Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anthony H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The scenery was breath taking and we were lucky with the weather , the sun shone all day . The Carrick-a Rede bridge was amazing and I am so glad that I plucked up courage to cross it . We had a lovely lunch in The Nook pub at The Giant's Causeway . Lots of walking and lots of fresh air . Very long day but well worth it and would recommend this tour to anyone staying in Dublin

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Martino O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Giant's Causeway is beautiful, and the driver was really likable and entertaining :

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Courtney F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour, better than expected! Although you start out very early in the morning, the tour guide Peter and the drive Dell were excellent the whole day! You stop at a nice rest store for restrooms and snacks, both going and coming back which is nice. Once you get to Belfast you have a choice of doing the black cab tour or staying at the Titanic museum. We chose the Black Cab tour and it was super informative and eye opening to the existing tension in Belfast. Although, I would have loved to do both and see the Titanic Museum too, I think we made the right choice going on the Black Taxi tour. After that we drove toward the Giant's Causeway and stopped at an amazing rope bridge across the sea to a small island. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to it and then only 8 people can cross the bridge at a time. Even though it looks scary, I would highly encourage everyone to do it. You have an opportunity to get snacks and small souvenirs at this gift shop as well. We then went to the Giant's Causeway and we took the shuttle for 2 pounds which was well worth it to save time. We then had enough time to eat a late lunch at a small pub right at the parking lot entrance and right by the bus pick up which was convenient. We then drove for a camera stop at castle ruins that were used in the filming of Game of Thrones, House of Greyjoy. It was neat to see as the sun was setting. Then we drove back to Dublin, stopping once as mentioned before. Like I said, Peter and Dell were super informative and fun throughout the day and they were really structured with timing which made the day super efficient to see all we could in a day. I believe the company itself was called Wild Rovers? and they do 2 other day tours, one to Kilkenny which I plan to book next time!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

K L D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Such a gorgeous part of the country, Giant's Causeway is a must on any travel list and this was a great way to see it, highly recommend!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Laci V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour, one I would recommend to anyone who wishes to see the Giant's Causeway.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

bookitdano USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A must do if you are interested in the history of Belfast. We split into groups to ride in a Black Taxi Cab with a guide who shared the few sites, but each one had a significance in meaning to him. There is a large wall that you can sign, other visitors like President Clinton and the Pope. The tour made me feel sad....at 7 pm every night, a large metal gate is locked and then unlocked at 7 am to keep them separated for the night ! A quick look at where the Titanic was built and then onto the Giant's Causeway, a UNESCO site with small to very large hexagonal stones ? It is difficult to imagine that these perfect shaped stones exist in all sizes ! Our tour from Viator was assigned to Wild River Tours and they made the day in between sites. Jack was our tour guide and he was great with his stories, history and comical behavior at times. We all had a great time and great laughs. and had many quiet thoughts on our way back to our hotels. If you are one of those people who have checked off already UNESCO sites , be sure to visit Ireland and see this wonder of nature. I highly recommend this

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Tiffany M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Richard is the bet tour guide ever! Frank was a great driver! We had a great time! We chose the Titanic visitor experience- was okay. Giant's Causeway was stunning! Carrick-a-Rede bridge- amazing! Must take this tour when in Dublin!! Allows you to see past the small city and into the great country that Ireland is!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Anna R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was a wonderful sampling of Northern Ireland's beautiful scenery, with a short stop in Belfast. Our guide Tara was great and super helpful throughout the long day.

I've never seen Game of Thrones, and went because this was the only highly rated tour of Giant's Causeway from Dublin. One of the highlights of my trip! The Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge fee is not included, but you can still walk out to it for free and see the cliffs, as well as check out the quarry Game of Thrones filming site and shoreline on the opposite side of the parking lot.

Cons: the nonstop radio playing on the bus was super annoying, and no Wi-Fi. Would have preferred 1/2 hr more time at Giant's Causeway and 1/2 less at Carrick-a-Rede.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Holly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic experience! Our guide was very knowledgeable and passionate about his country. While we traveled he gave very good information about the history of Ireland. It was so interesting to learn more about the Titanic at the place where it was built and to spend some time in Northern Ireland. Giant's Causeway was also very interesting - be prepared for a long walk with WIND and STEEP hills! We thought this was part of the fun - I believe there were trams that could be taken for a fee. The wind was very cold and so strong it almost felt like we were standing still when walking sometimes, but this made the experience all the more memorable. The formations themselves were a site to see and made for great pictures. At the top when you get back there is a pub where you can have a Guiness while waiting for the return to Dublin. We definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Max

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was hands down the best tour I have been on, because of the mixture of nature and history, made my trip to Dublin!!!! YOU NEED TO GO ON THE BLACK CAB TOUR IN BELFAST to truly appreciate the history portion of this tour.

