Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Cliffs of Moher

The Irish landscape, normally so gentle and well-behaved, reaches for a dramatic flourish as it meets the Atlantic coast. The seaboard offers no greater sight than County Clare’s mighty Cliffs of Moher, which tower above the raging ocean below ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Cliffs of Moher awesome. Tony is a great tour guide. Full of useful information. O'Donnel's pub is good and fast. The desserts are delish.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

laurenkim1013

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This all day tour was well worth it. The train and bus tour was a great way to see the countryside and sneak in a few naps. Although we didn't stop in Limerick, the tour guide provided great commentary about the city. Bunratty castle was very cool and we enjoyed touring the grounds for 2 hours--it goes by very fast. We then went to Doolin and had lunch not included but very good and inexpensive and then to Cliffs of Moher. It rained which was a disappointment but not the fault of the tour. We braved the weather and went up the path to take pictures, marvel and then return to the museum until it was time to leave. We stopped briefly at Burren to walk along the rocks and take photos then continued to final stop in Galway. Galway is a smaller version of Dublin. We shopped, had a drink in the pub then boarded the train back to Heuston station. Make sure to get a table in the train car if you are traveling with 2-4 people. They have a dining car on the train if you want more food than just a snack from the cart, but you can always bring food on the train. I highly recommend this tour for a full day of exploring the Irish coast.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Yossi N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The cliffs are amazing and our guide/driver was outstanding as well. Prepare yourself to a long ride yet the landscape and the guided tour during the ride making it more easy :-. I will definitely recommend to take this tour.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Beautiful countryside and the cliffs were wonderful

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Margaret V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Tour was excellent. Our driver David was so knowledgeable and we learned not only about the Cliffs but so much more. I would recommend this highly.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Akhil P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my day trip from Dublin to the Cliffs of Moher. Our tour had a fantastic and knowledgeable guide Louise and fantastic driver Peter. Louise made the trip fun with great knowledge of Irish history along with playing music from Irish artists. Everything was perfectly timed and driving through the country was beautiful. It is a long day, but you have the opportunity to take naps on the bus. The Cliffs are an incredible site and must trip to take when in Ireland. I would recommend doing this trip to anyone and personally thought it was better than my stay in Dublin.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Loretta T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Cliffs of Moher were elemental on the wild, wet day we visited them! It was an Irish coast experience we couldn't have had on a warm, calm day! The tour driver/guide was great--fun stories and facts about the geography and history with some personal anecdotes and sing alongs. The route takes you off the motorway for all but about an hour of the trip so you really see the countryside--villages, narrow roads, agriculture, ruins. The stop at Burren National Park was a bit shorter than usual because of a detour around an accident on the usual route. If you have only a short time but want a taste of the geography and the countryside, this tour was wonderful.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Edward O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting trip overall. We loved the cliffs and their raw beauty.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Daniel S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Would definitely recommend this tour! Travelling to county Claire to see the cliffs was everything we expected. It was nice to see the lush green countryside.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Margareta Y

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Cliffs are awesome. Drive and guide were very good. Trip is just a bit too long. Not sure what you do about it. Is a long way and back.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Blarney Castle Tour and CLifff of Moher Rail Trip but thought the RIng of Kerry was a little boring. We would have liked to had more photo ops on the road and did not like the way they rushed through the town and the tour guide did not tell us when the photo op was in front of us to take. If photo ops are on opposite side of bus we miss them. Tour guide Bob overall was very good and told a lot of interesting stories and histories. We did not like the Bed and Breakfast in Killarney. They put us far away from everyone else in a bed and breakfast that was old, small rooms and bathroom and no tv. We had a 20 minute walk to town each way and we are in our late 60's Think you should take age into consideration when booking places as my husband had two knee replacements. We will say the Breakfast was excellent and the manager was very nice but we saw tons of vacancies with tv's close to town. We also had to carry our luggage up steps which is hard at our age. the owner of the B and B did help us. Just be sure to ask where your accomodations will be before you go as others had much better places to stay than us and we felt we should be discounted for this! We loved the train ride and saw a lot of the countryside. The Cliff of Moher were the highlight of the trip! We also found the food in Ireland to be very good!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

kimberly m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Long bus ride but David gave us a lot of history along the way. Cliffs are beautiful also see an old abbey, chocolateer, the burrens it was raining then nice lunch

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Natasha W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Unfortunately the weather was typically Irish and the cliffs weren't making a good show of it the day of our tour. However our bubbly, singing, storytelling tour guide Joe made up for the miserable Irish weather. The craic was mighty on our coach which made for a fantastic day. Although almost being blown off the side of the Cliffs is something to write home about anyway!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

steven.dunphy

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Unfortunately we had a lousy weather day, heavy rain and wind. What we saw of the cliffs was breath taking. Would do again with better weather.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Samantha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!! We were picked up at a convenient spot and bussed out to the cliffs. The bus driver had such a great personality: singing, making jokes, giving us info on the places we passed. The cliffs themselves were amazing! And the stops we made on the way back rocked. great company!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Winst

