Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubai Museum

Set inside the 1787 Al Fahidi Fort, the Dubai Museum opened in 1971 following the building's original use as protection against pirates and marauders. Today, the museum recounts the emirate's history up until the days before the oil boom forever ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 149 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roger B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This is an excellent tour if you only have a day or so to look around the wider attractions of Dubai outside the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa, which lets face it are the real stars of the region. We were impressed with how much was included in the tour and had not realised we would be given time to explore at various attractions. This turned the whole tour into a six-hour one, which was a bit more than we had bargained for! Jumeira beach was the first stop and then main mosque which was quite interesting. Our entry tickets for the Dubai Museum were included as was the boat ride across the Creek to the Spice Market and Gold Souk, both very atmospheric and interesting. Given that Dubai only has a very limited history we saw as much as could be expected and really got our money's worth. The only things stopping us from giving this full five star rating were the rather 'clunky' continuity and multiple pick ups and drop offs and the guide, though knowledgeable and keen to please was at times a little harder to follow than we would have liked. Recommended overall, though.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Philip B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

Tour time was changed on morning of tour from 1.30pm to 2.35pm. Was finally picked up at Hotel half an hour late then taken in a feeder coach for half an hour to join main coach to eventually start tour over one hour late. Tour guide was good but felt too much time was spent in the museum and at the gold souk and that I had not seen much of Dubai except for sitting in a coach on busy roads. Were last Hotel to be dropped off at 9pm far later than I had expected.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

dsdba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Got to see and experience most Dubai in just half a day. Amazing tour and guide. Highly recommended. We started at the beach by Burj Al Arab in background. Then we were off to the Jumeirah Mosque, then the Dubai Museum. We next took a water taxi to the the spice and gold souk.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

jewelbox88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This ticket is worth every penny! What a fun experience and great way to see the city and learn more about it. We bought the 48 hour option and pretty much ended up taking every single route during that time. We were staying in the marina which is on the blue route and the bus picked up fairly close to our hotel. We used this mode of transport to get to many of the things that we had planned during our stay. A couple of issues that we had......figuring out where the marina pick up was meant we had to watch for a bus and follow it to where it stopped. Another issue we had one day was that we went to the marina pick up to take the blue bus which is the only bus supposed to leave from the marina to connect to the green bus to take us out to Palm Jumeriah. We got on a bus which ended up going a completely different route than what was listed in the map, it didn't stop at any of the places it was supposed to along the way and it ended up taking us as far away from where we needed to be as it possibly could! It literally finally stopped at some random building near old Dubai past the red route. We asked the driver what to do and he said was that we should have asked him upon boarding where it was going! What?! Why would we do that when there is only buses going on the blue route that are supposed to be there? One would think he would have checked with people as they boarded to make sure they knew this was a rogue bus going elsewhere. Anyway, he did take us back to one of the 'normal' stops on the red route so we could pick up another bus going the direction we were trying to go in the first place. My husband and I are pretty easy going people and we realized very quickly that the bus we were on was not the correct bus. We also realized trying to make him stop probably wasn't an option so we were along for the ride. The only potential problem was that when we boarded in the marina we had about an hour before our passes completely expired. This detour ended up being a 3 hour detour! Thankfully the Big Bus employees were very understanding and allowed us to get on the buses we still needed to get on to get where we were going. All of the employees at every station were very helpful. It was cool to have the bonuses of passes to the Dubai Museum and the Lost Chambers Aquarium among others. Those were just the only 2 bonuses that we were able to use. All in all I would recommend buying this pass to everyone going to Dubai!

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

P. Ronan O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Overall a disappointing tour. Pick-up late, bus poor standard. Visit to museum interesting - I could have given the spice market and gold souk a miss

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

HUSAIMEE H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The tour itself was not that interesting this time as we took the morning tour on a saturday and there was a lot of fog that restricted visibility.

The organisation was a little slow too, our pick up was on time, but had to swap to another much larger vehicle bus and wait for about 20 mins in the bus for another group to arrive. The final group was over 20 in size, so keep that in mind. Some of the facts and anecdotes by the guide were interesting but by and large we didn't really see all that much.

