Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Bedouin Camp

The Bedouin people are a desert-dwelling ethnic group found throughout the Arabian peninsula. While rapid modernization throughout the region has led a majority of these former herders and nomadic traders to seek new livelihoods in the cities, it’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janrobnairn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of the highlights of our trip! Our guide Mahmoud was excellent - very informative, friendly and professional. Loved the 45 min camel ride through the sand dunes at sunset, food was delicious and the atmosphere at the Bedouin camp very authentic. Did a similar tour a couple of years back but on a budget and this one was way better. It is well worth paying a bit extra and getting the luxury experience!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Thomas D Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an experience for a lifetime and absolutely worth every single dirham. I briefly booked the tour last minute after a work-related stay and I got to experience UAE wildlife, traditional Bedouin activities such as falconry, camel riding or belly dancing. The sunset in the desert was breathtaking and the cruise with the land rover only contributed to the experience. The food and overall hospitality was also great. Lastly, our tour guide was highly competent, friendly and attentive.

I can only recommend this activity!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A totally amazing experience we would recommend this to anyone! Botir was our guide for the entire evening was very friendly and provide us with a lot of detailed information about the UAE, Dubai customs and camels even taking a slight detour to show us some camel being trained for racing on the way out of Dubai which added to the experience.

The guide who took us out on the camels could not have been more welcoming making sure we were happy and comfortable throughout the 45 minute camel ride and stopped to take plenty of photos for us using our own camera. There were 3 groups for the camels but each went off separately in smaller groups of 3 or less, so you really felt alone in the desert.

We arrived for the falcon display which was at sunset - although Bolt the falcon was a little reluctant to perform at first he did provide an interesting display even landing in the group at one point! This was followed by a magical evening in the bedouin camp, with dancing and great food. Then it was time for an astronomy talk and a look at Saturn - something I didn't think I would be interested in but it was really good. This trip is worth the extra money and was the best trip of our stay in Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

cccarol626

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was so, so glad I booked the Luxury Desert Experience. It was more expensive, but worth every penny! Our small group was taken to a private game reserve just a little over an hour from Dubai. Everything was ready for the experience we each had signed up for. I wanted to ride a camel. It was so much fun and so perfect! We rode for about 45 min. We saw lots of gazelles. We rode until just about sunset, which was also perfect. Next, we all met for the Falcon demonstration. At first I didn't think I would be interested in this, but I really enjoyed it. Then it was off to the Bedouin camp for dinner and Emirati activities. The dinner was superb! The entertainment was perfect. This was the best tour I think I have ever done!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Nana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had so much fun on this tour. What an experience! One point to mention is: hold on tight when the camel goes from a standing to sitting position! Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. The falconry demo was outstanding. The food at the Bedouin Camp was very good. If you felt brave enough you could try some camel meat. My husband did and told me it was delicious. The entertainment was good as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Don't let the price scare you. It is worth every cent.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

terri b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time! The company helped us with some extra needs we had and our guide was phenomenal!! This trip is very well worth the price. It is a great way to experience the desert and a taste of the Bedouin culture and cuisine. I would highly recommend this trip and this company for this tour, absolutely a must do when visiting Dubai. Thanks Viator for a wonderful memorable experience!!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Igor S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Probably the best activity we have had in our lives, and I have been to 35 countries and over 300 cities. Very well organized from a very beginning. The camels are so great and gentle. We felt as we were swimming in the sand over their tops. The Bedouin camp was almost authentic, except for a very clean and very modern toilet much better than the one at Dubai Airport. The food was very testy and plentiful. Really nothing to complain about. Just our lucky night under the Dubai stars.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The driver/guide picked us up at our downtown hotel promptly and we took a shared 45 minute ride out to the royal desert retreat where we were greeted by additional guides. After donning the required headscarf we were off on our private camel ride - just our family and a guide - for about 45 minutes through the desert you can skip this part if you want and just go for a desert jeep ride. It was really a lot of fun, very peaceful, comfortable and scenic. Our guide snapped tons of photos for us with our camera and they also had a videographer running around the dunes shooting video and stills yes, we bought our video package on a thumb drive later on in the evening!. The camel ride takes you to a spot where you meet up with the other small groups about 70 people in total. There is a falconry demo at sunset, complete with sparkling juice and cushions/rugs to sit on. From there you get into a jeep for a quick 5 minute ride to the faux-Bedouin compound for dinner. The dinner was spectacular. When we were done with the appetizers we thought that was it, but no - the main courses came, each more delectable than the next. Everything was incredible - including the chai with camel milk. After-dinner sheesha was a fun new experience, as was the henna we got. The only thing that seemed a bit perfunctory were the dancers. After dinner, a short jeep ride back to our waiting SUV and driver who took us back to our downtown hotel. I'd highly recommend this tour. Very well organized and a truly lovely way to experience an evening in Dubai and the desert. Great for people of all ages - there were a few kids there as well.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

