Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Cliffs of Moher

The Irish landscape, normally so gentle and well-behaved, reaches for a dramatic flourish as it meets the Atlantic coast. The seaboard offers no greater sight than County Clare’s mighty Cliffs of Moher, which tower above the raging ocean below ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 686 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a really nice time. Our tour guide John knew so much information and shared it all while we drove around the country side. He even played Celtic music. It was really foggy at the cliffs of moher but to be expected this time of year. Really enjoyed eating lunch at an Irish pub. Would do again!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Enrique T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The cliffs were amazing along with everything else.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Lucinda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

You need to do this! It can be a long day but Derrick the driver was hilarious, the ride was smooth, and Derrick is a great driver anyone that can maneuver a 60 passenger bus around a corner meant for a bicycle has my vote for best driver ever!.
You get to see many small Irish villages, experience the windy cliffs of Moher, and see an old abbey cemetery. Be on the lookout for a very rolling golf course along the motorway, be sure your driver gives you a heads up, it's amazing.
The coach was comfortable for the passengers drivers need a cup holder. The pit stops were plenty and gave everyone a chance to use facilities, grab a bite to eat or something to drink or stretch their legs.
Derrick gave us good information as we passed by things and before we came up to the next stop. He always gave us a time frame for how long until the next stop and how long we will be there.
Only recommendation for the company would be to install a large electronic clock near the front. That helps people to confirm they are on the same time as the bus and can check their watches accordingly when they depart the bus.
It was extremely reasonable price I thought and would take this tour company to other places if I get a chance to go to Ireland again.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Julie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I loved this trip, such a beautiful, relaxing day. The Cliffs were breathtaking, and the drive through the country was peaceful and beautiful. Our tour guide, Derek, was excellent, giving lots of interesting history and commentary without being boring or talking constantly. We did have a stunner of a day, clear, bright, sunny, and not too cold. If you can book on a clear day, your won't regret spending your whole day on this trip.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Ema D Bosnia Herzegovina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I really loved this tour. Our guide Gabriel or Angel Gabriel as he preferred :P seems to really love his job and history and country. The tour wouldn't have been the same without him. A real history buff with a knack for storytelling. He basically gives you a very entertaining crash course on the history of Ireland.
I was deciding between this tour and another one cause I was afraid of what the weather would be like but since the weather was surprisingly amazing throughout my entire visit to Ireland I booked this and I'm so glad I did.
The cliffs are a truly spectacular view I actually added the cliffs to my wishlist after they popped up as a wallpaper on Momentum for Chrome :P . The other places you visit are quite nice as well but I think I enjoyed the ride through Ireland more than anything. The view from the bus is absolutely amazing. The lunch in Doolin was very tasty today's catch fish chips.
Before heading back, we stopped at a chocolate factory so be forewarned, if you're a chocoholic like me, prepare to spend quite a bit of money there :P

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our 4 Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara trip was wonderful. Our tour guide for the first several days was Jonathan an he was one of the best we have ever had for guides. His knowledge of history, literature, politics, economics, folklore was excellent and we were delighted that he talked much of the time since he wasn't the driver too. His humor and caring attitude was excellent and we loved his quotations of poetry and music the whole trip. Our scenic views were spectacular and this made our vacation one of the best ever. I highly recommend this tour by Viator and Ireland Railtours. Their coordination and handling of all of us tourists was excellent.... they practically held our hands to guide us where we needed to be. It was a great vacation and I would love to do this trip again someday!

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Full of beautiful scenery and unexpected picture worthy stops. Cliff of Moher surpassed expectations.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great. You got see to a variety of sights along the way to / from the Cliffs to break up the day.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Amy E

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful cliffs on the west coast of Ireland. We also enjoyed our tour guide who self described as a leprechaun who has kidnapped us. He definitely had the Irish gift of gab!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Wendy N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Really nice tour. Our guide was really great - Mike Murphey - very funny, informative and kept people moving on schedule without being rushed too much. The Cliffs are a can't miss - absolutely amazing - and with 1.5 hours to explore, you can do some hiking along the cliffs and get some amazing pictures. Do wear walking shoes/boots - it's muddy and slick and there are not rails along the trail. Great lunch option in Doolin - wonderful pub. Would have like to have a little more time to explore Kanarra Village - 1/2 and hour to find a bathroom and do some looking around is just not enough. It is a long day 3.5 hours each way from Dublin - but MIke kept it interesting.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Kayla

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

We took a similar trip in Scotland through Viator, and it was on a smaller bus i.e. 16 people where we could make multiple stops for pictures. This trip was on a grey hound bus, and it was pretty cramped... not as luxurious, but still a good trip. There wasn't enough time to stop in Doolin for lunch, as multiple tour buses had made that stop and the town was PACKED..... I recommend taking time to eat at the Cliff's café to avoid this stress.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Michelle G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

