Dubai ATTRACTIONS See all

Jumeirah Mosque

Built from white sandstone and crowned with a central dome and two towering minarets, Jumeirah Mosque is Dubai's main place of worship and arguably its most beautiful. Aside from being one of the most photographed sites in Dubai, the landmark is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roger B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This is an excellent tour if you only have a day or so to look around the wider attractions of Dubai outside the Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa, which lets face it are the real stars of the region. We were impressed with how much was included in the tour and had not realised we would be given time to explore at various attractions. This turned the whole tour into a six-hour one, which was a bit more than we had bargained for! Jumeira beach was the first stop and then main mosque which was quite interesting. Our entry tickets for the Dubai Museum were included as was the boat ride across the Creek to the Spice Market and Gold Souk, both very atmospheric and interesting. Given that Dubai only has a very limited history we saw as much as could be expected and really got our money's worth. The only things stopping us from giving this full five star rating were the rather 'clunky' continuity and multiple pick ups and drop offs and the guide, though knowledgeable and keen to please was at times a little harder to follow than we would have liked. Recommended overall, though.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Denis S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

I've used the Red Bus service in other cities and feel its the best way to get around and see the sites when on limited time. Had only 3 days in Dubai and purchased a 48hr ticket. Didn't get to use all the routes but still enjoyed the service nonetheless. The only small criticism I have is that due to traffic in Dubai, the suggested times advised on the route maps is out by 15 or more mins. For example, we got on at Mall of the Emirates at 9.00am, the starting point and first pick of the day for the Blue Route to visit the Jumeirah Mosque. The map advised we would be there at 9.22am however arrived at 9.45am. Otherwise a good service and worth the money.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

dsdba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Got to see and experience most Dubai in just half a day. Amazing tour and guide. Highly recommended. We started at the beach by Burj Al Arab in background. Then we were off to the Jumeirah Mosque, then the Dubai Museum. We next took a water taxi to the the spice and gold souk.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Robert S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed the tour and the cultural info about Dubai. Only drawback was that the mosque that we visited was closed and under renovation so we missed out on learning about worship here.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Florence M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

It was a great experience, from our hotel pick up to our return. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride on the Abrar down the creek, visiting the mosque and the Burj al Arab. The only problem was once we got to the bus, we were the first there, we then had to go around to all the hotels and pick up other customers and this took almost 2 hours. Bye the time we did our tour and then got back to our hotel it was almost 7 hours and I was dying for a drink. But luckily there was plenty at the hotel. Next time I would do the private tour with your own tour guide, it would be more personal and enjoyable.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

HUSAIMEE H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

The tour itself was not that interesting this time as we took the morning tour on a saturday and there was a lot of fog that restricted visibility.

The organisation was a little slow too, our pick up was on time, but had to swap to another much larger vehicle bus and wait for about 20 mins in the bus for another group to arrive. The final group was over 20 in size, so keep that in mind. Some of the facts and anecdotes by the guide were interesting but by and large we didn't really see all that much.

The museum was a big disappointment, I expected much more from a place as modern and well off as Dubai. Instead the exhibits were aged in a bad way and not well maintained, and not user friendlytiny writing and bad lighting. There was no crowd control and few emergency exits as the pathway wound down underground for one of the exhibition buildings and I kept thinking about what I would do with my family in the event of an emergency as we were crowded heavily together and could barely shuffle at some points. Staff at the museum seemed to have a couldn't care less attitude.

The mosque we went to was nothing special and I believe the big one in Abu Dhabi is spectacular, but on the other hand I'm a muslim and have been to a lot of different mosques around the world.

The souks were OK, but nothing really that unique compared to others I have been to and there were few if any actual locals running the shops but that is Dubai retail in a nut shell. Schedule at the souks depended on the courtesy of your fellow tour guests, as one late comer delayed us in the hot sun for 30 mins standing around doing nothing as the guide waited for him. Prices weren't that great either.

To be honest we had much more fun doing the Aquarium tour in Dubai Mall on our own. I would not recommend it unless you really wanted to burn 6 hours or so with absolutely nothing better to do.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

fiworbs

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

A good way to see se sights. However it was not particularly informative. For example it failed to mention one of the mosques it stops at (as a key destination) was closed. So I had to then wait 20mins in 45degree sunshine for the next bus. Do your own research before you go.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

jrssali

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a standard brief tour, we were picked up on time. Our minibus arrived at the first meet up point site to view the Burj Al-Arab... so we were told to wait outside the small bus drivers at the time did not give enough notice as to why we were waiting but insisted we take pictures - in the heat :S no one wanted to. We ended up waiting a nice long 30 minutes, I sat in the minibus as to avoid getting sunburnt or dehydrated. Once we got to finally board the bus, it was nice and perfectly air conditioned. I would recommend that women wear loose and airy clothing skirts or dresses - as you do not enter the mosque

The Jumeirah mosque was nice, a small mosque in the area but quite nice to look at you do not enter the mosque. We then headed to the Dubai Museum, instructed that we had 1 hour to explore - which I felt wasn't a great deal of time. The museum was perhaps the most interesting part of the tour.