The museum was a big disappointment, I expected much more from a place as modern and well off as Dubai. Instead the exhibits were aged in a bad way and not well maintained, and not user friendlytiny writing and bad lighting. There was no crowd control and few emergency exits as the pathway wound down underground for one of the exhibition buildings and I kept thinking about what I would do with my family in the event of an emergency as we were crowded heavily together and could barely shuffle at some points. Staff at the museum seemed to have a couldn't care less attitude.

The mosque we went to was nothing special and I believe the big one in Abu Dhabi is spectacular, but on the other hand I'm a muslim and have been to a lot of different mosques around the world.

The souks were OK, but nothing really that unique compared to others I have been to and there were few if any actual locals running the shops but that is Dubai retail in a nut shell. Schedule at the souks depended on the courtesy of your fellow tour guests, as one late comer delayed us in the hot sun for 30 mins standing around doing nothing as the guide waited for him. Prices weren't that great either.

To be honest we had much more fun doing the Aquarium tour in Dubai Mall on our own. I would not recommend it unless you really wanted to burn 6 hours or so with absolutely nothing better to do.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lilo A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is an excellent way to get around the city. There are three routes and it takes a bit of time to change routes so I would suggest that you book the bus tour for 48 hours. I would also suggest that you do a bit of research as you won't have time to do all the stops so try to prioritize before you start your tour. I enjoyed the museum at the Old Fort and the cruise on the Marina is also very worthwhile.The Souk Madinat is interesting as it is a modern version of an old souk and there are many restaurants.There is so much to do you won't regret this tour. It is a stress free way to get around. The commentary is also very informative and you may help yourself to water on the bus.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Julz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Great value and way to see Dubai, I did all 3 tours in 1 day, however didn't take advantage of the free boat tour and museum tickets due to timing etc. I iwsh I had prebooked the 48hr Tour. Was abit worried that I would be unable to find the pickup/drop off points but actually did quite easily.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Sonia Wing Yan L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Overall was good with cold water all the way on the bus. It included two cruises in the price and the dubai museum. However, I was given incorrect information about the free Lost of Chambers tickets, now even with the 48 hours ticket the entrance ticket wasn't included. However, all the staff were very courteous.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Clive R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This provides an interesting taste of most of the attractions in Dubai though not Burj Khalifa. Highlights for me were the Dubai museum and Dubai Creek. Excellent multi lingual guide and pick up/drop off at my hotel in Business Bay. Not the best tour I've ever been on ...though glad I went!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Peter

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

The tour offers a bit less than it could be covered during 5 hours. mostly because of the lengthy pick-up process for us, it took almost 90 minutes from leaving the hotel until finally boarding the big bus and a bit too much time on the 2 souks spice market and a street-length of gold shops. On the other hand, Dubai museum and the short boat-crossing on Dubai Creek were very interesting, as well as the great amount of information our guide, Dejan shared with us. If you have only limited time in Dubai, it's probably not the tour that shall be on the top of your list, but during a longer stay, it's still a good choice.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Diane S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Was a great tour for the money! Our guide was excellent. There were people that spoke German as well as us speaking English... he did a wonderful job with both! We were a little disappointed that we didn't get to go to the tallest building the world, Burj Khalifa, but it was 109 degrees so being in the nice air conditioned van was very nice. The Dubai Museum was a highlight. Could have spent more time there. The Spice Souk and Gold Souk were fun, but it was just too hot to enjoy being on the streets. We would highly recommend this tour for the price! We ere there in July.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Anne H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

Negatives were poor communication all round. Driver 30 mins late to fetch we don idea where we were being taken. Tour was too long Athens beach. Too short at the museum. We ran late. driver taking us back to the hotel didn't know where it was.
Positive was the enthusiastic tour guide on the bus.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sandra H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour for those with limited time. Mohammed genial and knowledgeable guide. Loved the Museum. Would be great if water could be purchased on bus. Otherwise thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

