Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Cliffs of Moher

Towering 702 feet (214 meters) above the Atlantic Ocean at their highest point and stretching for five miles (eight km) along the water, the world-famous Cliffs of Moher define the rugged west coast of Ireland. They are one of the most popular ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 711 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Neurodoc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a fantastic trip on November 6, 2016!! We had a large comfortable bus, which left early in the morning. Gerard was our amazing driver for the day, and he was extremely informative and a bit funny as well. We raced to the Cliffs, and got there well before the rest of the tour buses. Plenty of photos later, we took off and were the first bus to arrive for lunch. A nice country lunch, with even a vegetarian option. Then we took off for the Burren, weaving along the beautiful rocky coastline. Stops were at an ancient monastery, a castle and for a treat and a restroom break, we stopped at Hazel Mountain Chocolate Organic Factory. When we passed by Galway, there was a huge rainbow!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

foundtrips

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Everything about it was perfect! Got the smaller bus, very comfortable. The driver/tour guide was amazing. Saw not only the Cliffs but much of the west coast around Galway, a coastal pub best seafood chowder ever!!, a castle, church ruins, a chocolate factory and the President Obama rest stop! Did I mention the Guinness? The best day trip excursion experienced ever, very much a great travel investment.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

tim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Dennis was a true delight, he made the very long day fly by. My son was so grateful that he was allowed to charge his phone with the bus charger. The singing and information made for a very fun day. The food was great at the stops we made were informative and food was delicious. We loved the cliffs. Just amazing. Thank you, Dennis, for an unforgettable day.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Gerald T

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful trip! The cliffs were beautiful and the weather was perfect. Guide/bus driver was excellent, very knowledgeable. I must commend him on his patience as we had several people that wandered away from the tour and were late five to twenty minutes coming back to the bus.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

1212LB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an amazing trip all the way around. Excellent value for the money. Great way to spend the day!
We met very early in the morning in front of an old church. our hotel was able to provide us with easy walking directions on how to get to the meeting location From there, our guide took us to the bus, which was right across the street. The bus was clean and comfortable. While I am not knocking any of the other tour companies, our bus appeared to be one of the larger, nicer tour buses, and we were usually the first tour bus at each of the stops which was great. The guide was exceptionally pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable about the areas that we traveled through. As we traveled across the island, our guide did a great job of pointing out landmarks and highlights about the area. And as a tourist, I really appreciated all of the things that he pointed out to us.
Although we brought our own snacks and water, there were sufficient stops along the way to purchase food/drinks. And there is a nice stop in the afternoon for lunch, which included beef/fish/turkey and vegetable options. Food was extremely plentiful and reasonably priced.
The cliffs were absolutely beautiful. A truly beautiful site to witness. We spent about 1.5 hours at the actual cliffs, which was the perfect amount of time for us. It took us about an hour to hike up and back on the trails of the cliffs this time can vary depending on how far you wish to walk along the cliffs - we just did a moderate walk and walked to the most common areas , and then we had about 30 minutes to use the restrooms, see the visitor center and visit the gift shop.

Once you arrive at the cliffs, and in order to get the good views of the cliffs and to truly experience the cliffs, be prepared as there is a fair amount of walking, with some steep hills and paths to climb. It is highly recommended to come prepared with comfortable hiking boots or shoes, and water. In my opinion, the walk up to, and along the cliffs is not kids stroller friendly, and is not elderly friendly just adding this in as a note to help describe the area. But anyone can enjoy the experience. Definitely want to bring a camera !!
We did our trip in December, and although it was cold and windy, it was well worth the trip.

In addition to the cliffs, we made several other stops to include a chocolate shop I was not too impressed with that stop, a super old church/gravesite, a beautiful water front area, a lunch stop and a local community bar/fishing village.

