Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubai Spice Souk

Dubai may have the world’s largest shopping mall, but for many visitors, the best shopping is found in the city’s traditional souks, or markets. Each of these historic markets specializes in one product or category of products, and one of Dubai’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 178 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

mrinalini.batra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an amazing tour with and exceptional guide who spoke good English. The itinerary was comprehensive - making us aware of both the old and the new in Dubai. The journey includes a boat ride across the river and is very pleasant. The old Souk is not interesting for travelers like me who come from Asia and have see similar markets but the commentary made the journey worthwhile.

the show at the end of the trip was amazing - I was glad they had included it. Recommended this tour to anyone who has less time in Dubai. Would also recommend the night tour on the hop-on-hopoff bus - you do not get down for 2.5 hours and get to see all the bright lights of Dubai!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

aline34

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

My husband and I did this tour on 17 and 18 November 2016 whilst on a pre-cruise short stay in Dubai. This is a very good and cheap way of visiting Dubai. We were very lucky that the Hyatt Regency in Old Dubai where we were staying had a stop at the back of the hotel where we boarded the bus and exchanged our Viator paper bookings for proper tickets. This stop is one of the last ones on the Red Route which lasts for an hour and visits Old Dubai. We were able to stop and visit the Gold Souk fascinating as so glittery, the Spice Souk wonderful scents and colours, the Textile Souk amongst others. The interchanging point to hop on the Blue Route 2 hrs 1/2 is in front of Dubai Mall this route takes you to the newer part of Dubai where you get to see Jumeirah Beach, Jumeirah Hotel, Burj al Arab, Atlantis the Palm etc... I would recommend getting off the bus and visiting Atlantis the Palm and adjoining aquarium, having a stroll on Jumeirah beach and a dip in the warm waters too if you have brought along a towel and swimsuit, and having a look inside Burj al Arab and Jumeirah hotel - very tight security though! As I had booked a 48 hour ticket, this entitled us to the 1 hour very pleasant boat trip in Dubai Creek. Refreshments are not free of charge though, so better bring along your own if you wish to sip a cold drink during this short cruise. On the Big Bus, you do get though free bottles of cold water. We did not do the Green Route so am unable to comment on this one. Otherwise, very pleasant/convenient way to see the sights of this very clean Arabian city which also boosts a 0 crime rate, hence making it very safe to circulate at night.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dsdba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Got to see and experience most Dubai in just half a day. Amazing tour and guide. Highly recommended. We started at the beach by Burj Al Arab in background. Then we were off to the Jumeirah Mosque, then the Dubai Museum. We next took a water taxi to the the spice and gold souk.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

tdoolan11

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A truly excellent tour. We were picked up on time from the ship and driven by car to join the rest of our party on a small bus which had picked up the rest of the group from the hotels. The half day tour lasted from our 1.30pm pick up to 7.00pm when we were dropped off at the ship again by car. We hit all the hot spots and our tour guide spoke perfect English and made sure none of his party was lost in the spice and gold souks. The tour was not hurried at any stage and was most enjoyable. It exceeded our expectations and was good value.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, our guide was excellent are it was a good way to see the sights and then decide on what to go back to later. i would only say that i would have preferred more time in the gold souk and less in the spice souk.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Lilo A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is an excellent way to get around the city. There are three routes and it takes a bit of time to change routes so I would suggest that you book the bus tour for 48 hours. I would also suggest that you do a bit of research as you won't have time to do all the stops so try to prioritize before you start your tour. I enjoyed the museum at the Old Fort and the cruise on the Marina is also very worthwhile.The Souk Madinat is interesting as it is a modern version of an old souk and there are many restaurants.There is so much to do you won't regret this tour. It is a stress free way to get around. The commentary is also very informative and you may help yourself to water on the bus.

Doing what: Big Bus Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

rogerkath

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Really enjoyed this afternoon trip. Our guide Annie was very knowledge about Dubai and pointed out some interesting things.

You have to run the gauntlet a bit through the spice and gold souks but this is all part of the experience.

