Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

The Hill of Tara (Temair)

Despite being one of Ireland’s most important historical sites, it’s Tara’s otherworldly views and fascinating archaeological finds that make it such a popular day trip from Dublin. The Hill of Tara, known as Temair in Gaelic, is located in County ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 51 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Highly recommend this tour. You see a lot. Our guide, Alec, was very good. You are on a mid-to-large size comfortable bus - not one of the regular, large size tour buses. You are not being slighted. The tour goes down a number of one lane roads, off the beaten track. I'm not sure one of the full size buses could even go where you are taken. The Loughcrew Celtic Tombs visit involves going into one of the tombs. The tomb is not as large as the one at Newgrange, but you do get to go down a passage to an enclosed, inner area. Also, the view from the hill where the tombs are located is spectacular. I had been to the Hill of Tara before with another tour company. The stop there on this tour was better. Alec provided a great deal of information on the importance of Tara. And, the tour includes more . . . Trim Castle, etc. Great value!

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Eric D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Despite on and off rain, this was a tremendous tour. We saw so many amazing sites as part of the tour - the Hill of Tara, Loughcrew Tombs, Monasterboice, and Trim Castle - but our driver/guide also pointed out a number of other fascinating places along the way including Newgrange and Becktive Abbey. The guide was personable and knowledgeable. He also took great care of his tourists - we had two very old ladies and one young woman with who were challenged by walking the steep climbs but our guide made sure to stay with them, encouraging them and keeping them engaged in the trip. He went out of his way to make sure that we all were able to experience the many wonderful sites this trip offered. The only thing I wish we had been able to do was to go into Newgrange. But that's just another reason to go back to Ireland!

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Shane N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent: the driver, loughcrew tombs, Unscheduled stop to Bective abbey. It was excellent value for money - especially compared to the M.G new grange/Tara tour I did. However, we did not: get a guided tour around drogheda, go to Ardee, or even get into trim castle and #39;s keep. But I throughly enjoyed.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour, with lots of history. The Hill of Tara was amazing, lots of history to take in. We were also lucky with the weather for our tour, blue sky's all day and there was an amazing sunrise over the valley and the site when we arrived, just beautiful. The Loughcrew Tombs are perched on top a hill, so for me it was an amazing walk up this green steep hillside maybe not so for my Mum to see these tombs with the historical significance in time. The walk was absolutely worth it. We then proceeded onto lunch at the town where the tour guide was from, which was interesting, as there was nothing to do there, except eat at the pub. Mum and I found this on a number of tours we went on with Extreme Ireland, that the tour guide took you to his hometown, dropped you at a pub or attraction and off they went home to visit family. As we are paying for the tour and to see highlights of this area, the tour guides should be taking us to the sights and best areas to eat, rather than their home towns. Overall, the history we learnt on the tour was great. Just wished the Trim Castle was open to explore at the time...

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Philomena S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful experience. Coach driver, Eoin,was knowledgeable, friendly and a very humorous guide for the day. Newgrange facility is superbly well organised and an awesome monument to our ancestors.The views from the Hill of Tara were beautiful and Eoins commentary made sense of a site with only marks on the turf to indicate where the buildings were originally. I would highly recommend this very special tour.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Robert L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour was amazing! Our guide, Eoin was great, knowledgeable and entertaining. Howth was lovely and a surprise, Newgrange was spiritual, Tara was a place of power.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Dianne K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A fun day trip from Dublin. Newgrange is an amazing site. Hill of Tara was interesting but it is just a barren hill at this point. All the structures are gone. Our guide and bus driver were excellent and overall we had a great time.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Christa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I absolutely loved this tour! Just the right amount of time was spent at each stop. Hill of Tara is so peaceful. Newgrange was very interesting! Harry was an excellent bus driver/guide and kept us entertained the whole way there and back. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Alyson T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed seeing Newgrange. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and had a great sense of time. Hill of Tara was also great and very informative. We ate lunch at the cafe at the Newgrange which was pretty good.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Lauren S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Hill of Tara is interesting and in a beautiful countryside. Newgrange is amazing and should not be missed if you are in Dublin and have the time to see it. More than 500 years older the the Pyramids in Egypt it is an amazing cultural treasure.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

