Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Book of Kells

Known as one of Ireland's national treasures, the Book of Kells is a sacred and important historical text dating from around 800 A.D., making it one of the oldest books in the world. The book gets its name from the Abbey of Kells, which was its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It is the very best way to see Dublin. I only had a few days in the area and wanted to see as much as I could. I had a two day pass which was sufficient. The guides are very entertaining and helpful along with all the history they told their passengers. The bus runs at great times. I never felt like I had to wait any longer than 5 minutes for the next bus. I would highly recommend getting your hop-on-hop-off pass in advance, it takes the mystery of what you want and should see in this beautiful country. Thanks Sandy

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

ugottabecrazy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked the Hop on bus for two days.. On arriving in Dublin I hopped on to get my bearings and know where everything was located. I was able to get off a few times that first trip and look around. The Little Dublin museum offered with my ticket was a highlight of my day. After checking into my hotel I got back on the bus and hopped off in an area I had spotted in my original tour. The second day I used the hop on to get to a few sites that I had tickets to see. All drivers were informative, friendly and very amusing.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Kenna J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cant really go wrong on the Hop On Hop Off. This on has live commentary which is quite better than listening to the recordings. They were ready for us to help us navigate as there are quite a few different HOHO services in Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Valerie H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the best way to get around, and see where everything was. Great for planning your days while in Dublin!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Christine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We very much enjoyed the narrated bus tour. The bus driver was pleasant and very helpful.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Dublin. We avoided lines to see the book itself and the insight our guide, Sarah, provided made us appreciate the book and castle all the more. Sarah was awesome- energetic, knowledgable, and full of great stories! Tour lasts about 3 hours.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

bylochacon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great information and wide-ranging tour.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Trinity College and the Book of Kells are at the heart of Ireland. Our guide was passionate and very knowledgeable -- and a pleasant person to spend a few hours with.

Having a guide made our trip much more productive than if we had wandered around with a guidebook in hand. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Maurice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an excellent tour to the Book of Kells and Dublin Castle thanks to the knowledge and passion of our tour guide - Sarah Kenny.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Patricia O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide through the book of keels tour was wonderful. Getting in before the crowds is really worth it as it was a little tight as we were leaving. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable and shared fascinating stories as we worked our way through the famous library and the streets of Dublin

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Janet R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I had a wonderful guide, knowledgeable and passionate about her subjects. She made history come alive.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Lynne S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a perfect tour for just arriving in Dublin when you can and #39;t get into your hotel yet and your kids are exhausted from traveling but you still want to enjoy Dublin. Our driver was very informative, funny and the bus allowed us to get a broad brush view of the city for us to explore the next day

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

MARGARET O

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This is a great way to get to know Dublin. We road all around the route and then we're able to walk back to lots of the places we wanted to see.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Madeleine C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This was a fun tour and our guide Sarah was so nice and very knowledgeable about Trinity College and the Book of Kells. It was definitely wonderful to be able to see the book and learn the rich history behind it. It got quite busy but Sarah made sure we got to see everything we needed to see. This tour is definitely a must for any trip to Dublin.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Edna C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Sarah, was terrific. She knew a lot about the Book of Kells, Dublin Castle and Dublin in general. She was also knowledgeable about the timing of seeing the exhibits. A great tour for a day with Irish sunshine rain.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

George A

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

I would say that it was at least fair value. The buses were clean and well maintained and the guide was interesting. I'd give it a 7 or 8, but emphasize that you are getting more than your moneys worth.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Alison S

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Much less access to Book of Kells than expected based on the ad, and given the price off the tour not as good value as expected. Had also taken previous tour with another company which covered some of the other sites included in this tour.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Philip L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Sarah the guide was a lovely girl but she should really spare a couple of hours to learn a bit more about the places she was guiding us on. XR are not Roman numerals to do with the date of Christ's birth and Queen Elizabeth the first was not married to Albert.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

lweir22

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

The bus will not honor Viator tickets and if you get on one without going to the main office first, you will lose your whole voucher. I had several experiences like this on Hop on Hop off buses not know who or what Viator was and how to use this voucher. You can buy them on site and no confusion, so wasting your money on this HOHO prior to event ticket will slow you down.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

judyholmes212

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

From the story telling to the singing, this was just so worth it! The only disappointment was the time we got on the bus to find it was a recorded version. The originality and hospitality of the drivers who do their own version of the tour made for often hilarious and personal views of their city.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

psphila United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide Mary was informative and professional. Our tour was Sunday morning, an especially busy day for the tour and she quickly obtained skip the line access and we began the tour with out delay. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Pam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was wonderful!! Our guide Mary was extremely knowledgeable, personable and helpful. We learned a great deal and it was one of the high points of the trip.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Larry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful, informative, gave us a good orientation to the city. Would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Jack F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Booking the trip and skipping the lines for the viewing was worth the price of admission alone. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and really highlighted the significance of the book. The additional walking tour after the viewing was very informative and is highly recommended to understand the history of the Irish revolution. Be prepared to spend a full three hours on the tour if needed as you will get the most for your money

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Get the 48 hour ticket. It is worth the little extra. We had a couple great tour guides.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message