I am so glad that we went on this trip, and Viator was an excellent choice all the way around.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Lilli Mary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Went on this tour in October. The Cliffs of Moher were absolutely breathtaking. The whole day was great. Saw lovely scenery along the way. I really couldn't fault any of this trip. You can't go to Ireland without visiting these beautiful cliffs.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Stephanie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I really enjoyed the tour. It allowed me to see more of Ireland than I could have seen on my own, and our guide, Andy, was excellent. He shared lots of interesting stories and information and sang us several lovely Irish tunes which I really enjoyed. I can imagine this trip would be even better in the summer when it's light out during the train travel to and from Dublin and during the Galway stop. But the Cliffs of Moher are absolutely gorgeous, the Burren was also a really interesting stop, and overall I felt like we got to do a lot without being rushed through each item on the agenda. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Max

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

First off, this trip is well worth it.
In Dublin solo style and wanted to check out the Cliffs without attempting to drive stick/on the opposite side of the road. I believe this tour leaves the earliest, like 6:30am, but you end up getting to all the tour spots before the other buses which is awesome for your pictures btw.

Pros:
The driver was friendly and helpful, bus was clean and new, transportation schedule besides the 6:30am start was on point.
The destinations, besides Doolin, definable exceeded expectation. The Cliffs really are magnificent.

Cons:
You basically only have two choices of lunch spots in Doolin and they both will run you a minimum of 10 Euros for meh quality
That 6:30am departure....but the pros of that early departure out weight the opportunity to sleep for another hour.

All in All, awesome tour

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Limerick, Cliffs of Moher tour was absolutely wonderful. We had a great, kind and funny guide that kept us entertained with stories while keeping us on a nice relaxed schedule that allowed us to see everything. The bus was comfortable and not over crowded. The stops were charming and the cliffs were stunning. For being December the weather that day was really mild. It was a great deal and a great price. A couple on the tour had done it the previous year and liked it so much came back for a second time.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Meghan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was the best tour guide I have ever had on any tour - absolutely hysterical and loved his singing of Irish songs the entire bus ride. We stopped at so many places that we had no idea we were going to and it was awesome! The cliffs were even more amazing than we expected, and then we went to Kinvara in Galway, as well as a pub and smaller cliffs in Doolin. It was seriously worth the money and we would definitely recommend to anyone!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Joakim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really good! nThe cliffs are amazing! Beautiful scenery.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

vim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic experience! The Cliffs of Moher is such a spectacle to behold. It helped to have a local guide provide information and entertainment on this trip. We even made a couple of quick pit stops that were nice.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Katie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a really nice time. Our tour guide John knew so much information and shared it all while we drove around the country side. He even played Celtic music. It was really foggy at the cliffs of moher but to be expected this time of year. Really enjoyed eating lunch at an Irish pub. Would do again!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Enrique T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The cliffs were amazing along with everything else.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Julia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Trip was AMAZING! Our driver, Mac, told us the history of the country in an easy to understand way, accompanied with jokes and lots and lots of singing! The tour was well organized and our wonderful driver made it so much fun. Cliffs were busy, but then we also got to see a few stops where we were the only tour bus there. I would highly recommend!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Whitney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing from start to finish!! The Cliffs were amazing even with all the wind and rain! The driver sang a lot during the trip and added to the experience! Would highly recommend going!!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Kim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was exactly the kind of tour we were looking for. A day trip from Dublin that would give a chance to see some of the Irish countryside and to visit some of the beautiful Irish landscapes of the west coast. Our guide Jennifer and our driver Larry were super friendly, knowledgeable, and fun to spend the day with. A nice touch was the Irish music that Jennifer played for us throughout the bus trip. It was just the right amount of quiet time and lecture time on the bus. We lucked out and had beautiful weather for our tour at the end of November. Chilly, but sunny and no wind. Our tour stops included the Cliffs of Moher, lunch at McGann's in Doolin, the Burren, Corcomroe Abbey, and the small village of Kinvara. The Cliffs were stunning a bit hard to photograph on a sunny day and do it justice, but I'll take the sunny weather!, and we spent a fair enough time there. We were able to hike to both the right and the left of the visitor center without feeling rushed. If you think you can only manage one, I would head to the right... it was a bit more adventurous. Lunch was quick but delish. I had the seafood chowder, since it is a regional dish, and it was very good. We were only going to stop along the Burren for about 20 minutes but that stretched to 40 minutes, which was nice. That gave us a chance to appreciate its beauty inland and also along the Atlantic coast this was mostly just a photo op stop. I truly appreciated the stop at the Abbey, since I wanted to see some kind of ancient architecture on this tour and I wasn't sure if we would have a stop at a castle of some sort. The Abbey was lovely especially with the adjacent cemetery. Our final stop was the small village of Kinvara. This was really just a quick coffee/beer break, but we had enough time to walk along the small port and see the boats and the distant castle. You do spend a fair amount of time on the bus in order to get to the other side of the island, but it goes quickly. We also had a pit stop/potty break on the way there and on the way back which was very nice since there was no commode on the bus.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Douglas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide was so positive and fun and sang songs for us as well. We had enough time at the Cliffs of Moher to take a little hike, and we also really enjoyed the pub lunch and the visit to the little abbey. We are so glad we decided to leave Dublin for a day in order to enjoy some of the countryside. Highly recommend this trip - it's well worth the money!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Lauren C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip was fun and the Cliffs of Moher were beautiful! Be prepared to spend the entire day with the group stopping at significant sites on the way back to Dublin.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour. We were the only ones on a 3 day and had very personalized attention! Conducted by Railtours Ireland. Guide was Brendan for days 1 and 3 and Mike for day 2 Deros tours. Day 1-Blarney Castle...lots of time there and really wonderful, then onto Cork and Cobh. Very interesting. Accompanied by a chaperone to Killarney for the overnight at the Avenue Hotel. Really lovely place but don't let them put you in room 101---right above the main entrance. Other than that great! Day 2---Ring of Kerry---conducted by Deros tours. Mike was very nice but quiet and we were rushed all day long. This is one day I would have skipped...nice country but nothing spectacular since we didnt get to visit the towns much. Day 3---Cliffs of Moher---fantastic...plenty of time to explore. Day 3 ends with some time in Galway City, but we opted for an earlier train back to Dublin instead.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