We then headed to the Bur for an Abra ride laste no more than 3 minutes then over to the Souk. My biggest issue was the way I felt we were bein rushed, my husband and I didn't feel that 30 minutes were enough time for the grand/spice souk and most of the stalls were actually shut because we arrived so late it's an afternoon tour, plus maybe a friday is a bad day to tour it was a good strip however but we opted not to buy anything as we didn't want to be rushed and went back on another day.

Following this we had 50 minutes to waste in the Gold Souk, not one soul on the tour purchased anything from this place and we all actually got to the meet up point 10 minutes early - so I felt this was a bit of a waste. The same gold in over 80 of the shop windows, one or two photo worthy pieces but that was it really.

If you don't have much time in Dubai this is a good-ish intro to Dubai if it's a 3 day stay or less if you have time? Hop on the metro OR grab a taxi/rent a car and explore at your own pace. Or opt for a private tour if you are tight on time.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Michael W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We were picked up from our Hotel in an SUV and dropped off to a meeting point where we connected with the bus picking us up. The commentary was pretty dry and the list of destinations we were taken to included a beach, a mosque and a spice market. Along the way we got a pretty brief commentary on some of the things we drove past. We did get a chance to see some of the older parts of the city which we wouldn't ordinarily have seen. Perhaps a slightly more interested and enthusiastic guide would have made it a more memorable experience.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

cccarol626

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I did this tour on my first day in Dubai. It was a perfect way to get a feel for the city and gave me ideas of what to see more of. There was a little of everything. The Jumeriah Mosque was definitely a highlight. I came back to the mosque the next morning to attend a cultural tour of the mosque they have every morning at 10am. It was so worth it! I also enjoyed the boat ride on Dubai Creek and visiting the gold souk.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Colleen P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good tour, only saw the outside of the mosque due to the time we got there. Great to have time in the gold and spice souk.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Laurel-Lee R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A good way to get around Dubai, especially in the heat. Be careful to check what route you've boarded though - if you get on the wrong one, you'll need to do the full loop to rejoin the correct route. The free host ride on Dubai Creek was also good. Avoid Friday's if you want to see the Historic area properly or visit Jumeirrah Mosque, as many things are closed on Fridays.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Laurel-Lee R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A good way to get around Dubai, especially in the heat. Be careful to check what route you've boarded though - if you get on the wrong one, you'll need to do the full loop to rejoin the correct route. The free host ride on Dubai Creek was also good. Avoid Friday's if you want to see the Historic area properly or visit Jumeirrah Mosque, as many things are closed on Fridays.

Doing what: City Sightseeing Dubai Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Adrienne R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We only had a day in Dubai and we wanted to see everything so this tour was ideal for us. We were collected promptly from our hotel at 1pm and brought to the tour bus. We started with a photo stop at the Burj Al-Arab and saw the beautiful white beaches which were full of holidaymakers and locals.
The coach was air conditioned which was welcome in the hot sunshine. Second stop was at the Jumeirah Mosque which was very beautiful to see. We also loved the included visit to the Dubai Museum at the Al Fahidi Fort which offered a lot about the history of Dubai. A highlight was the trip across the busy Dubai Creek in an Abra water taxi to visit both the Spice Souk and the Gold Souk in the Deira old town area. We were dropped off at the Dubai Mall to see the Burj Khalifa from where we made our own way home. Our only regret was not seeing the The Palm Islands.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Catalin P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

It was a nice tour, but it had only two stops: the Dubai Museum and Jumeirah Public Beach.

Doing what: City Tour of New and Old Dubai

Christopher M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Average tour. We waited around for about 1 hour until the tour bus arrived. Once we got going we went to the mosque and also took a ride down Dubai Creek. After that we were hauled through the market area where the tour guide took us into jewelleries that seemed to be his friends businesses, encouraging us to purchase the jewellery.... This went on for about 1 hour. I'm sure there were lots of interesting places we could have seen if it weren't for this!

