Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Sacred Valley of the Incas

The Sacred Valley was the agricultural food bowl of the Inca, a fertile plain perfect for growing the Inca staples, maize and potatoes. At the heart of the valley is the ancient city of Cusco, surrounded by remote Quechua villages and the crumbling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roberto C J

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Loved Shopping in Pisac! Best prices in the whole area.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Emily G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and took us to some beautiful sights around the Sacred Valley. Oscar let us tour the areas on our own and gave us great information on the site and #39;s history.

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full-Day Tour

Daniel Antonio R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It's an awe inspiring trip thru the different ruins in the Sacred Valley. If you have the time, I would recommend doing this tour in conjunction with Machu Picchu.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Ellen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour itself was wonderful. The lunch was problematic on a number of levels as agreed by all tour participants.

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full-Day Tour

Robert M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full-Day Tour

Patricia D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

We -- a group of six from Iowa -- loved the raft trip. The guide was thorough and safe and the rapids were fun. We had a great lunch and then zip lined across the river and back so glad we did this. However, we were told not to bring cameras as the guide would take pictures the whole way. He did, and we were thrilled. But, he promised to post them on Facebook or send them via Whats App. No pictures. We were never allowed to buy them -- which we would have done. Wish he would have followed through with his promise!

Doing what: Full Day Rafting and Ziplining Adventure from Cusco

Herman B

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The Pisac and Ollantaytambo Inca sites are worthwile visiting; lunch buffet in a restaurant in Urabamba (?) was ok. A drawback was that a lot of people had to be dropped off in their hotels in the Sacred Valley which took a lot of time. Expect to spend many hours in the bus with the slow traffic.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Anthony Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ziplining is really quick. Dont sign up for that. The white water rafting is fantastic for a class 3 experience. The guides are worth the money alone. The water and fun that comes with it is worth it enough to return for a second trip back.

Doing what: Full Day Rafting and Ziplining Adventure from Cusco

mcguiga8

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed this tour of the Sacred Valley. Great driver and a very informative tour guide. Before the tour my thoughts of Inca archaeological sites in Peru was always macho Picchu. But, there are more large archaeological sites to explore in the Sacred Valley just as splendid and interesting as Machu Picchu. If you travel all the way to Peru and you miss seeing these sites, you have really missed a lot the country has to offer.

Expect a lot of walking on the tour, and everything seems to be up hill. The local market in Pisac had a silver factory where you watch jewelry being made starting with raw stones and minerals being cut to shape. And, of course, many merchants selling the usual assortment of tourist trinkets.

The bus stopped at a roadside vendor where you could purchase roasted guinea pig on a stick whole, including head and feet. Thankfully, the included lunch was at an excellent restaurant just a little farther up the road. Great lunch on the river with a llama, alpaca and vicuna grazing in the grass.

I enjoyed this full day trip, and I believe you will also.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Eduardo D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was well organized, punctual. Our guide Ricardo was extremely knowledgable about his heritage and history, and very well spoken and polite. The transportation was a comfortable approx 20 seat van and driver was careful and diligent. Overall, an excellent experience.

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full-Day Tour

psim100

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting tour with an excellent guide. Really great experience.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Barbara E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour
We had a perfect day sunny and not too hot
For me the Inca ruins were the highlight
the market was OK but the same as markets everywhere
our guide was excellent very knowledgeable

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Karen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous tour! Angel was our guide. He was very knowledgeable about everything ! Any question we had he had an answer. We first stopped at an museum honoring the Llama Alpaca and Vicunas and their role in Peru's history. On location they had all three of these species we could feed alfalfa from over a fence. We got to see how the locals spin the alpaca fur into yarn and then the different ways they dye the yarns. There were locals on site weaving with these yarns. You were able to purchase these products in a gift shop. We then went to The Sacred Valley and the shopping market in Pisac. Headed down the road a bit for lunch in Yucay at a beautiful local hotel. There they had a Buffett lunch which was fantastic! Able to taste many Peruvian dishes. We did have to pay for any beverages as well as tip. Then back onto our small bus to Ollantaytambo. This site was beautiful! We climbed up and learned
about the stones and architecture of this monument. We then headed back to our hotels. Angel was able to continue educating us about the local Peruvian people and their customs. Our group was was only 8 people which made for a wonderful excursion. This tour us a must for any traveling to Cuscso and are able to take advantage of this tour!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Celestina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative, friendly people and our tour guide was very informative and kind. Her english was very good and the lunch was very delicious.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Jay B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful full day on this tour from Cusco. Very well paced. Loved our visit to the llama farm and learned a lot. Enjoyed our tour to Pisaac, and were especially lucky to be there on Sunday to experience the 'locals' market. Lunch was delicious and plentiful. Our visit on to Ollantaytambo was amazing- a great preview of the types of Incan ruins before heading over to Machu Picchu. I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Cusco.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Hodo A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

After our disastrous Machu Picchu tour with viator the day previously we had no hope for this tour however it was well organised with an excellent guide who spoke great English. However we did realise most people on the same tour on us had just paid 25 by booking in Cusco town with local companies. So if you're on a budget that's an option.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Paul F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A very good tour overall and the guide was extremely well prepared but at times it was a bit of information overload.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Josef L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We had a really great trip on this tour. Moray and Maras were both very interesting Inca sites. Chinchero was a tourist trap. Overall very enjoyable and worth the time just for Maras and Moray.

Doing what: Day Trip to the Sacred Valley: Chinchero, Maras, Moray and Ollantaytambo

juliegilmore7

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was interesting and the guide was great, but I would have rather skipped the Pisac market and had more time at Ollantaytambo.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Alonso M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour was ok, took the same tour in the past with another agency and the lunch and explanations were better however this is still a good option. We dind't visit Chinchero in the tour that is an usual stop that most tours does, because of a time issue, but the delay was caused by the tour operator,

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Deborah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

So much to see and learn on this full-day tour that touches on history as well as modern life in the Sacred Valley. After personally meeting and feeding some friendly alpacas and llamas, we learned how their wool is graded, naturally dyed and woven into incredible works of art, from clothing to tapestries. We met other craftspeople in the Valley - a woman baking bread, a jewelry shop that showed us the silversmithing processes, and many other small vendors offering their handmade wares for sale. We visited several archeological sites too that are beautiful and complex - a must see. The lunch buffet was a great way to try the many local foods. The best part of the tour was our guide Vincente - Knowledgeable and lots of fun. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

andreatamayo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a blast. Our tour guide Abdel? was awesome and very informative. Ollantaytambo was really cool and glad we got to visit. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

andreatamayo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a blast. Very good tour guides, good lunch and got us back in time so one of us could catch our flight.

Doing what: Full Day Rafting and Ziplining Adventure from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message