South America’s most famous trek is the most stunning and unforgettable way to reach the lost Inca city of Machu Picchu. Along the way, the four-day trek takes in three Andean mountain passes, Inca ruins and stupendous views of the snowcapped ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

GREG J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

William, William, William Willy...if you get this guide, you have lucked out. Truly. It was only my son 12 and I on this tour. We had mixed feelings about it being just us, our guide and the Porters. Other groups seemed to amount from 6 to 20 hikers and we thought we might miss out on the dinner time chat about the experiences. William made this experience incredibly engaging, fun and very educational. His knowledge is remarkable and it had my sone daily suggesting he write a book. I am not sure how Viator picks guides or even how this came together as there is a bit of a disconnect btwn us, Viator and our guide prior to beginning. However, upon meeting William and reviewing the schedule and expectations, we were provided with an incredible combination of experiences. It's a very tough trek but the rewards are more than worth the effort. I'll pass on writing on the tech aspects of this tour as many already have and their opinions are well worth reading. Top marks to William and our Porters. Incredible team.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Lenny A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I tackled the Inca Trail as a group of 4. We had an absolutely amazing time with Camping Adventure Tours I think that's the name of the company. Our guide, William, was amazing! He was friendly, encouraging, helpful, and funny. Our team of porters and chef were great at making us feel comfortable and safe. I would highly recommend this team / company for anyone looking to take on the Inca Trail!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Jia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We went on the Bamba Experience 4-Day Trek and it was such an incredible experience! We were a small group of 7 people, so it made the experience seem very intimate and we were able to learn so much about the culture of Peru. Our guide, Freddie was awesome -- he had so much knowledge to share and stories to tell which really made a difference. The meals that we had on the trip were awesome some of the best food we had during our 2 weeks in Peru. I would recommend getting the superior service because it helps to give a bit of your weight to the porters when doing the trek. All around an incredible trip that I would take again. Definitely recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu Through the Inca Trail

SongKu M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I want to first start by thanking the tour operator and guide Ruben .C. for making our Inca trail trek wonderful.
Before the trip, I had a few questions about things I needed to prep and contacted Viator three times, however they only told me that the tour company would be contacting me. I think there is a little disconnect between Viator and the tour company because by the time our trip came, I still had not heard from anyone. Luckily we got to Cusco a couple days and after seeking out the tour company, we were informed that there would be a debriefing the day before. During this debriefing, we were told what to expect each day length, difficulty level, etc, number of group members, things to carry in a personal backpack, etc.
Peru is a beautiful country and you definitely get a glimpse of it on the Inca trail. Each day has a different breathtaking scenery and beautifully preserved. Ruben shared a wealth of knowledge and was very helpful in explaining any questions we had on the Inca ruins deepening my appreciation for Machu Picchu.
Here are some tips for other people but those might differ per operator:
1. Drinking water is available to buy for day 1 and 2, after they will provide boiled water.
2. Porter will only carry camping supply, food, and gear, you have to carry all personal items and sleeping bag. You can hire extra porter for a fee.
3. Cold at night and hot during the day in early July, be ready for rain!
4. Bring some snacks, breakfast is typically at 5am, lunch is around 11 to 12pm, and dinner is at 6pm.
5. Try to pack light and only bring stuff that you might need. We accidentally brought big multi-day backpacks with us but most hikers brought a standard size backpack.
6. Stay in Cusco a few days before the hike to acclimate to the altitude.
5. Bring your passport to get through the checkpoint.
6. Bring hiking poles.
7. Have fun and enjoy mother nature.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Trekking trip. Sandro and team were attentive to our every need. The trek was rigorous and at high altitudes but the scenery was like nothing I've ever seen.All details were handled well and the team was flexible to our needs. Highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco

Sonia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My daughter's boyfriend got sick and the tour agency accommodated for them to go to Machu Picchu anyway. Responsive to my phone calls. I will recommend.

