Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Book of Kells

Known as one of Ireland's national treasures, the Book of Kells is a sacred and important historical text dating from around 800 A.D., making it one of the oldest books in the world. The book gets its name from the Abbey of Kells, which was its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karla G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It was an amazing tour, we loved every minute and it was a great way to get around the city

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

bruce j United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was another awesome experience. Our movement throughout Ireland made the trip fast but enjoyable. Tried to see all four corners of the country and with Viator that was somewhat possible. I would encourage all who intend to visit to keep it on yor list. It is a trip well worth the experience.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Wendy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour - Mary was our guide. She was informative and really passionate about the history of both the Book of Kells and Dublin generally. Fascinating to see the manuscript and then to see some of the beautiful georigian and victorian architecture in the city. Tour was scheduled for 2 hours, but really ended up being closer to 3 hours. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Mary, our guide, was very knowledgeable about Irish history and told it in a way that made it relevant to the whole group. We also got a walking tour of the city as we made our way to Dublin Castle. Really enjoyed learing about the city and how important streets and buildings where to Dublin's history. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Valerie B

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2016

Our tour guide was on time, friendly, and knew quite a bit about Trinity College and Dublin. We booked this trip so we'd have early access before crowds but didn't actually get in early. The guide kept blaming the college but we were very disappointed to wait outside for 25 minutes of our tour that could have been spent inside.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was very knowlegable about the Book of Kells and the Dublin Castle. It's nice to have a walking tour and no wait for admissions.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Brendan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent coverage of the central city area and excellent commentary by all drivers.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Donald T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Again a great way to orient yourself in a new city. The Book of Kells is a must see.at Trinity College.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

cstewbee

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour with Sean C.. The early admission was great due to the bus loads of people that arrive later in the morning.
Sean was very thorough and personable. He provided a wonderful overview of the history of Ireland in an entertaining manner.
My family and I would highly recommend Sean and this tour.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Judith Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Covered all the must see areas of Dublin. Good information from staff at stops.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Thomas M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour, Brian was excellent, very knowledgeable

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Thomas M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hop on and Hop off was perfect to see all the sites and the Docklands route dropped us off one block from were we were staying.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Carol W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Loved the live commentary.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Andy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

So glad I finally got to see the Book of Kells. Trinity College, the Library, the Book of Kells museum and our guide were all excellent the highlights of our stay in Dublin. Highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in medieval and Irish history.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Sydney L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Sarah was fantastic! She was incredibly friendly and welcoming and had no problem entertaining us with facts of the city even while waiting in line for the attractions to open. We got more than we paid for with her extensive knowledge of Dublin. The sights were exceptional and the tour group size intimate enough to be able to ask questions one on one. Would definitely recommend as a great introductory history lesson about the city.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Guide was really good and informative

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Donald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hop on hop bus was wonderful. We really enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Sherri B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

awesome ,absolutely beautiful! Great tour guide!!

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Colette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour with guide, Mary Whelan. Informative and given our tight schedule, a great way to get to some of Dublin's essentials.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

cart62526

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you only do one thing in Dublin this is what you want to do. The book was breathtaking. The crowds were huge so getting in early was very important. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. It would not have been as good without her. The archivist are now also giving a little lecture so our tour guide made sure we heard it. Highlight of my time in Dublin.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Jean S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great way to see the city. Very comfortable ride and easy to maneuver the route with sightseeing.

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

Leslie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was amazing. SO funny and informative. It was a Saturday so Dublin was crazy crowded but he turned off the recorded tour and did it himself. We got to see it all first, then started hopping off on the second loop around. Great way to figure out your way around the city. Do it!

Doing what: Dublin Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

MaryEllen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable and engagibg

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Patricia Fryer S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We did not get early access to see the Book of Kells. Problems at the library. It was crowded everywhere. That said the walking tour was really good. We got a lot of info from our guide on the way to Dublin Castle.

Doing what: Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message