The city of Dubai sits within the Arabian Desert along the coast of the Persian Golf. The desert area surrounding Dubai, often called the Dubai Desert, is characterized by endless vistas of rolling sand dunes -- quite different from the gravelly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 765 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour and worth the money! You get an experience riding in the desert and the show itself was amazing. The camp is really fun with plenty of things to do.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Kate L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Don't wear mesh sneaker, you will get sand in your shoes. Best to wear boots or something you dont mind getting sandy. Food was amazing and plenty to eat. Bring a bottle of water for the ride from Dubai but after you arrive to the desert drinks were provided. Restroom facilities are available upon arrival in the desert and again at the camp where food is served. Bring a jacket for when the sun goes down if in the chillier months. This was the best Viator experience we took in Dubai.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

chris.e.hart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour group we went with, Orient Tours, was amazing. The Desert Safari was so well planned with a new attraction or experience at every turn. We got to try Dune Bashing, Sand Boarding, getting henna done, trying shisha and Arabic coffee, visiting a camel farm I chose not to ride the camels as I felt bad for how it was all tied up. Camel riding is an option for those who choose to participate and more!! It came with dinner and cultural dance show. Basically, everything you want to experience in a day.

I loved that we got to split out the Desert Safari and the Dubai City Tour into two different days. The Dubai City tour was also an amazing experience. The credit goes to our tour guide Ruben, who was extremely knowledgeable and taught me more about Dubai and UAE than I learned from anyone else in the 9 days that I was there.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Victoria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Loved this trip. Loads of fun and diverse activities to suit everyone and great to spend some time in the peace and open spaces of the desert - a real contrast to the craziness of Dubai.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Aubrey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was fun. Everyone should ride a camel once. It's a bit of work hanging on as the camel negotiates the ups and downs of the desert, but worth the experience. Once at our destination we sat on cushions with refreshments while a fascinating falconry demo took place. The sun was just setting. Then we headed for tent-like structures, open on one side, with low tables where we had dinner. After dinner there were many activities to try, all those listed on the Viator website. We enjoyed them all. This is worth doing and gives you a feel for many aspects of desert life.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities from Dubai

gifty India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Crazy Amazing!!!!!
My brother and I took this tour.
Our guide, Imran Chandio was a truly amazing person. He came to pick us up bang on time and extended us a kind welcome. We drove to the quad biking zone and Imran made sure we get our tickets for the quad bike soon and guided us wherever possible. We then drove to an assembly zone of the fleet. Where we had ample amount of time to take pictures. Imran told us about the desert and the city, little history. We then dune bashed into the endless desert, which was a thrilling experience, but all safety procedures were taken care of by imran. We then reached a photography point where we had amazing views to click and Imran was kind enough to assist us with the same. Then we were driven to the desert camp. The fire show and the dances were amazing. Imran ensured we get the right tables and food on time before it gets crowded. We were dropped back to our hotel on time, the drive back through the shimmering city was mesmerising. Over all we are glad we took this package.

Travel tip- carry a throw jacket, it gets chilly at night. Take a scarf and wet tissues, if it's windy you're bound to be soaked in the sand, while the photography sessions.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

knr2kute

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The ride through the desert was great. Both thrilling and scary. The Bedouin village was interesting. The dancers were very entertaining.

Doing what: Private Tour: 4x4 Desert Adventure Safari from Dubai

Bet Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I highly recommend this tour to anyone traveling to Dubai. Our guide,Khairy, was very knowledgable about all things Dubai.
Driving to the reserve he gave us an insight into the history of Dubai as well as an insight into modern day Dubai.
When we reached the reserve we transferred to the vintage land rovers and the drive through the desert was a great experience, and surprisingly comfortable. The camp,site was beautifully presented ............and again very well organised. The food available on the evening was of a high standard and there was plenty. Lots of fun having a henna tattoo, camel riding and enjoying the traditional dance.
A must do on your visit to Dubai and a big thank you to Khairy for making the trip so enjoyable.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Tina Pui Yum L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We love every bit of the tour!! Dune Bashing was a bit rough but we enjoyed it anyway and it's indeed an amazing experience. We got to try every activity with ample time and no hurry at all!! Highly recommend to everyone who wish to have a desert experience in a laid back way!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

