Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubai Museum

Set inside the 1787 Al Fahidi Fort, the Dubai Museum opened in 1971 following the building's original use as protection against pirates and marauders. Today, the museum recounts the emirate's history up until the days before the oil boom forever ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Julz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great value and way to see Dubai, I did all 3 tours in 1 day, however didn't take advantage of the free boat tour and museum tickets due to timing etc. I iwsh I had prebooked the 48hr Tour. Was abit worried that I would be unable to find the pickup/drop off points but actually did quite easily.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sonia Wing Yan L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Overall was good with cold water all the way on the bus. It included two cruises in the price and the dubai museum. However, I was given incorrect information about the free Lost of Chambers tickets, now even with the 48 hours ticket the entrance ticket wasn't included. However, all the staff were very courteous.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Clive R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This provides an interesting taste of most of the attractions in Dubai though not Burj Khalifa. Highlights for me were the Dubai museum and Dubai Creek. Excellent multi lingual guide and pick up/drop off at my hotel in Business Bay. Not the best tour I've ever been on ...though glad I went!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Peter

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour offers a bit less than it could be covered during 5 hours. mostly because of the lengthy pick-up process for us, it took almost 90 minutes from leaving the hotel until finally boarding the big bus and a bit too much time on the 2 souks spice market and a street-length of gold shops. On the other hand, Dubai museum and the short boat-crossing on Dubai Creek were very interesting, as well as the great amount of information our guide, Dejan shared with us. If you have only limited time in Dubai, it's probably not the tour that shall be on the top of your list, but during a longer stay, it's still a good choice.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Diane S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Was a great tour for the money! Our guide was excellent. There were people that spoke German as well as us speaking English... he did a wonderful job with both! We were a little disappointed that we didn't get to go to the tallest building the world, Burj Khalifa, but it was 109 degrees so being in the nice air conditioned van was very nice. The Dubai Museum was a highlight. Could have spent more time there. The Spice Souk and Gold Souk were fun, but it was just too hot to enjoy being on the streets. We would highly recommend this tour for the price! We ere there in July.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Anne H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Negatives were poor communication all round. Driver 30 mins late to fetch we don idea where we were being taken. Tour was too long Athens beach. Too short at the museum. We ran late. driver taking us back to the hotel didn't know where it was.
Positive was the enthusiastic tour guide on the bus.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sandra H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour for those with limited time. Mohammed genial and knowledgeable guide. Loved the Museum. Would be great if water could be purchased on bus. Otherwise thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

C D H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, best way to see the sights in a air con mini bus, could have spent longer at the Museum and less time at the Gold Market. If you only have a day or couple in Dubau best way to see the sights. Guide was friendly, spoke in German and English and was easly understood.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Carol Anne B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide said everything in two languages - English and German, and this became annoying after a while. It would be better to have separate trips for the different languages.When we visited the gold souk, we were just dropped off and told to meet back there in 45 minutes. There was no explanation of the background of the souk and most of us were ready to go after 15 minutes. However, the museum was worth visiting.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

jrssali

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a standard brief tour, we were picked up on time. Our minibus arrived at the first meet up point site to view the Burj Al-Arab... so we were told to wait outside the small bus drivers at the time did not give enough notice as to why we were waiting but insisted we take pictures - in the heat :S no one wanted to. We ended up waiting a nice long 30 minutes, I sat in the minibus as to avoid getting sunburnt or dehydrated. Once we got to finally board the bus, it was nice and perfectly air conditioned. I would recommend that women wear loose and airy clothing skirts or dresses - as you do not enter the mosque

The Jumeirah mosque was nice, a small mosque in the area but quite nice to look at you do not enter the mosque. We then headed to the Dubai Museum, instructed that we had 1 hour to explore - which I felt wasn't a great deal of time. The museum was perhaps the most interesting part of the tour.

We then headed to the Bur for an Abra ride laste no more than 3 minutes then over to the Souk. My biggest issue was the way I felt we were bein rushed, my husband and I didn't feel that 30 minutes were enough time for the grand/spice souk and most of the stalls were actually shut because we arrived so late it's an afternoon tour, plus maybe a friday is a bad day to tour it was a good strip however but we opted not to buy anything as we didn't want to be rushed and went back on another day.

Following this we had 50 minutes to waste in the Gold Souk, not one soul on the tour purchased anything from this place and we all actually got to the meet up point 10 minutes early - so I felt this was a bit of a waste. The same gold in over 80 of the shop windows, one or two photo worthy pieces but that was it really.

