Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

BradEW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A jam-packed day up to Northern Ireland for some great history, beautiful views and photo opportunities, and stories of humor from our guide, Wayne. The entire day felt well-paced and the sites are just fantastic. As fans of Game of Thrones we enjoyed walking down the King's Highway at the Dark Hedges and we stumbled into a great fusion restaurant in Belfast - Ginger Bistro get the calamari and extra bread for dipping!. The Giant's Causeway and rope bridge were cool to experience and even despite a few moments of rain, we had some great photos to capture the moments. We hesitated to do this trip as it is far up north but the time goes by quick and every moment was enjoyable - one of the highlights of our vacation - well worth it. Our guide Wayne was full of information and stories and kept us entertained at all times. Very knowledgeable and professional.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Tour. Everything was organized and very punctual without feeling rushed. The views around the rope bridge were stunning and the Giant's Causeway was a beautiful area although a bit busy the day we were there. The highlight for me was the taxi tour through Belfast. The drivers all live in the area and have been touched personally by the Troubles and are able to convey some of the issues from their personal experience.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Alan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

this trip was great! the sites were interesting and I like the little mixture of nature giant's causeway and culture the tour of the troubles in Belfast. It's always great if you can get a mixture of both in a day. The bus ride was very comfortable, it wasn't full so you had a lot of room and the scheduling was perfect. Our guide told us when to get things so that we can plan a picnic or plan for the next bathroom break. But besides the sites that we saw the bus travels itself was quite interesting because our guide Peter talked about everything that has to do Ireland, the Irish culture people, and the language. Including how they use turf, irish sports, slang words, where in town to find live music etc etc...It was very informative and very interesting! I highly recommend this tour! We went there for a cousin's wedding, and I even drove to Ring of Kerry for 3 days but the favorit thing we did in Ireland was this tour!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Edmund M C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

A very long tour starting early in the morning and lasting 14 hours. Laurie was a great tour guide and took care to keep us on schedule. Unfortunately the day was windy and wet but did not deter most from seeing the sites. After a breakfast stop in N. Ireland we went to the Carrick-a-Reed rope bridge which was a challenging experience, especially after a 20 minute hike to the bridge in the blustery conditions. The Giant's Causeway is also a must see, although it was also a 20 minute walk from the bus. There were several other short stops along the way at various sites Game of Thrones sites and perhaps one too many. The most memorable part of the tour for me was the optional Black Taxi ride in Belfast. The murals on both sides of the Peace Wall and the wall itself epitomizes the ongoing separation that remains in N. Ireland. Very informative to have frank discussions with the taxi drivers who lived through the troubles. A great tour overall, but a very very long day. Kudos to Laurie and the driver, Larry.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Titanic Exhibit was very good. Giant's Causeway was absolutely amazing! A must must must see!!!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Betty Jo P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Best tour of all I took. History of Belfast is mind boggling. I learned so much. Highlight for my entire Ireland trip however was Giant's Causeway - most magical geological visit I have ever had! Loved it!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Bridget W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

You have a lot of little stops with this tour. I wanted to see Giant's Causeway and the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, this tour met the conditions. I was slightly disappointed that the stops were mostly self-discovery. I would have preferred a bit more guidance on the tour at the stops. Overall a good day trip.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Belfast