Owen, our tour guide, did an awesome job of giving us a combination of witty banter i.e playing U2's With or Without You while explaining how everyone needs to get back on time or else he was leaving and explaining the history behind each stop.

Giant's Causeway was stunning and really requires the 2 hours to appreciate every section of the area. Even have the ability to hike up a cliff. Captured some of my favorite photos there. If you are a Game of Thrones fan, you will love two of the stops.

YOU NEED TO TAKE THE BLACK CAB TOUR IN BELFAST, NO QUESTIONS ASKED! It was the most interesting tour I have ever been on.

The only thing I didnt like was the super early start time of 6:30am which means you will need to be up and ready to go by 6am if you have a close hotel.

Besides waking up early, AMAZING TOUR

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

patricia r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Incredible experience!! Beautiful places! Fully met expectations.

During the whole trip Tara, our friendly guide explained historical data of the places we went feel free to ask any questions because she is very willing to explain, and of course explained the GOTs scenes, showing us photos and videos so that we felt inside the series as we visited the places.

We leave very early in the morning but it's okay, because otherwise we would have been very little time in each place. We first stopped in Belfast about 45 min to pick up the rest of the tour, so we could not get around much of the city. Then we went to Dark Hedges where was the characteristic avenue of twisted trees that appears in GOT when Arya escapes of King's Landing. The only problem is that it is not allowed to stay more than 15 min. We followed the route and made a stop near the coast where you could see the ruins of a castle, very cute. The Giant's Causeway was everything I expected and more, with the characteristic shape of the rocks. They gave us enough time to appreciate them and take all the photos we wanted. We follow the tour and stop at Ballycatle where the typical rope suspension bridge is, ATENTION in this tour you don't go there, You choose between going to the bridge or seeing other nearby places where GOT was filmed Larrybane Quarry and the Iron Islands, But not both it's completely worth going to GOT. Finally we went to Cushendun Caves which was also nice.

Tips: - bring food and water, because there are many places where you can't buy such things.
- Go with good shoes and comfortable, ideally sneakers because The Giant's Causeway is slippery. Besides, that will allow you to walk faster and arrive earlier to the places to enjoy them more time.

PS: good selection of songs for the bus trip.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

FELIPE M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Although it was a really long and cold day, my experience was good. After leaving Dublin we made a quick stop for coffee/breakfast. Then we head over to the city of Belfast we chose the black cab tour which it was very interesting to learn about the conflict between Protestants and Catholics. However, I wish we could have seen a little more of the city. We spent about 1 hour at Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. Unfortunately, the bridge was close due to bad weather but even like that the site was beautiful. The Giant's Causeway was great too, but make sure to wear non slippery shoes. The castle was only a photo stop. Our tour guide was great, she provided lots of information and she even sang a couple of traditional songs for us she has good voice.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

mary.sullivan16

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The entire tour was amazing and interesting, and I would ABSOUTELY recommend this tour to someone. The only problem I had was the at the end with how long till we were able to use the bathroom. We were so far north for from Dublin about 3 1/2 hours and there was only one bathroom break from Giant's Causeway to Dublin and it was 45 minutes outside of Dublin. Be prepared because it is a long time not to use the bathroom.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

loro411

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was definately worth the time especially the black cab ride in Belfast. You get a first hand review of the unrest in that area. Definately folloow the bus drivers suggestion of a box lunch at the first comfort stop. There were not many places to get a bite. The Giant's Causeway is an amazing natural wonder and the rope bridge exciting. Be prepared to walk.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Anne.salt995

