En savoir plus sur notre réponse au Covid-19.

Plus d'infos
Recherches récentes
Effacer
Santiago de los Caballeros
Santiago de los Caballeros

Santiago de los Caballeros Excursions

Santiago de los Caballeros, ou simplement Santiago, est situé dans la vallée du Cibao, et avec près d'un million d'habitants, c'est la deuxième plus grande ville de la République dominicaine. Les origines de Santiago remontent à 1495, lorsque Christophe Colomb a construit un fort sur les rives de la rivière Yaque del Norte. Santiago s'appelait autrefois Santiago de los Treinta Caballeros (Saint Jacques des 30 chevaliers), un clin d'œil aux 30 aristocrates espagnols qui ont aidé à former la communauté d'origine.

Beaucoup de gens se réfèrent à Santiago comme la «ville du cœur», car elle est située au centre de ce qui était autrefois Hispaniola. Santiago a une grande scène artistique et culturelle. Ne manquez pas le Museo del Tabaco (musée du cigare), où les visiteurs peuvent en apprendre davantage sur l'art de la fabrication des cigares et acheter certaines des marques les plus célèbres. Parmi les autres musées à noter, citons le Museo Folklórico Yoryi Morel, qui présente des expositions liées au carnaval de Santiago, et le Museo Histórtico Fortaleza San Luis, qui servait autrefois de prison municipale.

Le sport est également un aspect populaire de la vie à Santiago. Le baseball et le basketball sont les sports les plus populaires de la ville. Un certain nombre de joueurs notables de la Major League Baseball sont originaires de la République dominicaine. Les terres fertiles de la région soutiennent Santiago. Des articles comme les cigarettes, le rhum, les meubles, les savons, la maroquinerie et les produits pharmaceutiques sont produits dans cette région. Les aliments comme le cacao, les produits laitiers, le café et le riz moulu sont également des aliments de base à Santiago. Bien qu'elle ne soit généralement pas une destination touristique, la ville connaît une légère augmentation du tourisme.

En savoir plus
Tamboril Free Zone, Santigo Tamboril Road, Santiago, Dominican Republic

Santiago de los Caballeros : visites et activités à essayer

Aucun résultat.

Et si vous essayiez autre chose ?Dominican Republic : voir toutes les visites

4.5 star rating: Recommended 3 Reviews

Add your review

  • Address: Santiago, Dominican Republic
Santiago, or Santiago de los Caballeros, is located in the Cibao Valley, and with nearly 1 million residents, it’s the second-largest city in the Dominican Republic. Santiago’s origins date back to 1495, when Christopher Columbus built a fort on the banks of the Yaque del Norte River. Santiago was once named Santiago de los Treinta Caballeros (Saint James of the 30 Knights), a nod to the 30 Spanish aristocrats who helped form the original community.

Many people refer to Santiago as the “heart city,” as it’s located at the center of what was once Hispaniola. Santiago has a large arts and culture scene. Do not miss the Museo del Tabaco (Cigar Museum), where visitors can learn about the art of making cigars and purchase some of the most famous brands. Other museums of note include Museo Folklórico Yoryi Morel, which features exhibits related to Santiago’s Carnival, and Museo Histórtico Fortaleza San Luis, which once served as a municipal prison.

Sports are also a popular aspect of life in Santiago. Baseball and basketball are the most popular sports in the city. A number of notable Major League Baseball players are originally from the Dominican Republic. Fertile lands in the region support Santiago. Items like cigarettes, rum, furniture, soaps, leather goods and pharmaceuticals are produced in this region. Foods like cacao, dairy, coffee and milled rice are also staples in Santiago. While not typically a tourist destination, the city is seeing a slight increase in tourism. 

Practical Info

Santiago de los Caballeros is located in the inland part of the Dominican Republic. There are direct flights into Santiago from several locations in the United States and parts of Central America and the Caribbean. Be cautious of your belongings, especially in the Centro Historico, as thieves and pickpockets are plentiful. 

Tours & Tickets

See all

Santiago and Jarabacoa Day Trip from Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata, null
TVRM_SORTED : false ESSENTIAL : ADMISSION :

Santiago and Jarabacoa Day Trip from Puerto Plata

4.5 star rating: Recommended 5 Reviews

Enjoy a full day of adventure, culture and history in the Dominican Republic on this Santiago and Jarabacoa day trip from Puerto Plata. Explore Santiago with ...  Read more

Location: Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Duration: 12 hours (approx.)

From USD $88.99

See all

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message