FRANCIS R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The Desert Experience delivered as advertised. We are experienced and frequent world travelers and we try to pick an unique experience in destinations which will represent the culture and history of the locale and also provide us with memories. This Desert Experience certainly did. From an informative guide Hossan Jr and the driver Moussa congrats on Cameroon victory over Senegal to carefully planned itinerary, we were never disappointed.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

rhea s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This an amazing experience. took my daughter on this tour for her Sweet 16. We had fun riding the ATVs through the desert. My daughter enjoyed the camel ride. Perfect time to go in the desert is in the morning.

Doing what: Dubai Desert Morning Tour in 4x4 Vehicle: Camel Ride, Quad Bike Tour, Sandboarding and Camel Farm

Duane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I was in Dubai for a trade show so I scheduled this Desert Experience as an opportunity to get my sales team together. The event was a big hit and everyone had a great time. Our host was Mahmoud, who was absolutely great, and he picked us up at our hotel in Dubai and gave us very special attention throughout our tour. I would absolutely recommend this tour for anyone that wants to experience the great adventure that surrounds Dubai.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Lynn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had an excellent driver for this tour. He gave us a thrilling and fun drive on the desert. The evening buffet and entertainment is good and both my Husband and I enjoyed it all. . It is worth your money if you visit Dubai. Highly recommend...I like the Orient tour because they call you and let you know if they will be late by a few minutes. Some other tours don't inform you at all. Thank you Orient Tours

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Jane R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing experience- We were picked up by 4 wheel drive from our hotel and driven out into the desert via the Camel Hospital and race track. When we arrived at the sandhills we were given head scarfs to wear had to look the part then up on the camel which i though was going to be quite hard was very easy for me i am 67. Then we were off for about an hour of just slowly going through the desert, and just as the sun was starting to go down we arrived at our destination a beautiful carpeted area in the sand and a refreshing drink, to watch a falcon show. Amazing birds. Then we hopped back into the 4 wheel drive and off to their permanent camp in the desert for our 4 course dinner, and soft drinks. Well equipped with toilets, while it was a little warm under the canvas of the tents it was a beautiful night. I had a henna tattoo etched on my hand. A fantastic tour, and strongly recommend.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities from Dubai

Roszana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Literally a bird's eye view of the spectacular desert and the sun rising. Dubai city was also seen from where we were. The landing was quite an experience. Overall, a wonderful unforgettable adventure indeed!

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight Including Gourmet Breakfast and Falconry Demonstration

Mukund G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent experience wherein we got to see the true older customs of the Emiratis. The authentic food and dancing and other activities at the camp were very intriguing.

Even the trip out to the camp across the desert in an open-air vehicle was exciting though mildly uncomfortable due to blowing sand. Our excellent guide showed us how to cover up using the head scarves, and that was a great help. The falcon training and flights provided an unusual side show.

I have to commend our driver/guide for his paying special attention to my wife who required extra help to get in and out of the high jeep. That, added to his overall expertise and interesting anecdotes and obvious love for his job, made for a very pleasant experience.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Contessa Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a must do activity in Dubai. Super well organised activity. Our guide Aadil was outstanding providing lots of wonderful cultural and general information about Dubai and the experience we were about to take part in. We got picked up at 3pm from our hotel and then drove out to the desert to the camel meeting point or 4 wheel drive for those that opted for this activity. On the way we drove to the camel racetrack and saw some camel racing training taking place.
Before climbing on the camels we were dressed in our headgear. We then set off with our guide for a 45 minute fantastic camel ride over sand dunes through the desert as sunset approached. From there we got to a meeting point where we received a non alcoholic drink to watch the sunset and watch an impressive falconry display. At the end of the Falconry display there is also an opportunity to have photos with the falcon. We then moved into 4 wheel drives and drove a short distance to our campsite for a delicious dinner which included camel's milk and camel and other delights. Henna hand painting, dance displays both male and female, camp fire and shisha pipes were also available. We received great photos at a very reasonable price. At the end of the evening at approx 9pm we were returned to our hotel. Definitely the highlight of our Dubai trip.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities from Dubai

