Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Giant's Causeway

Giant's Causeway is a cluster of approximately 40,000 basalt columns rising out of the sea on the Antrim Coast of Northern Ireland. These rock formations get their name from an old legend stating that Irish warrior Finn McCool built the path across ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 268 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Martino O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Giant's Causeway is beautiful, and the driver was really likable and entertaining :

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Courtney F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour, better than expected! Although you start out very early in the morning, the tour guide Peter and the drive Dell were excellent the whole day! You stop at a nice rest store for restrooms and snacks, both going and coming back which is nice. Once you get to Belfast you have a choice of doing the black cab tour or staying at the Titanic museum. We chose the Black Cab tour and it was super informative and eye opening to the existing tension in Belfast. Although, I would have loved to do both and see the Titanic Museum too, I think we made the right choice going on the Black Taxi tour. After that we drove toward the Giant's Causeway and stopped at an amazing rope bridge across the sea to a small island. It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to it and then only 8 people can cross the bridge at a time. Even though it looks scary, I would highly encourage everyone to do it. You have an opportunity to get snacks and small souvenirs at this gift shop as well. We then went to the Giant's Causeway and we took the shuttle for 2 pounds which was well worth it to save time. We then had enough time to eat a late lunch at a small pub right at the parking lot entrance and right by the bus pick up which was convenient. We then drove for a camera stop at castle ruins that were used in the filming of Game of Thrones, House of Greyjoy. It was neat to see as the sun was setting. Then we drove back to Dublin, stopping once as mentioned before. Like I said, Peter and Dell were super informative and fun throughout the day and they were really structured with timing which made the day super efficient to see all we could in a day. I believe the company itself was called Wild Rovers? and they do 2 other day tours, one to Kilkenny which I plan to book next time!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

K L D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Such a gorgeous part of the country, Giant's Causeway is a must on any travel list and this was a great way to see it, highly recommend!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Laci V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour, one I would recommend to anyone who wishes to see the Giant's Causeway.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

bookitdano USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A must do if you are interested in the history of Belfast. We split into groups to ride in a Black Taxi Cab with a guide who shared the few sites, but each one had a significance in meaning to him. There is a large wall that you can sign, other visitors like President Clinton and the Pope. The tour made me feel sad....at 7 pm every night, a large metal gate is locked and then unlocked at 7 am to keep them separated for the night ! A quick look at where the Titanic was built and then onto the Giant's Causeway, a UNESCO site with small to very large hexagonal stones ? It is difficult to imagine that these perfect shaped stones exist in all sizes ! Our tour from Viator was assigned to Wild River Tours and they made the day in between sites. Jack was our tour guide and he was great with his stories, history and comical behavior at times. We all had a great time and great laughs. and had many quiet thoughts on our way back to our hotels. If you are one of those people who have checked off already UNESCO sites , be sure to visit Ireland and see this wonder of nature. I highly recommend this

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Tiffany M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Richard is the bet tour guide ever! Frank was a great driver! We had a great time! We chose the Titanic visitor experience- was okay. Giant's Causeway was stunning! Carrick-a-Rede bridge- amazing! Must take this tour when in Dublin!! Allows you to see past the small city and into the great country that Ireland is!

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Anna R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was a wonderful sampling of Northern Ireland's beautiful scenery, with a short stop in Belfast. Our guide Tara was great and super helpful throughout the long day.

I've never seen Game of Thrones, and went because this was the only highly rated tour of Giant's Causeway from Dublin. One of the highlights of my trip! The Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge fee is not included, but you can still walk out to it for free and see the cliffs, as well as check out the quarry Game of Thrones filming site and shoreline on the opposite side of the parking lot.

