Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Book of Kells

Known as one of Ireland's national treasures, the Book of Kells is a sacred and important historical text dating from around 800 A.D., making it one of the oldest books in the world. The book gets its name from the Abbey of Kells, which was its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

judyholmes212

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

From the story telling to the singing, this was just so worth it! The only disappointment was the time we got on the bus to find it was a recorded version. The originality and hospitality of the drivers who do their own version of the tour made for often hilarious and personal views of their city.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

psphila United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide Mary was informative and professional. Our tour was Sunday morning, an especially busy day for the tour and she quickly obtained skip the line access and we began the tour with out delay. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Larry R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful, informative, gave us a good orientation to the city. Would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Penelope D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great way to see the city and sights. Get the live commentary if you can (and don and #39;t require a translation from English). The walking tour is excellent too.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Susan P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The Book of Kells is so amazing! And it was so interesting to find out all about how the paper vellum and inks were made. It is housed in a fantastic library at Trinity College, which was fun to see, as well. No photos allowed, however, of the Book or of its informational displays... From there we had a walking tour of Dublin Castle outside and a few spots along the way. Very interesting!!

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best tour yet!! Do at your own pace. Drivers are very informative as well as witty. Great way to get around the city!! We had a person with a wheel chair and it could not have worked out better!!!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Brenda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Best way to get around the city. Drivers were very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

brian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Hop on Hop off bus is the way to see Dublin in 1.5 hours. Dublin was one of our favorite cities and we stopped and toured St. Patrick's Cathedral. There is an admittance fee to visit this immense place of worship. Every window is stained glass.

Brian and Jo Lynne

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Norma J I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We booked our tour for two days. The driver Tyronne was very informative and sang us some beautiful Irish songs. A must for any traveler to Dublin!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Nancy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Dublin Hop on Hot off bus was a great way to see Dublin! The busses were clean and comfortable and there were plenty of stops. What I liked most were the bus drivers!!!!!! They were all so friendly and extremely helpful! So glad we did this!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Maria B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Debra F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Excellent way to see the city

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Mike

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very interesting tours and guides added humour to the tour.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Msailrph

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Some of the buses were fun because the driver spoke and interacted, others were just a recording which was hard to hear. Overall it was an ok tour, getting us from place to place.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Mary H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was very good....we loved seeing Trinity College, especially the library. The two pages of the book of Kells was a bit of a disappointment, until we saw the rest of the exhibit and the other ancient books. The walking tour thru town until the castle was great. She did a good job. Sorry I cannot remember her name!

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Elaine H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We were very pleased with the professional staff we encountered throughout our trip. The Hop-On Hop-Off Bus is very easy to use. My husband left his wallet on a bus and it was safely returned to us the next morning!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

John A

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

We waited for the bus at least 15-20 minutes at every stop! At one point we just started to walk to our destinations, which was faster than waiting for the bus. I would not bother with using this line in the future.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Herman G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

Couldn't rate because we didn't do it

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Beth.anne.james

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Always a great way to see a town to figure out the layout and things to do

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Good way to get around Dublin.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

foye4

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great usually but didn't run on Easter sunday!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

hterry62

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good overview of Dublin. Good guide presentation. A few added stops seem unnecessary and promotional of specific businesses. But still very good value.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Anne W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very informative and good value

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Dennis USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Tour was fine but what a mess in the city.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message