As the one-time capital of the mighty Inca Empire, it’s no surprise that Cusco’s biggest claim to fame is its impressively preserved Inca ruins, but while the majority of travelers come to Cusco to visit Machu Picchu, the legendary ‘Lost City of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 732 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrei A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I am very satisfied with this tour. Whatever depended on the tour company, was accomplished with the highest score. They picked me from the hotel at exact time, drove me to the train station, handed all tickets and instruction, and do the same on the way back. The guide Johnny was knowledgeable and humorous, and he cared about us until we boarded the train on the way back.

What I did no like about this tour is that of 15 hours total only 2 hours were dedicated to Machu Picchu itself. The other 13 hours were filled with waiting in lines and terribly slow transportation system, which can drive anybody mad. But this is the Peruvian experience. It's beyond the tour company's ability to fix this. I am very impressed how they manage to be on a schedule with so many bottlenecks in the Peruvian transportation system.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Zoe O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

it was soo good! Alicia was our tour guide and she was very well known about all history and everything and she was cheerful too. Thanks to her we saw all hidden points of Machu Picchu! pickup from hotel and all other planing was good and they were so experienced and they didnt leave anybody back. Thank you Viajo Pacifico for our incredible trip!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Katherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The only complaint is lack of time! We only had one day, Johnny our viator tour guide was amazing, funny, interesting and very well informed. Everything ran really smoothly. We all loved it!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Elcee C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

WE had a great experience, our local company Viaje Pacificio was excellent too.

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

GREG J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

William, William, William Willy...if you get this guide, you have lucked out. Truly. It was only my son 12 and I on this tour. We had mixed feelings about it being just us, our guide and the Porters. Other groups seemed to amount from 6 to 20 hikers and we thought we might miss out on the dinner time chat about the experiences. William made this experience incredibly engaging, fun and very educational. His knowledge is remarkable and it had my sone daily suggesting he write a book. I am not sure how Viator picks guides or even how this came together as there is a bit of a disconnect btwn us, Viator and our guide prior to beginning. However, upon meeting William and reviewing the schedule and expectations, we were provided with an incredible combination of experiences. It's a very tough trek but the rewards are more than worth the effort. I'll pass on writing on the tech aspects of this tour as many already have and their opinions are well worth reading. Top marks to William and our Porters. Incredible team.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

essam.rose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fabulous, no other words needed.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Klaudia Anna S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything was organized perfectly from the beginning to the end. I was impressed by every moment of the journey - the guide was funny and knew a lot of history, the walk was very entretaining, the views extraordinary. I woukd definitely recommend the service to anyone and I would go again if I could! Big thank you for making my dream come true!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Gregory B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was well worth it. It started early in the morning 5:30am with a well-coordinated and on-time hotel pickup in Cusco. After the transfer to the train station, we took the observatory train with the windows in the roof. Although there was some condensation on the windows for a short part of the trip, it quickly dissipated and we could enjoy the dramatic mountain scenery that we passed during the 3.5-hour train ride to Machu Picchu. At the site, we were the only two English-speaking customers so we ended up getting our own guide, Katrina, who was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. After 2.5 hours at the site, we got our passports stamped with the Machu Picchu stamp and took the shuttles back to town where we had lunch. Then, on the train ride back to Cusco, the cabin attendants held a little fashion show fro entertainment considering it was dark outside. It was a long day but a trip well worth taking.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Trekking trip. Sandro and team were attentive to our every need. The trek was rigorous and at high altitudes but the scenery was like nothing I've ever seen.All details were handled well and the team was flexible to our needs. Highly recommend.

Doing what: 5-Day Salkantay Trek and Machu Picchu Tour from Cusco

BARA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

ended upi being just me and my brother on the tour so was a great price for a private tour. I guess we were lucky. but our guide was great. Only complaint is that the train is cramped and the bus ride to the train station and back is long and can be uncomfortable

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Kelly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved my trip!! As someone traveling by myself I appreciated that everything was organized and all of the guides were helpful and friendly. I will definitely use this company again. Thank you!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

David O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

        This being my first time to travel in South America, i did not know what to expect. I went on this trip solo and was a bit nervous, having read and heard about potential dangers of traveling in Peru. Yet, thanks to Viajes Pacífico VP and the people of this awesomely beautiful country, i experienced one of the best trips of my life!

        Unfortunately, my review of this tour didn't fit within the 2000 character limit of this page. If you'd like to read my full review and see some of my pictures from this fantastic tour, please visit my blog.

You may find it under construction at first, as this journey is still fresh at the time of this posting of my review but i will do my best to update and complete as time allows.

        Here i wish to thank: Roberto, Teofilo, Olinda, Pavel, Jorge, Vida, Americo, German, Daniel, Sandra, Carlos, Jaime, and everyone who works for Viajes Pacífico. i commend you for being conscientious, friendly, knowledgeable, courteous and entertaining!

