The city of Dubai sits within the Arabian Desert along the coast of the Persian Golf. The desert area surrounding Dubai, often called the Dubai Desert, is characterized by endless vistas of rolling sand dunes -- quite different from the gravelly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 664 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

carolecirucci

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Totally enjoyed the desert safari--I thought the city tour was a bit long --I really could have skipped the first stop at the beach which was long ride from the city--our guide was well spoken and knowledgeable--really enjoy the spice and gold souk and the boat ride on the Dubai canal--

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

estellekorsnes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The ride to the meeting point for the city tour was long and boring. The driver did not speak to us the whole way. The first part of the city tour was also boring but the museum, boat ride and the souks were good. The desert safari was great fun and the tour was well run..

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Nicola S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I throughly enjoyed my Camel safari trip. Everyone was very professional and i found it was highly organised. i had done a desert safari with another company 3 years ago and i can say that this was the best value for money
I can not fault anything, and i highly recommend this tour. You won't be disappointed

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Raymond United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Desert Experience is possibly the best tour I have ever been on. I travel the world, and nothing has impressed me as much as this tour. The tour was very organize and thoughtfully planned. From the pick up at my hotel to the return to the hotel everything went excellently. The camel safari was incredible, the falcon show very interesting , the dinner most enjoyable and delicious. I highly recommend this tour, it is a MUST DO when you are in Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

leoste

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The 4 wheel driving in the desert was even better than expected. Mohan our tour guide was excellent, he answered all our questions on the drive out to the desert and made sure we knew exactly what was going on thru out the whole tour. He even speaks 4 languages! Great driver too. Very important!
Highly recommend his tour.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Andrej S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great experience, breath taking! It was great to see the desert up close as the contrast of nearby skyscrapers!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Keaton T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Riding through the desert was really fun! We had a great driver who went above and beyond for us offering to take photos and telling us all about the culture. The food was good and the camp was fun. It wasn't as hot as I expected it to be, which was nice.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Charlie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a really fun trip! My driver, Ram was very experience and the lead driver, Daniel led the convoy through some of the most fun desert routes, at times travelling at 45 degrees on the slope of the soft sand dunes. Better than a roller coaster ride.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

debbie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A totally amazing experience we would recommend this to anyone! Botir was our guide for the entire evening was very friendly and provide us with a lot of detailed information about the UAE, Dubai customs and camels even taking a slight detour to show us some camel being trained for racing on the way out of Dubai which added to the experience.

The guide who took us out on the camels could not have been more welcoming making sure we were happy and comfortable throughout the 45 minute camel ride and stopped to take plenty of photos for us using our own camera. There were 3 groups for the camels but each went off separately in smaller groups of 3 or less, so you really felt alone in the desert.

We arrived for the falcon display which was at sunset - although Bolt the falcon was a little reluctant to perform at first he did provide an interesting display even landing in the group at one point! This was followed by a magical evening in the bedouin camp, with dancing and great food. Then it was time for an astronomy talk and a look at Saturn - something I didn't think I would be interested in but it was really good. This trip is worth the extra money and was the best trip of our stay in Dubai.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

charmaine.lobo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We have just come back from a stopover in Dubai, and would highly recommend this tour. As it was about 45 degs during the day, I booked a morning safari, but be warned, it's still very hot out there! Our guide picked us up as expected, although I called the day before to confirm I'd given the right hotel information. He was lovely, although unfortunately I can't remember his name, something like Winjata? I mention this because he was great to chat to and just a really nice guy and I hope someone lets him know! There were 5 of us in the 4x4, and only 1 of the group was chatty, the others not so, and this makes a huge difference to your trip. There was plenty of water, and toilet facilities once you get to the desert. The quad biking was awesome, and having done some research, I would really recommend wearing long trousers and long sleeved clothing - you will burn otherwise! Don't forget your sunglasses too. You get given a helmet and are guided and feel safe at all times. I got stuck going up a dune but with the breaks on, you don't move and my guide came running over to help. The sand duning was fun but I could only manage to go down once. That's the easy part, i had a minor asthma attack trying to walk back up the dune, it's exhausting even though you wouldn't think so. Also i was wearing sandals, and the sand was BURNING my feet!! I can't describe the pain! You then do some camel riding for about 10-15mins. My first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. All in all, absolutely fabulous. Thank you so much to the guides for making it such an enjoyable first experience.

