Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 339 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dominic V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing journey to have a magnificent panoramic view of Dublin especially incredible historical sites that I enjoyed.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

classygyal United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

EXCELLENT tour! We got to stop in Belfast too. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Kayla

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

It was a great way to get around the city, but the buses weren't frequent enough in my opinion when we tried getting off and back on.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Drube

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

It does not include many major attractions, including Kilmainham Gaol, the Whiskey Museum, and Book of Kells. Lots of attractions included are not what I would consider must see. The Hop-On Hop-Off Bus is only for 24 hours. The normal cost is 19 Euro for the bus or 22 Euro for 48 hours but there is another company offering a bus tour that is just as good for 10 Euro for 24 hours or 18 Euro for 48 hours, so you're really not saving that much money using the pass. Plus many attractions have combo prices or discounts if you know where to find them, so the Dublin Pass didn't really save that much money.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

cardonpark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

excellent the only problem getting to the start from our accommodation

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

meng.huey.lim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had an excellent tour! The bus driver are really professional in introducing the places we passed by. Derek, one of the most entertaining driver I ever met! He even sang lovely songs with his excellent voices!! Highly recommended to get the dublin pass! I took 2days pass, actually went to Guinness storehouse twice! You are allow to enter for free for all the important attraction site once a day!!

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Had a great afternoon spent driving through Dublin enroute to Malahide. Our driver-guide, whom I cannot remember her name!, was awesome! Very funny and enjoyable to listen to and interact with. Upon arrival at Malahide Castle, we were greeted by a guide who walked us through the castle, explaining the history and artifacts and pointing out little quirks here and there. We then had enough free time to explore the gardens on the grounds. Quite lovely. We then returned to the bus and were driven to Malahide in Dublin Bay.

My husband and I had read about a restaurant in Malahide and inquired about it to our driver-guide. She called them for us my phone refused to work that day and made a reservation for us. She then explained where to find the train station for our return to Dublin instead of getting an expensive taxi. The bus left us in Malahide as planned, lol! and we explored the town and pier until our dinner reservation time.

Overall, a fantastic short tour. We highly recommend it! I WISH I could remember our driver-guide's name as she was exceptional at her job and went above and beyond to accommodate us on our spontaneous special request. OH! And despite her refusal to accept, I did dump 10Euro into her tip basket!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

mlangor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Well worth the money. We saved a lot with the Dublin pass and we only used it for 6 or 7 things.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

robert m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour. Would have liked a bit more time to view grounds. Had to hurry to grab a bit oif food.

Bus driver/tour guide was very interesting, and accomodating. Trip to Howth was perfect.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour was fun and fantastic. Our guide was very informative and friendly. We were a group of 5 and really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

ann b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Correction...this is the pass that got us virtually into every attraction free. Paid for itself and more...so convenient.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We were traveling on a cruise, so to connect with this tour it was necessary to ride the cruise shuttle to a drop off point in the city. When we arrived we questioned personnel selling Hop On Hop Off Bus Tickets and found the company that provides this tour from the Dublin Bus Head Office. They provided a specific shuttle to this location. Thank goodness we asked questions, because the Dublin Bus Head Office is quite a distance from the cruise ship drop off point. When we returned from the tour, we took the Hop On Hop Off Bus back to the cruise pick up point. Very convenient. The tour was excellent and a fascinating tour of a Castle that has an 800 year history. We enjoyed a delicious lunch in Howth. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Gisela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

the driver and guide, Anne, was very kind
the castle is a beauty location
and the stop in Howth was beauty, too
Great Tour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

gpeters.nc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

long line make that queue to pick up pass at airport, but then bus transfer to downtown hotel district was smooth and paid for. Walked 1-1/2 blocks from bus stop to hotel. There are multiple on/off bus tour services in Dublin this uses the red ones. I might caution users that because of geography, timing at attractions, and other peripheral activities, there is no possible way anyone is going to hit the 30 sites in 3 days, certainly not in 2 days. I think we hit 4, but we were well served to use the express lines and not have to deal with handling money at admissions.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Joan P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good value for your money if you are able to take in the sights that are included in the price.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Andy W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Would have been a great deal if I would have used it more.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Dublin Pass provided a comfortable and convenient atmosphere to see the top Dublin tourist attractions in one day.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Ali J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an awesome way to experience downtown Dublin without renting a car! The Hop On/Hop Off is hands down perfect for solo travelers, couples, and maybe even a bigger group. Simply printed out the PDF at home, presented it to the office on O'Connell, and received the plastic card. Would have been nice to have the summarized instructions easy to access but once you're in Dublin, it's very easy to navigate.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This castle spans 800 years of history in the Talbot Family. The castle is extremely well preserved and contains furniture from the various periods of its history as well as portraits of some of the more significant members of the Talbot family. There is a ruined Abbey on site as well as some pretty extensive gardens. The trip into Howth was fun as it is an affluent fishing port. The seafood is very fresh and delicious. There are several good restaurants to try along the docks.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Gayleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was great! She even gave us the option to stay in Howth until the next tour came by later that afternoon! It was nice to see some of the Irish countryside.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

dontetreault

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The castle was beautiful and the scenery was breathtaking.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dublin is a wonderful place to visit and by getting this pass you get to see alot of it. Plus it includes a bus ride from the Airport into Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Moira L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the half day trip!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The pass covered a great deal of sights but so hard to do in 2 days. We arrived late at night so we could not pick up pass air airport so we had to go to TI office. Also you should note that hop on hop off bus tour is only good for 24 hrs but you can get anxtra day for 3 euro just save yr initial bus receipt.

Doing what: Dublin Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message