Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Cliffs of Moher

The Irish landscape, normally so gentle and well-behaved, reaches for a dramatic flourish as it meets the Atlantic coast. The seaboard offers no greater sight than County Clare’s mighty Cliffs of Moher, which tower above the raging ocean below ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 635 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!! We were picked up at a convenient spot and bussed out to the cliffs. The bus driver had such a great personality: singing, making jokes, giving us info on the places we passed. The cliffs themselves were amazing! And the stops we made on the way back rocked. great company!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Winst

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is an amazing day trip from Dublin, and we had a brilliant tour guide in Bud. It starts early in the morning arrive early to claim your coach seat, so that you can get in a full day of sites. You will learn plenty about Irish history and culture, and you will spend ample time at the Cliffs of Moher. If the weather cooperates, you will have a fantastic day with this tour outfit.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Brenda Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Highlight of my trip! The Cliffs of Moher are breathtaking in person, even with a bit of mist and some pretty intense gusts of wind this was well worth the trip. The entire trip from Dublin across Ireland to the west coast had such a diverse landscape and was absolutely spectacular. Jim, our amazing tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable about the history of Ireland and was pretty entertaining which is a good thing when it is over a 2 hour drive from one side of the country to the other. We stopped briefly in the Burrens to take some pictures of the beautiful yet desolate landscape. Well worth spending the entire day on this trip!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Leslie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great day trip. Our driver, Mac, was really personable and shared a lot of the history and culture of Dublin along the drive. The Cliffs were beautiful but very windy! There were lots of great paths to walk along and explore the cliff line - our only wish was that we could have stayed longer for a real hike as it was we stopped for about an hour and a half. Mac also drove us to lovely Doolin for lunch, a stop at a beach which was amazing, and a brief stop in Kinvarra which was lovely. It's obviously a big tourist attraction, but definitely worth it for first-time visitors. Our next trip we may try to drive ourselves to spend more time exploring.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Jonathan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Took this tour with my wife and had a great time. It is a long day so get a good night sleep the night before. Out tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. The cliffs were great, the castle was amazing and it was great to get out of Dublin and see more of Ireland.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our driver did a nice job of providing information along the way. The cliffs are amazing. It was a nice stop for breakfast since the bus leaves so early.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Jeremy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An outstanding tour that I raved to my friends and family about back home. The tour guide was a hoot, and kept us entertained the whole time, while staying quiet for a few hours on the way out west as he let us sleep.

Our first pit stop was in the middle of the country at the Barack Obama Plaza. If one must have a rest stop, why not make it a tourist attraction! There was a little exhibit about Obama's visit to the town, and all the US Presidents with Irish ancestry, Obama included.

We then went to the Cliffs, which were the highlight of my week-long trip to Ireland. If you have the stomach for it, don't just stick to the fenced off main pathway ending in a cutesy little fake castle where most of the tourists go. There are two exits from this official path, both of which have signs saying THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL PATH, BEWARE. If you go on the unofficial path to the left, you'll still encounter a large number of tourists and realize that this, indeed, is also pretty official looking. There's a fenced off area, and once you approach the edge of the cliffs, there are still many meters of flat surface between you and the edge, so there's really no danger.

If you aren't afraid of heights, I recommend going to the unofficial path to the right. Be careful, and be safe, and don't go too close to the edge, but if you follow this path to its peak and very few did, only a handful, you'll get solitude and the best view of your entire life, at the edge of the world. It was the most breathtaking experience I've ever had. When I showed my mom a picture of me at the edge later on, she nearly had a panic attack.

Then we stopped for lunch in a B and B/pub in a tiny village, and it was excellent Irish fare. Beef stew, beer, and whiskey to your heart's content.

Our next stop was this cool field of stone that I don't recall the name for, but I believe it's a national park.

