: 3-Day Cusco and Machu Picchu Tour

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We purchased the train/bus/guide package from Viator. It was a great package and we had a terrific time. A bus picked us up at our hotel in Cusco early in the morning and took us to the train station. From there we rode the Vistadome train which is great because you get terrific views of the countryside for more than 3 hours to Aqua Caliente, a town at the base of the mountain upon which Machu Picchu sits. We were met there by our guide Hector, who was terrific. We had nine people total in our group so it was very manageable and everyone had an opportunity to ask questions, etc. We then stood in a long line for the bus to Machu Picchu. The line moves very quickly though because there are many people going up and the buses just continue rolling through. It is about a 30 minute back and forth ride up the mountain. Once there you need to walk about another thousand feet up to the spot where you see most photos overlooking Machu Picchu. It is a more breathtaking view than I had imagined. The tour of the site then takes about two and a half hours. This is plenty of time and affords you plenty of opportunities to explore and take many photos. One thing I had not realized is that if you want to take any hikes of the nearby mountains you'll need a permit. The number of permits per day is limited. So if you want to do that plan ahead. Our guide Hector was terrific. He was very knowledgeable and answered every question posed to him. Once the tour is over you'll take the bus back to Aqua Caliente where your guide leaves you remember to tip him or her. You'll then have about an hour before catching the train back to Cusco. You can either grab a bite to eat or shop, as there are many shops by the station. The train ride gets you back to Cusco around 6:30 pm and then a bus picks you up and returns you to your hotel. In sum, this was an outstanding day for my family and me. Every aspect of the tour was first rate and I highly recommend this package.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Keisha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The journey to actually get from Cusco to Machu Picchu is a very long jorney. From the Cusco hotel pickup 4am ish there was a 1 hour and 30 min drive to the train station on a curvy road through the mountains. Once on the train, it was another 1hour and 25min train ride to Machu Picchu on a very, very slow train one track. Once at Machu Picchu there was a 30 min during high periods it can be as long as a 4 hour wait wait for the bus to take you up the 30 min journey to the mountain. We were fortunate to have decent weather no rain and the sights were awesome.

The tour guides changed throughout the journey efficient process but Hamilton was the tour guide once we got to Machu Picchu he was awesome.

All in all a long journey you may want to research shorter routes. All in all the views we awesome and the journey unforgettable.

The journey back down was the same very long returning to the hotel around 6:30pm.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Rajan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent arrangements

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

ROBERT G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great trip

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took 5 kids youngest 16. Resoundingly it was everyone's favorite trip. There's so much more to the trip than the description. We swam in hot springs, we walked suspension bridges across the river. Our guide was AWESOME!! The trip was nothing short of great!

Doing what: Inca Jungle Trek: 4-Day Tour to Machu Picchu Including Biking, Rafting and Zip Line

Nicolle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing trip! Its a must!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A dream come true ...

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Vietsmaster

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Everything that we did in the journey itself was amazing and Pablo was an amazing guide. If you take part in the journey I recommend you take part in all the extras white water rafting, ziplines, and hiking Hiyanu Pichu. We were lucky for the first two days in that we only had a group of 3 myself, my wife, one other traveler, and our guide. Due to this, though, we were able to stay at an Ecolodge looking down on a glorious valley view breathtaking. The second day of hiking was light with a siesta built in but the walk on the Inka trail was magnificent once again, props to Pablo for taking pictures and great explanations. The hot springs were a much needed respite after the day of hiking. The hostels nights 2 and 3 left something to be desired especially the hostel in Aguas Calientes but the 3 am hike to Machu Picchu was the experience of a lifetime.
After the hike we had a lot of down time in Aquas Calientes which is pricey, watch out for service charges at restaurants but the PeruRail ride was great.
All in all, the trip was intimate and exciting, allowing us to make several friends along the way. This trip is a bit pricier online in advance than booking in the city, but we were also the only people with a reservation in advance long enough to hike Machu Hiyanu.
Though you cant reserve a specific guide, Pablo was by far the most professional and reliable guide Ive ever had.

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

Mark M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

All went as expected communication around pickup time day of tour could have been improved - ended up having to call the local tour operator day before to confirm.

Guide in Aguascalientes/Macchupicchu was great - very knowledgeable of Inca culture and history of this special place.

Would recommend.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Aleksandar S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good tour but If you have more time I recommend sleeping in Aguascalientes and climbing early to avoid agglomeration from 10:00 a.m.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Margarita K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

As advertised was a full day tour, we were only able to see Machu Picchu for an hour. Although an amazing hour nonetheless the travel it takes to get to Machu Picchu 4.5hrs from Cusco, it would've been great to be able to spend the day as advertised in the description of this package. There are a variety of other websites to search for that with this crazy price you can do a whole week tour of Machu Picchu, we realized that after the fact.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kenneth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It met my expectations fully. A truly wonderful day. The Guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was just as described. The guide was awesome and very informative during our tour! it was also very convenient to be picked up from the hotel then taken to the train/bus station instead of meeting the group at those locations. We would definitely do it again but would want to spend a night closer to Machu Picchu!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The most amazing experience! Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. I am glad that I took the tour rather than exploring on my own because I learned so much and saw things that I otherwise wouldn't have gone to see. The train ride was very cool. Don't expect to sleep on the way home, however there's entertainment throughout the ride!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

stnnb2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly an amazing trip. Tons of night life, food and adventures are every turn. We took the 1 day Machu Picchu tour and it was wonderful!! Beautiful day, comfortable bus and train ride and our guide was the BEST!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

PS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

On-time and well-organized!!! Bucket-list achieved!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message