Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 494 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I feel this trip was a good value. Be prepared to do some great shopping and eating at the Woolen mill place outside of Blarney Castle.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Leanna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great day and the Blarney Castle was so much more than what I expected.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jpbritt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great trip to see Blarney Castle, Cork and Cobh. Really beautiful grounds at Blarney Castle and it was fun to climb up kiss the stone! Our guide Jonathan was awesome. He was very knowledgeable and a lot of fun. Would definitely recommend this trip. Long day, but worth it.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

kulmomma3

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful tour to visit another beautiful part of the Ireland country. We took a comfortable large passenger van/bus from downtown Dublin to Cork and the surrounding cities. The drive was approx 2- 2 1/2 hours with stops along the way. AN hour and a half in, we stopped to grab a light breakfast. There was a McDonalds or small cafeteria option to choose from, and use the facilities before starting again along the way. During the drive, our tour guide, Matthew, would tell us much of Ireland's history and culture along the way via microphone. We visited the Blarney Stone and castle grounds which has much to do in the 2 hours you are given there, then off to the small city of Cork for lunch. After approx an hour, hour and a half, it was on to The Rock of Cashel. All are a must see while in Ireland and was worth the cost of this tour between transportation, entrances to the museums and all the history you can enjoy for the day from the tour guide.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Mary G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

A great trip and highly recommended if you can spare a day to see the country side. The trip starts early and you need to be on time as the pickup location is for multiple tours. The driver needs time to sort everybody out on which tour they purchased. After that, you'll be on your way. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and kept us entertained during the road trip portions. The stops were well timed and when something of significance appeared along the route he commented appropriately--no unnecessary rambling during the drive. Take advantage of the early morning departure with a nap. Because of our departure time and the time of year, it was pretty dark sunrise wasn't until almost 8 AM so you couldn't see anything anyway. You'll have an opportunity to get breakfast during the first stop, but I highly recommend you pack some snacks on your own for later. He'll provide options for lunch at either Blarney Castle or in Cork. We elected to eat at the shops of the castle and toured the city of Cork. The only thing I would've changed...there is another smaller castle next to the Rock of Cashel, the Hoare Abbey, and it would've been nice to have seen that one as well. It wouldn't have taken much out of the schedule to visit it considering you can see it from the grounds of the Rock of Cashel.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Mc I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wayne was fantastic! I was highly impressed with his humor and personality and his ability to keep the group engaged through what could otherwise prove to be a very long day. We visited the Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle and Cork all of which were fabulous. The Rock of Cashel is stunning and it was great to be able to get off the bus for an hour and explore this landmark. I had forgotten it was on the tour so it was a nice bonus when I realized we were stopping. Bring your camera, because this imposing beauty demands to be photographed. Blarney Castle was our next stop and it is a must. We were easily able to get up and kiss the Blarney stone- although this was in January- but ample time was allowed to explore the beautiful grounds and do some shopping. The Blarney Woolen Mill store was fantastic- I found some of the best things there! Finally we visited Cork. The only thing that I would have liked would have been a move in depth tour of the city but I learned a lot about the rebel past on the bus from our driver/historian. Wayne did give us a great pub lunch recommendation in Cork which was very helpful and allowed us to maximize our time instead of searching for something. On the way back we stopped at ta heritage pub for our break, this was possible due to our group size and our group behavior and timeliness, a bonus for sure! It was very cool to see this time capsule of a time gone by and getting to meet some of the local patrons. This was a great way to end our trip to Ireland and we definitely have Wayne to thank for our fun day. I would definitely do another trip with this group in the future!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Frank M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was really glad we did this tour, as lately I have been on this Castle kick and we were able to see two awesome castles and see some amazing gardens and grounds. Our tour guide/bus driver was very informational and made the trip very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that wants to see historic castles and enjoy a ride through the country side.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tiffany M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time! I now have the Gift of the Gab! : Blarney Castle was great. I recommend the waterfalls, caves, and poison garden while there. Cork was a nice, busy shopping center. Must take this tour when in Dublin!!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Holly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantasic tour! Our guide was very entertaining and knowledgeable. Blarney Castle was really something to experience. We definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Annette B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Had a great time and tour was wonderful... could have used a little more time at Blarney Castle and did a little more exploration.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Ledis G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Blarney Castle and Cork Day trip from Dublin was excellent. The countryside was beautiful, as is all of Ireland. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that I had a difficult time understanding the driver who also acted as our tour guide on the way to and from the destination. I also wish we had had more time in Cork. Nevertheless, Ireland is truly a beautiful country with many exquisite sights and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It was winter but it only drizzled on two of the 14 days that I was there. Although it is not cold, there is something about the air, which makes it necessary to wear a hat even on the balmiest of days.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. We were the only ones on a 3 day and had very personalized attention! Conducted by Railtours Ireland. Guide was Brendan for days 1 and 3 and Mike for day 2 Deros tours. Day 1-Blarney Castle...lots of time there and really wonderful, then onto Cork and Cobh. Very interesting. Accompanied by a chaperone to Killarney for the overnight at the Avenue Hotel. Really lovely place but don't let them put you in room 101---right above the main entrance. Other than that great! Day 2---Ring of Kerry---conducted by Deros tours. Mike was very nice but quiet and we were rushed all day long. This is one day I would have skipped...nice country but nothing spectacular since we didnt get to visit the towns much. Day 3---Cliffs of Moher---fantastic...plenty of time to explore. Day 3 ends with some time in Galway City, but we opted for an earlier train back to Dublin instead.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