If you don't have much time in Dubai this is a good-ish intro to Dubai if it's a 3 day stay or less if you have time? Hop on the metro OR grab a taxi/rent a car and explore at your own pace. Or opt for a private tour if you are tight on time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Trip was ok but found the guide a bit monotone. We appreciate that it is not the guides fault but, we needed longer in the museum and less time being hassled in the gold market.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Scott I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We were recently in Dubai, took the half day tour, very disappointed with the transport and driver. The best part was the Dubai Museum and the little boat Ride to the Markets

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour really enjoyed riding the little boats, the museum was nice, and got to check out the souks

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Diane J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the two days we spent on this tour. Definitely need that time, as there is so much to see. The first day we just drove around the two routes and then the second day, we spent on and off the bus checking out such attractions as the Dubai Museum. Great tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great little tour to get acclimated to Dubai. Our tour guide Wael Aldahshan was fantastic. He spoke very good English, was friendly, and knowledgeable. The Dubai Museum was very interesting. We took a dhow across the creek to the Gold and Spice Souk. The aromas at the Spice Souk were unforgettable. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Hopefully you will get Wael as your tour guide!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrienne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had a day in Dubai and we wanted to see everything so this tour was ideal for us. We were collected promptly from our hotel at 1pm and brought to the tour bus. We started with a photo stop at the Burj Al-Arab and saw the beautiful white beaches which were full of holidaymakers and locals.
The coach was air conditioned which was welcome in the hot sunshine. Second stop was at the Jumeirah Mosque which was very beautiful to see. We also loved the included visit to the Dubai Museum at the Al Fahidi Fort which offered a lot about the history of Dubai. A highlight was the trip across the busy Dubai Creek in an Abra water taxi to visit both the Spice Souk and the Gold Souk in the Deira old town area. We were dropped off at the Dubai Mall to see the Burj Khalifa from where we made our own way home. Our only regret was not seeing the The Palm Islands.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent service pick up and return . The Dubai Museum was a wonderful insight into the past. The visit to the spice and gold souk was good . The guide was pleasant and informative.
The mandatory tipping was an unnecessary end to a great tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were picked up at hotel in cab taken to bus. Tour was excellent. Taken to museum and suiqs. We loved it . Good guide

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

C.J. R USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I say the tour is worth doing just to see the different parts of the city or rather some of the highlights. I was originally excited to do this tour and oddly the museum was the coolest part for me. The souks, they were interesting but a bit of a downer because of all the people harassing you to buy fake stuff or to come in their shop. I mean i read it in the reviews and anticipated it but it was way more annoying than i thought it would be. The guide was cool though and we did have plenty of time to look around at all the stops. Bring cash, but gold stores take credit. FYI on the gold, its not cheap. The cheapest thing we seen was a gold bangle for 544US pre-haggle. Also ignore the sale/discount signs every store had a random person hold the sign up or put one up when a group of tourists are coming.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Daniela B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Good hotel pickup and drop-off organization and very professional guide. The Dubai Museum is very nice.
The rest of the tour is not very interesting, the old quarter Bastakiya and the Spice Souq and Deira Gold Souq are a loss of time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrienne Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

the only part of the tour I enjoyed was riding the traditional boat/water taxi across the river the spice and gold market can be skipped there wasn't much to see at all. I didn't get to take a picture of the Burj Al-Arab hotel because that was the meeting point from my pick up to transfer to a coach bus...
The Jumeirah Mosque stop was more for photo snap opportunity: no chance to go inside.
The Dubai museum was interesting but you can go here yourself, without the tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Diane J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very good introduction to Dubai. Really good local guide. The museum was excellent .

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Joanne M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very good. She was interesting and showed initiative. when ur bus was involved in an accident and we needed to wait for the police, she had the driver first drop us off at a souk so that we were not sitting on a bus for a half hour. The museum was interesting and I would recommend a visit there. We crossed the creek in an abra to visit the spice and gold souks. I would have liked a bit more time in the souks as I never did get back there. Because of the accident and the incredible traffic, the tour was 2 hours longer than i thought I'd be.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

eribin75

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Tour was was well organized and our guide was very knowledgeable of the areas visited. The Dubai Museum was interesting as was the short river taxi ride across the creek. However it was at times difficult to keep up with the commentaries because the guide switched from English to German. We didn't know this was a dual language tour would've been good if such information was provided in the website. Overall a pretty good half day out especially for those who lack the time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Ghina S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The tour guide was knowledgeable but didn't seem to love the area she was leading. But she did take care of every person and was clear about the destinations. She also moved through locations with ease and that inspires confidence.

The tour started late, and so it ended late and this meant that some people who were going on other tours felt like they needed to leave early We didn't see a private fashion show which is ok, but also didn't see the Women's Museum and that would have been interesting

Doing what: Dubai Museum Gold Souk and Water Taxi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message