Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 482 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip has variety we got to see two castles and the lovely shipping town of Cork. Our bus driver and tour guide, Jonathan, was fantastic and very knowledgeable not only about Irish history but about nearly every part of the landscape we drove through. Made time on the bus very entertaining. We had great weather, cold but clear and even though each place we visited had people, we did not need to wait very long anywhere. November is a great time of the year to come and see the sites. Really well-organized tour.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even in the pouring rain, was still able to appreciate and enjoy the Cork and Blarney Castle tours. The rail tours are fabulous and the Ireland's countryside is worth exploring!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

sarj9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time. I got to see the Rock of Cashel as well as the Blarney Castle. Gabriel was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

rowdydance United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was Great. Adelle our guide was really nice and funny. The only thing id have asked for was maybe 10 more minutes or so shopping time at Blarney Castle and Cork City! She and the driver were also kind enough to invite and suggest a great eatery in Cork that was well priced w a huge portion of food. It was second time to Blarney and i had my cousin and a friend with me , we all thoroughly enjoyed the trip fo rsure!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Kelly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I am normally not a fan of tours because there are so many people and you don't get to spend much time wherever you are. This tour with Rabbie's was the complete opposite! The group was only 16 people maximum number and because we were in a smaller bus we could go places that the larger buses could to get to. Even though the tour was short, we saw so much and got a lot of history behind what we were seeing. You have the evenings free to visit the pubs and hang out.

My tour guide, Patrick, was AWESOME. His love for his country just shinned through and he was so knowledgeable of Ireland. He was so much fun. He sang and danced for us as well as educate us about their sports. I was planning on visiting where my Grandmother grew up the following week after the tour and I talked with Patrick about this. While the tour group was off looking at another castle, Patrick looked into the various bus routes and gave me some possible ways to get to that village. He certainly didn't have to do that and I was so touched that he did.

I traveled alone so by the time the tour ended un Dublin, I felt like I was leaving family. The tour group got along so well and it made me wish I was jumping on the next tour!

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. If this is your first time Ireland, or if you want a better view and understanding of the country, then this is the tour you should go on! You will be taken very good care of and will leave with a greater love for this beautiful country. If you are fortunate enough to have Patrick for your guide then you are in for a treat! I will definitely be taking another Rabbie's tour in the future.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Tina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Joseph......the coach driver and the guide.... is the man LBA card and a tip for him. Yes he is legit nuts in a good way... he talks and sings and talks and sings and he sure can tell a tale and hold a tune. At 645 am I didn't know to laugh or cry when I met this leprechaun on a permanent caffeine drip but he had me laughing throughout the day and evening and was probably by far the best guide I had on all 7 tours I did while in Ireland. He just needs to go a wee bit slow the first 15-20 minutes or so until our coffee kicks in. Over all this was a great tour THE first stop is The Rock of Cashel, Joseph takes you there first because no one else is there which was awesome......great photos. Then on to Cork for Lunch...plenty of stores to shop and we took the guides recommendation and went to the English market where we had Sausage, potatoes and onions in a box one of the best things I ate on my whole trip just follow the smell once you enter the market you will find them. Then on to kiss the Blarney stone at Blarney Castle and you get a few hours there to take photos and walk the grounds plenty of places to get great shots including the waterfalls and the cave by the castle. We then went into the small town and sipped a pint of Guinness by the fire before heading back to the coach. This is a must do trip, this was my second favorite trip in Dublin next to the Cliff of Moher.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Thomas D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a tour well worth taking. Our guide/bus driver's name was Liam. He was knowledgeable and gave us history all along the trip. There were three stops, The Rock of Cashel which is a must see, Blarney Castle - and yes we did kiss the Blarney Stone, and Cork which we could have done without. We stopped for shopping but I would have preferred more time in Blarney. I love using Viator as your tours are excellent.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tudorel A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Blarney Castle is a medieval stronghold in Blarney near Cork, Ireland, and the River Martin. Though earlier fortifications were built on the same spot, the current keep was built by the MacCarthy of Muskerry dynasty, a cadet branch of the Kings of Desmond, and dates from 1446.4 The Blarney Stone is among the machicolations of the castle. near Cork, Ireland, and the River Martin. Though earlier fortifications were built on the same spot, the current keep was built by the MacCarthy of Muskerry dynasty, a cadet branch of the Kings of Desmond, and dates from 1446.4 The Blarney Stone is among the machicolations of the castle.The castle is now a partial ruin with some accessible rooms and battlements. At the top of the castle lies the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. Tourists visiting Blarney Castle may hang upside-down over a sheer drop to kiss the stone, which is said to give the gift of eloquence. There are many versions of the origin of the stone, including a claim that it was the Lia Fáil a numinous stone upon which Irish kings were crowned.