shaun_s_brown

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2016

St Patrick's Rock was great could've used a guided or audio tour. Blarney Castle, kissing the stone, wandering the gardens was great could've used more time. Not enough time in Cork to do anything. Tour guide was OK.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This trip has variety we got to see two castles and the lovely shipping town of Cork. Our bus driver and tour guide, Jonathan, was fantastic and very knowledgeable not only about Irish history but about nearly every part of the landscape we drove through. Made time on the bus very entertaining. We had great weather, cold but clear and even though each place we visited had people, we did not need to wait very long anywhere. November is a great time of the year to come and see the sites. Really well-organized tour.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Donna United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even in the pouring rain, was still able to appreciate and enjoy the Cork and Blarney Castle tours. The rail tours are fabulous and the Ireland's countryside is worth exploring!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

sarj9

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time. I got to see the Rock of Cashel as well as the Blarney Castle. Gabriel was an excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

rowdydance United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was Great. Adelle our guide was really nice and funny. The only thing id have asked for was maybe 10 more minutes or so shopping time at Blarney Castle and Cork City! She and the driver were also kind enough to invite and suggest a great eatery in Cork that was well priced w a huge portion of food. It was second time to Blarney and i had my cousin and a friend with me , we all thoroughly enjoyed the trip fo rsure!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Kelly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I am normally not a fan of tours because there are so many people and you don't get to spend much time wherever you are. This tour with Rabbie's was the complete opposite! The group was only 16 people maximum number and because we were in a smaller bus we could go places that the larger buses could to get to. Even though the tour was short, we saw so much and got a lot of history behind what we were seeing. You have the evenings free to visit the pubs and hang out.

My tour guide, Patrick, was AWESOME. His love for his country just shinned through and he was so knowledgeable of Ireland. He was so much fun. He sang and danced for us as well as educate us about their sports. I was planning on visiting where my Grandmother grew up the following week after the tour and I talked with Patrick about this. While the tour group was off looking at another castle, Patrick looked into the various bus routes and gave me some possible ways to get to that village. He certainly didn't have to do that and I was so touched that he did.

I traveled alone so by the time the tour ended un Dublin, I felt like I was leaving family. The tour group got along so well and it made me wish I was jumping on the next tour!

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. If this is your first time Ireland, or if you want a better view and understanding of the country, then this is the tour you should go on! You will be taken very good care of and will leave with a greater love for this beautiful country. If you are fortunate enough to have Patrick for your guide then you are in for a treat! I will definitely be taking another Rabbie's tour in the future.

Doing what: 5-Day Highlights of Ireland Tour: the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry

