Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 220 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roger C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Another satisfying tour from Viator. The early morning start from Dublin was on a spectacular cloudless day. Our guide Paddy ensured that everyone knew what the day would be like and we all relaxed for the pleasant ride to Belfast. The views of the countryside from the train were beautiful. In Belfast our coach driver Ian got us off to a good start by telling one of his Irish jokes. The weather began to turn a bit but the comments and colorful descriptions by Ian kept everything on a high-note. Along the way to Carrick - A - Rede we got to see some of the rugged but beautiful coastline of the Irish Sea and some of the spectacular glens. When you get to the rope bridge, you have to challenge yourself to cross the bridge. It's a view you shouldn't miss. Lunch at Bushmill's Distillery could have been smoother. Either Paddy or Ian should have advised the travelers that the restaurant is more like a cafeteria and that we should form along the left side of the dining room when we get there. Most of us ended up going against traffic..... On to the Giant's Causeway after lunch. When you get there, don't take the tram down to the Causeway. The view as you are walking is amazing. At the Causeway, you'll be asking yourself how did these formations end up looking like they do? Back at the coach meeting point, don't pass up the opportunity for a really great ice cream cone from the little gift shop next to the hotel. Pleasant ride back to Belfast via a more direct route. Paddy was extremely helpful to some of the travelers on the train back to Dublin by telephoning and arranging for a taxi from the train station to their hotel. That's service.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Jim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an amazing excursion! It was a long day that was packed with lots of great stops and went by very fast. The bus was comfortable and stops were made for snacks and restrooms. We got lucky and had perfect weather. The stop at The Dark Hedges was about 15 minutes and was all that is needed to take a quick look around and a few photos. The rope bridge was fun and the landscape is beautiful. We had a very clear day and could see the coast of Scotland! Lunch was at a very cute, small roadside restaurant that seemed prepared for our arrival. The food was served quickly, tasted good, and very reasonably priced!

Giant's Causeway was beautiful and amazing. We had a great time climbing on the rocks and hiking around the area. We had about 2 hours there, which was a good amount of time, but it would have been nice to have a little longer.

Belfast is an interesting place with a lot of history. We had about 1.5 hours there and went to an old pub and walked around the capital area. The last stop was just a quick pullover and photo op of a seaside castle.

Overall this tour is highly recommended and a ton of fun!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Susan P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Loved Giant's Causeway -- we were given just the right amount of time to walk to/from the Causeway and take plenty of photos. We also had time to have lunch in the pub right there, complete with a roaring fire in the fireplace. Also had just the right amount of time to walk the mile or so to and from the rope bridge -- very beautiful coastline and scenery! The bridge was no big deal, as far as being scary, and it led to a small island from which you could look back and get amazing views of the coastline. The only disappointment was Belfast. We did the black taxi tour, hoping to see the highlights of the city, with some photo stops. It turned out to just be all about the Troubles, which was interesting, but then we were hoping to still see something of the city other than the Peace Wall and memorials to those killed in the violence. Really loved everything else about the tour, so I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Marge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Giant's Causeway was lovely --- great little hike. Belfast Black Taxi Tour was interesting, and truly disturbing hearing about the level violence during 'The Troubles' and its continued after math.
Only criticism -- have motor coaches with washrooms, so that more time could be enjoyed at the primary sites. -- this is quite significant, when your bus is 3/4 women!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Ruth K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Having an escort from Dublin to Belfast was brilliant. The hotel accommodations were brilliant. II only give this a four instead of five, because it seems a walking tour could have been arranged for Belfast near the hotel. We were too late to go to the Titanic, but would have loved to see the city. would love to revisit Ireland, and this coach tour up to the Giant's Causeway was brilliant. Driver / Guide was brilliant.