Surrounding the castle are extensive gardens. There are paths touring the grounds with signs pointing out the various attractions such as several natural rock formations with fanciful names such as Druid's Circle, Witch's Cave and the Wishing Steps. The grounds include a poison garden with a number of poisonous plants, including wolfsbane, mandrake, ricin and opium, as well as cannabis. Blarney House, also open to the public and within the estate grounds, is a Scottish baronial-style mansion that was built in 1874.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Katharine D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

This tour was not my cup of tea for several reasons. We weren't given any itinerary until it had already started. Things were a little unorganized. We were constantly picking up and dropping off people who were on shorter or longer tours. Sometimes our tour guide found out minutes beforehand than new people were joining our group. We changed bus drivers 3 times. We stayed 2 nights in the town of Killarney. Again, we didn't know until very last minute where we were staying. Some people in the group were at nice hotels in the center of town where all the shops and restaurants were. I got stuck in a charmless B and B 12 minutes away down a very busy street. It was awful. At one point we got off the bus and took 2 trains to a little town, only to meet up with the same bus again that was carrying all our luggage. It made me wonder- why did we get off the bus in the first place? The last day went from 7am to 10pm, which was too ling for everyone. If we had shaved a little time from our many stops, we could have easily caught an earlier train back to Dublin from Galway. Out tour guide was very helpful and informative, but he didn't work for Viator- this whole trip was outsourced to another company. Overall I would have skipped the Blarney Castle and stuck with the Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher, which can easily be done in a 2 day, 1 night trip from Dublin.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Karen S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed this trip. The only thing I would add is an extra 1/2 hour or more at Blarney castle and an extra 1/2 hour or more in Cork. Highlights were the Rock of Cashel and our quick stop at the 250 year old Morrisey Pub. The bus driver Patrick was fun and knowledgeable- Thank you!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Sheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour to Blarney Castle was wonderful! Our bus driver kept us entertained and sang beautiful Irish songs! We only had one full day in Ireland and I definitely recommend this tour if you do nothing else.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Rene M V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable and quite funny! The Blarney Castle was beautiful and the grounds surrounding it. Make sure you go up the rock spiral staircase to the top of the castle to kiss the famous Blarney Stone. There was a nice gentlemen there help you lean back and kiss the stone. They also take your picture! You get to view it at the bottom and decide then if you want to buy it or not. There are several places to eat and there was a very nice gift shop. Cork was a great city to explore! Make sure you visit the food market in the middle of the centrum. There were several stand alone musicians along the way as you maneuvered through the city streets. Overall it was a wonderful tour! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tamera P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was perfect and witty. Wished we had more time at the Blarney Castle instead of Cork. But, we loved it no matter what.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Edward O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cork was the best. We loved the beauty of Blarney Castle and the grounds. The staff were all very nice and accommodating.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour -- and our driver was great as he continued to share many stories of the history and culture on Ireland . . . the time spent at the Rock of Cashel was an added bonus to our time at Blarney Castle and Cork . . .

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jo Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time and enjoyed the humor and singing of our guide Joseph. Loved Blarney Castle and the beautiful grounds although we did not have time to wait in line for 90 minutes to kiss the blarney stone. Guess we will have to come back!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Diana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide who also drove the coach bus. Saw lots of sights along the way and made very nice scenic stops. Blarney Castle was excellent. One suggestion is to have more time allotted there. You only are given 1 hr and 30 minutes - it takes 10-15 minutes to walk from bus to the castle then at least 45 minutes to walk up the old spiral cement castle stairs to the roof where the stone is located. Then you have to walk down again. There are several exhibits on the grounds that you are unable to see since you are rushing back towards the bus. In addition, you have to a lot for time for the gift shop of course! and to use the facilities since there are none on the buses.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Blarney Castle Tour and CLifff of Moher Rail Trip but thought the RIng of Kerry was a little boring. We would have liked to had more photo ops on the road and did not like the way they rushed through the town and the tour guide did not tell us when the photo op was in front of us to take. If photo ops are on opposite side of bus we miss them. Tour guide Bob overall was very good and told a lot of interesting stories and histories. We did not like the Bed and Breakfast in Killarney. They put us far away from everyone else in a bed and breakfast that was old, small rooms and bathroom and no tv. We had a 20 minute walk to town each way and we are in our late 60's Think you should take age into consideration when booking places as my husband had two knee replacements. We will say the Breakfast was excellent and the manager was very nice but we saw tons of vacancies with tv's close to town. We also had to carry our luggage up steps which is hard at our age. the owner of the B and B did help us. Just be sure to ask where your accomodations will be before you go as others had much better places to stay than us and we felt we should be discounted for this! We loved the train ride and saw a lot of the countryside. The Cliff of Moher were the highlight of the trip! We also found the food in Ireland to be very good!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Amlan B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was such an amazing experience. Our guide was Gerard and he was excellent. He gave us all the necessary information, was extremely polite and patient. I was travelling alone for the first time and was very sceptical. But I did not have to worry one bit. It was a beautiful day spent in Ireland. I only wish we could spend a little while longer in Cork. But the time at Blarney Castle did make up for that. Any one having less time on their hands and you still want have a taste of Ireland should definitely go for the trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

kimberly m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Rock of cashel was interesting. Blarney castle grounds absolutely beautiful. Too long a line to kiss the stone. Driver jimmy was fun gives a lot of history and sings Cork meh

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Alastair H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time and the guide was really good! The only thing I would say is that we didn't have quite enough time at Blarney Castle. It would have been nice to have an extra hour there, instead of going into the city of Cork...

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Joel G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was great tour, thoroughly loved the Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Brenda C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Fun trip. Could have spent more time at Blarney Castle. Could have done without Cork

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Robert B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver was very good. Sang, told jokes and provided good history. The buss left at 6:50 AM and did not get back until 8:00 PM, way too long. Blarney Castle was interesting. I would remove Cork from itinerary as there is really nothing to do

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Carolyn D Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The price was much greater than the full day value. We did enjoy Blarney Castle and felt that we had enough time to visit glad it wasn't busy. Our trip to Cork was brief and bothersome that we were allowed to walk through the market but not stop and shop. Some of our stop points were so fast that it felt like a day of being on the bus rather than experiencing the location. For many of us international tourists, this is the one and only time we'll see these places.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message