Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Trinity College

Supremely located in the heart of Dublin, Trinity College stands as the gem of Ireland. Ranked as the number one university in the nation and in the top forty globally, Trinity College has a stellar academic reputation in addition to being one of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We only had one day in Dublin so we went independently to the Old Library at Trinity College and saw it including the Book of Kells. Easy to do on your own. Then we took what turned out to be a three hour advertised as 2 hours walking tour this one where our guide was a graduate student of History at Trinity College. Absolutely Outstanding!!! Best way to see historic Dublin if you have limited time.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Jeremy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I highly recommend this as the first thing you do in Dublin. An extremely knowledgeable and engaging history grad student at Trinity College somehow managed to tell us a surprisingly in-depth history of Ireland from before the Vikings until the present day, along with the history of Dublin itself and many of the neighborhoods and buildings, while also taking us around and showing us the sites. Unlike many of the bus tours that are all gung-ho pro-Ireland, our tour guide gave us as objective a history as possible, not embellishing Ireland's stumbles out of a sense of patriotic duty. I walked away with a good sense of the city, and with a good sense of where Ireland is today and how it got there.

I also just love long scenic walks, so even if you don't care for history, this is an excellent walking tour.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

James D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was very informative our guide was great. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating is the fact that the title is a bit deceiving in that Trinity College isn't really part of the tour. You start out there and you are given some history and background about Trinity but it doesn't include admission to the buildings. So just be aware of that. If you have an interest in the history behind Dublin you will really enjoy this tour.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Rahul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Highly recommended. Our guide Alexander was knowledgeable, witty and entertaining.
Took the 11 am tour starting at Trinity college and ended at 2:20 pm at Christ Church.
Definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Alice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was excellent and the tour was really 2 hours plus. I must have misunderstood, though, because I was expecting more of a Trinity College tour as well. We did not go inside any of the college buildings, just stood in the courtyard. On the other hand, we saw a lot of the city.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

great tour and great guide... he really had to improvise... Joe Biden was in Dublin including Trinity College... and it poured ... but he had great spirit ...kept us moving and just changed the route as needed due to road closures or rain ..
highly recommend this... great orientation ... made the rest of our days in Dublin so much more efficient.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Susan P USA

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our guide for this tour was not only a graduate of Trinity College, but she had a PhD in Irish history! So she was very knowledgeable, and we were able to learn a lot about the history of Ireland! Walking tours are a great way to see the sights!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Leeann W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed our time on this tour. The downside was that the tour group was too big therefore it was hard to hear all the stories as we walked on the tour. Keep in mind the Trinity College part of the tour does not include a visit to the Book of Kells which is inside the college.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Yogesh J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Probably the best way to see downtown Dublin, Trinity College, Dublin Castle and other sights within walking distance. The guide was knowledgable, funny and helpful. It does involve quite a bit of walking, as expected, but the two and half hours flew by as we walked around looking at historical buildings and hearing about Irish history. The walk was well planned so that you see most of what is important in Dublin and get a good idea about how things have evolved over the years. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Highlights Walking Tour

katinavlastos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Daniel was full of knowledge, enthusiasm, and great wit. Learned a lot and had fun. Got a good feel for the area around Trinity College
Go raibh maith agat!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Beverly F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We were met at Trinity College by our guide and set off from there. April 22, 2016.. I highly recommend this tour. This guide was extremely knowledgeable and perceptive.
I liked the stops we made at various points so that she could speak more in depth about the site we were at and so we could ask questions. Sometimes walking tours set up a pace and one just tries to keep up, but learns very little. Well, I learned a great deal about Dublin and where places are ... Very important if one wants to save precious time and not wander around wondering where it all is. Some of the highlights were Trinity College, Bank of Ireland, Temple Bar, Dublinia, Christ Church Cathedral, Dublin Castle and the great history around them. Do this, and I hope your guide is as well versed and thoughtful as ours. Price is right!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Jeovany Z