C D H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, best way to see the sights in a air con mini bus, could have spent longer at the Museum and less time at the Gold Market. If you only have a day or couple in Dubau best way to see the sights. Guide was friendly, spoke in German and English and was easly understood.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Carol Anne B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide said everything in two languages - English and German, and this became annoying after a while. It would be better to have separate trips for the different languages.When we visited the gold souk, we were just dropped off and told to meet back there in 45 minutes. There was no explanation of the background of the souk and most of us were ready to go after 15 minutes. However, the museum was worth visiting.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

jrssali

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a standard brief tour, we were picked up on time. Our minibus arrived at the first meet up point site to view the Burj Al-Arab... so we were told to wait outside the small bus drivers at the time did not give enough notice as to why we were waiting but insisted we take pictures - in the heat :S no one wanted to. We ended up waiting a nice long 30 minutes, I sat in the minibus as to avoid getting sunburnt or dehydrated. Once we got to finally board the bus, it was nice and perfectly air conditioned. I would recommend that women wear loose and airy clothing skirts or dresses - as you do not enter the mosque

The Jumeirah mosque was nice, a small mosque in the area but quite nice to look at you do not enter the mosque. We then headed to the Dubai Museum, instructed that we had 1 hour to explore - which I felt wasn't a great deal of time. The museum was perhaps the most interesting part of the tour.

We then headed to the Bur for an Abra ride laste no more than 3 minutes then over to the Souk. My biggest issue was the way I felt we were bein rushed, my husband and I didn't feel that 30 minutes were enough time for the grand/spice souk and most of the stalls were actually shut because we arrived so late it's an afternoon tour, plus maybe a friday is a bad day to tour it was a good strip however but we opted not to buy anything as we didn't want to be rushed and went back on another day.

Following this we had 50 minutes to waste in the Gold Souk, not one soul on the tour purchased anything from this place and we all actually got to the meet up point 10 minutes early - so I felt this was a bit of a waste. The same gold in over 80 of the shop windows, one or two photo worthy pieces but that was it really.

If you don't have much time in Dubai this is a good-ish intro to Dubai if it's a 3 day stay or less if you have time? Hop on the metro OR grab a taxi/rent a car and explore at your own pace. Or opt for a private tour if you are tight on time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael C

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Trip was ok but found the guide a bit monotone. We appreciate that it is not the guides fault but, we needed longer in the museum and less time being hassled in the gold market.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Scott I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

We were recently in Dubai, took the half day tour, very disappointed with the transport and driver. The best part was the Dubai Museum and the little boat Ride to the Markets

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour really enjoyed riding the little boats, the museum was nice, and got to check out the souks

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Diane J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Loved the two days we spent on this tour. Definitely need that time, as there is so much to see. The first day we just drove around the two routes and then the second day, we spent on and off the bus checking out such attractions as the Dubai Museum. Great tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Nana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great little tour to get acclimated to Dubai. Our tour guide Wael Aldahshan was fantastic. He spoke very good English, was friendly, and knowledgeable. The Dubai Museum was very interesting. We took a dhow across the creek to the Gold and Spice Souk. The aromas at the Spice Souk were unforgettable. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Hopefully you will get Wael as your tour guide!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrienne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had a day in Dubai and we wanted to see everything so this tour was ideal for us. We were collected promptly from our hotel at 1pm and brought to the tour bus. We started with a photo stop at the Burj Al-Arab and saw the beautiful white beaches which were full of holidaymakers and locals.
The coach was air conditioned which was welcome in the hot sunshine. Second stop was at the Jumeirah Mosque which was very beautiful to see. We also loved the included visit to the Dubai Museum at the Al Fahidi Fort which offered a lot about the history of Dubai. A highlight was the trip across the busy Dubai Creek in an Abra water taxi to visit both the Spice Souk and the Gold Souk in the Deira old town area. We were dropped off at the Dubai Mall to see the Burj Khalifa from where we made our own way home. Our only regret was not seeing the The Palm Islands.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent service pick up and return . The Dubai Museum was a wonderful insight into the past. The visit to the spice and gold souk was good . The guide was pleasant and informative.
The mandatory tipping was an unnecessary end to a great tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were picked up at hotel in cab taken to bus. Tour was excellent. Taken to museum and suiqs. We loved it . Good guide

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message