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a long day, but well worth your time. We saw beautiful countryside, learned a lot about the troubles and experienced Giant's causeway.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Logan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A lot of fun! Giant's Causeway was absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely go back. The rope bridge was a lot of fun to do as well!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day trip. Conducted by Wild Rover Tours. We were promptly picked up at Starbucks by guide Peter and driver Frank. It's a very long day, but full of amazing information. Start out by driving to Belfast. You have the choice of going to the Titanic exhibit or taking the black taxi political tour which is the one we did. You spend about an hour and a half hearing about the conflict that persists today. We got to sign one of the peace walls. Then we went to the Carrick-a-Rede bridge....really beautiful but absolutely exhausting climb back up as you dont have a lot of time to delay. Lunch is at the Giant's Causeway, which is an amazing place. It was getting dark, so we couldnt see the Dunluce Castle that well and then on our way back home. Lots of stops for bio breaks and great information. I would recommend visiting this part of Ireland!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Amanda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Giant's Causeway tour was awesome. I would highly recommend it. We drove to the hedges first and then the Carrick-a-Rede Bridge. That was incredible even though it rained. We had about an hour so I recommend you take pictures quickly and go across the bridge ASAP. We stopped at a little cafe for lunch and only had 30 minutes to eat but the food was delicious. I recommend bringing British pounds because there's a minimum credit card charge of 10. We went to the causeway after that. It was pouring and super windy but it was still pretty incredible to see in real life. If you plan to use the shuttle to go up you will definitely need some pounds then. Once we finished the causeway we stopped at Dunluce Castle which is the base that GoT uses for Pyke of House Greyjoy. We headed to Belfast after that and got to stay in Belfest for an hour. You could go into the city or take the taxi tour for 10 euro per person. 4 people have to go or you'll have to pay the price of 4 people but you get to hear about the conflict/history of the city. We only got a taste of Belfast, wish we could have stayed longer but overall a great trip! David our tour guide/driver was awesome. He had a lot of cute jokes and stories that made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tara was a terrific guide. She had great energy, enthusiasm, and knowledge. The tour moves along quickly, so bring snacks and a sandwich because the day is packed full. Her photos from GOT were very helpful in seeing places from the show's view. The Giant's Causeway is a must-see location. Belfast is pretty much closed on Sunday morning, so that was disappointing but unavoidable.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Abby W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I loved this tour! Belfast was lovely and the taxi cab graffiti tour was fascinating. The Giant's Causeway was a highlight, and Carrick-A-Rede was busy and scary! but so wonderful. Plus it was such a clear day we could see Scotland! Our guide was really entertaining and fantastic - I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Bourque

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

William was a great tour guide! He was really motivated and loved his job. At times the tour felt a bit rushed, but at the same time this was my third time up to Giant's causeway and my third tour bus there, and this tour brought me to places I hadn't seen yet and had me seeing some of these places in a different way than I already had. I would recommend to anyone who wants to see the beautiful Causeway and see some interesting Game of Thrones sites.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Ema D Bosnia Herzegovina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. Each location is well worth the visit. You get plenty of time on every stop to take the scenic route to it I'd definitely recommend taking the cliff walk to Giant's causeway over the shuttle bus, take a ton of pictures and come back. Belfast is a very beautiful city to visit although, keep in mind, you can only see so much in some 80-90 minutes you get.
Our guide John gave us plenty of information about every place we visited and passed. It was really nice to learn a bit more about the history of Northern Ireland. I'd wholeheartedly recommend taking this tour as well as other tours around Ireland.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing tour of Northern Ireland. The tour guide was funny and well informed. We took the Black cab tour of Belfast which was amazing. Learned a lot of about the history and still how the city is today. Rope bridge was also a lot of fun and great stop along the way.

Last but not least the Giant's causeway is amazing. Definitely a site worth seeing! Would take another tour from this company again.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Raul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful day trip. Me and my daughter took the taxi tour in Belfast and learned a lot we didn't know about the history of the area. The Giant's causeway was a great trip. The tour guide was very informative and friendly. The only thing is make sure you can do a decent bit of walking. The tour is a bit crunched for times at certain stops. But definitely worth it.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Geneva T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was PHENOMENAL. Our tour guide, an anthropologist named Tara, gave detailed and lively explanations of the locations we passed along the way, marbled with wry humor. She kept the history accurate and fresh, and by the end of the trip I felt that I had truly seen wonders and learned something along the way. Not only were the locations beautiful and full of adventure Dark Hedges, Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, among others, but I had a much deeper understanding of Irish myth, archaeological history, and political background through the ages by the end of the tour. I would recommend this tour to ANYONE looking to explore the natural wonders of Northern Ireland.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message