En savoir plus sur notre réponse au Covid-19.

Plus d'infos
Recherches récentes
Effacer
Îles Tiwi
Îles Tiwi

Îles Tiwi Excursions

star-4.5
43 avis

Les îles Tiwi se trouvent à environ 50 miles au large de la côte nord de Darwin dans le Territoire du Nord de l'Australie, et la chaîne est composée de 11 îles individuelles. Les plus grandes sont Melville - la deuxième plus grande île d'Australie derrière la Tasmanie - et Bathurst, la cinquième plus grande des îles d'Australie.

On pense que ce chapelet d'îles est habité depuis 7 000 ans par le peuple Tiwi, ce qui lui a valu d'être nommé réserve aborigène en 1912. Comme à Arnhem Land, une autre réserve aborigène, visiter ces îles nécessite une invitation ou un escorte, ainsi qu'un permis. Les îles sont principalement gouvernées par le Tiwi Aboriginal Land Trust et le Tiwi Land Council.

Les communautés insulaires sont réputées pour leur art, en particulier pour leurs sculptures sur bois d'oiseaux. Les créations de tissus sont également courantes et réalisées de la même manière que les imprimés batik indonésiens.

La nature sauvage des îles Tiwi n'est pas en reste par rapport à celle du continent du Territoire du Nord - l'île Melville est particulièrement connue pour ses trous de baignade à Taracumbie et Tomorapi Falls, et les îles regorgent de charmantes cascades isolées et de zones de forêt tropicale dense.

En savoir plus
Darwin, Australia

Îles Tiwi : visites et activités à essayer

Aucun résultat.

Et si vous essayiez autre chose ?Darwin : voir toutes les visites

Tiwi Islands Tours

The Tiwi Islands sit about 50 miles off the north coast of Darwin in Australia’s Northern Territory, and the chain is made up of 11 individual isles. The largest are Melville – the second largest island in Australia behind Tasmania – and Bathurst, the fifth largest of Australia’s islands.

It is believed that this string of islands has been inhabited for the past 7,000 years by the Tiwi people, which led to them being named an Aboriginal Reserve in 1912. Like at Arnhem Land, another Aboriginal Reserve, visiting these islands requires an invitation or an escort, as well as a permit. The islands are governed mostly by the Tiwi Aboriginal Land Trust and the Tiwi Land Council.

The island communities are renowned for their art, particularly for their wood carvings of birds. Fabric creations are also common and made in a similar fashion to Indonesian batik prints. 

The wilderness of the Tiwi Islands is not to be outdone by that on the Northern Territory mainland -- Melville Island is particularly known for its swimming holes at Taracumbie and Tomorapi Falls, and the islands are full of charming secluded waterfalls and dense rainforest areas.

Practical Info

Accommodations on the Tiwi Islands are limited, so the easiest way to acquire some is through the booking of a multi-day tour. Most visitors do return to the mainland at the end of the day, but options like the Munupi Wilderness Lodge are available for those who would prefer to stay.
Location
Address: Darwin, Australia
Read More

0 Tours & Activities to Experience

close
icon-filterFilter
Clear all
Select Dates

No results found!

Sort by:Default

mobile_o
Having trouble booking online?
(888) 651-9785
Call (888) 651-9785