Doing what: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu Through the Inca Trail

Richard K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Awesome! Our tour guide, Francisco, was incredibly knowledgeable and a generally fun person! We lucked out with weather, so all the views were amazing and the hike was very enjoyable. The first day, seemed to be the guide feeling out the group with frequent rests and explanations of flora and fauna. The 2nd day the guide lets you go at your own pace, as it is the hardest day. You hike over 'Dead Woman's Pass' at something like 13,600ft. The views are amazing. The next 2 days have some climbing but nothing you can't handle after experiencing the 2nd day.

We opted for the superior package, which is worth it if solely for not having to lug your sleeping back and mattress pad on the hike.

Some recommendations for the hike.
1. Baby Wipes! a good way to freshen up, as there are no showers. There's some streams and stuff if you want to brave the COLD water with a bar of soap.
2. Bring your own Toilet paper. It isn't provided.
3. Make sure you have a head lamp and it works! I had to hike from 2am-5am on the last day with my iphone flashlight because a rented a crummy headlamp that quit on me and wouldn't turn back on.

Doing what: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu Through the Inca Trail

Jessica G

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

We were very happy with the service provided by the local operator but extremely disappointed with the service, or lack thereof provided by Viator.

I would provide details but there is inadequate characters allowed in this review.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Reed M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The trek, iteself, was fantastic. The hand-off of detailed reservations between Viator and the tour operator was not 100 smooth. My reservation for the upgrade package was fine, but one of the other hikers did not have her upgrade equipment. It all worked out in the end OK.

The trek tour leader, the porters, the campsites, and, especially, the daily food was SUPERB!!

Doing what: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu Through the Inca Trail

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The inca trail done in the first week of November, 2015. Our guide, Alberto spoke English well enough to explain the inca/ruin/MP history.
Porters were always kind and helpful.
Nice delicious meals throughout the trail.
It will be one of the most memorable trips in my life.
Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Jani R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My family 3 teenagers, my husband, and I went on the 5-day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco. We have been on trips throughout the world and have lived in different cultures. That being said, this trip trumped all of our other vacations/experiences. Our family was finally at a good age to partake in a great adventure - and an adventure we had!! The first day up, I got altitude sickness, which caused us to have to stop and camp beside the glacier the first night, it was beautiful. Sandro, our guide, made sure we were properly equipped extra sleeping bag for the cold night. We awoke every morning with Sandro at our tent door, handing us warm tea. The second day, we made it to the mountain peak and performed the Inca ritual of blowing on 3 coca leaves and building our power stones. This was honestly the highlight of the trip for me. I felt on top of the world, away from all the tourists and one with nature. We then started our trek down to the higher jungle, which held so much beauty and fresh air. An important point is that you don't have to be in top shape to do this trek. Your guide tailors the hike to your group's needs, which is so personal. Day 3 found us camping at a farm with interesting bathrooms and other hikers. Day 4 had us hiking through a coffee farm!! How cool is that. There is a little hut on the trail where the farmer has named the Andean Starbucks, where he was roasting his coffee beans and offering coffee for a small price. Day 5 found us at Machu Picchu! The best part was the hike itself, as we got nightly history lessons from our guide, Sandro. Some things to bring that saved us: snacks for the trail, wet wipes, mosquito repellant, plenty of cash for tips and water along the way, and a well-brimmed hat. If you are a gentleman, forget the baseball cap as your neck will get badly burned. Wear a hat that also covers your neck. Machu Picchu was wonderful, but full of tourists who were more worried about taking selfies.

