Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 252 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bourque

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

William was a great tour guide! He was really motivated and loved his job. At times the tour felt a bit rushed, but at the same time this was my third time up to Giant's causeway and my third tour bus there, and this tour brought me to places I hadn't seen yet and had me seeing some of these places in a different way than I already had. I would recommend to anyone who wants to see the beautiful Causeway and see some interesting Game of Thrones sites.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Ema D Bosnia Herzegovina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. Each location is well worth the visit. You get plenty of time on every stop to take the scenic route to it I'd definitely recommend taking the cliff walk to Giant's causeway over the shuttle bus, take a ton of pictures and come back. Belfast is a very beautiful city to visit although, keep in mind, you can only see so much in some 80-90 minutes you get.
Our guide John gave us plenty of information about every place we visited and passed. It was really nice to learn a bit more about the history of Northern Ireland. I'd wholeheartedly recommend taking this tour as well as other tours around Ireland.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing tour of Northern Ireland. The tour guide was funny and well informed. We took the Black cab tour of Belfast which was amazing. Learned a lot of about the history and still how the city is today. Rope bridge was also a lot of fun and great stop along the way.

Last but not least the Giant's causeway is amazing. Definitely a site worth seeing! Would take another tour from this company again.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Raul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful day trip. Me and my daughter took the taxi tour in Belfast and learned a lot we didn't know about the history of the area. The Giant's causeway was a great trip. The tour guide was very informative and friendly. The only thing is make sure you can do a decent bit of walking. The tour is a bit crunched for times at certain stops. But definitely worth it.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Geneva T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was PHENOMENAL. Our tour guide, an anthropologist named Tara, gave detailed and lively explanations of the locations we passed along the way, marbled with wry humor. She kept the history accurate and fresh, and by the end of the trip I felt that I had truly seen wonders and learned something along the way. Not only were the locations beautiful and full of adventure Dark Hedges, Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, among others, but I had a much deeper understanding of Irish myth, archaeological history, and political background through the ages by the end of the tour. I would recommend this tour to ANYONE looking to explore the natural wonders of Northern Ireland.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

jessica.l.trahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic day trip to take from Dublin. We had a great host and bus driver, a raw, unforgettable learning experience in Belfast, and breathtaking scenery at Giant's Causeway. I am so glad we booked this outing!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Maria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide/bus driver was fabulous. She informed us in an entertaining way and she stopped talking long enough for us to enjoy the scenery. She recommended pubs for dinner at the end of the journey which was very helpful. I would take any tour she was in charge of. We enjoyed both the black cab tour and the Giant's Causeway. Wish we had had more time in Belfast on the black cab tour and more information. It was rushed and our cab seemed to be late at each stop and we missed part of the tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Lacey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was excellent and our guide was fantastic. The drive takes you through some beautiful areas. In Belfast you are given the option of taking a black cap tour of the town or going to the Titanic Visitor Experience.

We did the Titanic which was very educational and went through the history of Belfast and its shipbuilding legacy. There is also an area to examine video of the Titanic as it rests now on the bottom of the ocean floor. The stories of some of those lost is truly heartbreaking.

About 2/3 of our tour chose the black cab option and I didn't hear a single one who was disappointed. They delve into the history of the troubles in Belfast and life there now.

Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede were both spectacular, but very busy. Not sure when the pictures on the internet were taken, but mine look similar if you add in about 100 other visitors to any given shot. It's definitely worth visiting though since it is a spectacular site. Carrick-a-Rede has a somewhat grueling walk out to it, but the scenery along the way makes up for that tenfold. The bridge was slightly shorter than I was thinking it would be, but every bit as high.

The bus was comfortable and had wifi available which is nice when you wish to post pics along the way.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Expect an early morning and late night with a late lunch! We took the train up to Belfast and joined up with another tour group there. After a windy drive through the Northern Irish countryside, you arrive at the rope bridge. Our tickets for crossing were included, the tour we met up with had to pay for the crossing only 5 euros. From there we went to Bushmills Distillery for lunch, got there around 2:30 pm, had a bonus stop at gorgeous castle ruins, then went onto the Giant's Causeway. There was an option to purchase a walking tour there 5 euros but we didn't purchase that and had a great time just wandering around and climbing on the rocks! We had enough time for a drink at the nearby pub before having to meet the bus to take us back to Belfast to meet our train. Definitely bring snacks, and expect to eat takeout for dinner when you get back to Dublin!