Sadly, this was NOT the tour I booked.
I was really looking forward to going to Galway and surrounds, as were some other travelers on the bus, and we were told WE must have booked the wrong tour. Paper work shows differently.
The Cliffs of Moher were amazing however, the driver wasted 1/2 hour for latecomers who didn't come back to the bus on time before moving on, the Pub we went to for lunch was a poor choice. Some of us had our meals forgotten by the waiter, and when it arrived it was poor quality and expensive for where it was. On the way home our bus broke down on the Freeway due to the engine overheating as it had not been filled with water. The driver borrowed all water available from those on the bus. No real apology after waiting 1/2 hour for the engine to cool down enough to drive on. No water returned to anyone.... Driver also didn't drop me off at the Trinity College stop at the end as he said too many road works and traffic - I was dropped in an area I didn't know and had to ask people on the street how to find my way to Trinity. Poor tour guide, poor transportation, poor everything EXCEPT the Cliffs of Moher which of course were spectacular. Shame about the tour. Go to see them, just with someone else!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend the Cliffs of Moher, Limerick, Burren, and Galway tour! While a long day every minute was a memorable one.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

tara.b.redmond

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide/driver was Wayne. He was fantastic! Kept us on schedule and was incredibly knowledgeable about where he took us. I have bad motion sickness and he was very accommodating. We weren't able to see the cliffs due to the weather, but he knew of a spot a little further down where we were able to stop and get amazing shots of some other cliffs. We even saw a leprechaun! LOL Thanks Wayne!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Hannah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Absolutely amazing trip. If you have good weather, the cliffs are just awesome and it's worth every penny of the ticket - and the four-hour drive from Dublin. Our tour guide, David, was interesting and told us a lot about the countryside as we passed. We enjoyed the stops following the cliffs as well, but nothing else was as dramatic or amazing as the cliff-side. Gorgeous and unforgettable.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Fabian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have used Viator for all our tours, and like always, they never disappoint, this trip was beyond wonderful, as we were fortunate to get really good weather and clear skies which is a must to see the cliffs. I must mention David our tour guide who was simply amazing in his knowledge and storytelling skills which i thoroughly enjoyed....

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

yeshellothisisme

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Mac was our tour guide, and Mac MADE that tour. He was a one-man show, acting as the bus driver, tour guide, singing star, and food critic. He would frequently sing us Irish songs over the PA system on the long ride home the kids in front of us weren't very enthusiastic, but the rest of us were. He stopped in this tiny town and recommended this crowded but absolutely freaking delicious little restaurant where I had the best food in all of Ireland. Plus he got us there and back safely, chipper all the while.

The Cliffs themselves are really a sight to behold. It's a tiny bit terrifying if you're scared of heights, you can still do the tour but be aware some places get a little closer than you'd probably like.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guides were exactly where the meeting instructions said they would be in the train station and at the proper time. So the meeting up went smoothly. We were assigned Calum I hope I'm spelling that correctly! as our guide.

The train ride to Limerick went by quickly as we enjoyed breakfast on-board. Once in Limerick, we were picked up by our driver John in the Yellow bus! and Calum gave a commentary of Limerick as we made our way through the city and onward to Bunratty Castle.

Bunratty Castle and Folk Park were a wonderful place to visit! We were greeted by a tour guide and whisked away while he informed us of the castle's history. After the informative tour and enjoyable quirkiness of our guide we explored the castle on our own and then ventured back out and explored Folk Park. It is such a quaint place, maintained beautifully. We only wished we had been given more time as Folk Park is so large, we were only able to see about half of it before we had to start heading back to our bus.

We then drove through the countryside to our lunch stop in Doolin at Gus O'Connors Pub. My husband and I both had the chowder and ham sandwich that were quite yummy! With his pint of Guinness and my Coke, our total was 27Euro.. not too bad, but the prices could be a little better given what we had ordered. Although the pub was pleasant and friendly, I do feel as though this was a forced venue and as such they are able to charge higher prices. We were only given one hour before meeting at the bus again, so that does not give you much option for finding another place to eat. I do not remember seeing any other eateries on the little road, so perhaps you are stuck/forced to dine at the pub. There were lots of little shops not just your run of the mill tourist souvenir shops along the road. We were able to stick our heads in three or four of them before we had to meet at the bus.

Next stop was the Cliffs of Moher. This was the highlight and, quite honestly, the only reason my husband and I chose this tour. The cliffs are more impressive and more breath-taking than we could have imagined. No pictures do it justice. Truly. You must experience them for yourself. Depending on how much free time you are given at the site, I highly recommend saving yourself time -- upon arrival, climb the stairs/paths, staying on the right. Once you reach the top and can see the cliffs, walk up to your right. There is a tower - pay the 2Euro per person cash only to climb to the top it is worth the money, trust me!. The right path gives you the best views of the cliffs. I am not saying walking on the left on top of the cliffs is not good to do, however on this tour you are only given so much time and to make the best of it, I recommend staying to the right in order to get the best views of the cliffs.