We finally stopped in a beautiful bayside village before returning to Dublin. Perfect trip!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Hieu L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I was good. The guide was helpful and tell a lot of interesting stories about Ireland, both history and culture. Only take back 1 star because of the foggy weather, we couldn't see any of the cliffs.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

JOMAYRA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It rain all day when my friend and I went so we didn't really get to enjoy the Cliffs, but when that part of the tour ended the guide drove us to an old fashion Ireland pub that was really good for their fish and chips. We also visited where they make their own chocolate, it was nice to see the country side of Ireland.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Amy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! I highly recommend it. Our tour guide - Jonathan Beaumont was terrific! Not only did he share the local history and background of various places we visited, he regaled us with poems and Irish stories. The Cliffs, local sites and villages are a good picture of Irish life.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Roger C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is a great way to get introduced to Ireland. Easy train ride across to Limerick although you do have to get up early. The guide - Brendan and driver Michael were outstanding. Brendan's commentary provided a framework of information that enhanced the visual experience of the trip. The Bunratty Castle visit was interesting. Lovely grounds. What can anyone say about the Cliffs of Moher that hasn't already been said? SPECTACULAR! The Burren? 350 million years old. It seems to go on forever. Unfortunately the return trip to Dublin had to be made by coach as there was some type of issue with the train....none the less, we made it back from Galway just about at our scheduled time.
Thank you Brendan and Michael for a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Guillaume C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Cliffs of Moher are beautiful! The driver and tour host were absolutely spectacular! The host told stories of old as we drove through the land. Really, I can't recommend it any higher. Do it.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

kevincampbell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was great. It is a long day but the Cliffs was worth it.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Tonya A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This is my second time taking the Cliffs of Moher tour and I enjoyed it just as much as the first time. This tour is well worth the money...you will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Stephanie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jonathan B. was our tour guide. He was very knowledgable and pleasant. There is a lot to see on this tour, which is why we chose it. The Irish weather changes quickly so I recommend layers and something comfortable. The Cliffs were muddy so wear good shoes. Overall, excellent tour.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Carl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the trip. Our driver was friendly and helpful. We took a southern route to the Cliffs and returned via a northern route. Saw a lot of Ireland in one day. We would recommend the trip. The Cliffs are amazing!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Emily G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This driver was also great -- told us so many stories on the way there and back, which helped the time pass in a fun way!
The cliffs are amazing to see, plus areas like the Burren, etc. The stops for food are fun, too.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Michael F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was amazing! The Cliffs of Moher are a must see in Ireland! Jennifer was very knowledgeable and gave an excellent tour! For reference, bring bug spray. I came home with large welts on my arms from bug bites.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We were lucky because we had great weather the day we went! The bus was comfortable, our guide gave us good information about the history of Ireland, and in addition to the Cliffs, we stopped in two small towns (one for lunch). He gave us free time to walk around at our leisure.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Colleen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely wonderful! We were thrilled to see more than just the cliffs and were very impressed with the knowledge and personality of our driver Wayne. I've recommended this tour to several others already.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Nora O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Mike was a great tour guide! We had an amazing time, everything was on time despite even unplanned delays. Would definitely recommend joining this to her to see the cliffs and the west of Ireland.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Stephen R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

By far, one of the best tours. It was long but you do go to the west side of the island. Plenty of time to rest on train or bus but you want to hear everything the wonderful guide tells you about the whole ride thru towns and countryside. The Cliffs of Mohrs are amazing. Don and #39;t miss this.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Maurice A H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The combination of rail and bus was a delightful way to travel. The countryside, the castle and the cliffs were everything we hoped for. The wind and rain had it moments but sunny times gave us many perspectives of the region. We also enjoyed meeting the other folks on the tour.
A to our talented guide.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Janet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was wonderful. You take a train and then a bus ride. Our guide, Brandon, explained various areas along the entire bus ride. We stopped at different places to see things and take pictures. The Cliffs of Moher were the highlight of the trip. It was very rainy, foggy and windy when we first arrived, but it cleared up and was beautiful. It's a long day of activities, but worth it.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Adam N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour guide Bud was amazing, very funny, very knowledgeable and engaging with the tour group. We had numerous stops before and after the cliffs and made the bus ride more enjoyable. We stopped at a Church, chocolate factory, rocks by the coast. Food after the cliffs was great. The only thing I would say to make it a little better, when we ate after the cliffs the restaurant had at least 3 buses eating at one place and made for a long line and a rushed meal and the food was amazing. After we where done we notice there were at least 3 other places to eat and spread everyone out. Once in a life time opportunity, don't miss out.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message