Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 313 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Krishnamurthy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent coverage of history of the castle by the local guide. Scenery along the coast was good.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Alice

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent, but I would have liked to spend more time in Howth, very charming.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

theboedigheimers

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Worth the money if you can get everything in!

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Gunilla M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Bra halvdagstur. Mycket tack vare den fantastiska busschauffören, som var mycket kunnig och rolig.
Slottet är inte stort, men ändå värt att se. Howth stannar man vid ca 30 min, så du hinner se sälarna i hamnen och Irlands öga.
Har du 4 tim över och vill ut från Dublin är detta ett bra alternativ.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

daniellavery

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Does not include Kilmainham Gaol, or the Irish Whiskey Museum. Basically a good way to skip the line at a few places, like the Guiness tour and maybe some museums. Purchased a 5-day pass and basically got a few free bus tours.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Judy B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The lack of receiving our tickets in advance resulted in a loss of precious time. It took over an hour to find the office. Then an inconsiderate female employee was dismissive of us even when the clients she was attending insisted that we be serve us. only a minute to print our ticket. USE ANOTHER

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Jacob R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I bought the 2-day pass for my wife and me. This was a complete waste of money.

For starters, some of the attractions listed on viator eg. Kilmainham Gaol were NOT included in the pass. Additionally, the second day purchased did not include coverage for the hop-on hop-off bus as indicated.

My recommendation for travelers would be to stay far away from purchasing this and to keep their money in their own pockets.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must if wanting to see the best of Dublin. So much to see and comes with heaps of free entry and skip the line entrances too. Brilliant value for money and came with a 2 day free Hop on Hop off bus voucher as well.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

m-bacon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very convenient way to get into many attractions. We only had a one day pass but we were able to use it at four different places and were able to bypass lines at the Guinness Museum. I would rate it higher but we did not find the Hop on Hop off bus very useful. We waited 25 minutes for a bus to take us from Christ Church to the Guinness Museum. We could have walked the distance in less time.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Sanjay S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide was very well informed and entertaining.The tales of the castle and its ghosts are intriguing .The duration of stopover at Hawth , a fishing village can be reduced as there is little to do there.
The trip also includes a ride on the hop-on,hop-off bus of Dublin along with a walking tour the next day which is a plus point .

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Charles K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice trip, seemed to cover all the bases.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The info centre where you pick it up was really modern and professional, great advisers, lots of helpful information leaflets, you're able to pick up a public transport pass too which works a bit like a London Oyster card, with you able to load it up however many days/uses you want, and was very handy.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Constance P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really nice tour. We had a really great time. I could live on the North coast. Our tour guide was very very good and very nice

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

James S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very upset that the tour originally said it included the Kilamainham Goal, and the Dublin Castle. Both declined the pass.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Rebecca L. T

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Guide difficult to hear on upper seats of bus. Had to call international Viator number to get booking confirmed and receive voucher info. in time for the tour.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Kevin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Well worth the price just to walk straight into the Guinness museum while others queued right round the block.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

se13mc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent. Saved loads by using this.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Kerul K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Mixed bag. We bought the 5 day pass. We found it hard to get our money's worth out of it, and it also focused us almost entirely on only those attractions that are included, when we might have enjoyed other, less popular attractions. If you like crowds and/or have kids, it's probably a good value for you. The hop-on-hop-off bus was mostly good, with a real mix of good/not-as-good guides, but clean buses, and with wifi. As they run only 9-5 there is only so much you can see when you hop off, but it is a good way of getting around town if you get the pass for a few days.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Gioconda G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

We were lucky to have a festival in Howth while touring. Malahide Castle was good. But had high expectations

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

MICHAEL S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This pass probably was worth the price except we never really got to get to most of the attractions. We however di get to 2 of them, The bus that we used to get to these places was over at 5PM, so we could not get to many places. If you rent a car it pays to get this pass but if you take the tour bus, it really does not give you your moneys worth.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Adam W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Definitely worth buying! Went for 4 days, the card had paid for itself after a day and a half!

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

NICHOLAS W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a hoot laughed till I cried seen some stuff like in pink Floyd

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Anna H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Totally worth the money and saved us a lot of time. Really look at all the perks. I suggest you use the hop on hop off bus along with this pass!

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Jill D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Easy way to pay once for all the tours you can take during your stay.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Entry to over 30 Attractions

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message