Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Machu Picchu

The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 596 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shuying L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Additional ticket to Wayne Picchu is highly recommended. Had to get up 4 in the morning. Estimated travel time is more than 8h. But it's all worth it when I hiked all the way up to Wayne Picchu and enjoyed the great view of Machu Picchu and all the mountains.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lou Peresa Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

What a day out to be had! Only thing is by the time you get picked up from Cusco Hotel, then transported to Train Station 30 mins away, then head onto the Train 3.5hrs --- food is delicious by the way. Then wait in line for the Bus to transport you up to Machu Picchu Entrance at least 30 mins ... that only leaves you about 2 hrs to explore the region. Jonny our guide was informative. But you have to catch the train back at 3:20pm, but the tour would be MUCH better if you were able to organise for the 5:10pm train back instead. At least you can explore a little bit of the gorgeous mountainside on your own. But other than that, AWESOME!!! But when we travelled there was a 3 day train strike with Peru Rail .. so instead of 3,000 visitors we had to battle with 7,000 visitors .. so very very long day. Vistadome Train experience is fantastic!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

margaret howard t

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good trip! Very long day. Have sturdy hiking shoes and altitude pills.... and maybe some extra oxygen! Perhaps more information should be given in advance.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Krista USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an amazing day at Machi Picchu, and a wonderful experience with this Viator tour. Everything was very organized, from pick up to the hotel, to providing us with directions and the necessary tickets for the train, bus, Machu Picchu entrance fee ticket, an extremely knowledgeable and friendly tour guide who spoke very good English, as well as the same tickets and transportation all the way home. We would highly recommend this tour to others who only have one day to spend at Machu Picchu! It was so nice having all of the transportation and logistics arranged for you as part of this tour, and we got to see everything we wanted to see at Machu Picchu!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Alex36Kop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend the tour for those who are short with time.All was greatly organised with pick up from my hotel, train trip and a wonderful private guide in English.Machu Pichu is a life time experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Zachary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Cynthia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I recently booked this tour and had a wonderful and eventful time. Our travel expert,Fredi Llamacponcca Huanca, did a wonderful and professional job in the complete tour. We even booked a 3 day excursion outside of this agency and he made sure we had transportation and lodging that fit into this current excursion schedule. We were very happy with this trip and highly recommend this to others who are thinking of taking this trip.

Doing what: 6-Day Best of Peru: Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu and Puno Including Titicaca Lake

Edna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour thanks to the guide Jhon He was amazing

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Isabelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Simply wonderful!!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Josefa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Was amazing!!Places, people from Peru and food!!

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Machu Picchu from Cusco

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This trip was truly amazing. Having the opportunity to go to Machu Picchu in one day when you don't have much time, it's a great opportunity. The train journey is a bit long but the landscape is beautiful and the pay off of the day, is the view of Machu Picchu and all the history behind it. Don't miss the opportunity to book this tour and visit the city of the Incas! Sandra C.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Matt B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was an amazing experience and we would definitely do it again.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Shafali M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Was a great trip, well organised, our tour guide carlitos was attentive and took good care of us. We had a small group with similar abilities and up for everything. This is a great active alternative to the Inca trail, would highly recommend it. Great memories, beautiful, picturesque views. Shafali

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

kernich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The day starts very early in Cusco , maybe overnight in Ollantatambo might be a good idea. The arrangemants all worked well. Out guide was Wilbarth? who was excellent. Gave us much info and time to take photos.
. Only down side was long wait for bus upto site after train ride. More buses needed. Our guide was able to get us onto a bus back or we would have missed our train. The site is stunning.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jonathan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great adventure. Most of the time it's just your group on trail.

Doing what: Inca Jungle Trek: 4-Day Tour to Machu Picchu Including Biking, Rafting and Zip Line

Anna P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The Sacred valley; Pisac market on the first day was thoroughly enjoyable. The tour guide was so knowledgable and although the time frame was tight we got to see everything.Room in Aguascalientes was lovely; the Machu Picchu tour itself was brilliant, only problem was too short to climb mountain :(

Doing what: 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train

Janneth I

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Very good tour! Nice tour guide, train magnificent.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Frances Marlene P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our trip was great... we couldn't have asked for anything more. Our guide, Ghon I think that is how he spelled his name was extremely knowledgeable, very helpful, and spoke excellent English. He went as fast as we wanted, took us all over... would highly recommend him and Viator.

The only hitch we had was it was quite difficult getting in contact with the Viator office in Cusco. We had to get the hotel owner to contact them for us as the phone number didn't work. But after all the dust settled... it was a terrific tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Xiaolong Y

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Good tour. The guide was knowlegeable but seems talked a little too much and repeated some topics such as rocks there many times. Also, it would be nice to have some free time at top of Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Brian S

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

This was the second tour we took with this company. Our guide, Hamilton was wonderful, but the tour was badly organized. The itinerary said our train will depart at 7:00, but it departed at 7:40. There was a huge mess of people at the train station and our driver ended up leaving our group to figure things out for ourselves. Luckily, there was one guy in our group who spoke Spanish. Once at Machu Picchu, everyone in our group thought our guide would take us straight from the train to the shuttle. But this wasn't the case. We had to find our guide in a huge crowd of people, than wait in line for over an hour to get on a shuttle to head up to the site, where there was another line.
Thankfully, our guide had someone save us a spot in line, but we still had to wait over an hour. The itinerary said we would tour the site for 1.5 hours, than have 2 hours free time to walk around on our own, but this didn't happened. I'm not gonna blame our guide, as he was wonderful, knowledgeable and tried his best to show us as much of the site as possible, but it annoys me when a tour company promises one thing, than doesn't follow through. I mainly blame Machu Picchu for allowing so many people up there a day.
I also think such a long tour should include a free lunch, at least some sandwiches on the train. A lot of people in our group including myself, ended up getting food in town, as we all thought we would be served more than tea and a muffin on the train.
The Machu Picchu tour should've been more organized. Many of us saved up our whole lives for this trip and booked months in advance, only to end up disappointed, because we weren't given as much time at the site as we were promised.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

kyle r

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

NOT AS ADVERTISED. Machu Picchu was wonderful and as magical as it could be, the problem was that Viator stated ...enjoy a scenic, 2 hour train ride.... the train ride each way was 3 3/4 hours long. Therefore cutting available time at MP. Viator also stated
...you'll have time to explore on your own... not so, after the guided tour of about 1 1/2 hours, we had to get back to the bus line in order to make our train reservation. I traveled thousands of miles at great cost to get to MP for the day and was very disappointed to spend less than 2 hours at MP during this 14 plus hour tour. Viator also stated ...After spending a few hours at the site... I wish...and if you really want to spend a few hours at MP, don't go on this tour.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

OSCAR E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the best experience, the guide was very smart person, only I would like to have more time in Machupicho

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Vilma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

nice place to relax and our guide was real professional and very nice guy.. way to go!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Gerard C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Guide was fantastic. Disappointed that we had to wait in a long line at end of day for bus ride back to train staton.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message