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

Stefanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Giant's Causeway was amazing -- one of the most beautiful natural sites I've ever seen! Our guide Richard was very informative and entertaining. The black taxi tour of Belfast was fascinating, and the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge had stunning scenery. We were lucky to have great weather that day.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Jessica S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour. Tara was our guide she was such a lovely young lady, so helpful and full of so much knowledge about Ireland. The Game of Throne sites were so cool, Tara even showed us clips of the scenes taken at the very locations. The Giant's Causeway is definitely a must see!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Linda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Although this is a long day, boy it was great! The bus stops at a rest and food stop about an hour after leaving Dublin. Along the way to Belfast, our guide, JP, was giving us history of Belfast, England, Protestants, Catholics and IRA. We were told on the bus that we had a choice to take the Black taxi Tour OR visit the Titanic Museum. This wasn't listed as a choice on Viator but some did decide to visit the Museum. Once in Belfast, we quickly transferred to the waiting Black Taxis 3-4 people per taxi and drivers and our adventure into the past began. Gerry, our driver, claimed he was an observer during the troubled times, 1960s on...He had friends that joined the IRA but most were killed. His description of these times, the history, were fascinating. There were things that Gerry told us about that we never heard in the US. At the end of the tour, we stopped at the Peace Wall and signed our names and left a message on the wall. We then continued to the Giant's Causeway. There is a bus that can take you down and up from the entrance to the rocks or you can walk. There are two restaurants that you can have lunch. We then continued on to the Rope Bridge. I use a walker so I didn't walk all the way to the bridge but those that did mentioned it was a little scary climbing down the ladder to the bridge. It was raining by this time, so I headed back to the tea house for some afternoon tea. It was a long drive back, we had a rest stop along the way, but it was a wonderful day.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our entire experience on the 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin was exceptional! Traveling between Dublin and Belfast was interesting and informative, thanks to the people who accompanied us, and the Giant's Causeway was amazing!

Doing what: 2-Day Northern Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Belfast and Giant's Causeway

Tami B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous! The black taxi cab drivers were great. It was a solemn experience at the Peace Wall. Giant's Causeway was beautiful.
Driver and guide were great.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

John or Cricket H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a GREAT trip!! Such a fun, informative way to cover a lot of ground in one day. Our bus driver was funny and had a lot of good info to share. Our taxi driver was so full of great historical and personal stories and really helped us understand Belfast. The Giant's Causeway was gorgeous and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge was AMAZING!! Everything about the day was wonderful and I highly recommend to anyone considering it. It was well worth the money and the time. :

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

STEVEN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a fantastic tour-starts with a train ride from Dublin to Belfast where a bus tour starts. Sean our guide was great and Patrick our bus driver was fantastic. He gave us so much history about the country up in the North of Ireland. Yes, the trip is long but so worthwhile-you see and learn so much. Our days were sunny so we explored the Giant's Causeway--this tour is well organized and it gives you plenty of time at the stops to enjoy the countryside. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous trip! The bus driver was very interesting with all kinds of facts along the way. The Black Taxi Tour was one of my favorites. The driver of the taxi had lived through the troubles and was a wealth of information! The Giant's Causeway is just spectacular! Of course we had wonderful weather all over Ireland when we were there! I highly commend this tour!!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

