Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Machu Picchu

The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 589 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We purchased the train/bus/guide package from Viator. It was a great package and we had a terrific time. A bus picked us up at our hotel in Cusco early in the morning and took us to the train station. From there we rode the Vistadome train which is great because you get terrific views of the countryside for more than 3 hours to Aqua Caliente, a town at the base of the mountain upon which Machu Picchu sits. We were met there by our guide Hector, who was terrific. We had nine people total in our group so it was very manageable and everyone had an opportunity to ask questions, etc. We then stood in a long line for the bus to Machu Picchu. The line moves very quickly though because there are many people going up and the buses just continue rolling through. It is about a 30 minute back and forth ride up the mountain. Once there you need to walk about another thousand feet up to the spot where you see most photos overlooking Machu Picchu. It is a more breathtaking view than I had imagined. The tour of the site then takes about two and a half hours. This is plenty of time and affords you plenty of opportunities to explore and take many photos. One thing I had not realized is that if you want to take any hikes of the nearby mountains you'll need a permit. The number of permits per day is limited. So if you want to do that plan ahead. Our guide Hector was terrific. He was very knowledgeable and answered every question posed to him. Once the tour is over you'll take the bus back to Aqua Caliente where your guide leaves you remember to tip him or her. You'll then have about an hour before catching the train back to Cusco. You can either grab a bite to eat or shop, as there are many shops by the station. The train ride gets you back to Cusco around 6:30 pm and then a bus picks you up and returns you to your hotel. In sum, this was an outstanding day for my family and me. Every aspect of the tour was first rate and I highly recommend this package.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Keisha United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The journey to actually get from Cusco to Machu Picchu is a very long jorney. From the Cusco hotel pickup 4am ish there was a 1 hour and 30 min drive to the train station on a curvy road through the mountains. Once on the train, it was another 1hour and 25min train ride to Machu Picchu on a very, very slow train one track. Once at Machu Picchu there was a 30 min during high periods it can be as long as a 4 hour wait wait for the bus to take you up the 30 min journey to the mountain. We were fortunate to have decent weather no rain and the sights were awesome.

The tour guides changed throughout the journey efficient process but Hamilton was the tour guide once we got to Machu Picchu he was awesome.

All in all a long journey you may want to research shorter routes. All in all the views we awesome and the journey unforgettable.

The journey back down was the same very long returning to the hotel around 6:30pm.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jordan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Don't regret spending the extra money on this tour. We traveled with our kids ages 6 - 12. It was definitely an experience of a lifetime.

Doing what: Hiram Bingham Luxury Train to Machu Picchu

Rafael H. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great experience. Fredi and his team did a great job !
Highly recommended.

Doing what: 6-Day Best of Peru: Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu and Puno Including Titicaca Lake

Vietsmaster

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Everything that we did in the journey itself was amazing and Pablo was an amazing guide. If you take part in the journey I recommend you take part in all the extras white water rafting, ziplines, and hiking Hiyanu Pichu. We were lucky for the first two days in that we only had a group of 3 myself, my wife, one other traveler, and our guide. Due to this, though, we were able to stay at an Ecolodge looking down on a glorious valley view breathtaking. The second day of hiking was light with a siesta built in but the walk on the Inka trail was magnificent once again, props to Pablo for taking pictures and great explanations. The hot springs were a much needed respite after the day of hiking. The hostels nights 2 and 3 left something to be desired especially the hostel in Aguas Calientes but the 3 am hike to Machu Picchu was the experience of a lifetime.
After the hike we had a lot of down time in Aquas Calientes which is pricey, watch out for service charges at restaurants but the PeruRail ride was great.
All in all, the trip was intimate and exciting, allowing us to make several friends along the way. This trip is a bit pricier online in advance than booking in the city, but we were also the only people with a reservation in advance long enough to hike Machu Hiyanu.
Though you cant reserve a specific guide, Pablo was by far the most professional and reliable guide Ive ever had.

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

Mark M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

All went as expected communication around pickup time day of tour could have been improved - ended up having to call the local tour operator day before to confirm.

Guide in Aguascalientes/Macchupicchu was great - very knowledgeable of Inca culture and history of this special place.

