Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Malahide Castle

Malahide Castle is one of Ireland's oldest castles, built on land given to Richard Talbot, a knight who accompanied King Henry II of England to Ireland in 1174. The Talbot family resided in the castle for nearly 800 years, up until 1975 when one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 323 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Dublin Pass provided a comfortable and convenient atmosphere to see the top Dublin tourist attractions in one day.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Ali J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What an awesome way to experience downtown Dublin without renting a car! The Hop On/Hop Off is hands down perfect for solo travelers, couples, and maybe even a bigger group. Simply printed out the PDF at home, presented it to the office on O'Connell, and received the plastic card. Would have been nice to have the summarized instructions easy to access but once you're in Dublin, it's very easy to navigate.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This castle spans 800 years of history in the Talbot Family. The castle is extremely well preserved and contains furniture from the various periods of its history as well as portraits of some of the more significant members of the Talbot family. There is a ruined Abbey on site as well as some pretty extensive gardens. The trip into Howth was fun as it is an affluent fishing port. The seafood is very fresh and delicious. There are several good restaurants to try along the docks.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Gayleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was great! She even gave us the option to stay in Howth until the next tour came by later that afternoon! It was nice to see some of the Irish countryside.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

dontetreault

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. The castle was beautiful and the scenery was breathtaking.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dublin is a wonderful place to visit and by getting this pass you get to see alot of it. Plus it includes a bus ride from the Airport into Dublin.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Moira L

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Well worth the half day trip!

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

Lisa G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The pass covered a great deal of sights but so hard to do in 2 days. We arrived late at night so we could not pick up pass air airport so we had to go to TI office. Also you should note that hop on hop off bus tour is only good for 24 hrs but you can get anxtra day for 3 euro just save yr initial bus receipt.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Krishnamurthy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent coverage of history of the castle by the local guide. Scenery along the coast was good.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Alice

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide was excellent, but I would have liked to spend more time in Howth, very charming.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

theboedigheimers

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Worth the money if you can get everything in!

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Gunilla M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Bra halvdagstur. Mycket tack vare den fantastiska busschauffören, som var mycket kunnig och rolig.
Slottet är inte stort, men ändå värt att se. Howth stannar man vid ca 30 min, så du hinner se sälarna i hamnen och Irlands öga.
Har du 4 tim över och vill ut från Dublin är detta ett bra alternativ.

Doing what: Dublin Bay and Malahide Castle Half-Day Tour

sheikh muhammad a

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It basic need of tourist is transport service which this pass can not covered. I paid transportation cost doubled of this pass.

Try to get deal with buses at least.....

Dublin Castle is main thing which it is not covered....try to get in attractions...

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Alvaro S

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The trip was very informative and the view of the castle was amazing. The short tour of the castle was interesting and fun. The stops along the way and back and our guide Micheal kept the trip entertaining and informative.

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

daniellavery

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Does not include Kilmainham Gaol, or the Irish Whiskey Museum. Basically a good way to skip the line at a few places, like the Guiness tour and maybe some museums. Purchased a 5-day pass and basically got a few free bus tours.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Judy B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The lack of receiving our tickets in advance resulted in a loss of precious time. It took over an hour to find the office. Then an inconsiderate female employee was dismissive of us even when the clients she was attending insisted that we be serve us. only a minute to print our ticket. USE ANOTHER

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Jacob R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I bought the 2-day pass for my wife and me. This was a complete waste of money.

For starters, some of the attractions listed on viator eg. Kilmainham Gaol were NOT included in the pass. Additionally, the second day purchased did not include coverage for the hop-on hop-off bus as indicated.

My recommendation for travelers would be to stay far away from purchasing this and to keep their money in their own pockets.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

kim t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must if wanting to see the best of Dublin. So much to see and comes with heaps of free entry and skip the line entrances too. Brilliant value for money and came with a 2 day free Hop on Hop off bus voucher as well.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

m-bacon

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a very convenient way to get into many attractions. We only had a one day pass but we were able to use it at four different places and were able to bypass lines at the Guinness Museum. I would rate it higher but we did not find the Hop on Hop off bus very useful. We waited 25 minutes for a bus to take us from Christ Church to the Guinness Museum. We could have walked the distance in less time.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Sanjay S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The guide was very well informed and entertaining.The tales of the castle and its ghosts are intriguing .The duration of stopover at Hawth , a fishing village can be reduced as there is little to do there.
The trip also includes a ride on the hop-on,hop-off bus of Dublin along with a walking tour the next day which is a plus point .

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

Charles K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Nice trip, seemed to cover all the bases.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The info centre where you pick it up was really modern and professional, great advisers, lots of helpful information leaflets, you're able to pick up a public transport pass too which works a bit like a London Oyster card, with you able to load it up however many days/uses you want, and was very handy.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Constance P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a really nice tour. We had a really great time. I could live on the North coast. Our tour guide was very very good and very nice

Doing what: North Coast and Malahide Castle Day Tour from Dublin

James S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very upset that the tour originally said it included the Kilamainham Goal, and the Dublin Castle. Both declined the pass.

Doing what: The Dublin Pass - Including Free Entry to Over 30 Attractions

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message