Doing what: 5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco

Edward P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Veronica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

After thoroughly researching the best way to see and experience Machu Pichu, I chose to backpack for four days on the Inca Trail during the full moon of May. Due to the popularity of this adventure, I booked the trip to Cuzco, Peru in November to be sure that I could get the dates that I wanted.
I also booked with a tour company that provided guides, and other necessary equipment for this trek. I chose to travel solo, so that meant that I would be sharing a tent with a stranger, to avoid problems, I purchased the lightest available tent that protects me from mosquitoes and rain and I also purchased a sleeping bag, an air mattress, air pillow, and shock absorbing poles to help my knees handle walking down deep steps. All the items are light weight and fitted very well in my Dry Pack backpack
The weather can be unpredictable, so I also packed a rain jacket with zippers on the armpits to allow ventilation and rain pants. I wore waterproof hiking boots to keep my feet dry and I took moleskin and hand sanitizer to protect my feet from blistering during the four day hike. Expedition weight underwear kept me warm at night, three extra pairs of padded socks, and pants that can convert to shorts completed my clothing selection.
Although I took two lipstick size flashlights, a better choice is a flashlight that you wear on your head, you will be needing both of your hands especially at night when its time to go to the bathroom.
Remember to bring toilet paper and hand sanitizer. Toilet facilities are somewhat primitive by U. S. standards and consist of a hole in the floor, you must learn to squat and aim a totally new experience for me! I also wore a go pro camera on my wrist to make it easier to capture the scenery and I used my IPad at the campsite to take lots of great photos. You will be needing a small bag to carry your passport and camera as you enter Machu Pichu, the backpack and poles are stored at the entrance.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Megan M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We had an excellent tour. There were a few things I wish we had known, or at least thought about a little more before we booked. Also note I am a 26 year-old active female
First, Viator is a tour broker, so until the actual tour company has been selected, no specific questions can be answered about the tour. For example when we were leaving, getting back, supplies provided, etc...
The trip was excellent, a few lessons learned from our end
1 Hire a porter to carry your bags/stuff . . . all you will want to carry is small backpack with water, especially on the hard days youll be exhausted from the hike, and you wont enjoy it at all if you are carrying a large backpack
2 Altitude sickness is a real thing - get medicine and buy cocoa leaves even if youre a big skier, its different here
3 Our baggage got lost on the airlines . . . I wish we would have carried on the essentials, so that we had the things we really needed, hiking shoes, hiking clothes, toiletries, flash lights, camera, etc
4 If you are traveling by yourself, request your own tent . . . otherwise you will share a tent with someone else that is traveling alone.
5 Skip the train upgrade. It was not worth the extra money.
6 Buy or rent hiking sticks. I did not think I needed these and I was completely wrong. You absolutely need them some of the days
7 Our trip had sleeping bags included in the price. They were in good shape, no need to bring your own
8 TIPS are NOT OPTIONAL. Even though it says they are, they were not, and we were pressured/guilted into giving a tip. That being said, everyone on the tour is not making much and has earned that tip in my opinion They told us that 50-75 sols 15-25 USD per porter/chef was typical. . . when we divided that among our group, everyone ended up tipping at least 30 USD a person and an additional 30-40 USD to the tour guides.
Good luck on your adventure! Have fun!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Matthew Greiner United States of ... 

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The challenge of this trip was the language barrier. I am an English speaking person, and requested for an English speaking guide. The two guides on my trip spoke very little English, and lacked the vocabulary to adequately describe the things we saw on the trip.

I enjoyed the journey, but was upset that I did not learn as much as I could have.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

AMANDA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I felt well prepared for this trip in terms of the companies effort to make sure you had everything you needed prior to the hike and their information about each day of the hike given the night before. Each meal was a multi-course event (it all was good!), and snacks were provided. The guide was encouraging and informative throughout the 4 days. The hike itself was a challenge, but the guide stressed the importance of moving at your own pace and always made sure he was the last one in so no one was left behind. He offered tips to battle altitude which proved helpful. The only thing I did not realize was that you have to carry your own sleeping bag. They supply tents, sleeping bags ect, but be aware, although they carry tents and cooking supplies, you must carry your own sleeping bag!
I would highly recommend this experience overall!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Kristen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was an amazing, well organized tour!
From start to finish, the guides have every detail covered. They were very informative, patient, fun and interesting. They also brought 18 strangers together as friends by the second day.

