Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 457 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Madeleine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. The guide was very funny and very knowledgable. We had lots of time to explore Blarney Castle and at all stops to be able to explore on our own and for photos.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

farmerleo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the day to the Blarney Castle and Cork.
Not enough time to kiss the stone and tour the grounds, but the grounds are stunning.
Well worth the day!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is a great day there is so much to see and do the Blarney Castle is a must and of course you must kiss the stone. The tour guide was very good with his knowledge and he was lots of fun he answered any questions that we asked I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Gregg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour took us to the Rock of Cashel and the Blarney castle which were so beautiful. A must see if you're in Ireland

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

elisehelene.keeler

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed the Rock of Cashel as well as Blarney Castle. I am so glad I got to kiss the Blarney stone. At the entrance of castle, it said Blarney stone was an hour wait, but I only waited 20 minutes so not bad at all!!!
I didn't enjoy the time in Cork as much... but it was good to stop for lunch.
Tour guide also did a really great job.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

ckuch United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall it was a good trip. A large area was covered and we got to see many things. Blarney Castle grounds are amazing and a horticulturists dream. The long line to kiss the Blarney Stone was anticlimactic but part of the process. The B and B accommodations in Killarney were sub par. While the host was pleasant and the breakfast was very good, the place was old and tired. My expectation for a charming Irish cottage was way off! I emailed Rail Tours to resolve for the second night but they were not helpful and said there were no more B and Bs and if I wanted a hotel we'd have to pay an extra 78euro for the two of us. Not a good option for standard lodging.

There were several stops along the way to the major attractions. We had photo opps and lunch breaks however, the tour company didn't include the fees for some of the stops sheep dog demo, peat village. Very nit picky for 5-7 euro per person...make it an all inclusive. The train had some construction delays, which Railtours was aware of. We got off the coach bus to get on a train, sat for nearly 2 hours with various delays while our coach bus continued to our next destination with empty seats and our luggage. Seemed crazy when we had this transportation option. The tour guide said it was some contractual thing with train?!

The tour guides were good, some better than others. We saw a lot and learned a lot. Like any tour, there are places that you would like to spend more time. This tour allowed us to see some major sites on our short trip to Ireland.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Carol F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Blarney Castle and grounds is a must see. The tour guide tells you about the shops outside of the castle - they are good. However, it wastes time. If you are there to see things - go to the Castle, kiss the Blarney Stone and then explore the lush grounds. You can shop anywhere, but you don't see the grounds often. Cork was a disappointment. I'd eat in Cork and spend the time sightseeing in Blarney. Rock of Cashel is beautiful too. Definitely worth taking this trip. I was annoyed because other guests were 15 minutes late at each stop, taking away from all the other guests' time. I've gone on other tours that have a minimum wait time of 5 minutes and everyone makes it back on time. All tours need to do this.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Gary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this tour with the intent of doing one Touristy thing. It ended up being an utterly enjoyable day, thanks in part to our driver/tour director Kevin. We caught the coach early in the morning and settled in for the long drive. The first stop was a nice little area in Cashel where we had some time to stretch our legs and walk around the old ruins at the Rock of Cashel. The sun came out so the surrounding area was clear of sight and very nice. We then drove to County Cork and were able to grab lunch and walk about the town. Kevin all the while gave us history and tidbits about the areas we visited and kept it very entertaining. Our final destination the Blarney Castle. While it was very crowded we got into queue and initially we were told it would be 90 minutes before we reached the top, cutting it very close to our departure time, we actually were only in line for about 40 minutes. On the way back to Dublin, Kevin kept us entertained and brought us back safe and sound. Definitely a tour you should go on.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