Tina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Joseph......the coach driver and the guide.... is the man LBA card and a tip for him. Yes he is legit nuts in a good way... he talks and sings and talks and sings and he sure can tell a tale and hold a tune. At 645 am I didn't know to laugh or cry when I met this leprechaun on a permanent caffeine drip but he had me laughing throughout the day and evening and was probably by far the best guide I had on all 7 tours I did while in Ireland. He just needs to go a wee bit slow the first 15-20 minutes or so until our coffee kicks in. Over all this was a great tour THE first stop is The Rock of Cashel, Joseph takes you there first because no one else is there which was awesome......great photos. Then on to Cork for Lunch...plenty of stores to shop and we took the guides recommendation and went to the English market where we had Sausage, potatoes and onions in a box one of the best things I ate on my whole trip just follow the smell once you enter the market you will find them. Then on to kiss the Blarney stone at Blarney Castle and you get a few hours there to take photos and walk the grounds plenty of places to get great shots including the waterfalls and the cave by the castle. We then went into the small town and sipped a pint of Guinness by the fire before heading back to the coach. This is a must do trip, this was my second favorite trip in Dublin next to the Cliff of Moher.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Thomas D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This was a tour well worth taking. Our guide/bus driver's name was Liam. He was knowledgeable and gave us history all along the trip. There were three stops, The Rock of Cashel which is a must see, Blarney Castle - and yes we did kiss the Blarney Stone, and Cork which we could have done without. We stopped for shopping but I would have preferred more time in Blarney. I love using Viator as your tours are excellent.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tudorel A

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Blarney Castle is a medieval stronghold in Blarney near Cork, Ireland, and the River Martin. Though earlier fortifications were built on the same spot, the current keep was built by the MacCarthy of Muskerry dynasty, a cadet branch of the Kings of Desmond, and dates from 1446.4 The Blarney Stone is among the machicolations of the castle. near Cork, Ireland, and the River Martin. Though earlier fortifications were built on the same spot, the current keep was built by the MacCarthy of Muskerry dynasty, a cadet branch of the Kings of Desmond, and dates from 1446.4 The Blarney Stone is among the machicolations of the castle.The castle is now a partial ruin with some accessible rooms and battlements. At the top of the castle lies the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. Tourists visiting Blarney Castle may hang upside-down over a sheer drop to kiss the stone, which is said to give the gift of eloquence. There are many versions of the origin of the stone, including a claim that it was the Lia Fáil a numinous stone upon which Irish kings were crowned.

Surrounding the castle are extensive gardens. There are paths touring the grounds with signs pointing out the various attractions such as several natural rock formations with fanciful names such as Druid's Circle, Witch's Cave and the Wishing Steps. The grounds include a poison garden with a number of poisonous plants, including wolfsbane, mandrake, ricin and opium, as well as cannabis. Blarney House, also open to the public and within the estate grounds, is a Scottish baronial-style mansion that was built in 1874.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Katharine D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

This tour was not my cup of tea for several reasons. We weren't given any itinerary until it had already started. Things were a little unorganized. We were constantly picking up and dropping off people who were on shorter or longer tours. Sometimes our tour guide found out minutes beforehand than new people were joining our group. We changed bus drivers 3 times. We stayed 2 nights in the town of Killarney. Again, we didn't know until very last minute where we were staying. Some people in the group were at nice hotels in the center of town where all the shops and restaurants were. I got stuck in a charmless B and B 12 minutes away down a very busy street. It was awful. At one point we got off the bus and took 2 trains to a little town, only to meet up with the same bus again that was carrying all our luggage. It made me wonder- why did we get off the bus in the first place? The last day went from 7am to 10pm, which was too ling for everyone. If we had shaved a little time from our many stops, we could have easily caught an earlier train back to Dublin from Galway. Out tour guide was very helpful and informative, but he didn't work for Viator- this whole trip was outsourced to another company. Overall I would have skipped the Blarney Castle and stuck with the Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher, which can easily be done in a 2 day, 1 night trip from Dublin.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Karen S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed this trip. The only thing I would add is an extra 1/2 hour or more at Blarney castle and an extra 1/2 hour or more in Cork. Highlights were the Rock of Cashel and our quick stop at the 250 year old Morrisey Pub. The bus driver Patrick was fun and knowledgeable- Thank you!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Sheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour to Blarney Castle was wonderful! Our bus driver kept us entertained and sang beautiful Irish songs! We only had one full day in Ireland and I definitely recommend this tour if you do nothing else.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Rene M V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable and quite funny! The Blarney Castle was beautiful and the grounds surrounding it. Make sure you go up the rock spiral staircase to the top of the castle to kiss the famous Blarney Stone. There was a nice gentlemen there help you lean back and kiss the stone. They also take your picture! You get to view it at the bottom and decide then if you want to buy it or not. There are several places to eat and there was a very nice gift shop. Cork was a great city to explore! Make sure you visit the food market in the middle of the centrum. There were several stand alone musicians along the way as you maneuvered through the city streets. Overall it was a wonderful tour! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message