Temple Bar is known as the cultural quarter of Dublin. Originally a slum that was to be developed into a bus terminus, the neighborhood instead grew to become home to a number of artists' galleries and small businesses that took advantage of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was our first night in Dublin and quite frankly I just wanted us to get a taste of what Temple Bar was all about; our friend who and #39;s a local joined us. He didn and #39;t expect much either. To our surprise this was fantastic! It was incredibly fun and informative! Perfect way to start our night!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Tina O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Read the past reviews and decided this would be a good way to start off our Dublin vacation. This is a very nice tour for the price, you get music and a little history lesson as the night goes bye. You go to three locations where you can purchase your own drinks and listen to the music played by the Artists. Towards the end of the tour we decided to go off on our own, most bars in the area offer music and drinks and at that point I wanted to hear more music then talk. All in all not a bad tour but not 5 stars.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Charles H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

I didn't understand why we had to leave the first bar and walk a mile away...the next stop was at the basement of a restaurant and the same two guys playing. Why didn't we just do an intermission?

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

mtcinnash

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

You can hear music like this all over Ireland. No reason to pay. We saw better for free. Group was 60-70 people. Not intimate. No history or stories. Didn't even have a seat at each bar. Do not recommend.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Jeannie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was wonderful. Our tour guide, Barry, was funny, informative and very talented. He played his guitar and sang songs that spoke of Ireland's history. It was great fun and the hour flew by. We would love be on more of his tours.

Doing what: Dublin Night Tour by Bus

Grace A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My sister and I had so much fun. The musicians were talented, enchanting, entertaining and informative. The bars were cozy and had great service. Loved every minute of it.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Aalap M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The musicians were great historians about Ireland and the role music played. The different bars we went to were great as well and we got to immerse ourselves into true Irish music! It was a great experience for a reasonable price!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

gpeters.nc

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Tour was led by 2 excellent local musicians, and their admin teammate added drum and dance. First venue has live music going on two floors almost all the time. 2nd two stops were small room bars where locals would go to meet friends and drink. I would have like them to have picked up an extra member at each stop, to finish with full house band, but still an awesome night. We wife and I went back to the first venue after for more pints and bands.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Val Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was ok, was my first night in Dublin and I was there alone, thought it would be easy to just join a pub crawl rather than walk around on my own looking for somewhere to go. There was more talking than singing, but the singers were funny and very nice, but it was quiet. The crowd is older, and was more like a concert than pub crawl. We went to 3 pubs, and then were given recommendations for others that had good Trad music. Loved the pub we met in, Oliver St. John Gogarty's in Temple Bar. In fact, now I know that you just have to walk to Temple Bar area, there are pubs everywhere with live music!!!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

cart62526

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The musicians were good. My complaint was that there were too many people on the tour. Even though we went in shoulder season there were 50 people on the trip on a Tuesday night. Not always a seat available and I was never able to see the musicians at any of the bars. Some I could barely hear them. This would be a great tour if they limited the number of people attending. Paying for drinks in the pubs was by cash only.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

DON'T BUY THE FIRST ROUND THE IN WAIT TILL YOU GO TO THE NEXT PUB you will save so much money the guys were really great we ended up closing the bar we were the last to leave, a different pub night

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Michaela G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This tour was AMAZING. We met some fantastic people from the US. Locals obviously don't go on this tour because they already know their history. Prior to Dublin, I stayed in county Tipperary with family and friends and saw the countryside and sessions in action, at pubs. This tour was the perfect wrap up to our trip as my sister and I were able to enjoy some drinks and learn and listen more about why Irish people do what they do in the bar musically, that is. As I am a singer and musician I greatly enjoyed the music. The duo we had were FABULOUS. They played and made us laugh lots. I would say that the male entertainer was slightly vulgar some were offended, personally I didn't care as the tour was never meant to be for children. I rated the tour 1 less star than perfect because I think it should be longer, even if you have to charge more! I would definitely recommend this to people going to Dublin as it Is a great way to see Temple Bar area and get some history and culture!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