Doing what: Dubai Desert Morning Tour in 4x4 Vehicle: Camel Ride, Quad Bike Tour, Sandboarding and Camel Farm

cccarol626

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I was so, so glad I booked the Luxury Desert Experience. It was more expensive, but worth every penny! Our small group was taken to a private game reserve just a little over an hour from Dubai. Everything was ready for the experience we each had signed up for. I wanted to ride a camel. It was so much fun and so perfect! We rode for about 45 min. We saw lots of gazelles. We rode until just about sunset, which was also perfect. Next, we all met for the Falcon demonstration. At first I didn't think I would be interested in this, but I really enjoyed it. Then it was off to the Bedouin camp for dinner and Emirati activities. The dinner was superb! The entertainment was perfect. This was the best tour I think I have ever done!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Alison S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great trip. Picked up on time. Had a fantastic camel ride in desert and watched falcon demonstration as the sun set. The camp was great. We were well catered for with the food and drink. Great astronomy talk at the end of the night. Flushing toilets a plus! Everyone friendly and helpful great trip

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

IzzarshahKhan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour driver picked us up at our hotel right on time around 2:45pm and picked other passengers along the way. Then there was a 30-40 minutes drive to the meeting point at the desert in Sharjah. There you will be given the chance to snap a few pictures at the desert while they let out the air from the tires. Bear in mind no drinks were served in the 4x4 so you have to bring your own snacks and drinks.

When all were prepared and ready, we drove through desert bumps and hills. It was a fun 30 minutes rollercoaster-like ride. Really an experience you should go through once in your life.

After that they drove us to a camel village for 15 minutes, and then to the Bedouin village. There you can do sand boarding, camel riding, an optional Quadbike riding that cost extra. We were served with free water and soft drinks, besides that you have to pay on your own beer, wine, juice, etc..

While waiting for the BBQ, you can smoke free sishawater pipe, drink arab coffee, do henna tattoo, buy souvenirs or maybe just relax to take a break. After BBQ dinner we were entertained by the belly dance performance.

It was a great one day experience and I would recommend who hasn't done it to go with it once. Not recommended during summer time July, August, September as the weather is excruciatingly hot during those months 45 degrees Celcius.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Valeria E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a fantastic experience!! I recommend this trip 100pct, I went by myself and I never felt I was alone, the service was amazing, the desert incredible, the food delicious. you must go if you have the opportunity

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

PRAVEEN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice Desert Safari - it lived up to all the reviews I read while booking it! It was the highlight of our Dubai Trip.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

AYANA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome trip! It's an absolute must on your Dubai checklist! I did the City Sightseeing one the first day and then Desert Safari on the second. Desert Safari was the perfect way to end my trip. The tour guides were very knowledgeable of the different landmarks and were able to give a lot of insight to various cultures and history of Dubai. The Desert safari excursion was worth every cent. Food was amazing and so was the entertainment! Camelriding and sandsurfing was free of charge and made trip so worthwhile. Awesommmeee package!!

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

catalinaflyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Where do I start with this review? This was the absolute best tour for the money I have ever experienced period!

We started day 1 with the city tour which included stops at Jumeirah Beach, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai museum, Dubai Creek via water taxi and finally the Spice and Gold Souks. Our guide spoke fluent English and German so he was able to communicate to everyone on our tour by taking the time to explain in both languages.

The tour itself was very immersive in Dubai, it's history and where it's at today without feeling long and drawn out or rushed. We were given a narrative at each stop about where we were then given just the right amount of time to explore and even shop. As a side note when I first booked this and looked at the itinerary I didn't see any way to cram everything into the amount of time given. I was wrong, it's the perfect amount of time to experience everything included!

Day 2 was the desert safari for us and I will start off by saying you MUST request Abdul to be your driver, he was amazing and took this part of our experience to the next level! He didn't follow all the rest of the Land Cruisers rather he turned right when they went left and took us to the very edge of what the vehicle was capable of without pushing it into feeling unsafe! Abdul is a true professional driver as well as a true professional guide.

The dune bashing was amazing and just like day 1 everything we experienced was just right without getting boring or feeling rushed.

The Bedouin Camp was the highlight of our trip to Dubai, takes everyone back in time before the big money build up yet retains just the right amount of modern amenities to keep everyone happy. There was plenty for everyone to experience, an endless supply of free cold drinks from soda to water with a selection of mixed drinks/beer for additional cost. And finally the dinner was amazing with something for every pallet.

If your visiting Dubai this is a must tour!! 5 Stars isn't enough.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