Cons: the nonstop radio playing on the bus was super annoying, and no Wi-Fi. Would have preferred 1/2 hr more time at Giant's Causeway and 1/2 less at Carrick-a-Rede.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

FELIPE M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Although it was a really long and cold day, my experience was good. After leaving Dublin we made a quick stop for coffee/breakfast. Then we head over to the city of Belfast we chose the black cab tour which it was very interesting to learn about the conflict between Protestants and Catholics. However, I wish we could have seen a little more of the city. We spent about 1 hour at Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. Unfortunately, the bridge was close due to bad weather but even like that the site was beautiful. The Giant's Causeway was great too, but make sure to wear non slippery shoes. The castle was only a photo stop. Our tour guide was great, she provided lots of information and she even sang a couple of traditional songs for us she has good voice.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

mary.sullivan16

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The entire tour was amazing and interesting, and I would ABSOUTELY recommend this tour to someone. The only problem I had was the at the end with how long till we were able to use the bathroom. We were so far north for from Dublin about 3 1/2 hours and there was only one bathroom break from Giant's Causeway to Dublin and it was 45 minutes outside of Dublin. Be prepared because it is a long time not to use the bathroom.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

loro411

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This trip was definately worth the time especially the black cab ride in Belfast. You get a first hand review of the unrest in that area. Definately folloow the bus drivers suggestion of a box lunch at the first comfort stop. There were not many places to get a bite. The Giant's Causeway is an amazing natural wonder and the rope bridge exciting. Be prepared to walk.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Anne.salt995

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This is a long day, but well worth your time. We saw beautiful countryside, learned a lot about the troubles and experienced Giant's causeway.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Logan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A lot of fun! Giant's Causeway was absolutely gorgeous. I would definitely go back. The rope bridge was a lot of fun to do as well!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Christina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was a great day trip. Conducted by Wild Rover Tours. We were promptly picked up at Starbucks by guide Peter and driver Frank. It's a very long day, but full of amazing information. Start out by driving to Belfast. You have the choice of going to the Titanic exhibit or taking the black taxi political tour which is the one we did. You spend about an hour and a half hearing about the conflict that persists today. We got to sign one of the peace walls. Then we went to the Carrick-a-Rede bridge....really beautiful but absolutely exhausting climb back up as you dont have a lot of time to delay. Lunch is at the Giant's Causeway, which is an amazing place. It was getting dark, so we couldnt see the Dunluce Castle that well and then on our way back home. Lots of stops for bio breaks and great information. I would recommend visiting this part of Ireland!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Amanda V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Giant's Causeway tour was awesome. I would highly recommend it. We drove to the hedges first and then the Carrick-a-Rede Bridge. That was incredible even though it rained. We had about an hour so I recommend you take pictures quickly and go across the bridge ASAP. We stopped at a little cafe for lunch and only had 30 minutes to eat but the food was delicious. I recommend bringing British pounds because there's a minimum credit card charge of 10. We went to the causeway after that. It was pouring and super windy but it was still pretty incredible to see in real life. If you plan to use the shuttle to go up you will definitely need some pounds then. Once we finished the causeway we stopped at Dunluce Castle which is the base that GoT uses for Pyke of House Greyjoy. We headed to Belfast after that and got to stay in Belfest for an hour. You could go into the city or take the taxi tour for 10 euro per person. 4 people have to go or you'll have to pay the price of 4 people but you get to hear about the conflict/history of the city. We only got a taste of Belfast, wish we could have stayed longer but overall a great trip! David our tour guide/driver was awesome. He had a lot of cute jokes and stories that made the trip very enjoyable.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tara was a terrific guide. She had great energy, enthusiasm, and knowledge. The tour moves along quickly, so bring snacks and a sandwich because the day is packed full. Her photos from GOT were very helpful in seeing places from the show's view. The Giant's Causeway is a must-see location. Belfast is pretty much closed on Sunday morning, so that was disappointing but unavoidable.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Abby W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I loved this tour! Belfast was lovely and the taxi cab graffiti tour was fascinating. The Giant's Causeway was a highlight, and Carrick-A-Rede was busy and scary! but so wonderful. Plus it was such a clear day we could see Scotland! Our guide was really entertaining and fantastic - I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Bourque

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

William was a great tour guide! He was really motivated and loved his job. At times the tour felt a bit rushed, but at the same time this was my third time up to Giant's causeway and my third tour bus there, and this tour brought me to places I hadn't seen yet and had me seeing some of these places in a different way than I already had. I would recommend to anyone who wants to see the beautiful Causeway and see some interesting Game of Thrones sites.

