Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ann b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Correction...this is the pass that got us virtually into every attraction free. Paid for itself and more...so convenient.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were traveling on a cruise, so to connect with this tour it was necessary to ride the cruise shuttle to a drop off point in the city. When we arrived we questioned personnel selling Hop On Hop Off Bus Tickets and found the company that provides this tour from the Dublin Bus Head Office. They provided a specific shuttle to this location. Thank goodness we asked questions, because the Dublin Bus Head Office is quite a distance from the cruise ship drop off point. When we returned from the tour, we took the Hop On Hop Off Bus back to the cruise pick up point. Very convenient. The tour was excellent and a fascinating tour of a Castle that has an 800 year history. We enjoyed a delicious lunch in Howth. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Gisela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the driver and guide, Anne, was very kind
the castle is a beauty location
and the stop in Howth was beauty, too
Great Tour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

gpeters.nc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

long line make that queue to pick up pass at airport, but then bus transfer to downtown hotel district was smooth and paid for. Walked 1-1/2 blocks from bus stop to hotel. There are multiple on/off bus tour services in Dublin this uses the red ones. I might caution users that because of geography, timing at attractions, and other peripheral activities, there is no possible way anyone is going to hit the 30 sites in 3 days, certainly not in 2 days. I think we hit 4, but we were well served to use the express lines and not have to deal with handling money at admissions.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joan P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good value for your money if you are able to take in the sights that are included in the price.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Andy W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Would have been a great deal if I would have used it more.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Dublin Pass provided a comfortable and convenient atmosphere to see the top Dublin tourist attractions in one day.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ali J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an awesome way to experience downtown Dublin without renting a car! The Hop On/Hop Off is hands down perfect for solo travelers, couples, and maybe even a bigger group. Simply printed out the PDF at home, presented it to the office on O'Connell, and received the plastic card. Would have been nice to have the summarized instructions easy to access but once you're in Dublin, it's very easy to navigate.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This castle spans 800 years of history in the Talbot Family. The castle is extremely well preserved and contains furniture from the various periods of its history as well as portraits of some of the more significant members of the Talbot family. There is a ruined Abbey on site as well as some pretty extensive gardens. The trip into Howth was fun as it is an affluent fishing port. The seafood is very fresh and delicious. There are several good restaurants to try along the docks.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Gayleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was great! She even gave us the option to stay in Howth until the next tour came by later that afternoon! It was nice to see some of the Irish countryside.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

dontetreault

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The castle was beautiful and the scenery was breathtaking.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dublin is a wonderful place to visit and by getting this pass you get to see alot of it. Plus it includes a bus ride from the Airport into Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Moira L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the half day trip!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The pass covered a great deal of sights but so hard to do in 2 days. We arrived late at night so we could not pick up pass air airport so we had to go to TI office. Also you should note that hop on hop off bus tour is only good for 24 hrs but you can get anxtra day for 3 euro just save yr initial bus receipt.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Krishnamurthy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent coverage of history of the castle by the local guide. Scenery along the coast was good.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Alice

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent, but I would have liked to spend more time in Howth, very charming.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

theboedigheimers

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Worth the money if you can get everything in!

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Gunilla M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Bra halvdagstur. Mycket tack vare den fantastiska busschauffören, som var mycket kunnig och rolig.
Slottet är inte stort, men ändå värt att se. Howth stannar man vid ca 30 min, så du hinner se sälarna i hamnen och Irlands öga.
Har du 4 tim över och vill ut från Dublin är detta ett bra alternativ.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

sheikh muhammad a

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It basic need of tourist is transport service which this pass can not covered. I paid transportation cost doubled of this pass.

Try to get deal with buses at least.....

Dublin Castle is main thing which it is not covered....try to get in attractions...

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Alvaro S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was very informative and the view of the castle was amazing. The short tour of the castle was interesting and fun. The stops along the way and back and our guide Micheal kept the trip entertaining and informative.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

daniellavery

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Does not include Kilmainham Gaol, or the Irish Whiskey Museum. Basically a good way to skip the line at a few places, like the Guiness tour and maybe some museums. Purchased a 5-day pass and basically got a few free bus tours.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Judy B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The lack of receiving our tickets in advance resulted in a loss of precious time. It took over an hour to find the office. Then an inconsiderate female employee was dismissive of us even when the clients she was attending insisted that we be serve us. only a minute to print our ticket. USE ANOTHER

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jacob R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I bought the 2-day pass for my wife and me. This was a complete waste of money.

For starters, some of the attractions listed on viator eg. Kilmainham Gaol were NOT included in the pass. Additionally, the second day purchased did not include coverage for the hop-on hop-off bus as indicated.

My recommendation for travelers would be to stay far away from purchasing this and to keep their money in their own pockets.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must if wanting to see the best of Dublin. So much to see and comes with heaps of free entry and skip the line entrances too. Brilliant value for money and came with a 2 day free Hop on Hop off bus voucher as well.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message