After meeting the bus, we drove to Galway by way of the Burren. We had one stop that allowed us to walk out on the rocks for pictures. My husband and I ventured out to the edge and were rewarded with fantastic views of the Atlantic crashing along the rocky shore. Highly recommend wearing hiking boots on this tour so you have good traction on the rocks and can walk out to see the waves. Not many on our tour had good shoes on and we were asked to show the pictures we took back on the bus as we were the only ones who walked all the way out.

In Galway, we bid farewell to John and the Yellow bus and were given about one and a half hours of free time before needing to meet Calum at the train station. We decided to have a quick pint at a pub and then grab sandwiches that we stuffed in our backpack for dinner to eat on the train and spent our time exploring in the vicinity of the train station. There are lots of shops, though some are on side streets I found my Aran wool sweater in a local shop nearby!.

At our appointed time, we met our group at the train station and boarded for our return trip to Dublin. Some of the other tour members began singing and soon Calum pulled his recorder out and our train car quickly turned into an Irish concert on wheels! It was fantastic.

All in all, we had a superb day with Calum and John and the Yellow bus :. It was certainly worth the money and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a tour to the cliffs!

Given the size of the grounds, consideration should be given to allow for more time at the stop for Bunratty Castle and Folk Park.
Stopping somewhere with more dining options for lunch would be welcome since Gus O'Connors Pub is the only option.. it would be nice to get to choose and not be stuck in going where the tour operator most likely has an agreement/contract and may or may not receive a kickback for taking everyone there. It would also be nice to be able to choose to grab something to go giving you the ability to walk around and explore the street and shops without having to race through a sit-down meal in order to have any hopes of having time to visit any of the shops.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

tmthornton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A wonderful day trip from Dublin west to the Cliffs of Moher. The tour guide Joey was excellent! He was knowledgable and able to keep a pretty big group on time and engaged. There are plenty of stops for bathroom breaks and snacks. Enjoy!

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

Tina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

FYI- after doing 7 tour in 8 days i would do more coach tours then rail tours. You get more time at the main attractions this way....during the rail tours you see more but are rushed along and feel unsatisfied. However this tour in particular is a toss up rail or coach so...... This was by far my favorite sightseeing tour on our trip. The cliff are beautiful and the weather cooperated. Galway was ok not what we expected ....basically we went in a bar there ate dinner and got ready to catch the rail back to Dublin. Guides were funny and broke out Irish whisky on the trip home...would have loved to party with them but we had another 15 hour tour the next day. Still the tour gets 5 stars for the cliffs alone!!!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Jennifer.Jaiswal

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Incredible! My one regret is the time factor. I wanted more time at the cliffs. It was fantastic as a taste of the location.

Doing what: Cliffs of Moher Day Trip from Dublin

dianfauzana Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

one way to ride the train. however, we could not see any scenery - we ride way early in the morning and trip back it was already dark. our guide Andy was informative and he sings. the cliffs was good - stunning.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

mhamilton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

From boarding the train at 7:00am to arriving back in Dublin around 10:30pm, everything was fantastic! My group was headed up by Andy and he was delightful. It was a lot to pack into one day, but definitely worth it. My company's in-house travel agent recommended Viator so I knew I was in safe hands. The Cliffs of Moher were the top highlight of the trip, but coming in second was standing on the beach in Doulin looking off to the cliffs as well as the Aran Islands. I would definitely book another tour in any city using Viator!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Madeline W

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were met by Edmund at Heusten station. It was only my friend and I and he told us facts along the way. He passed us off to Owen who gave us the lay of the land in Galway and held our luggage for us. We spend a few hours in Galway and then headed to Bunratty castle Hotel which was good. No free wifi as we could see. Then we went to Bunratty medieval banquet. We are early 30s and found this quite entertaining. The food was some of the best we had during our trip. the next morning we went to the castle and folk park and then went for lunch in Doolin. Food was mediocre. Beautiful setting. The Cliffs were beautiful. We had about an hour in Galway before being accompanied back to Dublin by Brandon who told us stories along the way from Bunratty to Galway. My favorite part was the stop at The Burren.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

rowdydance United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

This is my second time to Ireland and touring! I had not been to the Cliffs Of Moher before and What a Thrill! I took my cousin and a friend along this go round and they were really impressed. my only complaint was that it seemed they hadn't reserved the Train seat tickets correctly and we were seated away from the main group which made me a bit nervous we would be left behind. but the guides made sure to come to the back and check in with us and assure us he knew we were back there. Everyone loved Bunratty Castle as well, just wish we had more time to visit there and see more of the Folk Village! A short stop in the Burren was great for those that hadn't seen it. many people were uninterested but quite a few took a moment to look around. Galway city was easy to get around as i had been there before. The Train station was very close to a restaurant i had eaten at before and we easily found it and were able to eat there again. Would have been nice to have just another 30 minutes there maybe! oh and the lunch stop in Doolin was perfect the food was delicious not over priced and the small Chocolate shop had everyone in it!!!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message