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

jen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was an excellent trip. Our guide and coach driver, Richard, was wonderful - educational and funny. The sights were amazing, Highly recommend the black taxi tour in Dublin and the Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede bridge are just gorgeous. A wonderful day!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Yichi H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I had a great time! Our driver and tour guide, Derek and Peter, were very professional and friendly. It was a long day but definitely worth the money. The black cab tour in Belfast was informative and educational and the Giant's Causeway was just amazing. I'd highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

M.R. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would give this tour a 4.5. It was great to have multiple pickup locations and in convenient locations. Our guide was really great and informative about Ireland's history and points of interest on our journey to our various destinations. Our first stop was at the Titanic visitor experience they did say we could choose the Black Taxi tour however, we opted to stay with our original plan.

The Titanic Visitor Experience was a pretty good tour. It was a little disappointing in the beginning, but improved as it went on. There were some interesting parts, such as the ride, the tour of the rooms, the stories from survivors, and video of the underwater wreckage.

Next, we headed for coast, stopping first for a quick photo opt of Dunluce Castle for Game of Throne fans, before heading to our destination at Giant's Causeway. Had the rest of the trip been a big disappointment, the Giant's Causeway was worth it. The spectacular views were breathtaking. Pictures and word would not do it justice. It's an experience. The Giant's Causeway is comprised of polygonal columns of basalt that resulted from volcanic activity years ago, we're talking MILLIONS of years ago! However, I prefer the Irish legend that the rock formations were created by a giant.

Lastly, we headed to Carrick-a-Rede, a 200 year old rope bridge. While we enjoyed a fantastic day, I'm not sure I'd want to be crossing the rope bridge on a particularly windy day!! Still, the views from the island and walks around are just stunning! I was delightfully surprised that Larrybane Bay was such a pretty blue and clear. Also, a short walk is another Game of Thrones filming location for fans to check out, Larrybane Limestone Quarry.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

milkmug107

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful! William is so great and I especially enjoy the trip without wasting time in eating!Enjoy your picnic around the Giant's Causeway!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Belfast

milkmug107

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful! William is so great and I especially enjoy the trip without wasting time in eating!Enjoy your picnic around the Giant's Causeway!

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Belfast

mdavis23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this trip. We booked mainly because we wanted to see Giant's Causeway and the Dark Hedges. We were allowed plenty of time at both locations. Additionally, our tour guide, William, was extremely knowledgeable about all the sites that we visited and brought along pictures of scenes from Game of Thrones so that we knew exactly what we were looking at. He was a hilarious guide, and we thoroughly enjoyed all the stops, Irish stories, and history that we were provided with on the tour. Don't forget to bring a packed lunch, especially if you take the Sunday tour. Pretty much everything in Belfast, other than McDonald's, will be closed on Sunday during your stop there, so bring a lunch or you will be paying high prices and losing time at a pub near Giant's Causeway. We were able to purchase a packed lunch at a gas station on our way to Belfast that William was nice enough to stop at, so we were all set. We had a blast. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Suellen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a wonderful day trip from Dublin. The time spent in Belfast was so informative and at the same time very sad. The black cab fellas really made the talk personal and yet objective. It was a very learning experience. The Giant's Causeway was beautiful until I fell off the rock path and landed on a pile of rocks. Can you say ouch. My left arm and back are still very sore. I highly recommend this tour because it's both educational with the added bonus of nature's beauty.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Benjamin Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge were neat and something you want to take tons of pictures is but by FAR the best part of the trip is the Black Cab ride through Belfast. Our driver was named Gerard, he honestly had the thickest Irish accent I've ever heard and when he was talking about the Civil war, you hung on to every single word he spoke. The pictures he shown from his and his grandmother house during that time was inspiring and hits you pretty hard.

