Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Machu Picchu

The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 573 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

OSCAR E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the best experience, the guide was very smart person, only I would like to have more time in Machupicho

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Vilma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

nice place to relax and our guide was real professional and very nice guy.. way to go!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Gerard C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Guide was fantastic. Disappointed that we had to wait in a long line at end of day for bus ride back to train staton.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

kenkat12003

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My husband and I turned sixty this year and decided to see Machu Picchu for our birthdays...we had friends our age our son and an international mix of twenty and thirty somethings ..so diverse and so fun...guides were great..not always easy trekking biking rafting and zip lining but WE DID IT !!!

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was, Jhon, was great. The directions were not very clear in the morning getting there, but all was good. Definitely would recommend this tour for anyone who is planning to go back on their own time. It lays a nice foundation of knowledge for future exploration.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Claudia R E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Altamente recomendable

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Ludmila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. It was not just the location that made it spectacular, it was our guide of Machu Picchu who really made this trip fantastic. I highly recommend this trip for those who are in a time crunch and are only able to make a day trip to Machu Picchu and Aguas Calientes.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing experience! It's a long day, but well worth it! The level of service is impecable from start to finish and everything is included. You don't have to worry about any transportation or attraction tickets and that's such a big relief when you have to take 4 bus rides and 2 train rides to get from Machu Picchu to Cusco! It's part of the magic of a beautiful, remote attraction!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Joseph P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Excellent

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Olivia C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The tour in itself was fun. It was a great trip and I got experience something amazing while hiking along the way. However, logistics were not clear. Conde travel and since then, updated their packages but there were expenses along the way that were not told to us ahead of time which was stressful.

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

JESSICA TAI D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

The timing of this tour is terrible! Machu Picchu is advertised to be 4 hours away from Cusco. Accounting for the round trip and a 2 hour guided tour of Machu Picchu, that should be a 10 hour day. The schedule of this tour makes it a 22 hour day! The problem is that they reserve you on the train leaving at 9:50 pm. Machu Picchu closes at 5 pm! If you can walk around Machu Picchu for 4 hours after the tour ends and then hang around Aguas Calientes for another 4 hours, this tour is for you! Don't forget that the train ride back to Ollantaytambo is 2 hours long and then there's another 1.5 hour bus ride to Cusco. We paid extra to get an earlier train back to Ollantaytambo and then paid for a taxi to Cusco.
You're much better off booking the whole trip on your own and hiring a guide at the entrance to Machu Picchu than taking this tour take a train from Poroy which saves you the 1.5 hour bus ride to Ollantaytambo.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Machu Picchu from Cusco

ana R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Worst tour I ever had. I tried to submit my review of this tour 3 times now, and you are not allowing me. Terrible treatment of us with constant stressful sitiations this tour company caused us. Is not worth the money or the trouble not recommended as long as it's done by this local company.

Doing what: 4-Day Classic Machu Picchu Inca Jungle Trek

essam.rose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous, no other words needed.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Klaudia Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything was organized perfectly from the beginning to the end. I was impressed by every moment of the journey - the guide was funny and knew a lot of history, the walk was very entretaining, the views extraordinary. I woukd definitely recommend the service to anyone and I would go again if I could! Big thank you for making my dream come true!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

GREG J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

William, William, William Willy...if you get this guide, you have lucked out. Truly. It was only my son 12 and I on this tour. We had mixed feelings about it being just us, our guide and the Porters. Other groups seemed to amount from 6 to 20 hikers and we thought we might miss out on the dinner time chat about the experiences. William made this experience incredibly engaging, fun and very educational. His knowledge is remarkable and it had my sone daily suggesting he write a book. I am not sure how Viator picks guides or even how this came together as there is a bit of a disconnect btwn us, Viator and our guide prior to beginning. However, upon meeting William and reviewing the schedule and expectations, we were provided with an incredible combination of experiences. It's a very tough trek but the rewards are more than worth the effort. I'll pass on writing on the tech aspects of this tour as many already have and their opinions are well worth reading. Top marks to William and our Porters. Incredible team.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Katherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The only complaint is lack of time! We only had one day, Johnny our viator tour guide was amazing, funny, interesting and very well informed. Everything ran really smoothly. We all loved it!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

limlianarn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very well run outfit, pick up from hotel and all transfers were on time.
The guides at different stages were all very professional, competent and friendly.
The cost of this tour is just slightly higher than if you add all the different components of the trip if you were to do the on your own, so it was absolutely worth it.
Do call the tour operators the moment you get into Cusco, so that your pick up can rearranged.
Highly, highly recommended,

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Danut P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good trip for one of seven wounder of the modern world .

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Zoe O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was soo good! Alicia was our tour guide and she was very well known about all history and everything and she was cheerful too. Thanks to her we saw all hidden points of Machu Picchu! pickup from hotel and all other planing was good and they were so experienced and they didnt leave anybody back. Thank you Viajo Pacifico for our incredible trip!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Andrei A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I am very satisfied with this tour. Whatever depended on the tour company, was accomplished with the highest score. They picked me from the hotel at exact time, drove me to the train station, handed all tickets and instruction, and do the same on the way back. The guide Johnny was knowledgeable and humorous, and he cared about us until we boarded the train on the way back.

What I did no like about this tour is that of 15 hours total only 2 hours were dedicated to Machu Picchu itself. The other 13 hours were filled with waiting in lines and terribly slow transportation system, which can drive anybody mad. But this is the Peruvian experience. It's beyond the tour company's ability to fix this. I am very impressed how they manage to be on a schedule with so many bottlenecks in the Peruvian transportation system.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Angela F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Guide was friendly, all well planned and I had a great time at Machu Picchu :

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Yurena S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was well organized but if you want to enjoy it better, don't go in August because there is too many people and stay more days there.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

makerti

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

A great tour. Didn't have to worry about anything. Hotel Pick-up and all transportation taken care of. Tour guide provided history, stories, and his own personal hypothesis.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Mary R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We had a 1 1/2 her delay because of a train derailment on the track. By the time we got to Aguascalientes we had to literally run to see Machu Picchu. Too little time there.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Michael M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

our train from cusco was to be 2 hours with food it took 4 hours with no food, and the same back with meant we only had 2 hours of a 16 hour day at Machu Picchu, the rest of the time was on buses up the hill and trying to get something to eat since we didnt get anything on the train. Very bad tour. Mike

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message