The city of Dubai sits within the Arabian Desert along the coast of the Persian Golf. The desert area surrounding Dubai, often called the Dubai Desert, is characterized by endless vistas of rolling sand dunes -- quite different from the gravelly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 648 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

IzzarshahKhan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour driver picked us up at our hotel right on time around 2:45pm and picked other passengers along the way. Then there was a 30-40 minutes drive to the meeting point at the desert in Sharjah. There you will be given the chance to snap a few pictures at the desert while they let out the air from the tires. Bear in mind no drinks were served in the 4x4 so you have to bring your own snacks and drinks.

When all were prepared and ready, we drove through desert bumps and hills. It was a fun 30 minutes rollercoaster-like ride. Really an experience you should go through once in your life.

After that they drove us to a camel village for 15 minutes, and then to the Bedouin village. There you can do sand boarding, camel riding, an optional Quadbike riding that cost extra. We were served with free water and soft drinks, besides that you have to pay on your own beer, wine, juice, etc..

While waiting for the BBQ, you can smoke free sishawater pipe, drink arab coffee, do henna tattoo, buy souvenirs or maybe just relax to take a break. After BBQ dinner we were entertained by the belly dance performance.

It was a great one day experience and I would recommend who hasn't done it to go with it once. Not recommended during summer time July, August, September as the weather is excruciatingly hot during those months 45 degrees Celcius.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Valeria E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a fantastic experience!! I recommend this trip 100pct, I went by myself and I never felt I was alone, the service was amazing, the desert incredible, the food delicious. you must go if you have the opportunity

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

PRAVEEN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very nice Desert Safari - it lived up to all the reviews I read while booking it! It was the highlight of our Dubai Trip.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

AYANA M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Awesome trip! It's an absolute must on your Dubai checklist! I did the City Sightseeing one the first day and then Desert Safari on the second. Desert Safari was the perfect way to end my trip. The tour guides were very knowledgeable of the different landmarks and were able to give a lot of insight to various cultures and history of Dubai. The Desert safari excursion was worth every cent. Food was amazing and so was the entertainment! Camelriding and sandsurfing was free of charge and made trip so worthwhile. Awesommmeee package!!

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

catalinaflyer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Where do I start with this review? This was the absolute best tour for the money I have ever experienced period!

We started day 1 with the city tour which included stops at Jumeirah Beach, Jumeirah Mosque, Dubai museum, Dubai Creek via water taxi and finally the Spice and Gold Souks. Our guide spoke fluent English and German so he was able to communicate to everyone on our tour by taking the time to explain in both languages.

The tour itself was very immersive in Dubai, it's history and where it's at today without feeling long and drawn out or rushed. We were given a narrative at each stop about where we were then given just the right amount of time to explore and even shop. As a side note when I first booked this and looked at the itinerary I didn't see any way to cram everything into the amount of time given. I was wrong, it's the perfect amount of time to experience everything included!

Day 2 was the desert safari for us and I will start off by saying you MUST request Abdul to be your driver, he was amazing and took this part of our experience to the next level! He didn't follow all the rest of the Land Cruisers rather he turned right when they went left and took us to the very edge of what the vehicle was capable of without pushing it into feeling unsafe! Abdul is a true professional driver as well as a true professional guide.

The dune bashing was amazing and just like day 1 everything we experienced was just right without getting boring or feeling rushed.

The Bedouin Camp was the highlight of our trip to Dubai, takes everyone back in time before the big money build up yet retains just the right amount of modern amenities to keep everyone happy. There was plenty for everyone to experience, an endless supply of free cold drinks from soda to water with a selection of mixed drinks/beer for additional cost. And finally the dinner was amazing with something for every pallet.

If your visiting Dubai this is a must tour!! 5 Stars isn't enough.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

WOW!!! This was by far the best tour we've booked and we've used Viator all over the world. Our driver of the jeep picked us up at our hotel, drove us out into the desert for the dune ride about an hour and really fun, drove us to the camel farm, and drove us to our final location for dinner, camel rides, henna, and sand boarding. The price was amazing and they even provided pictures of the entire day for very little cost. Highly Recommend - it is a MUST when visiting Dubai!!!

