Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Aguas Calientes

If you're visiting Machu Picchu while you're in Peru - and why wouldn’t you? – there's a very good chance you'll pass through the small pueblo of Aguas Calientes en route. The gateway town to Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes is nestled in a valley of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 546 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

margaret howard t

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good trip! Very long day. Have sturdy hiking shoes and altitude pills.... and maybe some extra oxygen! Perhaps more information should be given in advance.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Krista USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an amazing day at Machi Picchu, and a wonderful experience with this Viator tour. Everything was very organized, from pick up to the hotel, to providing us with directions and the necessary tickets for the train, bus, Machu Picchu entrance fee ticket, an extremely knowledgeable and friendly tour guide who spoke very good English, as well as the same tickets and transportation all the way home. We would highly recommend this tour to others who only have one day to spend at Machu Picchu! It was so nice having all of the transportation and logistics arranged for you as part of this tour, and we got to see everything we wanted to see at Machu Picchu!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Alex36Kop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend the tour for those who are short with time.All was greatly organised with pick up from my hotel, train trip and a wonderful private guide in English.Machu Pichu is a life time experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Zachary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Edna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour thanks to the guide Jhon He was amazing

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Isabelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Simply wonderful!!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was truly amazing. Having the opportunity to go to Machu Picchu in one day when you don't have much time, it's a great opportunity. The train journey is a bit long but the landscape is beautiful and the pay off of the day, is the view of Machu Picchu and all the history behind it. Don't miss the opportunity to book this tour and visit the city of the Incas! Sandra C.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Matt B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an amazing experience and we would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Shafali M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Was a great trip, well organised, our tour guide carlitos was attentive and took good care of us. We had a small group with similar abilities and up for everything. This is a great active alternative to the Inca trail, would highly recommend it. Great memories, beautiful, picturesque views. Shafali

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

kernich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The day starts very early in Cusco , maybe overnight in Ollantatambo might be a good idea. The arrangemants all worked well. Out guide was Wilbarth? who was excellent. Gave us much info and time to take photos.
. Only down side was long wait for bus upto site after train ride. More buses needed. Our guide was able to get us onto a bus back or we would have missed our train. The site is stunning.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great adventure. Most of the time it's just your group on trail.

Doing what: Inca Jungle Trek: 4-Day Tour to Machu Picchu Including Biking, Rafting and Zip Line

Janneth I

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour! Nice tour guide, train magnificent.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Frances Marlene P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our trip was great... we couldn't have asked for anything more. Our guide, Ghon I think that is how he spelled his name was extremely knowledgeable, very helpful, and spoke excellent English. He went as fast as we wanted, took us all over... would highly recommend him and Viator.

The only hitch we had was it was quite difficult getting in contact with the Viator office in Cusco. We had to get the hotel owner to contact them for us as the phone number didn't work. But after all the dust settled... it was a terrific tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Xiaolong Y

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good tour. The guide was knowlegeable but seems talked a little too much and repeated some topics such as rocks there many times. Also, it would be nice to have some free time at top of Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Brian S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

This was the second tour we took with this company. Our guide, Hamilton was wonderful, but the tour was badly organized. The itinerary said our train will depart at 7:00, but it departed at 7:40. There was a huge mess of people at the train station and our driver ended up leaving our group to figure things out for ourselves. Luckily, there was one guy in our group who spoke Spanish. Once at Machu Picchu, everyone in our group thought our guide would take us straight from the train to the shuttle. But this wasn't the case. We had to find our guide in a huge crowd of people, than wait in line for over an hour to get on a shuttle to head up to the site, where there was another line.
Thankfully, our guide had someone save us a spot in line, but we still had to wait over an hour. The itinerary said we would tour the site for 1.5 hours, than have 2 hours free time to walk around on our own, but this didn't happened. I'm not gonna blame our guide, as he was wonderful, knowledgeable and tried his best to show us as much of the site as possible, but it annoys me when a tour company promises one thing, than doesn't follow through. I mainly blame Machu Picchu for allowing so many people up there a day.
I also think such a long tour should include a free lunch, at least some sandwiches on the train. A lot of people in our group including myself, ended up getting food in town, as we all thought we would be served more than tea and a muffin on the train.
The Machu Picchu tour should've been more organized. Many of us saved up our whole lives for this trip and booked months in advance, only to end up disappointed, because we weren't given as much time at the site as we were promised.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

kyle r

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

NOT AS ADVERTISED. Machu Picchu was wonderful and as magical as it could be, the problem was that Viator stated ...enjoy a scenic, 2 hour train ride.... the train ride each way was 3 3/4 hours long. Therefore cutting available time at MP. Viator also stated
...you'll have time to explore on your own... not so, after the guided tour of about 1 1/2 hours, we had to get back to the bus line in order to make our train reservation. I traveled thousands of miles at great cost to get to MP for the day and was very disappointed to spend less than 2 hours at MP during this 14 plus hour tour. Viator also stated ...After spending a few hours at the site... I wish...and if you really want to spend a few hours at MP, don't go on this tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

OSCAR E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the best experience, the guide was very smart person, only I would like to have more time in Machupicho

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Vilma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

nice place to relax and our guide was real professional and very nice guy.. way to go!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Gerard C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Guide was fantastic. Disappointed that we had to wait in a long line at end of day for bus ride back to train staton.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Alisa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great knowledge, very informative and his english was very good. Excellent value for money A

Doing what: Machu Picchu Guided Group Tour from Aguas Calientes

kenkat12003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I turned sixty this year and decided to see Machu Picchu for our birthdays...we had friends our age our son and an international mix of twenty and thirty somethings ..so diverse and so fun...guides were great..not always easy trekking biking rafting and zip lining but WE DID IT !!!

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was, Jhon, was great. The directions were not very clear in the morning getting there, but all was good. Definitely would recommend this tour for anyone who is planning to go back on their own time. It lays a nice foundation of knowledge for future exploration.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Claudia R E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Altamente recomendable

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ludmila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. It was not just the location that made it spectacular, it was our guide of Machu Picchu who really made this trip fantastic. I highly recommend this trip for those who are in a time crunch and are only able to make a day trip to Machu Picchu and Aguas Calientes.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing experience! It's a long day, but well worth it! The level of service is impecable from start to finish and everything is included. You don't have to worry about any transportation or attraction tickets and that's such a big relief when you have to take 4 bus rides and 2 train rides to get from Machu Picchu to Cusco! It's part of the magic of a beautiful, remote attraction!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message