robert c USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was great. The camel riding was superb and different how often do you ride a camel outside of the far east?
Falconry was great. Nice sundowners served with the exhibit.
Then dinner at the bedouin camp was wonderful. It was obviously a camp made for the tourist experience but all was super. Food was good and drink was plentiful. Obviously nothing alcoholic, but very plentiful. Entertainment was very good.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Sara G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Camels, falcons, gazelles, and authentic Bedouin dances! What a way to spend a final night in Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Ben M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great end to our trip in Dubai, Hotel pickup from our great and knowledgeable guide Imran, we were placed in a large SUV with some other nice tourists from Europe. We had a pleasurable drive to the nature reserve while Imran filled us in on what our day would consist of.

Once we arrived at the nature reserve, we proceeded to walk in through the gate and it became clear how nice the desert could be. we were provided with complimentary protective head gear to protect us from the sun, and then my wife and I enjoyed a nice Camel ride through the desert to watch some falconry and a nice sunset over a tasty glass of sparkling pomegranate juice. Following that we were taken to the Bedouin style camp for dinner which was very nice, and watched some traditional dances, while indulging in some delicious traditional Arabic cuisine and meeting other tourists from many nationalities. It was a great time, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Nicholas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing tour - a must do. Guides are very professional and helpful. Land Rover was awesome. Falcon show was really interesting and bedouin camp was very well prepared with plenty of food, great atmosphere and hookah pipes. A definite must do - I would honestly go again if I ever go to Dubai again.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great time on this tour. Our pickup at the hotel was prompt at 3:45pm. We had a very knowledgeable driver who filled us in on the way to our transfer to the Landrovers. We were all outfitted with local headwear which proved to be invaluable because of the winds and the sand.... fun to wear too. Be careful of using your point and shoot cameras if it's windy... my companion ruined hers with the sand blowing everywhere. The safari consisted of a drive through a desert conservation area with a few animals to be seen at a manmade watering hole... not quite on par with what you would see on safari in Africa but still enjoyable. Then on to the falconry display. Because of the unusually high winds we experienced the falcon had a hard time flying and catching the bait. It was still very entertaining. We arrived at the Bedouin camp for dinner just after nightfall. Dinner was great with lots of variety. I tried a little of everything they offered. During dinner there was entertainment, dancing, camel rides and henna tattoos.... lots of activities to keep us entertained. After dinner we laid down on carpets and smoked pipes ... looked up at the stars... I could have stayed there all night. We got back to our hotel at 11pm. All in all highly recommended.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely excellent. Not to be compared with some of the other desert safari's on offer. Every aspect of this package was first class. The hotel pick-up, the camel ride, falconry display, Bedouin camp and meal were all extremely well presented, and most enjoyable. I would recommend it to anyone, and would certainly go again when I return to Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Byrdie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome cultural experience hands down. Our tour and tour guide were amazing. The beginning to the end were filled with experiences that gave you rich cultural experience...the ride through the desert viewing the oryx and dunes the welcoming drink of sparkling apple and date juice was fantastic...the falcon show was very informative about how the were used to hunt for food...the Bedouin camp site and camel rides were the BEST...the food was amazing as were the native dancers and the dances performed by both men and a women..the henna tattoo I received was beautiful...the staff was very hospitable and wanted to make sure you were enjoying yourself there was also an area to sit and relax to try the hookah...

Just an added note, based on my conversation with others my experience was better on this tour than with the others it wasn't crowded and it offered more cultural experiences than the other tours Just imagine a small group touring the desert watching the sunset ending on a campsite getting to know one another over an amazing meal under the Arabian sky filled with stars...just AWESOME....kudos to Platinum Heritage you lived up to your name and special thanks to Baheep sorry if I misspelled your name hope you know you were exceptional!!! You should be given a raise...Lol

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Zara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

You have GOT to do this. It is BRILLIANT FUN. We went with a company called Sandtrax. The whole package included being picked up from our hotel, chauffeur driven the whole night by the same guy, straight to a camel farm in Sharjah, then a crazy fun-filled drive through the dunes lots of ups and downs. We were joined by 5 other Brits and an Aussie. There were plenty of screams of delight. We behaved like children... more please?

