Sharjah, the “Pearl of the Gulf,” is the third largest emirate and the only one to enjoy coastline on both the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. UNESCO designated this city close to Dubai as the Arab Capital of Culture in 1998, and it lives up to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mariawati O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sharjah is full of Islamic cultural tradition. Good trip to the blue souq. Recommended for the tour to be a full day instead of half day.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

K K R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Thank you very much for an excellent and interesting tour. Shiju, our driver, picked us up at the hotel and was patiently waiting at all the dfferent locations. We met Gamini our guide in Sharjah and throughout the tour he thoroughly explained the history of Sharjah, pointed out daily life issues, answered questions about the Islam, the UAE and its people and presented interesting buildings, museums, mosques, the renovated fort of Sharjah, and monuments. Most interesting for me was the museum of civilizations as well as the highly recommended Heritage Museum. I found this museum even more interesting than the one in Dubai. At the end there was a good opportunity to stroll through the Al Arsa Souk as well as through the Al Markazi souk.
Well worth. All together a good opportunity to explore an area outside of Dubai where the majority of the working families live, Sharjah, that showcases many more interesting museums and an exiting history. Konrad Richter, New Zealand

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent value. Our private guide Gabor was fantastic-he was extremely interesting and informative and very entertaining throughout. He took us to many interesting venues- especially the museums. Sharjah was a great place to visit even during Ramadan-it was far more relaxed than we expected as long as you observe a sensible dresscode. The locals were very friendly. We would definitely like to stay so we could see it in more depth and as an alternative to Dubai.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Melissa W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent, informative tour with a guide who really knew what he was talking about. I've lived in the UAE for several years and this has been the best tour so far. The guide has lived in Sharjah for many years and we found him really interesting to listen to. Would highly recommend tour.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

DAVID L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Since having problems with previous two tours in Dubai, we were given a different driver for this one. He was excellent and the tour was very interesting. He took us to the museum which was great and other places of interest. Plenty of photo stops. He didn't rush us and it was a very enjoyable morning. We were told by our previous day's guide that there was nothing to see in Sharjah. There was plenty. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sharjah City Highlights

Joanne P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Definitely would do again. Got to see traditional Arab buildings, mosques and the beautiful area of Sharjah.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

mick621

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Pick up on time from Dubai to Sharjah where tour commenced, about 30 min. Trip big day but worth doing. Saw enough to give idea of the country. Guide professional and informative. Day bigger than usual due to bad weather, rainstorm alternating sandstorm on way back. Driver competent and felt safe.

Doing what: Day Tour to the East Coast - Orient Express

Arjen K

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good busdriver and very knowledgeable tourguide from Jemen who spoke English and German. Liked visit to the old Mosque and Portuguese fort most. Would have liked more toilet opportunities, especially in the morning driving from Dubai to Sharjah first and then start the tour right away. By the time we had our first stop at the fruit market I was hurting to go to the toilet!

Doing what: Day Tour to the East Coast - Orient Express

win4768a

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Nice place, if it's a day trip that would be perfect.
I loved those heritage tours!
Thanked tour guide Stephen to whom I met twice during 6 days in Dubai. Also the driver sent us very early from Dubai to Sharjah. Viator network travel agents are well qualified, assist in my tours bookings always.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Han C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Tour starts from Sharjah. It would be more convenient to stay in a hotel in that area

Doing what: Day Tour to the East Coast - Orient Express

Anthony F Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Sharjah is really just an extension of Dubai, which I didn't find to be a very interesting place overall. Plenty of international designer shops if that's what you're into. The tour made a pleasant change from Dubai however and I would recommend it. It's easy to book this tour when you get there though.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

The guide was great. We learn so much about life in Dubai and we are quite hard tourists to satisfy. Traffic to Sharjah is crazy however this did not influence the tour, once the roads are finished the trip will be enjoyable. Town is worth seeing cause it is different from hectic Dubai. Life seem to be more peaceful in this emirate.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

A good intro to Sharjah. This tour was really nice but there were so many things we passed by that I would have liked to have seen also, or at least stopped for photos, that I think some additional time would make it even better. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and nice. I booked a taxi the next day and spent several more hours at the places we missed, something you can do fairly cheaply there.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Jeanette S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Sharjah was so different to Dubai with its government buildings, roundabouts with their sculptures to represent different aspects of the Emirates and Sharjah was definitely worth seeing. The tour leader was excellent.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Ahmed E

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I wish this tour was longer. Everything was rushed. I also wanted to visit the eye of the emirates in Sharjah but we only drove by.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

MATTHIAS M

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

It was nice to know a little bit about Sharjah, but by the end of the tour you get tired because of the amount of stops.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Chantal R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

If I could possibly give this tour less than 1 star I would. Firstly, the driver picked me up late despite the fact that the pick up time had been confirmed with me the night before. There was myself and 3 other passengers on the tour. The driver and the other passengers were all of the same nationality and spoke in their own language for the entire 1 hour drive to Sharjah and also the entire 1 hour drive back to Dubai despite my request for the driver to speak in English. His only response was I'm not the guide, I'm only the driver. however as far as I'm concerned, my tour starts as soon as I'm picked up and I expect to be treated well and not made to feel uncomfortable and left out. When we finally met the tour guide in Sharjah I was already feeling upset and like I had made a huge mistake booking this with this tour operator. Other tour companies I have used have spoken in multiple languages to ensure everyone is included and enjoying themselves - even the drivers. I wish I had used a different tour company. I will never use this tour operator again nor will I recommend them to anyone.

Doing what: Sharjah City Sightseeing Tour - The Pearl of the Gulf

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message