Would recommend.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Aleksandar S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Good tour but If you have more time I recommend sleeping in Aguascalientes and climbing early to avoid agglomeration from 10:00 a.m.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Margarita K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

As advertised was a full day tour, we were only able to see Machu Picchu for an hour. Although an amazing hour nonetheless the travel it takes to get to Machu Picchu 4.5hrs from Cusco, it would've been great to be able to spend the day as advertised in the description of this package. There are a variety of other websites to search for that with this crazy price you can do a whole week tour of Machu Picchu, we realized that after the fact.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kenneth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It met my expectations fully. A truly wonderful day. The Guide was knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The tour was just as described. The guide was awesome and very informative during our tour! it was also very convenient to be picked up from the hotel then taken to the train/bus station instead of meeting the group at those locations. We would definitely do it again but would want to spend a night closer to Machu Picchu!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The most amazing experience! Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. I am glad that I took the tour rather than exploring on my own because I learned so much and saw things that I otherwise wouldn't have gone to see. The train ride was very cool. Don't expect to sleep on the way home, however there's entertainment throughout the ride!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

stnnb2001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Truly an amazing trip. Tons of night life, food and adventures are every turn. We took the 1 day Machu Picchu tour and it was wonderful!! Beautiful day, comfortable bus and train ride and our guide was the BEST!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

PS S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

On-time and well-organized!!! Bucket-list achieved!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ben T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing, great organisation, lovely train journey in the dome train, excellent tour guide, great day trip if you are short of time

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Shuying L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Additional ticket to Wayne Picchu is highly recommended. Had to get up 4 in the morning. Estimated travel time is more than 8h. But it's all worth it when I hiked all the way up to Wayne Picchu and enjoyed the great view of Machu Picchu and all the mountains.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

kedwards01 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Overall this was a very nice tour for the price. I was not impressed with the guide for the guided tour but the package itself was a great value and an amazing experience.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Machu Picchu from Cusco

Darcy S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Overall a great experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lou Peresa Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

What a day out to be had! Only thing is by the time you get picked up from Cusco Hotel, then transported to Train Station 30 mins away, then head onto the Train 3.5hrs --- food is delicious by the way. Then wait in line for the Bus to transport you up to Machu Picchu Entrance at least 30 mins ... that only leaves you about 2 hrs to explore the region. Jonny our guide was informative. But you have to catch the train back at 3:20pm, but the tour would be MUCH better if you were able to organise for the 5:10pm train back instead. At least you can explore a little bit of the gorgeous mountainside on your own. But other than that, AWESOME!!! But when we travelled there was a 3 day train strike with Peru Rail .. so instead of 3,000 visitors we had to battle with 7,000 visitors .. so very very long day. Vistadome Train experience is fantastic!!!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Margherita V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The route was good, but the organization could have been better. Our pre-departure meeting was first delayed, then improvised in Spanish, after me and my friend had been to the agency twice on the same day. the pick up the next day was one hour late, despite the fact that the agency assured us we would have been the first ones to be picked up, since our hotel was out of the city center. generally pick ups in Peru were quite punctuals, that was the only time we had to wait. when the driver arrived, he didnt greet us or apologized for the wait. at the time of booking we were assured we would sleep the first night in a shared room, but the other nights in double rooms. We ended up sleeping the first night in a room for 5 people, and the other nights in a triple room. we had booked and pre-paid the additional excursion to huayna picchu, but when we got to the agency we were told that it was sold out, but we could do an other trek instead which was way harder. Board and lodging was ok. I totally recommend the trip itself, but with a better operator.

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

margaret howard t

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Good trip! Very long day. Have sturdy hiking shoes and altitude pills.... and maybe some extra oxygen! Perhaps more information should be given in advance.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Krista USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an amazing day at Machi Picchu, and a wonderful experience with this Viator tour. Everything was very organized, from pick up to the hotel, to providing us with directions and the necessary tickets for the train, bus, Machu Picchu entrance fee ticket, an extremely knowledgeable and friendly tour guide who spoke very good English, as well as the same tickets and transportation all the way home. We would highly recommend this tour to others who only have one day to spend at Machu Picchu! It was so nice having all of the transportation and logistics arranged for you as part of this tour, and we got to see everything we wanted to see at Machu Picchu!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Alex36Kop

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend the tour for those who are short with time.All was greatly organised with pick up from my hotel, train trip and a wonderful private guide in English.Machu Pichu is a life time experience!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Zachary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very good.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Cynthia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I recently booked this tour and had a wonderful and eventful time. Our travel expert,Fredi Llamacponcca Huanca, did a wonderful and professional job in the complete tour. We even booked a 3 day excursion outside of this agency and he made sure we had transportation and lodging that fit into this current excursion schedule. We were very happy with this trip and highly recommend this to others who are thinking of taking this trip.

Doing what: 6-Day Best of Peru: Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu and Puno Including Titicaca Lake

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message