Would definitely recommend this to anybody going to Dubai.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

manelisboamarques Portugal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very nice tour! we saw the main buidings, visited the gold and spice souk, had a very cool boat ride! Perfect afternoon!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kishani R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Nice tour. Guide was good enough to walk with us in the souk. We had fun.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

cccarol626

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I did this tour on my first day in Dubai. It was a perfect way to get a feel for the city and gave me ideas of what to see more of. There was a little of everything. The Jumeriah Mosque was definitely a highlight. I came back to the mosque the next morning to attend a cultural tour of the mosque they have every morning at 10am. It was so worth it! I also enjoyed the boat ride on Dubai Creek and visiting the gold souk.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Nana

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great little tour to get acclimated to Dubai. Our tour guide Wael Aldahshan was fantastic. He spoke very good English, was friendly, and knowledgeable. The Dubai Museum was very interesting. We took a dhow across the creek to the Gold and Spice Souk. The aromas at the Spice Souk were unforgettable. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour. Hopefully you will get Wael as your tour guide!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour really enjoyed riding the little boats, the museum was nice, and got to check out the souks

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrienne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had a day in Dubai and we wanted to see everything so this tour was ideal for us. We were collected promptly from our hotel at 1pm and brought to the tour bus. We started with a photo stop at the Burj Al-Arab and saw the beautiful white beaches which were full of holidaymakers and locals.
The coach was air conditioned which was welcome in the hot sunshine. Second stop was at the Jumeirah Mosque which was very beautiful to see. We also loved the included visit to the Dubai Museum at the Al Fahidi Fort which offered a lot about the history of Dubai. A highlight was the trip across the busy Dubai Creek in an Abra water taxi to visit both the Spice Souk and the Gold Souk in the Deira old town area. We were dropped off at the Dubai Mall to see the Burj Khalifa from where we made our own way home. Our only regret was not seeing the The Palm Islands.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Kevin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent service pick up and return . The Dubai Museum was a wonderful insight into the past. The visit to the spice and gold souk was good . The guide was pleasant and informative.
The mandatory tipping was an unnecessary end to a great tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

ASJ India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The 1/2 day city tour was brilliant. It was made so by our guide who really took us on an interesting trip of Dubai thru' the ages. We started at the glitzy end, the Burj Al Arab and made our way to the old time Spice and Gold Souks. Thru the drive our guide gave us several tidbits about Dubai and its evolution. It was informative and interesting. The ride across the creek in an Abra was a fantastic experience. We finished at the Dubai Museum housed in Al Fahidi fort which is a must see for all visitors. Our guide and driver were courteous and friendly throughout and we thoroughly enjoyed our tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Paul N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Whistle stop tour but for us it crammed in the things we missed last time we were in Dubai.
The tour gives picture opportunities at the Burj Al Arab, city skyline etc. The tour does take you across the river on an Abra, to the spice market, and the gold souk. Nice quick tour if you haven't got much time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Asif M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Good overview of the old Dubai. Be prepared to haggle in the souks.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Sarah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great way to see Dubai on limited time. Tour was interesting and flexible to fit in what we wanted to see. It allowed a lot of time at the Gold Souk, so if you are not interested in spending a lot of time shopping for jewellery, I suggest flagging this when you book and allocating more time elsewhere. We just finished up a little early, and were dropped at Dubai Mall at our request rather than back to our hotel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Elisabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I went on this tour to save my hosts having to take me around, park etc and feel sure that we saw more than one would even with a local friend. Dubai Museum has expanded since I visited 6 years ago and is interesting to all ages, the short boat trip up the creek is fun. In the souk we had a great review of many spices, and some tasting, then time in the gold market where cold drinks were available as well as gold, scarves and leatherware. Our guide was excellent and the coach comfortable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Dan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This would have to be the best tour of Dubai bar none we were very lucky to have Kumar as our tour guide here is very passionate and knowledgeable about his city it worked out that this was a private tour for my wife and myself it was in a very comfortable airconditioned SUV we visited all the major attractions including the Spice and Gold souks which is an incredible and interesting place all in all we had a great time highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

rudy p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour , great to get a peak of things to do in Dubai. Would of liked more shopping time at souks but if you stand to long you do get hassled to buy. Our guide was great and stayed around if we needed anything. The fort was worth going to. Had a great day and would recommend this tour

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Thrivikrama S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were picked up from our hotel on time. The coach was A/C, was welcome in summer.
The gude was helpful and knowledgeable.
The tour included everything that was advertised - Burj Al Arab, Jumeira Mosque, Gold Souk, Spice Souk, Dubai Museum, boat ride in dubai creek etc.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Milena G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Love it. Everything great. Need more time @ the spices souk, less @ the gold souk.
very informative, enjoyed the Dubai museum and the old city.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see Dubai from the comfort of an air conditioned vehicle, with regular stops to take photos or view the sights more closely. We went to the Gold Souk, the Spice Market, a mosque the outside only and took a water taxi ride as part of this experience. Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer our questions. The pick up from our hotel was also part of the trip, which saved us having to find a meeting point.

Doing what: Private Tour: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely a great tour with a great value. The staff was courteous and informative. The sights and experience was awesome and it was extremely helpful to visit certain areas with a tour. I wouldn't have been able to navigate Old Dubai and the souks without this.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message