Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Machu Picchu

The holy grail for lovers of Inca monuments, the enigmatic lost city of Machu Picchu is the most famous archaeological site in all of South America. The spectacular collection of temples, terraced hills and plazas was the mountain-top citadel of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 544 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sendam R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good trip well organized very informative and helpful guide

Would recommend highly

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lawrence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

if you only have a day to visit MP from Cusco, this was a great option - we were lucky that in high season the crowds were lighter than usual due to Eurocup they said, and also that there was a cool breeze despite a strong sun in a cloudless sky. It is a long day with pickup by van at 5 in central cusco, then bus, then train to Aguas Calient, then bus up to MP, and you only end up with about 2 maybe 3 hours at MP. Obviously didn't see the sun rise as we didn't get up there until 11am -

Fatima our tour guide was terrific, we had a small group of just 6 people I think, and we learned a lot.

Viator subcontracts with Viajes Pacifico for this tour, and they executed all of the connections smoothly and punctually. the Vistadome train is good for viewing - and they do some entertainment on the return about 3.5 hours of the 4.5 hour trip each way is on this - and then try to sell the Sol alpaca fashions that they say are exclusive to them, though there are several Sol shops in Cusco.

Again highly recommended if you are ok with a cliff notes version of MP and only have a day - albeit a long one snacks are served each way. Not everyone in our group was going back to Cusco so make sure your guide knows that you need to get a bus down long line forms thought it moves incredibly fast - impressively so given the tight entrance/turnaround area for the buses that run up and down in time to catch your train and-or to get a bite or souveneirs in Aguas Calientes , which is teeming with options for both -

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience guide was well informed and interesting. Weather was poor so end of March maybe not a great time to go.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

eric.datta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip was great, thanks to the local travel company - Viajes Pacifico - who were very professional, having organized the trip so well. The guide Vida Sanchez was great - she was full of life and very knowledgeable.
Quite enjoyed the overall experience - a must visit and recommend the travel company highly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Daniel Antonio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is an awesome trip! Our guide was fantastic and Machu Picchu is truly a wonder of the world. The train ride though was a little too long but the great Andean scenery more than made up for the length of the trip. Overall, a must do!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Nadshawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The most amazing experience ever! All steps in the adventure were very organized and our tour guide Hector at Machu Picchu was INCREDIBLE!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Henry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This your was amazing.

Doing what: Full Day Tour to Machu Picchu from Cusco

Evan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would definitely recommend this tour for visiting Machu Picchu from Cuzco. Our tour guide Vida was excellent. She provided good direction, her english was very good and her knowledge was vast. Transport was very easy as they pick you up from your hotel, hop on a train which was quite comfortable, and even though it's a 3 hour train ride each way, there were definitely some photo-worthy views along the way. Then bus transport from Aguas Calientes to Machu Picchu was easy as well. You get a 2.5 hour tour around Machu Picchu, which I will tell you is the right amount of time as we slowly moved from area to area, learning new information from Vida. Then you get around an hour to an hour and a half to either wander around or go back to Aguas Calientes to grab some lunch before hopping back on the train back. This has to be the easiest way to visit Machu Picchu from Cuzco.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

foroogh g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Samuel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. It was like a private tour since it was only me and my friend and the tour guide. Our guide Alicia was so knowledgable about Machu Picchu. Learned so much and had time to enjoy the views and take pictures. This tour made transportation stress free. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lenny A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I tackled the Inca Trail as a group of 4. We had an absolutely amazing time with Camping Adventure Tours I think that's the name of the company. Our guide, William, was amazing! He was friendly, encouraging, helpful, and funny. Our team of porters and chef were great at making us feel comfortable and safe. I would highly recommend this team / company for anyone looking to take on the Inca Trail!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour well organized this was my second visit and I brought my sister and my cousin and they had a Great trip.
Thank you very much.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Isabella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience. Company that Viator contracts is Viajes Pacific. Answered all my questions via email prior to trip. Very responsive. If non Spanish speaking, at times guides only announce things in Spanish, but I think they all speak English if you ask them, or you can ask someone in group to translate. Also drop off coming back sometimes is at Plaza de Armas rather than at hotel, but if you ask specifically I'm sure they'll accommodate. Overall wonderful service and guides. Learned so much more about MP than if I had gone on own, plus it was fun getting to know fellow tour participants often from all over world!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Harpreet T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was the highlight of a wonderful S. American trip. The pictures you see on the Net do it no justice. Believe me you and #39;ll be blown away by the experience and the views! I also had an eye on the cost and was worried that I and #39;d be overpaying by not booking locally. It and #39;s actually cheaper! Do it

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long, tough day but the Viator crew facilitates all the transitionshotel to bus to train to guide with extreme ease and helpfulness. Our guide Hector was outstanding, very informative, passionate and personable.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kelly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved my trip!! As someone traveling by myself I appreciated that everything was organized and all of the guides were helpful and friendly. I will definitely use this company again. Thank you!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

SongKu M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I want to first start by thanking the tour operator and guide Ruben .C. for making our Inca trail trek wonderful.
Before the trip, I had a few questions about things I needed to prep and contacted Viator three times, however they only told me that the tour company would be contacting me. I think there is a little disconnect between Viator and the tour company because by the time our trip came, I still had not heard from anyone. Luckily we got to Cusco a couple days and after seeking out the tour company, we were informed that there would be a debriefing the day before. During this debriefing, we were told what to expect each day length, difficulty level, etc, number of group members, things to carry in a personal backpack, etc.
Peru is a beautiful country and you definitely get a glimpse of it on the Inca trail. Each day has a different breathtaking scenery and beautifully preserved. Ruben shared a wealth of knowledge and was very helpful in explaining any questions we had on the Inca ruins deepening my appreciation for Machu Picchu.
Here are some tips for other people but those might differ per operator:
1. Drinking water is available to buy for day 1 and 2, after they will provide boiled water.
2. Porter will only carry camping supply, food, and gear, you have to carry all personal items and sleeping bag. You can hire extra porter for a fee.
3. Cold at night and hot during the day in early July, be ready for rain!
4. Bring some snacks, breakfast is typically at 5am, lunch is around 11 to 12pm, and dinner is at 6pm.
5. Try to pack light and only bring stuff that you might need. We accidentally brought big multi-day backpacks with us but most hikers brought a standard size backpack.
6. Stay in Cusco a few days before the hike to acclimate to the altitude.
5. Bring your passport to get through the checkpoint.
6. Bring hiking poles.
7. Have fun and enjoy mother nature.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Laura M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was well organized and everything operated without a glitch. Only criticism is that the tour operator doesn and #39;t let you know until 5:00pm the night before the tour, what the pickup time is in the morning. Better if they would let you know in the a.m. It would take the stress off.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Shauna L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Eloise C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well organized.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Stephen P Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great experience. Although you are only at the site for approx. 2 hours, it was well worth the day's traveling from Cusco.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

David Z United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Altogether professional, from the meeting with your representative the evening before to the return to the hotel at the end of the day, everything was more than I expected.

Doing what: Hiram Bingham Luxury Train to Machu Picchu

Teresita C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was good but too rushed. The guide was hard to find because she did not keep her flag raised, so we couldn and #39;t find her at crowded sites. We had no time to just walk around and explore on our own.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message