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyed this tour! The only feedback to Viator or the tour company is to be clear that the tour group meets inside the gates to Trinity College not at the gates/outside. We waited outside underneath the front gate until 15 minutes after the tour began thinking maybe it had been canceled. We finally wandered inside the college grounds and into the courtyard where we saw that several tours were happening. It was sheer luck in Ireland- appropriately! that we found this tour and confirmed that it was ours before they had progressed very far.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

GinaBina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide that had prepared a great tour but was also prepared to answer any and all questions that arose. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for a light and fun tour of Trinity College and its surrounding area.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Beverly USA

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

My husband really enjoyed this tour. He is a history buff and the tour guide is a professor of history at Trinity College. He goes into great detail about history from the 1500's on. It is a fast walking tour. I enjoyed the sights, but there were times I was not listening. We thought it would be more about the sites we were seeing and not so much detail on dates and facts.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Anne Adams P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable tour and extremely knowledgeable guide. This is a great way to start a visit in Dublin. I really appreciate that the guide we had is a professor at Trinity College and had a wonderful sense of humor.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Brent H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I cannot remember our guide's name but he was excellent. I don't think it could have been any better! The tour took off in front of Trinity College at about 11:00 on I believe the 7th of July. Excellent and highly recommended:-

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Morag

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good and very informative! Highly recommend. The tour guide was a former student of Trinity College and was happy to answer really in-depth questions about Irish history. Definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

jacqueline r

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful opportunity to tour Dublin from the pedestrian perspective. Our guide was a Trinity College graduate and very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the history. Well Done!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great! Our guide was really knowledgeable, really fun and really knew what he was doing. When we met up, the main gates to Trinity College were closed, so we couldn't access the meeting point - no worries, the guide was actively asking people waiting around the gates if there were there for his tour! Great service!
He asked if there was anything in particular anyone wanted him to focus on, and he was really good about making sure that people were engaged. I'm Australian, and he was very funny about pointing out that a lot of Irish rebels were deported to Australia after various rebellions. My ancestors!
The walk around the city was amazing, and I think this tour is a great way to be introduced to the city - it's history, it's layout and to get ideas for other things to visit, both within Dublin and in the surrounding areas. I would definitely recommend it, and I actually plan to tell some relatives visiting Dublin to take this tour.

P.S. I wrote a big, detailed review of this tour and then had to log in and didn't have a password and had to set one up, and lost the review, dammit. So annoying! This is a shortened version.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Julia B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Gavin, our tour guide, was informative, friendly and engaging. He did a great job leading us through Trinity College, the Temple Bar neighborhood, Dublin Castle and other places of note in Dublin. It is a good way to see the city and learn some of its history.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Nicole S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a really good walking tour which allowed you to get a better sense of Dublin. You get to see quite a few things, and the guide was very good and knowledgeable especially being a history graduate from Trinity College. If you don't have much time in Dublin, I would definitely recommend this walking tour!

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

tduggan

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

I was very disappointed in this walking tour. The tour of Trinity College did not include the Book of Kells. The tour guide did not keep the group together, we were caught waiting for lights at intersections while he raced ahead more than once. Several of the locations where he stopped to talk were dirty and smelled bad. I did not enjoy this tour, and would not recommend it.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Donna O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was excellent. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and approachable. The first day we arrived we did a tour of Kilmainham Gaol, the Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College tied together so much of what we learned at the Gaol to the city as we walked around. So glad we did the tours in this sequence.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Andreas O

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Highly recommended for anyone interested in detailed history of inner Dublin, i.e. Trinity College, Old Parliament, Townhouse, etc. Unfortunately Ireland is president of the EU this year which leads to a closed Dublin Castle - so no Chance to get inside that area. Our guide (who was very good!) had to fill this gap with some extra Details at the other spots....which made the hole story quite long. However, we booked this tour to take part the day we arrived in Dublin and with this you get a good first overview of the city centre and where to go during your stay.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Walking Tour including Trinity College

Brenda S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

We enjoyed this, would have given it a 5 star if we could have seen the inside of some of the Trinity College and the Dublin Castle. The Castle had some type of political meetings so we couldn't go in. The tour guide was very informative and nice.

Doing what: Dublin Historical Highlights Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message