Doing what: 'Game of Thrones' Film Location Tour from Dublin Including Giant's Causeway

Ema D Bosnia Herzegovina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. Each location is well worth the visit. You get plenty of time on every stop to take the scenic route to it I'd definitely recommend taking the cliff walk to Giant's causeway over the shuttle bus, take a ton of pictures and come back. Belfast is a very beautiful city to visit although, keep in mind, you can only see so much in some 80-90 minutes you get.
Our guide John gave us plenty of information about every place we visited and passed. It was really nice to learn a bit more about the history of Northern Ireland. I'd wholeheartedly recommend taking this tour as well as other tours around Ireland.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing tour of Northern Ireland. The tour guide was funny and well informed. We took the Black cab tour of Belfast which was amazing. Learned a lot of about the history and still how the city is today. Rope bridge was also a lot of fun and great stop along the way.

Last but not least the Giant's causeway is amazing. Definitely a site worth seeing! Would take another tour from this company again.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Raul R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful day trip. Me and my daughter took the taxi tour in Belfast and learned a lot we didn't know about the history of the area. The Giant's causeway was a great trip. The tour guide was very informative and friendly. The only thing is make sure you can do a decent bit of walking. The tour is a bit crunched for times at certain stops. But definitely worth it.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Geneva T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was PHENOMENAL. Our tour guide, an anthropologist named Tara, gave detailed and lively explanations of the locations we passed along the way, marbled with wry humor. She kept the history accurate and fresh, and by the end of the trip I felt that I had truly seen wonders and learned something along the way. Not only were the locations beautiful and full of adventure Dark Hedges, Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, among others, but I had a much deeper understanding of Irish myth, archaeological history, and political background through the ages by the end of the tour. I would recommend this tour to ANYONE looking to explore the natural wonders of Northern Ireland.

Doing what: Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge Day Trip from Dublin

jessica.l.trahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a fantastic day trip to take from Dublin. We had a great host and bus driver, a raw, unforgettable learning experience in Belfast, and breathtaking scenery at Giant's Causeway. I am so glad we booked this outing!

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Maria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide/bus driver was fabulous. She informed us in an entertaining way and she stopped talking long enough for us to enjoy the scenery. She recommended pubs for dinner at the end of the journey which was very helpful. I would take any tour she was in charge of. We enjoyed both the black cab tour and the Giant's Causeway. Wish we had had more time in Belfast on the black cab tour and more information. It was rushed and our cab seemed to be late at each stop and we missed part of the tour.

Doing what: Northern Ireland Highlights Day Trip Including Giant's Causeway from Dublin

Lacey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was excellent and our guide was fantastic. The drive takes you through some beautiful areas. In Belfast you are given the option of taking a black cap tour of the town or going to the Titanic Visitor Experience.

We did the Titanic which was very educational and went through the history of Belfast and its shipbuilding legacy. There is also an area to examine video of the Titanic as it rests now on the bottom of the ocean floor. The stories of some of those lost is truly heartbreaking.

About 2/3 of our tour chose the black cab option and I didn't hear a single one who was disappointed. They delve into the history of the troubles in Belfast and life there now.

Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede were both spectacular, but very busy. Not sure when the pictures on the internet were taken, but mine look similar if you add in about 100 other visitors to any given shot. It's definitely worth visiting though since it is a spectacular site. Carrick-a-Rede has a somewhat grueling walk out to it, but the scenery along the way makes up for that tenfold. The bridge was slightly shorter than I was thinking it would be, but every bit as high.

The bus was comfortable and had wifi available which is nice when you wish to post pics along the way.

Doing what: Titanic Visitor Experience and Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Dublin

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Expect an early morning and late night with a late lunch! We took the train up to Belfast and joined up with another tour group there. After a windy drive through the Northern Irish countryside, you arrive at the rope bridge. Our tickets for crossing were included, the tour we met up with had to pay for the crossing only 5 euros. From there we went to Bushmills Distillery for lunch, got there around 2:30 pm, had a bonus stop at gorgeous castle ruins, then went onto the Giant's Causeway. There was an option to purchase a walking tour there 5 euros but we didn't purchase that and had a great time just wandering around and climbing on the rocks! We had enough time for a drink at the nearby pub before having to meet the bus to take us back to Belfast to meet our train. Definitely bring snacks, and expect to eat takeout for dinner when you get back to Dublin!

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message