Roger C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another satisfying tour from Viator. The early morning start from Dublin was on a spectacular cloudless day. Our guide Paddy ensured that everyone knew what the day would be like and we all relaxed for the pleasant ride to Belfast. The views of the countryside from the train were beautiful. In Belfast our coach driver Ian got us off to a good start by telling one of his Irish jokes. The weather began to turn a bit but the comments and colorful descriptions by Ian kept everything on a high-note. Along the way to Carrick - A - Rede we got to see some of the rugged but beautiful coastline of the Irish Sea and some of the spectacular glens. When you get to the rope bridge, you have to challenge yourself to cross the bridge. It's a view you shouldn't miss. Lunch at Bushmill's Distillery could have been smoother. Either Paddy or Ian should have advised the travelers that the restaurant is more like a cafeteria and that we should form along the left side of the dining room when we get there. Most of us ended up going against traffic..... On to the Giant's Causeway after lunch. When you get there, don't take the tram down to the Causeway. The view as you are walking is amazing. At the Causeway, you'll be asking yourself how did these formations end up looking like they do? Back at the coach meeting point, don't pass up the opportunity for a really great ice cream cone from the little gift shop next to the hotel. Pleasant ride back to Belfast via a more direct route. Paddy was extremely helpful to some of the travelers on the train back to Dublin by telephoning and arranging for a taxi from the train station to their hotel. That's service.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Jim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing excursion! It was a long day that was packed with lots of great stops and went by very fast. The bus was comfortable and stops were made for snacks and restrooms. We got lucky and had perfect weather. The stop at The Dark Hedges was about 15 minutes and was all that is needed to take a quick look around and a few photos. The rope bridge was fun and the landscape is beautiful. We had a very clear day and could see the coast of Scotland! Lunch was at a very cute, small roadside restaurant that seemed prepared for our arrival. The food was served quickly, tasted good, and very reasonably priced!

Giant's Causeway was beautiful and amazing. We had a great time climbing on the rocks and hiking around the area. We had about 2 hours there, which was a good amount of time, but it would have been nice to have a little longer.

Belfast is an interesting place with a lot of history. We had about 1.5 hours there and went to an old pub and walked around the capital area. The last stop was just a quick pullover and photo op of a seaside castle.

Overall this tour is highly recommended and a ton of fun!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Susan P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Loved Giant's Causeway -- we were given just the right amount of time to walk to/from the Causeway and take plenty of photos. We also had time to have lunch in the pub right there, complete with a roaring fire in the fireplace. Also had just the right amount of time to walk the mile or so to and from the rope bridge -- very beautiful coastline and scenery! The bridge was no big deal, as far as being scary, and it led to a small island from which you could look back and get amazing views of the coastline. The only disappointment was Belfast. We did the black taxi tour, hoping to see the highlights of the city, with some photo stops. It turned out to just be all about the Troubles, which was interesting, but then we were hoping to still see something of the city other than the Peace Wall and memorials to those killed in the violence. Really loved everything else about the tour, so I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Marge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Giant's Causeway was lovely --- great little hike. Belfast Black Taxi Tour was interesting, and truly disturbing hearing about the level violence during 'The Troubles' and its continued after math.
Only criticism -- have motor coaches with washrooms, so that more time could be enjoyed at the primary sites. -- this is quite significant, when your bus is 3/4 women!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Ruth K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Having an escort from Dublin to Belfast was brilliant. The hotel accommodations were brilliant. II only give this a four instead of five, because it seems a walking tour could have been arranged for Belfast near the hotel. We were too late to go to the Titanic, but would have loved to see the city. would love to revisit Ireland, and this coach tour up to the Giant's Causeway was brilliant. Driver / Guide was brilliant.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

Stefanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Giant's Causeway was amazing -- one of the most beautiful natural sites I've ever seen! Our guide Richard was very informative and entertaining. The black taxi tour of Belfast was fascinating, and the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge had stunning scenery. We were lucky to have great weather that day.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Jessica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour. Tara was our guide she was such a lovely young lady, so helpful and full of so much knowledge about Ireland. The Game of Throne sites were so cool, Tara even showed us clips of the scenes taken at the very locations. The Giant's Causeway is definitely a must see!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although this is a long day, boy it was great! The bus stops at a rest and food stop about an hour after leaving Dublin. Along the way to Belfast, our guide, JP, was giving us history of Belfast, England, Protestants, Catholics and IRA. We were told on the bus that we had a choice to take the Black taxi Tour OR visit the Titanic Museum. This wasn't listed as a choice on Viator but some did decide to visit the Museum. Once in Belfast, we quickly transferred to the waiting Black Taxis 3-4 people per taxi and drivers and our adventure into the past began. Gerry, our driver, claimed he was an observer during the troubled times, 1960s on...He had friends that joined the IRA but most were killed. His description of these times, the history, were fascinating. There were things that Gerry told us about that we never heard in the US. At the end of the tour, we stopped at the Peace Wall and signed our names and left a message on the wall. We then continued to the Giant's Causeway. There is a bus that can take you down and up from the entrance to the rocks or you can walk. There are two restaurants that you can have lunch. We then continued on to the Rope Bridge. I use a walker so I didn't walk all the way to the bridge but those that did mentioned it was a little scary climbing down the ladder to the bridge. It was raining by this time, so I headed back to the tea house for some afternoon tea. It was a long drive back, we had a rest stop along the way, but it was a wonderful day.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our entire experience on the 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin was exceptional! Traveling between Dublin and Belfast was interesting and informative, thanks to the people who accompanied us, and the Giant's Causeway was amazing!

