Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Aguas Calientes

If you're visiting Machu Picchu while you're in Peru - and why wouldn’t you? – there's a very good chance you'll pass through the small pueblo of Aguas Calientes en route. The gateway town to Machu Picchu, Aguas Calientes is nestled in a valley of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 504 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sendam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip well organized very informative and helpful guide

Would recommend highly

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lawrence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

if you only have a day to visit MP from Cusco, this was a great option - we were lucky that in high season the crowds were lighter than usual due to Eurocup they said, and also that there was a cool breeze despite a strong sun in a cloudless sky. It is a long day with pickup by van at 5 in central cusco, then bus, then train to Aguas Calient, then bus up to MP, and you only end up with about 2 maybe 3 hours at MP. Obviously didn't see the sun rise as we didn't get up there until 11am -

Fatima our tour guide was terrific, we had a small group of just 6 people I think, and we learned a lot.

Viator subcontracts with Viajes Pacifico for this tour, and they executed all of the connections smoothly and punctually. the Vistadome train is good for viewing - and they do some entertainment on the return about 3.5 hours of the 4.5 hour trip each way is on this - and then try to sell the Sol alpaca fashions that they say are exclusive to them, though there are several Sol shops in Cusco.

Again highly recommended if you are ok with a cliff notes version of MP and only have a day - albeit a long one snacks are served each way. Not everyone in our group was going back to Cusco so make sure your guide knows that you need to get a bus down long line forms thought it moves incredibly fast - impressively so given the tight entrance/turnaround area for the buses that run up and down in time to catch your train and-or to get a bite or souveneirs in Aguas Calientes , which is teeming with options for both -

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience guide was well informed and interesting. Weather was poor so end of March maybe not a great time to go.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

eric.datta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was great, thanks to the local travel company - Viajes Pacifico - who were very professional, having organized the trip so well. The guide Vida Sanchez was great - she was full of life and very knowledgeable.
Quite enjoyed the overall experience - a must visit and recommend the travel company highly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Daniel Antonio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an awesome trip! Our guide was fantastic and Machu Picchu is truly a wonder of the world. The train ride though was a little too long but the great Andean scenery more than made up for the length of the trip. Overall, a must do!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Nadshawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The most amazing experience ever! All steps in the adventure were very organized and our tour guide Hector at Machu Picchu was INCREDIBLE!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Evan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would definitely recommend this tour for visiting Machu Picchu from Cuzco. Our tour guide Vida was excellent. She provided good direction, her english was very good and her knowledge was vast. Transport was very easy as they pick you up from your hotel, hop on a train which was quite comfortable, and even though it's a 3 hour train ride each way, there were definitely some photo-worthy views along the way. Then bus transport from Aguas Calientes to Machu Picchu was easy as well. You get a 2.5 hour tour around Machu Picchu, which I will tell you is the right amount of time as we slowly moved from area to area, learning new information from Vida. Then you get around an hour to an hour and a half to either wander around or go back to Aguas Calientes to grab some lunch before hopping back on the train back. This has to be the easiest way to visit Machu Picchu from Cuzco.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

foroogh g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Samuel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. It was like a private tour since it was only me and my friend and the tour guide. Our guide Alicia was so knowledgable about Machu Picchu. Learned so much and had time to enjoy the views and take pictures. This tour made transportation stress free. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour well organized this was my second visit and I brought my sister and my cousin and they had a Great trip.
Thank you very much.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Isabella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience. Company that Viator contracts is Viajes Pacific. Answered all my questions via email prior to trip. Very responsive. If non Spanish speaking, at times guides only announce things in Spanish, but I think they all speak English if you ask them, or you can ask someone in group to translate. Also drop off coming back sometimes is at Plaza de Armas rather than at hotel, but if you ask specifically I'm sure they'll accommodate. Overall wonderful service and guides. Learned so much more about MP than if I had gone on own, plus it was fun getting to know fellow tour participants often from all over world!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Harpreet T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was the highlight of a wonderful S. American trip. The pictures you see on the Net do it no justice. Believe me you and #39;ll be blown away by the experience and the views! I also had an eye on the cost and was worried that I and #39;d be overpaying by not booking locally. It and #39;s actually cheaper! Do it

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long, tough day but the Viator crew facilitates all the transitionshotel to bus to train to guide with extreme ease and helpfulness. Our guide Hector was outstanding, very informative, passionate and personable.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kelly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved my trip!! As someone traveling by myself I appreciated that everything was organized and all of the guides were helpful and friendly. I will definitely use this company again. Thank you!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

BARA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

ended upi being just me and my brother on the tour so was a great price for a private tour. I guess we were lucky. but our guide was great. Only complaint is that the train is cramped and the bus ride to the train station and back is long and can be uncomfortable

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Laura M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was well organized and everything operated without a glitch. Only criticism is that the tour operator doesn and #39;t let you know until 5:00pm the night before the tour, what the pickup time is in the morning. Better if they would let you know in the a.m. It would take the stress off.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Shauna L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Eloise C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well organized.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Stephen P Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great experience. Although you are only at the site for approx. 2 hours, it was well worth the day's traveling from Cusco.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Teresita C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was good but too rushed. The guide was hard to find because she did not keep her flag raised, so we couldn and #39;t find her at crowded sites. We had no time to just walk around and explore on our own.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Aneese A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour itself was fantastic and one of the best experiences of my life! Everything was really well organized through Condetravel and we had the best group and guides! The tour is not for the weak as there is a lot of physical activity, but the guides kept a pace everyone could keep up with. As far as food goes, I opted for vegetarian options, but they could not accommodate that since you are staying with families in remote areas who eat meat from their farms, but you can get by. Sleeping accommodations were basic, but comfortable. Keep a LOT of bug spray on you for this trek. No wifi at all for most of the trek. Highly recommend going with this company. Here are my words of advice:

I highly recommend booking this tour directly with Condetravel as it is half the price with the exact same itinerary. Some of the people on the tour with me booked the day before we left without problem.

This tour has activities like water rafting, biking, and ziplining, all of which are NOT included in this viator price. When the guide asked me to pay for the biking, I threw a fit because I paid so much more than everyone else and did not have all this included like they did. They were kind and gave me the full package without trouble, but you may not be so lucky so I would not book this tour online.

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

Tracy A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was great with excellent English. Jonathon Knowledgable and met us the night before to discuss what to expect the next day.
I wish when signing up the details of ticket purchase for the bus and the tickets to Machu Pichu had been more clear

Doing what: Machu Picchu Guided Group Tour from Aguas Calientes

Louise A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It was a good, coordinated effort. A guide met us at the station and helped us purchase bus tickets. Also offered to help with purchasing our return train tickets. Another guide met us at the top. Spoke good English, gave a good 2 hour tour of the site. Plenty of time for questions. He did not take us to the most popular photo site, saying we could return there on our own. He did a good job of avoiding other clots of tourists.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Guided Group Tour from Aguas Calientes

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message