Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Book of Kells

Known as one of Ireland's national treasures, the Book of Kells is a sacred and important historical text dating from around 800 A.D., making it one of the oldest books in the world. The book gets its name from the Abbey of Kells, which was its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, Brian was excellent, very knowledgeable

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Thomas M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hop on and Hop off was perfect to see all the sites and the Docklands route dropped us off one block from were we were staying.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the live commentary.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Andy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So glad I finally got to see the Book of Kells. Trinity College, the Library, the Book of Kells museum and our guide were all excellent the highlights of our stay in Dublin. Highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in medieval and Irish history.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Sydney L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sarah was fantastic! She was incredibly friendly and welcoming and had no problem entertaining us with facts of the city even while waiting in line for the attractions to open. We got more than we paid for with her extensive knowledge of Dublin. The sights were exceptional and the tour group size intimate enough to be able to ask questions one on one. Would definitely recommend as a great introductory history lesson about the city.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide was really good and informative

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hop on hop bus was wonderful. We really enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sherri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

awesome ,absolutely beautiful! Great tour guide!!

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Colette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour with guide, Mary Whelan. Informative and given our tight schedule, a great way to get to some of Dublin's essentials.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

cart62526

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you only do one thing in Dublin this is what you want to do. The book was breathtaking. The crowds were huge so getting in early was very important. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. It would not have been as good without her. The archivist are now also giving a little lecture so our tour guide made sure we heard it. Highlight of my time in Dublin.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Jean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see the city. Very comfortable ride and easy to maneuver the route with sightseeing.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Leslie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was amazing. SO funny and informative. It was a Saturday so Dublin was crazy crowded but he turned off the recorded tour and did it himself. We got to see it all first, then started hopping off on the second loop around. Great way to figure out your way around the city. Do it!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

MaryEllen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and engagibg

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Patricia Fryer S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We did not get early access to see the Book of Kells. Problems at the library. It was crowded everywhere. That said the walking tour was really good. We got a lot of info from our guide on the way to Dublin Castle.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Judith M G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

I arrived at the meeting point at the appropriate time. No group. After 5 minutes I telephoned the local number twice but the line was busy.By sheer luck I found the group waiting in line. The tour guide had not thought to check the names or numbers on her group and she LEFT ME BEHIND
!!!!

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Sandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It is the very best way to see Dublin. I only had a few days in the area and wanted to see as much as I could. I had a two day pass which was sufficient. The guides are very entertaining and helpful along with all the history they told their passengers. The bus runs at great times. I never felt like I had to wait any longer than 5 minutes for the next bus. I would highly recommend getting your hop-on-hop-off pass in advance, it takes the mystery of what you want and should see in this beautiful country. Thanks Sandy

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

ugottabecrazy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I booked the Hop on bus for two days.. On arriving in Dublin I hopped on to get my bearings and know where everything was located. I was able to get off a few times that first trip and look around. The Little Dublin museum offered with my ticket was a highlight of my day. After checking into my hotel I got back on the bus and hopped off in an area I had spotted in my original tour. The second day I used the hop on to get to a few sites that I had tickets to see. All drivers were informative, friendly and very amusing.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Kenna J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Cant really go wrong on the Hop On Hop Off. This on has live commentary which is quite better than listening to the recordings. They were ready for us to help us navigate as there are quite a few different HOHO services in Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Valerie H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the best way to get around, and see where everything was. Great for planning your days while in Dublin!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Christine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We very much enjoyed the narrated bus tour. The bus driver was pleasant and very helpful.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Dublin. We avoided lines to see the book itself and the insight our guide, Sarah, provided made us appreciate the book and castle all the more. Sarah was awesome- energetic, knowledgable, and full of great stories! Tour lasts about 3 hours.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

bylochacon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great information and wide-ranging tour.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Trinity College and the Book of Kells are at the heart of Ireland. Our guide was passionate and very knowledgeable -- and a pleasant person to spend a few hours with.

Having a guide made our trip much more productive than if we had wandered around with a guidebook in hand. Well worth the cost.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Maurice R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an excellent tour to the Book of Kells and Dublin Castle thanks to the knowledge and passion of our tour guide - Sarah Kenny.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message