Ruben, Paco and Jorge were always looking after you, checking on your daily well being and making sure you felt like a part of the group.

The porters were also very good. They were extremely respectful and hardworking. The harmony and respect that existed between the porters and the guides was very evident.

The food each day was wonderful! You should never miss a meal as you will need all the nutrients for your hikes.

Each morning the guides bring you coco tea with a very gentle wake up call while the porters prepare breakfast for you. Then after several hours of hiking, you'll stop at a point in the trail for a hot lunch that your porters have raced ahead to prepare for you. You then resume your hike to find your campsite set up for you and tea service ready prior to dinner. They couldn't make this any more convenient and comfortable!

Things you'll need:
Baby wipes, walking sticks, headlight, sun tan lotion, poncho, thermals, good hiking shoes (break them in at least two months prior), rain jacket, hat, toilet paper, energy bars and a one day water supply (you can buy water along the way), coco candy and/or leaves to chew on (you can buy all of this at the stop before the beginning of the trail in Ollyatatambo). The coco candy helped both with my altitude challenge and kept my throat from drying up with all the dust on the trail.
It's strongly recommended that you hire a porter IN ADVANCE to carry your sleeping bag and personals. Bring an extra bag to carry your camera, lotion, candies, toilet paper and poncho. The hike (especially on day 2 and 3) is very challenging with 100's of steep staircases. It seems counterproductive to not enjoy the scene if your battling with fatigue.
This was the best tour I have taken!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Adrian D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The constant back and forth made the booking process tedious and the information we received differed from what we were told directly by the guide. Definitely left me unimpressed with this but the trek itself is incredible.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Kirsten G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2014

The trek itself was amazing, great views and a fun hike each day. The porters were great too but our guide spoke maybe 2 words of English so we never knew what the plan was. We were told one thing and something else would happen. We didn't get any info about any of the extra ruins, no communication.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Daniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Incredible trip with amazing, friendly and knowledgeable guides. The trail is a must-do if you are looking to go to Machu Picchu as you will see things here that those who take the trainride in will miss. Scenic beauty, sleeping above the clouds, and coca tea every morning!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Aoife O

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Had a great experience until the last day. We only had 1hr 30 mins to explore Machu Picchu before we had to leave to go to Aguas Calientes to collect pur train tickets from our guide even though it wasnt leaving for another 3hrs 30. I feel this was to suit him he also left the restaurant without paying the 3 of us remaining from the group had to pay for his meal!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Trina Tron USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I definitely recommend this trek to anyone coming to Peru and looking for some adventure. This is the best way to get a sense for the country's incredible natural beauty and fascinating culture and history. Everywhere we went we were met with stunning scenery and warm greetings from locals. The hike itself was tough at times but always rewarding with the view from the top. You do need to be reasonably fit but the guides are good about tailoring the pace to your needs. And Machu Picchu on the last day is just the cherry on top! Totally worth doing - it was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: 5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Viator made booking the 4 day Inca Trail Trek a snap! A lot of hotels and tour companies in Peru don't take credit cards so you end up having to carry around a lot of cash, which isn't optimal. But being able to take care of the booking ahead of time was great. Also, the 4 day Inca Trail Trek was AMAZING! We were in a small group of 8 people. The porters carried all of our sleeping equipment and cooked us 3 meals a day. The food was delicious and your in the middle of the Andes! The camping gear was quality, sleeping bags with lots of down and sleeping bag liners. Over all 5 star camping. The hike wasn't as scary as I thought it would be. If you are in relatively decent shape you will have no problem. You are able to hike at your own pace through different ecosystems, some harsh and arid, others lush and almost tropical. The 4 day Inca Trail was definitely the highlight of our vacation. Note, if you have knee problems or even if you don't, get trekking poles they make the thousands of steps bearable.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message