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Georgette A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Lots of fun and just a small taste of the desert.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Chrishawn D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG. First off let me say that this was the most enjoyable part of my Dubai trip. I was highly anticipating this activity and it did not disappoint. We had a very pleasant driver that showed up to my hotel for pick up on-time.
We made a few more stops to pick up others, a total of 6. We all were around the same age, so it was a great group. Our first real stop was at a local store in a remote area where we got head wraps and turbans. The locals just came up to us and started tying the wraps on our head so we assumed that it was apart of the package but it was not, so we end up paying because at that point it would have been weird to just give the turbans back to them.
Next was the actual fun. We drove for about 10mins then we were in the most beautiful desert, don't recall the name. We waited for about 1min for 5 more trucks with others to arrive and out of no where my driver just went dashing over the edge, LOL, it was so exciting because we weren't expecting that. It felt like we were going to turn over a few times but my driver was very skilled. I sat in the front seat and laughed the entire time, however one of the guys in the back got sick so we had to slow down.
We drove another 10mins to get the camp which had food, drinks and more activities. We took turns riding the camel and taking photos, and some of us rode 4 wheels which was separate. We all got food then sat down for the shows. There were 3 entertainers in total who were all AMAZING. I would say that the male fire dancer was the most exciting, and the spinning guy was nothing short of amazing. The last performer was a belly dancer who was very beautiful, she also did a sword dance.
By this time it was already night and we went back out and did more dashing

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Gaby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the city tour on the first afternoon and the desert safari on the 2nd day. I would definitely recommend this combination as the operator, Orient Tours, were very professional and well organised.

The highlight of the city tour was the Dubai Museum followed by the spice market and creek crossing. Our guide was Dylan and he was extremely well informed and gave a very good commentary and advice.

The Desert Safari was the star of this tour combo. Despite the scary dune bashing, the Landcruiser we were in was very comfortable and the air con worked well. It was driven expertly by our driver Sahib who was considerate to our needs. He explained that the drivers receive specific training and they know the terrain very well. I felt safe despite being driven at steep angles up, down and around the sand dunes.

There was a loo stop on the way and we were given an opportunity to buy water for the journey which is essential to take with you. We were picked up at 3pm and dropped back to our hotel by 10pm so it was a long tour but good value.

When we reached the desert camp we were given the opportunity to do lots of additional activities: riding a camel, a quad bike and sand surfing. Other optional activities included getting a henna tattoo, holding a falcon for a photo and smoking a water pipe this I didn't do.

The BBQ was very good quality and there was plenty of choice for around 100 people in the camp. There was even coffee and tea with Arabic sweets. The entertainment was really incredible - a traditional dancer spun for around 15 minutes with a brightly coloured costume which lit up and separated into different tiers during the performance. It was mesmerising. A bonus of the trip was that there were photographers who compiled pictures taken during the tour and we could buy them on an SD card for around 20. Considering there were 3 of us in our group this was an excellent service and it was delivered within a few hours to our hotel room.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Stephen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip is a wonderful way to experience real Arab culture. Dubai is a big city with skyscraper after skyscraper but the desert Safari is definitely worth doing. We had a wonderful tour guide who was really helpful and answered all our questions. camel experience and dining was top class well done

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Brenda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely one of the best tours! For day 1, I chose the city sightseeing in order to get familiar with my surroundings. Included was a trip to the museum which looked incredibly tiny from the outside. But once inside, you'll be pleasantly surprised to see that it is really a huge museum! This tour also included a trip to the spice and gold souks. Glad that we stopped at the gold souk for a shopping trip as a tour group. The vendors were TOO aggressive which would have made me extremely uncomfortable if shopping alone. For day 2, I enjoyed the desert safari. The off-roading as a caravan was a big surprise to me. I wasn't expecting it, but really enjoyed it! But be warned, if you don't like roller-coaster types of movement, the off-roading may be hard to swallow. Loved the stop at the camel farm. Great opportunities to take photos of the camels. Once at the camp, was a great time to slow down and relax. This is an absolutely great tour and I'd highly recommend it! Excellent chance to get out of the hustle of the city and see the actual desert--camels and all.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Bonnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the highlights of our month long adventure in Arabia!
We were picked up at our hotel on time and drove about an hour out of Dubai into some of the most beautiful deserts I've seen. After a quick stop for those who wanted to try 44s off we went. Our group of six ranged in age from 20s to 60s.
We arrived at the most stunning desert. In the late afternoon it was turning from pink to red. Then the fun began! We flew up dunes then came down side ways - never sure if we'd land upright - sand flying over the SUV. I can only compare it to being caught in a storm at sea or riding the waves on Hawaii's North Shore! While this was going on there were many others SUVs trying to catch us or cut us off!
What a great job to have. They were skilled drivers but having as much fun as kids - trying to impress and scare their guests. Our little group never stopped laughing and screaming!
After we stopped to take photos and watch a spectacular sunset over the red desert...Then off to a Beduin Village for dinner and entertainment.
Great trip!
Cannot recommend this enough. Will definitely do this again!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

