Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Blarney Castle

Visitors to Blarney Castle most often are actually visitors to the Stone of Eloquence, better known as the Blarney Stone. As its name implies, the legend states that if you kiss the stone, you will never be at a loss for words. People come year ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen S W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Enjoyed this trip. The only thing I would add is an extra 1/2 hour or more at Blarney castle and an extra 1/2 hour or more in Cork. Highlights were the Rock of Cashel and our quick stop at the 250 year old Morrisey Pub. The bus driver Patrick was fun and knowledgeable- Thank you!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Sheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour to Blarney Castle was wonderful! Our bus driver kept us entertained and sang beautiful Irish songs! We only had one full day in Ireland and I definitely recommend this tour if you do nothing else.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Rene M V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable and quite funny! The Blarney Castle was beautiful and the grounds surrounding it. Make sure you go up the rock spiral staircase to the top of the castle to kiss the famous Blarney Stone. There was a nice gentlemen there help you lean back and kiss the stone. They also take your picture! You get to view it at the bottom and decide then if you want to buy it or not. There are several places to eat and there was a very nice gift shop. Cork was a great city to explore! Make sure you visit the food market in the middle of the centrum. There were several stand alone musicians along the way as you maneuvered through the city streets. Overall it was a wonderful tour! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Tamera P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was perfect and witty. Wished we had more time at the Blarney Castle instead of Cork. But, we loved it no matter what.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Edward O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cork was the best. We loved the beauty of Blarney Castle and the grounds. The staff were all very nice and accommodating.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a wonderful tour -- and our driver was great as he continued to share many stories of the history and culture on Ireland . . . the time spent at the Rock of Cashel was an added bonus to our time at Blarney Castle and Cork . . .

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Jo Ann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time and enjoyed the humor and singing of our guide Joseph. Loved Blarney Castle and the beautiful grounds although we did not have time to wait in line for 90 minutes to kiss the blarney stone. Guess we will have to come back!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Diana S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent tour guide who also drove the coach bus. Saw lots of sights along the way and made very nice scenic stops. Blarney Castle was excellent. One suggestion is to have more time allotted there. You only are given 1 hr and 30 minutes - it takes 10-15 minutes to walk from bus to the castle then at least 45 minutes to walk up the old spiral cement castle stairs to the roof where the stone is located. Then you have to walk down again. There are several exhibits on the grounds that you are unable to see since you are rushing back towards the bus. In addition, you have to a lot for time for the gift shop of course! and to use the facilities since there are none on the buses.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Blarney Castle Tour and CLifff of Moher Rail Trip but thought the RIng of Kerry was a little boring. We would have liked to had more photo ops on the road and did not like the way they rushed through the town and the tour guide did not tell us when the photo op was in front of us to take. If photo ops are on opposite side of bus we miss them. Tour guide Bob overall was very good and told a lot of interesting stories and histories. We did not like the Bed and Breakfast in Killarney. They put us far away from everyone else in a bed and breakfast that was old, small rooms and bathroom and no tv. We had a 20 minute walk to town each way and we are in our late 60's Think you should take age into consideration when booking places as my husband had two knee replacements. We will say the Breakfast was excellent and the manager was very nice but we saw tons of vacancies with tv's close to town. We also had to carry our luggage up steps which is hard at our age. the owner of the B and B did help us. Just be sure to ask where your accomodations will be before you go as others had much better places to stay than us and we felt we should be discounted for this! We loved the train ride and saw a lot of the countryside. The Cliff of Moher were the highlight of the trip! We also found the food in Ireland to be very good!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Amlan B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was such an amazing experience. Our guide was Gerard and he was excellent. He gave us all the necessary information, was extremely polite and patient. I was travelling alone for the first time and was very sceptical. But I did not have to worry one bit. It was a beautiful day spent in Ireland. I only wish we could spend a little while longer in Cork. But the time at Blarney Castle did make up for that. Any one having less time on their hands and you still want have a taste of Ireland should definitely go for the trip.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

kimberly m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Rock of cashel was interesting. Blarney castle grounds absolutely beautiful. Too long a line to kiss the stone. Driver jimmy was fun gives a lot of history and sings Cork meh

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Alastair H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time and the guide was really good! The only thing I would say is that we didn't have quite enough time at Blarney Castle. It would have been nice to have an extra hour there, instead of going into the city of Cork...