mmdailey3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This a great way to see the Irish countryside. The cliffs are breathtaking. It was a cold and blustery day but the walk along the top of the cliffs was amazing and worth the chill. Our guides were superb! Not sure how Larry could maneuver the giant coach bus along those tiny rural roads. Jennifer was excellent at giving history through her stories. Her voice was so soothing to listen too.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Adrienne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I cannot recommend this tour enough! Our guide Bud was knowledgeable, professional and charming! While the ride out to the Cliffs and back is 3 hours each way, every minute is interesting and entertaining as there is so much to see and learn along the way. If you are looking to get out of Dublin for the day, this is the tour to book!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Amanda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We went on a rainy day and the visibility at the Cliffs of Moher were impossible to see. With that said though, I still had a great time on the tour. The weather was super rainy and dreary so a lot of things were closed. Our tour guide and drivers were John and John. They were whacky, hilarious, and very informative throughout the day. They did their best to fill our day with other pit stops because of the rain. This trip was a very long day so be prepared for the full 15 hours. There is a lot of nap time in between but if you can't nap on the train or bus, come well rested. We started the day at the train station. You must arrive on time because the train will definitely leave you. We first arrived at Bunratty Castle. That was interesting and brief. Most things were closed because it was very early. We ate at a cute little pub in Doolin and our next stop was the Cliffs. We stopped briefly at Burren and then spent some time in Galway. You could either eat dinner, wander, or go to the pub to listen to the local band.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

bookitdano USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Cliffs of Moher were just beautiful even in a light rain and windy conditions ! It is a must see for those who have traveled to other countries that have high cliffs that meet the sea ! Burren was a limestone area , nothing like I have seen before. The train ride was not as much fun as I expected, as your return is in the dark and you don't get back to London until 10 pm. Viator offers a Bus tour to the same places and I would recommend that as a better choice for comfort and time, especially if you have another tour scheduled for the next morning. As always, Viator provides excellent service, comfortable transportation and excellent knowledgable tour guides ! Dolores/NY

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

kvclayton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour made our trip to Ireland! This is through and #34;Extreme Ireland and #34; and we were lucky enough to get Michael as a tour guide. He was a riot! You stop at the Cliffs, the Burren, and one other and #34;secret and #34; spot. Since the bus has no bathroom, you also stop at a rest stop that will have all laughing.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message