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Adrienne Y

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

the only part of the tour I enjoyed was riding the traditional boat/water taxi across the river the spice and gold market can be skipped there wasn't much to see at all. I didn't get to take a picture of the Burj Al-Arab hotel because that was the meeting point from my pick up to transfer to a coach bus...
The Jumeirah Mosque stop was more for photo snap opportunity: no chance to go inside.
The Dubai museum was interesting but you can go here yourself, without the tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

frances g

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

I booked this tour in March. A disappointment is an understatement.
I received no confirmation that we were booked in despite my card being charged. I e - mailed and no reply. Our Dubai hotel told that our tour was confirmed and that we would be picked up at 8.15

1. we were 45 minutes late being picked up just before 9am by an unkempt, unfriendly and rude driver. We were the only passengers. Not once did he tell us what was happening. We eventually picked up a family whose spoke Arabic. They were also annoyed as they were late being picked up.

2. After more driving around, the driver told us in Arabic I don't speak the language that we would have to get out of the mini bus and wait for the main bus to arrive. The family and the driver had a heated discussion in Arabic about this while we sat fearful between it all. Only the other passenger told my friend and I that the driver wanted to kick us out, we wouldn't know what was going on. The family and I refused to leave the mini bus in the middle of an unknown city! Awful, appalling start to our first visit to Dubai.

3. Main tour bus arrived and the guide and driver was friendly most of time. Around 2 in the afternoon, I asked when we would be having lunch and was shocked we could even think about food. He was mocking me and started rubbing my stomach and my friends telling us we eat so much already. How rude! we are size 10 girls. Gave us no time for shopping. Very strict and rigid.
4. Stopped for photos. Stopped at a gallery. Just a shop where we felt watched all the time and couldn't relax. Very forceful people working there.

5. We did not have lunch at the Musical Fountains. We had lunch in a restaurants where we told what we were having to eat. No choice whatsoever but the food was good. The tour group was starving by this stage.

6. We did not visit the Mosque.
7. The tour is advertised as being 8 hours - A lie.

Doing what: Full-Day Dubai Sightseeing Tour with Lunch at the Musical Fountains

Evy

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Tour was well organized. Tour Guide dr. Ali was funny. Nice sightseeing. Nice Mosque.
The Souk was not a great experience because the guide only stopped by his friends and you felt the pressure of selling. The Gold Souk was nice but a bit too long. Hearing the same things over and over again about gold. Would be better if we had visited the textile souk as well.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

christine w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Only minus on this trip was we were picked up at 8.30 but not able to begin the journey to Abu Dhabi on the bus until 9.30 Bus was comfortable the tour guide knowlegeable the places we were taken to great especially the Mosque Still can't fathom how some women do not heed the dress rule for the Mosque it is simple as explained on the web site Transfer back to the Hotel frustrating and took a lot of time

Doing what: 5-Hour Private City Tour of Dubai's Top Attractions: Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai Museum

laine.annakaisa

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The guide was really nice and helpful. He told meny interesting facts of Dubai. We saw a lot but time was too short. We didn't get into the mosque, so I think that was pointless stay. We could have had more time in spice souk. Watertaxi was nice experience.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Heidi E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

our driver was half an hour early for us and also in the other side - that has hounded us something. Actually, this tour was more of a taxi what has brought us 4 people to the individual locations. Along the way there was little information and we were sold everywhere and collected again after a certain time. In the mosque, we spent more than an hour. The lecture was interresting but I had hoped to see more of the rooms.

Doing what: 5-Hour Private City Tour of Dubai's Top Attractions: Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai Museum

Kristin E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Our driver/guide could barely speak English so we had to keep questions and conversation to a minimum. The Jumeirah Mosque is unimpressive, go to Abu Dhabi if you want to see a mosque worth visiting. Dubai Museum was a waste of time as well for a city that really has no history. You'd be better off exploring the city by Metro as the traffic can be ridiculous.

Doing what: 5-Hour Private City Tour of Dubai's Top Attractions: Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai Museum

Matthew D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Very poor. Didn't even see the Palm Island, Dubai Museum and only drove past the Mall of Emirates at a very fast speed. We were unable to walk see the Mosque well as we were instructed to stay on the other side of the road. We only saw Burj Khalifa because it was so big and visible everywhere we went. Did not even go 1km near it.

Doing what: 5-Hour Private City Tour of Dubai's Top Attractions: Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai Museum

Keith L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Due to being a long way from Dubai City we could not book the usual transfer from our hotel, however for a small fee transport was arranged by the tour company and as it happened this made the experience and tour even better. The taxi was a little earlier than planned and this enabled our excellent driver to point out a number of sites and experiences we may have normally missed. On arriving at the pick up point we were met by tour guide for the day Norman. Norman was great, found him very informative and knowledgeable, always having time to answer questions. Disappointments included visiting a Mosque but only being able to walk around the outside, a waste of time for me, people disappearing longer than the allocated time in the spice market, which subsequently reduced the time we had in the gold market. Overall an enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Dubai City Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message