WOW!!! This was by far the best tour we've booked and we've used Viator all over the world. Our driver of the jeep picked us up at our hotel, drove us out into the desert for the dune ride about an hour and really fun, drove us to the camel farm, and drove us to our final location for dinner, camel rides, henna, and sand boarding. The price was amazing and they even provided pictures of the entire day for very little cost. Highly Recommend - it is a MUST when visiting Dubai!!!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Georgette A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lots of fun and just a small taste of the desert.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Chrishawn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG. First off let me say that this was the most enjoyable part of my Dubai trip. I was highly anticipating this activity and it did not disappoint. We had a very pleasant driver that showed up to my hotel for pick up on-time.
We made a few more stops to pick up others, a total of 6. We all were around the same age, so it was a great group. Our first real stop was at a local store in a remote area where we got head wraps and turbans. The locals just came up to us and started tying the wraps on our head so we assumed that it was apart of the package but it was not, so we end up paying because at that point it would have been weird to just give the turbans back to them.
Next was the actual fun. We drove for about 10mins then we were in the most beautiful desert, don't recall the name. We waited for about 1min for 5 more trucks with others to arrive and out of no where my driver just went dashing over the edge, LOL, it was so exciting because we weren't expecting that. It felt like we were going to turn over a few times but my driver was very skilled. I sat in the front seat and laughed the entire time, however one of the guys in the back got sick so we had to slow down.
We drove another 10mins to get the camp which had food, drinks and more activities. We took turns riding the camel and taking photos, and some of us rode 4 wheels which was separate. We all got food then sat down for the shows. There were 3 entertainers in total who were all AMAZING. I would say that the male fire dancer was the most exciting, and the spinning guy was nothing short of amazing. The last performer was a belly dancer who was very beautiful, she also did a sword dance.
By this time it was already night and we went back out and did more dashing

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Gaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the city tour on the first afternoon and the desert safari on the 2nd day. I would definitely recommend this combination as the operator, Orient Tours, were very professional and well organised.

The highlight of the city tour was the Dubai Museum followed by the spice market and creek crossing. Our guide was Dylan and he was extremely well informed and gave a very good commentary and advice.

The Desert Safari was the star of this tour combo. Despite the scary dune bashing, the Landcruiser we were in was very comfortable and the air con worked well. It was driven expertly by our driver Sahib who was considerate to our needs. He explained that the drivers receive specific training and they know the terrain very well. I felt safe despite being driven at steep angles up, down and around the sand dunes.

There was a loo stop on the way and we were given an opportunity to buy water for the journey which is essential to take with you. We were picked up at 3pm and dropped back to our hotel by 10pm so it was a long tour but good value.

When we reached the desert camp we were given the opportunity to do lots of additional activities: riding a camel, a quad bike and sand surfing. Other optional activities included getting a henna tattoo, holding a falcon for a photo and smoking a water pipe this I didn't do.

The BBQ was very good quality and there was plenty of choice for around 100 people in the camp. There was even coffee and tea with Arabic sweets. The entertainment was really incredible - a traditional dancer spun for around 15 minutes with a brightly coloured costume which lit up and separated into different tiers during the performance. It was mesmerising. A bonus of the trip was that there were photographers who compiled pictures taken during the tour and we could buy them on an SD card for around 20. Considering there were 3 of us in our group this was an excellent service and it was delivered within a few hours to our hotel room.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Stephen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is a wonderful way to experience real Arab culture. Dubai is a big city with skyscraper after skyscraper but the desert Safari is definitely worth doing. We had a wonderful tour guide who was really helpful and answered all our questions. camel experience and dining was top class well done

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely one of the best tours! For day 1, I chose the city sightseeing in order to get familiar with my surroundings. Included was a trip to the museum which looked incredibly tiny from the outside. But once inside, you'll be pleasantly surprised to see that it is really a huge museum! This tour also included a trip to the spice and gold souks. Glad that we stopped at the gold souk for a shopping trip as a tour group. The vendors were TOO aggressive which would have made me extremely uncomfortable if shopping alone. For day 2, I enjoyed the desert safari. The off-roading as a caravan was a big surprise to me. I wasn't expecting it, but really enjoyed it! But be warned, if you don't like roller-coaster types of movement, the off-roading may be hard to swallow. Loved the stop at the camel farm. Great opportunities to take photos of the camels. Once at the camp, was a great time to slow down and relax. This is an absolutely great tour and I'd highly recommend it! Excellent chance to get out of the hustle of the city and see the actual desert--camels and all.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Bonnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of our month long adventure in Arabia!
We were picked up at our hotel on time and drove about an hour out of Dubai into some of the most beautiful deserts I've seen. After a quick stop for those who wanted to try 44s off we went. Our group of six ranged in age from 20s to 60s.
We arrived at the most stunning desert. In the late afternoon it was turning from pink to red. Then the fun began! We flew up dunes then came down side ways - never sure if we'd land upright - sand flying over the SUV. I can only compare it to being caught in a storm at sea or riding the waves on Hawaii's North Shore! While this was going on there were many others SUVs trying to catch us or cut us off!
What a great job to have. They were skilled drivers but having as much fun as kids - trying to impress and scare their guests. Our little group never stopped laughing and screaming!
After we stopped to take photos and watch a spectacular sunset over the red desert...Then off to a Beduin Village for dinner and entertainment.
Great trip!
Cannot recommend this enough. Will definitely do this again!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message