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an amazing day trip from Dublin, and we had a brilliant tour guide in Bud. It starts early in the morning arrive early to claim your coach seat, so that you can get in a full day of sites. You will learn plenty about Irish history and culture, and you will spend ample time at the Cliffs of Moher. If the weather cooperates, you will have a fantastic day with this tour outfit.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Brenda Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highlight of my trip! The Cliffs of Moher are breathtaking in person, even with a bit of mist and some pretty intense gusts of wind this was well worth the trip. The entire trip from Dublin across Ireland to the west coast had such a diverse landscape and was absolutely spectacular. Jim, our amazing tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Ireland and was pretty entertaining which is a good thing when it is over a 2 hour drive from one side of the country to the other. We stopped briefly in the Burrens to take some pictures of the beautiful yet desolate landscape. Well worth spending the entire day on this trip!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Leslie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day trip. Our driver, Mac, was really personable and shared a lot of the history and culture of Dublin along the drive. The Cliffs were beautiful but very windy! There were lots of great paths to walk along and explore the cliff line - our only wish was that we could have stayed longer for a real hike as it was we stopped for about an hour and a half. Mac also drove us to lovely Doolin for lunch, a stop at a beach which was amazing, and a brief stop in Kinvarra which was lovely. It's obviously a big tourist attraction, but definitely worth it for first-time visitors. Our next trip we may try to drive ourselves to spend more time exploring.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Jonathan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Took this tour with my wife and had a great time. It is a long day so get a good night sleep the night before. Out tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. The cliffs were great, the castle was amazing and it was great to get out of Dublin and see more of Ireland.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver did a nice job of providing information along the way. The cliffs are amazing. It was a nice stop for breakfast since the bus leaves so early.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Jeremy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An outstanding tour that I raved to my friends and family about back home. The tour guide was a hoot, and kept us entertained the whole time, while staying quiet for a few hours on the way out west as he let us sleep.

Our first pit stop was in the middle of the country at the Barack Obama Plaza. If one must have a rest stop, why not make it a tourist attraction! There was a little exhibit about Obama's visit to the town, and all the US Presidents with Irish ancestry, Obama included.

We then went to the Cliffs, which were the highlight of my week-long trip to Ireland. If you have the stomach for it, don't just stick to the fenced off main pathway ending in a cutesy little fake castle where most of the tourists go. There are two exits from this official path, both of which have signs saying THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL PATH, BEWARE. If you go on the unofficial path to the left, you'll still encounter a large number of tourists and realize that this, indeed, is also pretty official looking. There's a fenced off area, and once you approach the edge of the cliffs, there are still many meters of flat surface between you and the edge, so there's really no danger.

If you aren't afraid of heights, I recommend going to the unofficial path to the right. Be careful, and be safe, and don't go too close to the edge, but if you follow this path to its peak and very few did, only a handful, you'll get solitude and the best view of your entire life, at the edge of the world. It was the most breathtaking experience I've ever had. When I showed my mom a picture of me at the edge later on, she nearly had a panic attack.

Then we stopped for lunch in a B and B/pub in a tiny village, and it was excellent Irish fare. Beef stew, beer, and whiskey to your heart's content.

Our next stop was this cool field of stone that I don't recall the name for, but I believe it's a national park.

We finally stopped in a beautiful bayside village before returning to Dublin. Perfect trip!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was the perfect way to end my time in Ireland. Wayne our driver and guide missed his calling as a historian and comedian! I gained a deep appreciation for the history of Ireland and the events associated with the famine and those leading up to the Easter Uprising. The Cliffs are amazing, bring your walking shoes and camera. The stop at a local pub after the Cliffs was excellent. I had a nice serving of fish and chips but there were other options of typical Irish Pub fare, the service was fast and the price was very reasonable. Wayne made a recommendation to visit the Kilmeanham Goal to follow-up on the Uprising-great advice but make a reservation! This is the only way to see the Cliffs and enjoy the west coast of Ireland. This tour is best left to a skilled driver who is familiar with the roads and sites is the only way to go! I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Doug D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent experience - the Cliffs were stunning. John, our tour guide, was outstanding!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

lwhalen1130

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous. Brandon, our host, was wonderful and very informative. lunch in the pub was great, the Cliffs were BEAUTIFUL!! Well worth it and I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Hieu L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I was good. The guide was helpful and tell a lot of interesting stories about Ireland, both history and culture. Only take back 1 star because of the foggy weather, we couldn't see any of the cliffs.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message