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

Tami B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous! The black taxi cab drivers were great. It was a solemn experience at the Peace Wall. Giant's Causeway was beautiful.
Driver and guide were great.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

John or Cricket H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a GREAT trip!! Such a fun, informative way to cover a lot of ground in one day. Our bus driver was funny and had a lot of good info to share. Our taxi driver was so full of great historical and personal stories and really helped us understand Belfast. The Giant's Causeway was gorgeous and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge was AMAZING!! Everything about the day was wonderful and I highly recommend to anyone considering it. It was well worth the money and the time. :

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

STEVEN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a fantastic tour-starts with a train ride from Dublin to Belfast where a bus tour starts. Sean our guide was great and Patrick our bus driver was fantastic. He gave us so much history about the country up in the North of Ireland. Yes, the trip is long but so worthwhile-you see and learn so much. Our days were sunny so we explored the Giant's Causeway--this tour is well organized and it gives you plenty of time at the stops to enjoy the countryside. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous trip! The bus driver was very interesting with all kinds of facts along the way. The Black Taxi Tour was one of my favorites. The driver of the taxi had lived through the troubles and was a wealth of information! The Giant's Causeway is just spectacular! Of course we had wonderful weather all over Ireland when we were there! I highly commend this tour!!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

CHAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was worth to visit there to walk through the Giant's Causeway and rope bridge.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Diana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was humorous and kept us on schedule the entire day - we had a couple delays but were able to make up for them easily. We went to the Dark Hedges, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge which was unexpectedly beautiful, Giant's Causeway, a photo stop for some castle, and Belfast.
We also made a couple stops for snacks and lunch. In Belfast, you are given the option to go on a political tour or walk around the city yourself for about an hour. We did the tour, thankfully, since this was the highlight of my day!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Eric D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day! Anthony, our guide, and John, the driver, were terrific companions. Anthony was personable, funny, and full of great bits of information throughout the trip and kept everything on a tight schedule so that we were able to see everything. You might think there is no way to do all of this in one day, but Anthony made it happen and we had plenty of time to enjoy each site. Our cabbie in Belfast, Patrick was terrific as well. So engaging and we learned so much from him and the places he took us. My only complaint was that the lunch spot the Nook at the Giant's Causeway was unable to handle the crowds and we wound up with only a scone for lunch. But we made do. We were having such a great time. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Susan C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! The rope bridge and the giant's causeway were magnificent. Our bus was running behind schedule and the driver suggested the black cab tour in Dublin. I believe since our time was limited we did not receive the full tour since friends on another bus had a much better experience with the black cab tour. We had five taxis travelling together with the drivers taking turns speaking to all twenty-five of us at each stop location 1 driver spoke while 4 drivers socialized with each other. We also did not get to go to the prison. Actually only visited 2 social housing areas and the wall. Very disappointed in this part of the tour which was an optional add-on but our viator driver made it sound so great that we chose to do it. We would have liked more sightseeing in Belfast.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Michela USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Love it. Went on this tour with my 2 teenagers, aged 14 and 16. Titanic experience was literally the BEST tour I've ever gone on - ever.
Giant's Causeway...so worth it. The bridge is the most fun, but a really challenging climb! If you're afraid of heights, best to skip it.
The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it was too long. It lasted over 13 hours. We stopped like 3 times, and once for gas - around 30 minutes. Didn't need to stop at all. I mean, just do it before you pick us up! Also, there is NO stop between 5 and 8PM...so if you haven't gotten food and stored it in your bag you're screwed.
It was really amazing and I wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message