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Joel G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was great tour, thoroughly loved the Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Brenda C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Fun trip. Could have spent more time at Blarney Castle. Could have done without Cork

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Robert B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Our driver was very good. Sang, told jokes and provided good history. The buss left at 6:50 AM and did not get back until 8:00 PM, way too long. Blarney Castle was interesting. I would remove Cork from itinerary as there is really nothing to do

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Carolyn D Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The price was much greater than the full day value. We did enjoy Blarney Castle and felt that we had enough time to visit glad it wasn't busy. Our trip to Cork was brief and bothersome that we were allowed to walk through the market but not stop and shop. Some of our stop points were so fast that it felt like a day of being on the bus rather than experiencing the location. For many of us international tourists, this is the one and only time we'll see these places.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Madeleine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. The guide was very funny and very knowledgable. We had lots of time to explore Blarney Castle and at all stops to be able to explore on our own and for photos.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

farmerleo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the day to the Blarney Castle and Cork.
Not enough time to kiss the stone and tour the grounds, but the grounds are stunning.
Well worth the day!

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Dawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is a great day there is so much to see and do the Blarney Castle is a must and of course you must kiss the stone. The tour guide was very good with his knowledge and he was lots of fun he answered any questions that we asked I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Gregg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour took us to the Rock of Cashel and the Blarney castle which were so beautiful. A must see if you're in Ireland

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

elisehelene.keeler

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I really enjoyed the Rock of Cashel as well as Blarney Castle. I am so glad I got to kiss the Blarney stone. At the entrance of castle, it said Blarney stone was an hour wait, but I only waited 20 minutes so not bad at all!!!
I didn't enjoy the time in Cork as much... but it was good to stop for lunch.
Tour guide also did a really great job.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

ckuch United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall it was a good trip. A large area was covered and we got to see many things. Blarney Castle grounds are amazing and a horticulturists dream. The long line to kiss the Blarney Stone was anticlimactic but part of the process. The B and B accommodations in Killarney were sub par. While the host was pleasant and the breakfast was very good, the place was old and tired. My expectation for a charming Irish cottage was way off! I emailed Rail Tours to resolve for the second night but they were not helpful and said there were no more B and Bs and if I wanted a hotel we'd have to pay an extra 78euro for the two of us. Not a good option for standard lodging.

There were several stops along the way to the major attractions. We had photo opps and lunch breaks however, the tour company didn't include the fees for some of the stops sheep dog demo, peat village. Very nit picky for 5-7 euro per person...make it an all inclusive. The train had some construction delays, which Railtours was aware of. We got off the coach bus to get on a train, sat for nearly 2 hours with various delays while our coach bus continued to our next destination with empty seats and our luggage. Seemed crazy when we had this transportation option. The tour guide said it was some contractual thing with train?!

The tour guides were good, some better than others. We saw a lot and learned a lot. Like any tour, there are places that you would like to spend more time. This tour allowed us to see some major sites on our short trip to Ireland.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Carol F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Blarney Castle and grounds is a must see. The tour guide tells you about the shops outside of the castle - they are good. However, it wastes time. If you are there to see things - go to the Castle, kiss the Blarney Stone and then explore the lush grounds. You can shop anywhere, but you don't see the grounds often. Cork was a disappointment. I'd eat in Cork and spend the time sightseeing in Blarney. Rock of Cashel is beautiful too. Definitely worth taking this trip. I was annoyed because other guests were 15 minutes late at each stop, taking away from all the other guests' time. I've gone on other tours that have a minimum wait time of 5 minutes and everyone makes it back on time. All tours need to do this.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Gary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We booked this tour with the intent of doing one Touristy thing. It ended up being an utterly enjoyable day, thanks in part to our driver/tour director Kevin. We caught the coach early in the morning and settled in for the long drive. The first stop was a nice little area in Cashel where we had some time to stretch our legs and walk around the old ruins at the Rock of Cashel. The sun came out so the surrounding area was clear of sight and very nice. We then drove to County Cork and were able to grab lunch and walk about the town. Kevin all the while gave us history and tidbits about the areas we visited and kept it very entertaining. Our final destination the Blarney Castle. While it was very crowded we got into queue and initially we were told it would be 90 minutes before we reached the top, cutting it very close to our departure time, we actually were only in line for about 40 minutes. On the way back to Dublin, Kevin kept us entertained and brought us back safe and sound. Definitely a tour you should go on.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

rosairis55

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our bus driver was very entertaining and most helpful. This was an all day tour, but most enjoyable by us and everyone on the bus. The gardens are beautiful and the view from the top of the castle is awesome.

Doing what: Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message