wonderful day exploring Irelands heritage. Excellent guide - very informative but also fun and even sang us several songs which was lovely. Amazing experience to visit hill of Tara and the Loughcrew tombs in particular. Stopped for lunch in an authentic country pub.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Denise O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I knew nothing of New Grange before this tour and I am so happy that I went to visit the site. It was incredible. From the moment we got on the bus in Dublin, our guide Michael was an absolute joy. It was a pleasure to listen to him recount the history of the sights we saw along the route to Tara and then New Grange. The sites are well kept and our New Grange guide Jackie was so enthusiastic about her subject. A great tour and a wonderful way to spend a day.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Maura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful mix of cultureand fun! Our witty and caring driver-guide, Michael, gave us a lot of interesting pieces of information about everything happened to be on our way and some usesul tips (everything fully knowledgeable even for non-native speaking people...). Newgrange and Tara are, of course, mystical spots, but we enjoyed even the stops to say hello to the donkey or to watch Howth wonderful seals. On the bus the atmosphere was cozy and relaxed, and we had just the time to be on our own for a bit without getting bored. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

our tour guide was terrific. We were very happy with every aspect of this tour. New Grange and Hill of Tara were fascinating places, we are so glad that we didn`t miss the opportunity to see these amazing places.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

IJTW v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our guide Harry was very knowledgeable and shared loads of interesting facts with us. Newgrange and Tara both very impressive. One remark: the photo accompanying this tour is misleading. It shows the high tower at Monasterboice and the tour does not stop there.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Elena T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The best tour of my entire trip!!! Enough time was given to walk around and explore, so we didn't have to run around to see everything. The sites were beautiful. I finally saw Tara. Thank you for this tour, and thanks to our tourguide Ross.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Olga C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great historical tour! We were lucky to have a small punctual group of only 9 people. Everything nicely organized, very friendly, funny and informative guide/driver. Newgrange experience is amazing. Don't forget to bring something that you can tie to the Fairy tree at the Hil of Tara. And be sure to go inside the tourist office to register for the tour before boarding the bus.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Linda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was delightful. He provided an excellent account of the Hills and New Grange without being boring or pedantic. You could tell his love of his country and the pride he took in relating historical facts about the location. We went on tour with a different travel agency to other parts of the country, but our trip to New Grange and the Hills of Tara through Viator remains one of the best experiences we had.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Deirdre G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Loved the trip. Bus guide very friendly and well informed. Trip to Newgrange and Hill of Tara was terrific. Highly recommend for a day in the Irish countryside.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Wayne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Tour guide was knowledgeable and gave thoughtful presentations. The trip encompassed not only Newgrange and Tara Hill but also included a bit of a tour of Dublin and small coastal fishing villages. Learned quite a bit of Irish history.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

MommaK

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

I wanted to give this tour 10 stars! Michael was our Tour Guide/Bus Driver and he was amazing and knowledgeable.

I was actually looking forward to the Newgrange part of the tour most but, in fact, The Hills of Tara was the part of the tour that touched my soul the most. I was standing where the original Kings of Ireland were in the early 400's. the history of this beautiful island is what touches you the most.

Wonderful adventure all around.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

Markus S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great Trip, simply loved it. Our tourguide Trevor was brilliant, he presented us historical data in a very charming and funny way. There was enough time to enjoy all the places we visited, not only to see them, also to truly feel them. Newgrange, the Hill of Tara, historial castles, a fairy tree, an old cemetry and a lot of the amazing history of beautiful Ireland - breathtaking in landscape and beauty and, as I know know, also in history.

Doing what: Newgrange and Hill of Tara Day Trip from Dublin

MOHINI S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This was a great tour and I am glad that i did it at the last minute.Just loved it.The great celtic crosses were magnificent and the Boyne valley and the Hill of Tara where Irish Kings were crowned for a thousand years were all spellbinding.The ancient tombs from the Bronze age ( three thousand years plus old!) with the strange pyschadelic like encryptions were fascinating.It was really a great trip and well titled as Celtic Heritage Day.It made me feel proud and i am not entirely irish but my husband has some Irish heritage and it rubbed of on to me and I was so proud !

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

LBSTR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I was pleasantly susprised that the tour was with a mini bus and not herded like cattle like some tour companies. Dave's humor, patience and knowledge was a perfect combination. I would sign up with this tour company again. I think that we had seen a lot of key sites that will leave a lasting impression in me. The Hill of Tara was a very spiritual place and a very important religious site so make sure that you spend time here. Monasterboice was a treat and to see the fine examples of Celtic crosses was phenomenal. Take time to look at the the carvings. Trim Castle was a backdrop of an Oscar winning movie.Drogheda had a very unusual and religious stop that you just can't miss! Just sit back and relax and let the guide take care of the rest. Thanks Dave and kudos to your tour company. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Alastair B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Very enjoyable day with friendly and entertaining guide Mac. Loved seeing the Hill of Tara, the Loughcrew Tombs, and the beautiful Boyne Valley scenery along the way.

Doing what: Celtic Heritage Day Trip from Dublin: Boyne Valley, Hill of Tara and Loughcrew Celtic Tombs

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message