ldstephens

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The music was great but we found the group was too large for some of the pubs. We were quite crammed at 2 of the establishments, unable to get up to the bar to order drinks, and a few people even had to stand not enough room to sit.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Angelina N C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Another fabulous tour in Dublin. I would highly recommend this to anyone. I was travelling alone, but quickly made great friends and enjoyed the bars we visited, singing and dancing.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Susan R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Sorry but after looking forward to this, wished we had just done our own pub crawl through Temple Bar. The musicians were fun but I think we had 60 people in the group. Should have been 25.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

shellyf

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

This was a terrible tour. We were promised seats right there on our vouchers but half of us had to stand in this very crowded pub and listed to one of the guides shout information at us. Why couldnt he used a microphone? We could hardly hear anything and several of us refused to follow him and just stayed at that same bar when everyone left. A complete waste of money. You could do it yourself and avoid the hassle. We learned nothing!!!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Meagan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We absolutely loved this tour! I assumed that we would be pub hopping and seeing different bands at each bar. It was actually even better than that! We had two musicians who took us to two bars and played for us for an hour at each. They taught us so much about Irish music and they were the best pair I heard during our entire trip! I remember the fiddler's name was Andy! I would highly recommend them! They were fabulous and we had a great time!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Olga R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Dublin is a party city. People are happy and always singing. Bar hoping was an experience in the Temple bar area. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Lisa B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Now the only reason I did not give them a 5 is because I think the bus could do a better job of communicating which venues are open. Now I know it is probably not their responsibility however, when you advertise the river cruise as the stop and the river cruise has cancelled their trips for the day it wastes our time. Also, my mom got off at the distillery only to find that all the tours were booked. Since everything in Dublin except restaurants and bars closes so early it is a fight against time to see all you want to see. These services would help us a great deal. Bus drivers were excellent and so was service although sometimes standing with a bad knee was uncomfortable.

Doing what: Dublin Freedom Pass: Transport and Sightseeing

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Musicians took us to two different pubs where we sat in private rooms with full bar available. They played a variety of music and described the type of music, instruments used, and some history behind the songs. Comparison to the packed pubs where music was being played made this tour even better. The musicians were excellent, both musically and with their story telling. A full two hours of excellent entertainment. I would definitely book again.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Roland T

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The musician guides were entertaining. We started at one bar but was only there for about 15 minutes and then on to two other bars for about 50 minutes each. Private rooms were reserved for each the of last two bars and drinks were available to purchase. The music and banter made the experience fun.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Kim L Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I don't know what I was expecting, but the tour wasn't what I thought it was going to be. We all met at Temple Bar to be moved straight away to another bar, where we had a private room and two Irish musicians played to us and explained the history and love of music and the instrument in Ireland. We only had time for one pint before being moved to another establishment, which was great, but I paid money to hear them play, rather than them talk so much. Also, they focused a lot on the audience to participate with a song or Irish jig, which actually was not what I paid money to see.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Tighthead Prop Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great night out. The 2 musicians that lead the tour were a lot of fun, and quite informative about Irish music I now know the difference between a jig and a reel. The 3 pubs we visited were great, but be warned, if you buy a pint at the meeting point at Oliver St. John Gogarty's pub, you will pay Temple Bar prices ouch. A bit of a shock after travelling around the rest of Ireland the other 2 pubs we visited weren't as pricey, as they were out of the centre of Temple Bar. The musicians / guides also gave us a few pointers about other pubs to visit if you wanted to see more traditional Irish music after the tour.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

steve s

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The Pub Crawl was good but could have been better. Why meet at the first bar? Nothing happens there, you just wait and wait. Disorganized on who was checking and selling tickets and started late. At 8:15 you walk to first pub for a great music session but what is the purpose of the 2nd pub? Same musicains we just walked 10 minutes. Musicians were great, process could use lots of imporvement!

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Arpar C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed live Irish Music with two private musician and private bar.

Doing what: Dublin Traditional Irish Music Pub Crawl

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message