        My time on the 7-day tour of Lima, Cuzco and Machu Picchu was most positively memorable. I would readily sign up for this tour again, and bring friends and family with!
        From start to finish, Viajes Pacifico carefully and conscientiously guided me along my journey. I had set out with the intention to discover the marvels and mysteries of ancient civilizations in Peru, especially that of the Inca, and experience the culture of this sacred land. I was on a budget and limited timeframe, so i knew this would be a challenge in only seven days!
        Now that journey is the recent past, and i feel like i have lived several new lifetimes and received a very positive, personal transformation. Muchas Gracias Viajes Pacífico! Que nos vemos bien pronto!!

Thanks for reading--i wish you all safe, rewarding travels!

Doing what: 7-Day Lima and Cusco Tour with Overnight at Machu Picchu

SongKu M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I want to first start by thanking the tour operator and guide Ruben .C. for making our Inca trail trek wonderful.
Before the trip, I had a few questions about things I needed to prep and contacted Viator three times, however they only told me that the tour company would be contacting me. I think there is a little disconnect between Viator and the tour company because by the time our trip came, I still had not heard from anyone. Luckily we got to Cusco a couple days and after seeking out the tour company, we were informed that there would be a debriefing the day before. During this debriefing, we were told what to expect each day length, difficulty level, etc, number of group members, things to carry in a personal backpack, etc.
Peru is a beautiful country and you definitely get a glimpse of it on the Inca trail. Each day has a different breathtaking scenery and beautifully preserved. Ruben shared a wealth of knowledge and was very helpful in explaining any questions we had on the Inca ruins deepening my appreciation for Machu Picchu.
Here are some tips for other people but those might differ per operator:
1. Drinking water is available to buy for day 1 and 2, after they will provide boiled water.
2. Porter will only carry camping supply, food, and gear, you have to carry all personal items and sleeping bag. You can hire extra porter for a fee.
3. Cold at night and hot during the day in early July, be ready for rain!
4. Bring some snacks, breakfast is typically at 5am, lunch is around 11 to 12pm, and dinner is at 6pm.
5. Try to pack light and only bring stuff that you might need. We accidentally brought big multi-day backpacks with us but most hikers brought a standard size backpack.
6. Stay in Cusco a few days before the hike to acclimate to the altitude.
5. Bring your passport to get through the checkpoint.
6. Bring hiking poles.
7. Have fun and enjoy mother nature.

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Marc R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long, tough day but the Viator crew facilitates all the transitionshotel to bus to train to guide with extreme ease and helpfulness. Our guide Hector was outstanding, very informative, passionate and personable.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Harpreet T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was the highlight of a wonderful S. American trip. The pictures you see on the Net do it no justice. Believe me you and #39;ll be blown away by the experience and the views! I also had an eye on the cost and was worried that I and #39;d be overpaying by not booking locally. It and #39;s actually cheaper! Do it

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

foroogh g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Samuel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Jacqueline S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. It was like a private tour since it was only me and my friend and the tour guide. Our guide Alicia was so knowledgable about Machu Picchu. Learned so much and had time to enjoy the views and take pictures. This tour made transportation stress free. Highly recommend this!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Lenny A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I tackled the Inca Trail as a group of 4. We had an absolutely amazing time with Camping Adventure Tours I think that's the name of the company. Our guide, William, was amazing! He was friendly, encouraging, helpful, and funny. Our team of porters and chef were great at making us feel comfortable and safe. I would highly recommend this team / company for anyone looking to take on the Inca Trail!

Doing what: The Inca Trail: 4-Day Trek to Machu Picchu

Christine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour well organized this was my second visit and I brought my sister and my cousin and they had a Great trip.
Thank you very much.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Isabella

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience. Company that Viator contracts is Viajes Pacific. Answered all my questions via email prior to trip. Very responsive. If non Spanish speaking, at times guides only announce things in Spanish, but I think they all speak English if you ask them, or you can ask someone in group to translate. Also drop off coming back sometimes is at Plaza de Armas rather than at hotel, but if you ask specifically I'm sure they'll accommodate. Overall wonderful service and guides. Learned so much more about MP than if I had gone on own, plus it was fun getting to know fellow tour participants often from all over world!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Evan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I would definitely recommend this tour for visiting Machu Picchu from Cuzco. Our tour guide Vida was excellent. She provided good direction, her english was very good and her knowledge was vast. Transport was very easy as they pick you up from your hotel, hop on a train which was quite comfortable, and even though it's a 3 hour train ride each way, there were definitely some photo-worthy views along the way. Then bus transport from Aguas Calientes to Machu Picchu was easy as well. You get a 2.5 hour tour around Machu Picchu, which I will tell you is the right amount of time as we slowly moved from area to area, learning new information from Vida. Then you get around an hour to an hour and a half to either wander around or go back to Aguas Calientes to grab some lunch before hopping back on the train back. This has to be the easiest way to visit Machu Picchu from Cuzco.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Nadshawl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The most amazing experience ever! All steps in the adventure were very organized and our tour guide Hector at Machu Picchu was INCREDIBLE!

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience guide was well informed and interesting. Weather was poor so end of March maybe not a great time to go.

Doing what: Machu Picchu Day Trip from Cusco

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message