CHAN P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was worth to visit there to walk through the Giant's Causeway and rope bridge.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Diana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide was humorous and kept us on schedule the entire day - we had a couple delays but were able to make up for them easily. We went to the Dark Hedges, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge which was unexpectedly beautiful, Giant's Causeway, a photo stop for some castle, and Belfast.
We also made a couple stops for snacks and lunch. In Belfast, you are given the option to go on a political tour or walk around the city yourself for about an hour. We did the tour, thankfully, since this was the highlight of my day!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Eric D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day! Anthony, our guide, and John, the driver, were terrific companions. Anthony was personable, funny, and full of great bits of information throughout the trip and kept everything on a tight schedule so that we were able to see everything. You might think there is no way to do all of this in one day, but Anthony made it happen and we had plenty of time to enjoy each site. Our cabbie in Belfast, Patrick was terrific as well. So engaging and we learned so much from him and the places he took us. My only complaint was that the lunch spot the Nook at the Giant's Causeway was unable to handle the crowds and we wound up with only a scone for lunch. But we made do. We were having such a great time. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Susan C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Loved this tour! The rope bridge and the giant's causeway were magnificent. Our bus was running behind schedule and the driver suggested the black cab tour in Dublin. I believe since our time was limited we did not receive the full tour since friends on another bus had a much better experience with the black cab tour. We had five taxis travelling together with the drivers taking turns speaking to all twenty-five of us at each stop location 1 driver spoke while 4 drivers socialized with each other. We also did not get to go to the prison. Actually only visited 2 social housing areas and the wall. Very disappointed in this part of the tour which was an optional add-on but our viator driver made it sound so great that we chose to do it. We would have liked more sightseeing in Belfast.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Michela USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Love it. Went on this tour with my 2 teenagers, aged 14 and 16. Titanic experience was literally the BEST tour I've ever gone on - ever.
Giant's Causeway...so worth it. The bridge is the most fun, but a really challenging climb! If you're afraid of heights, best to skip it.
The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it was too long. It lasted over 13 hours. We stopped like 3 times, and once for gas - around 30 minutes. Didn't need to stop at all. I mean, just do it before you pick us up! Also, there is NO stop between 5 and 8PM...so if you haven't gotten food and stored it in your bag you're screwed.
It was really amazing and I wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Bonita S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I was so pleased to be able to have the opportunity to visit the Giant's Causeway. The booking was very easy to do. Our coach driver was a delight and so knowledgeable about the area. I'm glad I did not miss this amazing UNESCO site.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Meagan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We opted to do the Titanic exhibition in lieu of the black taxi tour and had an incredible time! Fabulous exhibition! Giant's Causeway was so beautiful! We were bummed that the weather prevented us from doing the rope bridge, but our guides took us to the Bushmills Distillery instead which was great! Our guides were so funny and worked very well together! This tour is definitely worth the money! We got a lot of bang for our buck!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to see some of the best sites of Northern Ireland in a short time frame! The tour bus is small and comfortable unlike some of the larger more cramped buses, and because the group is smaller the tour is a lot more personable. I loved that as an added bonus for Game of Thrones fans there is a stop at the Dark Hedges and Dunluce Castle and for whiskey fans a quick stop at Bushmills, shot included! These stops were unique to this tour compared to other similar tours to the Giant's Causeway and the Rope Bridge from Dublin, and the reason I risked choosing this one instead of the much more reviewed tours. It was absolutely worth the risk! There was even a rainbow at the end of the walk through the Dark Hedges, and although I can't guarantee that'll happen in subsequent tours, I can guarantee you'll have a great time on this tour!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic tour! The tour guides were so kind and extremely knowledgeable about Ireland and Northern Ireland. The Titanic Museum was fascinating - I only wish we would have had more time there. Giant's Causeway was very neat to see. Unfortunately, due to the wind that day, we were unable to go across the bridge, but our guides did a great job of improvising and took us to a distillery and drove us along the coastline to make up for not being able to go to the bridge. The views were breathtaking! This is the perfect day trip and I would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Clare P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was amazing. The Black Taxi Tour of Belfast was both informative and compelling. Despite it being February we had warm, sunny weather that day. I was thrilled by the Giant's Causeway as it was more beautiful than I had imagined. Thanks Viator for putting together such a great itinerary!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Day Trip from Dublin: Belfast Black Taxi Tour and Giant's Causeway

Jaclyn M. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Long day, but a fun tour. William was funny, and had everything running on time. He was a great guide. He also organized the trip so that we maximized time when it wasn't raining at the Giant's Causeway, and got us a good time slot at the bridge so there wasn't really a wait. I would totally do this tour again.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Felicia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was well worth our money. Henry was a fantastic driver and tour guide. Gotta give him a high five for driving a bus on the small Ireland roads all while trying to explain the history behind each site we went to. There was never a dull moment during the tour because Henry kept us entertained. We absolutely loved how the tour guide added a few extra stops into the itinerary. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this tour. My only suggestion for improvement is the restaurant we stopped at. Yes, the food was cheaper then most places but my food was cold I think it sat to long in the pan at the buffet table. I like how Henry mentioned he order sunshine at 1pm for the Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-rede bridge. Thought it was funny how it was raining but as soon as we arrived to the bridge it was sunshine. Great tour. Thank you for starting my adventure in Ireland on a good note.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message