Cusco ATTRACTIONS See all

Sacred Valley of the Incas

The Sacred Valley was the agricultural food bowl of the Inca, a fertile plain perfect for growing the Inca staples, maize and potatoes. At the heart of the valley is the ancient city of Cusco, surrounded by remote Quechua villages and the crumbling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 216 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great comprehensive tour. The market and town of Pisac were fun to walk through. The archeological complex of Ollantaytambo was very impressive - it offered great views if you can make it to the top! A must do if you're visiting the area.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Lou Peresa Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Definitely recommend this tour. Amazing history which Hector our guide shared with us. This seemed a little rushed but wasn't too bad. Good walk up a hill so walking shoes are a must. Bring a bottle of water too. Very fascinating tour and Hector had a great sense of humour, which added to our day!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Logan S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

Good to see a lot of sites quickly, but the tour was rushed and cut short as a lot of people were dropped off in surrounding villages instead of coming back to Cusco.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Jacques G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was a great experience, i enjoyed visiting all the places included in the tour, it is a must while in Cusco.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Shirin B Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excellent tour - not to be missed

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

MEHMET AKIF D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour in Cusco. See all must places other than Macchu Pichu at once. Definetely worth it

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

WPagan529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do while in the vicinity of Cuzco. Amazing views!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Viviana G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Tour guides were very helpful and made the adventure fun. Food was provided and it was tasty- quinoa soup, rice, chicken, and salad. If vegetarian, just let them know, they accomodate.Water rafting was a blast! All gear was provided so you won't freeze to death but it will be cold if you get wet- all part of the fun. Ziplining was one way across and one way back.

Doing what: Full Day Rafting and Ziplining Adventure from Cusco

Victoria B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

It was a nice trip. The tour was informative. However, I never received a confirmation e-mail about when I would be picked up. Luckily my friend who was staying in the same hotel received a confirmation e-mail. It was very confusing.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Grace M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour with some very interesting stops. Ollantaytambo was very cool. You kind of know what to expect with Machu Picchu but this tour was full of surprises. Lunch was really good. The guide was great!

Doing what: Day Trip to the Sacred Valley: Chinchero, Maras, Moray and Ollantaytambo

Tess Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this tour, the guide was also good. The only thing they can improve is the way they organise their tours. The tour contained people with different tours an extra day or a day less and the guide was continuously confused about it. For the rest, it was really fun.

Doing what: Sacred Valley Overnight Tour from Cusco

Tess Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this tour, the guide was also good. The only thing they can improve is the way they organise their tours. The tour contained people with different tours an extra day or a day less and the guide was continuously confused about it. For the rest, it was really fun.

Doing what: Sacred Valley Overnight Tour from Cusco

Xiaolong Y

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

It was a wonderful tour and very informative and fun. It seems the tour completed too early around 2:00 pm and back to Cusco around 4:30 pm. Not sure if that was the plan.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Brian S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This company was good for the most part, and staff was really friendly. An employee even brought us a nice gift pack to our hotel.
Our guide Oscar was also great for the most part, but the tour deviated from the stated itinerary a bit, along with some other issues.
First, we ended up having a 30 minute stop in Awana Kancha, which wasn't even listed on the itinerary. But the site was neat, so I am not complaining.
However, when we got to Pisac, our guide only gave us 30 min. at the ruins originally wanted to give us 20, but some people in our group negotiated. It was barely enough to climb to the top of the citadel and get back to our meeting point. I almost passed out, because I had to rush like crazy to see everything and get the pictures and video I wanted. The rest of our group was 10 minutes late coming back, and I don't blame them. 30 minutes was NOT enough to see the site. It was originally supposed to be an hour and a half which is the main reason I booked this pricier tour, but it ended up only being 30 minutes, because part of the site was closed due to an accident. Okay, I can't really blame the guide for that, but you still need at least an hour to explore the areas around the citadel. I wish the guide had told us ahead of time that the rest of the site was closed.
The tour than had another unlisted stop at a silver shop in Pisac, but only 10 minutes, and we DID end up buying something so not complaining. Than we had 30 minutes to walk around the market. We ended up going to the more authentic market in the town square.
The brief stop at the Lamay Cuy village was also neat.
Part of my rating is due to the Tunupa buffet we stopped at in Urubamba. There was a bit of a misunderstanding with the guide about the prices, and we also thought it would be a regular restaurant. We ended up getting food poisoning, and spending 12 hours in a Peruvian hospital. I really do hope the guides see this review, and really reconsider taking tourists to this restaurant, as we were not the first ones to get sick here.
Ollantaytambo stop was nice. The time of day meant lighting was really bad for pictures, but we had a half hour tour than half hour free time, which was really nice.
The guide dropped the rest of our group off in Calca on the way back, so it was just us two left. The guide got a bit lazy and fell asleep in the car. I had to REMIND him to stop in Chincheros, which was supposed to be included in the tour. And he didn't stop in the actual town, but at the overlook, and we ended up having to go back another day.
But overall, it was one of the best tours I've ever been on. Had it not been for the food poisoning, and short time at Pisac, it would easily get a 5.
However, I did like that the guide gave us free time to walk around on our own, which is the only thing that saved it from getting a 3.
Despite some setbacks, I would still recommend this company. It was the best tour I had in Cusco. But I would be REALLY careful eating at the Tunupa buffet. I'd be safe and just pack your own lunch, or eat when you get back to Cusco.