We had the option to choose the Titanic Experience, I'm sure it was super nice but I'm glad to skipped that.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide Tara was very knowledgeable and kind. She did a good job teaching us on the journey about everything. Each location was a delight! I like how she showed pictures and references to Game of Thrones at the filming locations. Giant's Causeway was absolutely amazing!! So glad we went! We thoroughly enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Irina P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Great day trip. Our tour guide Richard from Wild Rover Tours was nice, funny and knowledgeable.
In Belfast, you have to choose to go on the Black Cab Tour or to the Titanic Museum. Majority incl myself chose Black Cab Tour, and it was excellent, I really recommend. Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede bridge were beautiful.
All in all, it was a great trip, good value for money.
I should mention one thing though.
In the description of the tour it says: Travel along the Antrim Coastal Drive and admire the scenery from your luxury coach.
There is absolutely NOTHING luxury about the coach. It's very basic. Rather restricted leg room, no pockets in the seat in front of you, so you can't even put a bottle of water there, and have to keep everything in your lap. No toilet on board.
Indeed very basic.
Give this trip 4 stars out of 5 because of this minor flaw.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Lindsay S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Not enough time at Giant's Causeway, we didn't pay to go across the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge and weren't disappointed with that decision - there were lots of paths and beautiful views to spend your hour and a half wandering. Otherwise it was well worth the price and would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Belfast

Laura D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Really excellent tour - 4 and a half stars! Richard and the driver kept everyone on time almost and entertained the group while on the motorway. Taxi tour of Belfast definitely a highlight - wonderful idea to have people who have lived the experience describe the troubles and how people live in Belfast today. Weather was fantastic so we had great outdoor experiences at the Giant's Causeway and the rope bridge. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

BradEW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A jam-packed day up to Northern Ireland for some great history, beautiful views and photo opportunities, and stories of humor from our guide, Wayne. The entire day felt well-paced and the sites are just fantastic. As fans of Game of Thrones we enjoyed walking down the King's Highway at the Dark Hedges and we stumbled into a great fusion restaurant in Belfast - Ginger Bistro get the calamari and extra bread for dipping!. The Giant's Causeway and rope bridge were cool to experience and even despite a few moments of rain, we had some great photos to capture the moments. We hesitated to do this trip as it is far up north but the time goes by quick and every moment was enjoyable - one of the highlights of our vacation - well worth it. Our guide Wayne was full of information and stories and kept us entertained at all times. Very knowledgeable and professional.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Tour. Everything was organized and very punctual without feeling rushed. The views around the rope bridge were stunning and the Giant's Causeway was a beautiful area although a bit busy the day we were there. The highlight for me was the taxi tour through Belfast. The drivers all live in the area and have been touched personally by the Troubles and are able to convey some of the issues from their personal experience.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Andrea A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I spent 3 and half days in Ireland and the one day I spent on this tour was the very best. Seeing the giant's causeway and the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge is something everyone who steps foot on Ireland should do. This tour was great. The driver, Danny, was a pro at navigating the streets of Northern Ireland and Ireland. The guide, Tara, was charming, funny, and informative. What more could you ask for. This tour was well worth the 57 dollars.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

Alan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

this trip was great! the sites were interesting and I like the little mixture of nature giant's causeway and culture the tour of the troubles in Belfast. It's always great if you can get a mixture of both in a day. The bus ride was very comfortable, it wasn't full so you had a lot of room and the scheduling was perfect. Our guide told us when to get things so that we can plan a picnic or plan for the next bathroom break. But besides the sites that we saw the bus travels itself was quite interesting because our guide Peter talked about everything that has to do Ireland, the Irish culture people, and the language. Including how they use turf, irish sports, slang words, where in town to find live music etc etc...It was very informative and very interesting! I highly recommend this tour! We went there for a cousin's wedding, and I even drove to Ring of Kerry for 3 days but the favorit thing we did in Ireland was this tour!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message