elconzen93

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding tour, great hosts/guides. The perfect length tour, pick up in late afternoon and return in the evening. This has everything needed in a tour: Desert drive with info about flora/fauna, falconry show, camels, dinner and a show. Excellent food.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

ashley f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was very excellent and exciting...u ride throught the desert in land cruiser trucks, but there and #39;s like 100 sorta like chasing each other..up and down the dunes..the driver was very enthusiastic and Super friendly. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Nicholas L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This experience was absolutely wonderful! The guide and the pick up were excellent, but the real fun started out in the desert! The camel ride was wonderful and the desert camp was excellent, with great food and entertainment. Would reccomend this trip to anyone!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Mariawati O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A very exciting experience.. Good view of the Arabian desert. Our pilot (Andrew) is very well experience. Good value of money, a recommended activity!!!

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

Matt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

First of all, be forewarned: if you get motion sick, this tour may not be for you. Either that, or make sure you take a triple dose of Dramamine because you will vomit. Multiple times. In the middle of the desert. With a minimum of four strangers watching you.

That being said, this was an incredible excursion. The dune bashing was super fun until I tossed my cookies, and I can imagine would have been even more fun for the rest of the car if the driver wasn't forced to stop every few minutes. Once we reached the Bedouin camp, we were able to all enjoy the dance shows, falcon display, henna tattoos and all the other activities available at the camp. The food was particularly good. I would try this tour again if I return to Dubai, even despite its effects on my equilibrium.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

xoskyeeee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Definitely a must do while in Dubai. This tour is great, especially for the price. We had the best tour guide which made our experience even more delightful and enjoyable. Highly recommend to everyone considering a desert safari while in Dubai!

Doing what: Red Dune Bashing in Dubai Including Desert Camp Experience with BBQ Dinner

Sonya N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Yaser was on time, we got a call about when we would be picked up well in advance, we picked up a few more people and went on our desert open jeep drive with headdresses he provided and tied for us. HE explained in detail what the program was and followed it all. The falcon show, open jeep drive, camel ride and dinner were the highlight of our trip. THe hospitality at dinner was unparalleled, what a great group of people!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

ASJ India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The desert safari was phenomenal from start to finish. We got to see the real desert and all the activities were interesting right from the dune bashing to the camel ride at the farm and then to the desert camp. The camp was set up very aesthetically and was comfortable. The camp entertainment was fun from the henna, falcon holding and the dancers were brilliant! The food was good too and the organizers courteous and helpful. Camp maintenance right down to the restrooms was neat and clean.
Suggestion: 1. As there were many people from across the globe it would be nice to have some optional ice-breaker activity for the people to get to know each others experiences.
2. Liquid handwash would be better instead of the soaps in the restrooms.

Doing what: 4x4 Dubai Desert Safari with Dune Bashing, Sandboarding, Camel Riding and BBQ Dinner

Caroline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was so well organised and as described Tour guide Sam fantastic - very informative throughout whole day. Camel ride fabulous - really got a sense of the peace of the desert. Not enough room here to say everything but well worth the money - if you only do one trip then do this one!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

dusiewiczj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Worth every penny. The views are stunning. The sunrise is stunning. The desert is stunning. If only there was a champagne toast at the end ha! :

Doing what: Dubai Hot Air Balloon Flight

dusiewiczj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I booked this based on reading other people's reviews and it was worth every penny. The driver was so informal on our drive to the desert, the 45 minute camel ride was no doubt the best part of my Dubai trip. You and your thoughts on top of a camel as the sun is setting strolling up and down the sand dunes . . . the most zen moment in my life. I was a solo traveler and the family of 4 who I sat with and drove with were so lovely and we got to enjoy the experience together! I loved getting henna, the food was delicious ahhh I just want to go back. Book book book! Thank you for such a memorable last night in Dubai!

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Camel Safari with Dinner and Emirati Activities with Transport from Dubai

Margret W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Would highly recommend.! Every activity during the safari was enchanting. Loved the camel ride, the desert at night , and the good food.

Doing what: Luxury Desert Experience: Dinner and Emirati Activities with Vintage Land Rover Transport from Dubai

Chelsea D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved the city tour and desert safari. The safari was particularly popular with our kids who had a fantastic time dune bashing, camel riding and sand boarding. The meal was very nice at the desert camp and we enjoyed the dancing too. There is a photographer on the safari taking photos as you go. Make sure you purchase the USB it will be delivered to your hotel the next morning because it is inexpensive and you get heaps of stunning photos.

Doing what: Dubai Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour and Desert Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message