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full-Day Tour

philipmcooke

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This tour makes for a very pleasant day indeed. Lots to see and lots of information from our guide. A couple of downsides were the 45 soles buffet lunch being touted at us clearly on commission this is rather expensive by Peru standards and is located in a busy city area, we declined on this basis and got our own lunch in Pisac which was nice. It would have been a lot better to have been offered lunch in the small village of the first stop - it's very picturesque and has many small restaurants there. We also did not receive the quoted 'hotel pick-up' - we were met at our hotel in the morning by our guide and had to walk for five minutes in the rain to meet our car. At the end of the day we were dumped at the bottom of a huge flight of stairs up to the road on which our hotel was based - I had my 70yr old mother with me and after a full day of climbing and hiking she found this extremely difficult. There was easy access to our hotel door by car or van so I'm not sure why this happened. I would recommend this tour but advise you to clarify lunch arrangements and hotel pick-up arrangements.

Doing what: Sacred Valley of Cusco Full-Day Tour

Joseph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great job by guide and driver

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Vilma G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the best of our experience in Cusco! of course after Machupicchu. Will go back...

Doing what: Full Day Rafting and Ziplining Adventure from Cusco

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was excellent. The food and culture was excellent. The tour guides were great and the tour members were really friendly. The only problem I did have was it seemed that Machu Picchu became more touristy as you arrived at the city. The really fun of the trip was the trek with the group and hiking in the mountains.

Doing what: 8-Day Tour of Lima and Cusco Including the Inca Trail

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

For the price, it was perfect. Nice lunch, lots of sights, great overview of the valley. I think the general feeling is that everyone wants to spend more time in certain places, which to me means the tour left everyone satisfied and wanting more.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Janice L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Incredible tour! Lots of unexpected items on the itinerary that really made us feel like we got a true taste of the culture. Excellent and very friendly tour guide and amazing sights all throughout the day. Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Claire G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide told us from the start this tour was about culture, and even as we stopped an a llama farm and weaving studio, there were no hard sells. The sites were stunning and our guide knowledgeable. The lunch included was a great buffet in a beautiful setting. Comfy transport too.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Claire G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a wonderful day on the Urumbamba river rafting through the Rapids. We were told how to stay safe in the boat and the zipline was the icing on the cake. Lunch was yummy too. I and #39;d recommend bringing wet shoes for the climb over some rocks, and your GoPro!

Doing what: Full Day Rafting and Ziplining Adventure from Cusco

Lauren D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was one of the best tours I've ever taken. Small group, very knowledgeable and passionate tour guide. This tour lent itself to one of the best days of my life. The views, the history, etc. Solid choice!

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

Sandy D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Recommend to take this tour. Cusco is such a beautiful city with so much to do. This tour takes you to feed alpacas and llamas, take a beautiful picture from atop, take you to a huge shopping center and lastly an archeological ruin in Ollantaytambo. It requires climbing to the top which is a good practice for those who will be doing the inca trail.

Doing what: Sacred Valley, Pisac and Ollantaytambo Full-Day Tour from Cusco

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour - All as hoped for - Good price

Doing what: Full Day Rafting and Ziplining Adventure from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message