After the sand dunes we went for a quad bike ride, then a camel ride, then to the Al Jabal Bedouin Village for a huge feast it was gorgeous. While we filling our stomachs we were treated to a belly-dancing show. This was such a GREAT evening. Absolutely BRILLIANT value for money.

Doing what: Dubai Desert 4x4 Safari with Quad Ride, Camel Ride, BBQ Dinner and Belly Dancing

Stephanie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had an incredible time on this luxury desert safari, quite possibly the best experience in Dubai. The door to door service was great and the experience is one we will never forget. Definitely worth the money! Riding camels in the desert was epic, the meal at the camp was delicious and smoking shisha under the stars was priceless. We got an authentic taste for life like the Bedouins. We would fly from the USA back to repeat this experience in a heartbeat...two thumbs up!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Jaleisha J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Platinum Heritage Tour was by far our best experience during our 4 days in Dubai. I cannot say enough positive things about this tour. Our tour guides were exceptional! This tour had everything! The traditional headdress for the Range Rover ride was a nice touch. It made for great pictures and added to the authentic desert experience. The Bedouin food at the campsite was amazing! The camel ride was a fun experience. We got to try Arabic coffee and camel milk. The hookah was a nice treat. We ended the night with star-gazing. We got to see Saturn and the moon through a telescope. We learned about Dubai and the Bedouin people, tried new things, and had an amazing time. The tour was perfect. Do not leave Dubai without going on a one of these tours!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Heather M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic from start to finish. We even got an informative tour of some of the city's attractions as we were in the car picking up guests.

We did the vintage Land Rover tour however some of the other guests were doing camel riding instead. I'd recommend the Land Rover tour as you still get the opportunity to do camel riding before eating the fabulous Arabian food at the Bedouin camp where the evening ends.

Thanks for a great experience.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Carina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable experience.
We were a small group on the camel ride, the guide was absolutely accommodating and the sights were great, including a few gazelle that we saw grazing. Once we reached the Oasis carpets and cushions we were entertained and informed at sunset by a Falconry expert who demonstrated the skill and gave us all an opportunity to get the flavour for a hunting lifestyle that is now only a memory for most.
From there it was off to a Bedouin camp for a traditional greeting and dinner, including dance demonstrations and the opportunity to experience henna tatooing and shisha.
An unexpected bonus was the Astronomer who mapped the night sky for us.
Truly enjoyable from start to finish and huge nod to Faisal who courteously entertained my myriad questions!
A must do excursion for anyone visiting the desert/Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Vicki P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything about this tour was brilliant. Loved the tour guide, the falconry exhibition was really interesting,the ride in the open land rover - in spite of being sandy - was great fun, the Bedouin dinner delicious and the camel ride was good fun too. We thoroughly recommend Platinum tours for this particular desert experience.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Ronald Grant W New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What can I say. The tour exceeded my expectations, from the moment hearing the bubbly tour guide on entering the van to being driven back to the hotel, a wonderful experience.
The tour was well organised with me on the camel safari and others opting for the driving. The 3 course dinner cooked the old bedouin style was superb, activities falcon display, astronomy, heena designs, dancing and more made this experience full and memorable.
I will always remember fondly of the time in Dubai on the camel, and would strongly recommend this tour. The camel ride is a must.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Richard L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We choose this tour by accident but it was brilliant. Small and personal and away from the madding crowd. We went to a private reserve and did the camel trek to the Bedouin camp while others took the open top land rovers. 45 mins later we all met up at the camp for a fantastic experience - falconry astronomy dancing meal etc. Short camel rides were available through the evening and unless you are reasonably fit and keen I would suggest the 50 min trek maybe more than you need on a camels back. We both relished the experience but suffered from camel legs for a few days afterwards. The guides were fantastic and touchingly attentive to people who were struggling a bit with the heat or the food or the camels. We had read reviews of other dessert safaris that sounded overcrowded and a little disappointing but pay a little extra and get a genuine life affirming experience

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

K N B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was excellent. Riding the camel through the desert was such a peaceful experience later in the day.
Could not fault this tour. Got picked up from hotel, shown sights along the way to the desert, the camel ride, the falconry display, the short 4 wheel drive to the Bedouin camp. At the camp we were served excellent food and plenty of it! Bread and coffee making display, henna tattos if wanted, hookah pipes, and belly dancing.. so glad we did this tour it was the highlight of going to Dubai!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Alistair K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommended! We really enjoyed this tour. Highlight was the desert safari but the other aspects (falconry display and Bedouin camp) were also good. Food was plentiful and interesting. Our driver/guide (Tiago) was excellent.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message