Sherrill T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic time. This visit is worth every penny, our guide Housamme included a stop to see the racing camels, these animals are lean and in beautiful condition, worth a visit. We then arrived at the start of our journey into the reserve we hopped on to an open top 1950's jeep, we were all given head scarves to cover our heads from the sand. Our journey included the history of the desert, our guide housamme explained that the Ghaf tree was an important part of a Bedouins life as the tree was used for medicinal purposes, the desert boasts of all sorts of animals but on this occasion we were only able to spot an oynx in the distance, still a beautiful sight. We stopped of to walk in the sand dunes, I have never seen sand that is so fine, just beautiful. Our next port of call was the falconry, were we were given a glass of juice on entrance and mats to sit on to enjoy the falconry display. On our way for our meal we did a bit of Dune bashing, which was quite fun. On entrance to the Bedouin camp, we were given the history of their coffee, we were shown the various stages from grinding the coffee bean to the finished product, and then given a taster of the coffee. Our guide Housamme showed us to our table, we were greeted with various salads, Arab breads and sauces, the starters were delicious. There were various cold drinks, bottled water, fizzy drinks and hot drinks, coffee, tea and hot chocolate to choose from. We lined up to a hot buffet, the meat on offer was lamb, camel in a sauce, chicken kebabs, rice, all deliciously cooked, deserts included honey donuts and fresh fruit. The entertainment included a lady dancing the hair dance and a group of guys dancing the traditional Arab way. We enjoyed the activities which included riding a camel and having a henna tattoo. the whole experience was just wonderful and helped with the fact we had the most amazing guide, whom we never stopped laughing with. Houssame thank you, you made our trip to the desert a memorable occasion.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Kirstin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

With only a short stay possible in Dubai, this was top of our list and we were not disappointed. Amit our able guide picked us up and with a relaxed humorous demeanor tended to our every need. After a 1 hour drive into the desert, a generous camel ride was followed by an informative falconry display and drive t o'camp' for an equally generous meal. No 1 on Trip Advisor for a reason....

Doing what: Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities from Dubai

Elaine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour - one definitely to do if you want to make the most of a short trip to Dubai. we were collected on time from our hotel for an hour long drive to the desert where we joined up with other cars from the same company for a convoy over the dunes, which was fairly exhilarating. The camel riding was quite tame - one small circle - but it was good to get to ride on a camel. the sandboarding was good and there was also henna tattoos and a souk at the camp. The meal was good with plenty of food important for our teenage sons! and the shows were good too, with a very relaxed atmosphere.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Miguel U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The best tour combo ever if you go to Dubai! The views are beyond words and the desert safari was so much fun! The only little thing you have to be aware of is that the hotel pickup service is only offered for the safari, not the helicopter tour so please plan ahead accordingly.
100 recommended!

Doing what: Dubai Combo: Helicopter Flight and Desert Camp Experience by 4x4

Olga S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Perfectly organised tour. Nur, our driver was very professional, we enjoyed the ride on the dunes very much. Christmas Eve in the desert is unforgettable. Santa arrived on a camel wishing a merry Christmas, that was funny.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Francine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Luxury Desert Experience was the highlight of our Dubai trip. We totally enjoyed this amazing tour.

Doing what: Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Jasveen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour! Desert Safari was fun, but dinner wasn't that great. I also enjoyed the souks and the dubai museum during the city tour.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message