rosairis55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our bus driver was very entertaining and most helpful. This was an all day tour, but most enjoyable by us and everyone on the bus. The gardens are beautiful and the view from the top of the castle is awesome.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Laurel K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The best thing about this tour for me, aside from the achingly beautiful Irish countryside, was our guide. I'm ashamed to say I've forgotten his name, but he made the day as entertaining as possible. I will, however, say that Blarney Castle was a bit of a bust for my friend and I. Neither of us were able to reach to kiss the Blarney Stone she's too short and my back didn't want to bend that way and the wait to kiss the stone was so long we didn't have time to tour the rest of the grounds. That said, I would certainly encourage others to take this tour and enjoy the sights and history offered by it.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tom W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Did you know Winston Churchhill kissed the blarney stone? After kissing the blarney stone I feel like my lips are now within six degrees of all lips! Was really good to see the Blarney Castle. Also the fish and chips and beer at the restaurant under the largest store in Ireland was awesome!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Geoff S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a great view of the South on our first day of our vacation. Our tour guide gave us time for breaks and visits to Cashel, Blarney and Cork. He did a great job with stories about the areas and also inside hints to make sure our time was well spent at the stops especially at Blarney with the Woolen Mills and the Castle. Thanks for the lasting memories.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour. Very comfortable bus. Our driver made a stop for coffee/breakfast/rest rooms early in the morning. Cashel Castle was a nice stop and it was fun to explore the castle. The stop was for about 1 hour and that was plenty of time to see the area. The Blarney Stone itself was overrated, but it was cool to walk through the castle to get up to the stone. The grounds of the Blarney Castle are amazing and beautiful. This is where you should spend the majority of your time about 2.5 hours. We saw most of the grounds within this time frame, but wish we had a little longer to do some more exploring. The Cork stop is mostly just a big shopping strip. We visited the English Market, but other than that we could have done without this stop. Overall it was a fun day and great way to see multiple attractions.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jenny J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It's an early start but since it is such a full day it's needed. Coach driver very informative and his advice once getting to the Blarney Castle to head straight up was of good value as the line for those who stopped and used the amenities was a lot longer for them. As it was a Sunday we did not spend as much time in Cork as most things were closed and we were happy with this. A great day and highly recommend.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Susan P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour! The Rock of Cashel was beautiful with its ruins and Celtic crosses. We had a good amount of time at Blarney Castle, to climb the stairs to the top and kiss the Blarney stone, and to walk around the beautiful grounds/gardens. Since there was an hour wait for the Blarney stone, we didn't have enough time to sit down and have lunch at the restaurant, or to go into the Woolen Mill shops. You kind of have to choose between lunch/shops and the line up to the Blarney Stone. With this in mind, it would have been nice to have had another hour, so that we could do all that we wanted to do. As it turned out, we grabbed sandwiches to go and ate them on the bus. Our stop in Cork was nice, but since it was a Sunday, the English Market was closed main thing we wanted to see, so we just wandered around. A walking tour would have been nice, so we could have seen/found the highlights of the city. Still, I would definitely recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Adam N

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour guide was great. There was a church we went to at the beginning that was definitely worth a short look. We stopped at Cork for 45 minutes and nothing was open. For the Blarney Castle we had 2 1/2 hours but the line up to the stone was very long and slow, so we decided to skip that and check everything else out. Everyone that kissed the stone was late to the bus and didn't eat. The Blarney Castle area was very big and everything was worth a look and the food was great. Recommend skipping Cork and spending all day the Castle.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jeanne S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Blarney Castle grounds were beautiful, Rock of Cashel was interesting. Could have done without the stop in Cork. It was a Sunday, English Market was closed -- really nothing of note to see and just prolonged an already long day.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

PS Dutta

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Considering only two main places being visited, the tour start time of 6:50 am was a bit too early. The tout itinerary was reversed for some unexplained reason, with the Barney Castle being visited last. This resulted in a huge queue to kiss the Blarney Stone and loss of precious time to explore the castle grounds. Being the highlight of the tour, Blarney Castle should have been done first as per the itinerary. There were also many gaps in the instructions to the tourists at the places of visit. The tour guide was overly keen on the Ireland France Euro match and played live commentary loudly in the bus on the way back from Blarney.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

fred r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

what a wonderful trip. Saw the Blarney Castle, Cork and Cashel. VERY in-depth history lesson from our guide, with plenty of time for shopping and rest.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Laurel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! Our driver was easygoing and informative. Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle were breathtaking, as were the many green pastures we drove past. It was also good to visit Cork, to experience another city besides Dublin. Our driver told us what we could see at each site and what time to be back at the bus, which allowed us to explore without being tied to the group. If you have a full day about 7am to 7pm to see the Irish countryside and special sites, book this tour!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Gene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Delightful day at Blarney Castle, kissing the stone, and seeing Cork. Wonderful guide who made a fun day of the trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Emily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a super fun tour! Louise was very knowledgeable and gave us really good tips for our visit to Blarney Castle. It was an extremely enjoyable day and I would definitely recommend this trip!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Angel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour. The grounds around Blarney Castle were amazing! Thanks

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Eric B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gerrard the driver and also guide was outstanding at both jobs.
He made our day to Cork and Blarney Castle a day to remember.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Shannon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I hope you get Bud the tour guide. He made this trip really special with his history and jokes. The castle grounds are incredible and I wish we could have had a little more time there. This tour is the perfect day trip to see these historic sites.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message