Dublin ATTRACTIONS See all

Wicklow Mountains

The Wicklow Mountains, called the "Garden of Ireland", are a range of mountains running southeast from Dublin through County Wicklow. The mountains are a popular weekend and holiday retreat for Dubliners looking to get out of the city for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stephanie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The Wicklow Mountains are not to be missed and this tour was wonderful!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Jennifer L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. The stops were spectacular and I did not feel rushed. I loved driving through Sandycove to see the Irish coast.
Unfortunately, due to icy conditions we did not get to drive all the way up the Wicklow Mountains, but that is not the fault of the tour. We still got to see a lot of the beautiful countryside and enjoyed the parts of Wicklow we were able to see.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

sundancefarms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour with friendly guide Anthony and driver Frank of Rover Dog Tours, fun too. Lots to see and Wicklow Mountains very scenic. Worth taking time to do and good to see the countryside.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour - John was an amazing tour guide and offered very interesting stories about Wicklow and Ireland. There was adequate time at each stop to take photos. Highly recommend!
Only tip- confirm your pickup location the day before.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Jayne P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We had a lovely day out in the Wicklow mountains and Glendalough. The views were lovely and it ended with a lovely meal in the Fitzgerald Pub in Avaco which we really enjoyed.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

a.pallet

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide,J.P., and bus driver, Paddy, were great. Lots of facts but knew when enough was enough. Would have liked more time in Kilkenny and less time in Glendalough. The Wicklow mountains were beautiful.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Jeremy United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I took this tour with Wild Rover Tours, and had a pleasant time. The first stop was in Kilkenny where our tour guide gave us a quick walkthrough of the downtown area, and then gave us sufficient free time to explore the city. I opted to see the Rothe House, which is a medieval house that has been renovated, and is a good way to spend 30 minutes. After that, I stopped at Kilkenny Castle to see the lavish rooms. The castle was certainly a highlight of Kilkenny, and I highly recommend stopping to visit it during your free time. Make sure you factor in time for lunch as well, as this is your only opportunity for a lunch stop.

Then we drove through the Wicklow Mountains, and had a brief 10 minute photo stop before continuing onto Glendalough. The round tower and graveyard here were fascinating. There is also plenty of time to walk the trails through the woods and lake, although there was nothing very exciting to see.

All in all, I recommend the tour if you are looking for something to do outside of Dublin -- it's a good way to experience history and nature on the same day.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

butsie c W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The driver was excellent. The tour guide referred to the group as guys every single time he addressed the group. Perhaps he can think of another term to use as it was not appropriate and very annoying by mid-trip. Also, unless you are a young female, don't expect him to pay any attention to you or answer your questions respectfully. The optional tours he gave on both stops - Kilkenny and Glendalough were informative and moved at a good pace. We were offered a map of Kilkenny to use during our free time there and told a few times we could not get lost. Well, we did get lost as did other tour group members not walking with us. The second stop in Glendalough was interesting but be prepared because the last part of the trip is really hiking through one of various trails. It began raining a half hour before our tour was scheduled to depart. We asked the guide if he could open up the bus for us to wait in it not just us, but all of the people on our tour who were waiting in the rain and he said not for another 15 minutes. I understand that generally there's a schedule they like to keep to, but when half the group is standing in the rain waiting to board the bus, a little flexibility would have been nice from the tour guide. Fortunately the kind driver did get the bus early and drove it to where we were waiting so we could board while the driver was busy talking to the young women, again.
Overall, beautiful scenery on the drive and at Wicklow mountains and interesting historical sites in Killkenny.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a delightful train ,bus and dart train ride. To see beautiful countryside of Wicklow co. We went to Avoca wearers, and Glennenough monsetary . It was a little long and I would of spent less time eating at the resturant at the end of the trip.

Doing what: Wicklow Mountains, Avoca and Glendalough Rail Tour from Dublin

Lisa Marie Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our day tour to Wild Wicklow was great. Thae weather was great and the places visited were fantastic. Our bus driver/tour leader was very knowledgable and his sense of humour was so good he kept us all in a very good mood, both wuth his story telling and his singing. We all tried to sing along with him like one big happy family. Thanks again for such a happy and lovely experience. Absolutely loved it.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

fbiete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

County Wicklow is beautiful, so green. The bus travel with some stops to take photos will show why Wicklow is called the garden of Ireland.
You will end the day at Glendalough, I recommend going to the upper lake 20 minutes walking from/to the bus, even under the rain is magical.
The myst will make a unforgetful scenary.
Remember to take with you a good raincoat and some clothes, you will need them even in August!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

wpatera Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Make that 6 stars! John is one hell of a guide and an expert driver, the Wicklow Mountains are breathtakingly beautiful, all in all a perfect day! Two thumbs up from Marc and Bill Austria

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour! Wicklow Mountains are an amazing site! You get to see the mountains that were used in the backdrop of Braveheart. Glendalough is great. Make sure to check out both lakes!

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

Kristen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderfully laid back tour in one of the prettiest places in Ireland. Our tour guide, Trevor, was incredibly nice and full of interesting facts about all the places we visited. And the Wicklow Mountains were stunning! Our favorite tour of the whole trip!

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

j_kapusniak Poland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was my second time in Ireland. Previously I have visited Cork. I told to my colleagues that Ireland is extremely boring. After todays tours to Wicklow Mountains with John I completely changed my mind. One-day tour with Wild Wicklow Tours was very well-organised...and John was a fantastic tour guide. I travel a lot, however I have never met so fantastic guide and man as John. Highly reccomended!!!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great. Joe was a great tour guide, funny, informative, and good driver. Good pace and options. Glendalough is beautiful as is the Wicklow Mtns. Good value, pickup and drop off was easy. Recommend to all ages.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

oliverkatec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

John was friendly, funny, knowledgable, and entertaining. We were glad to get out of the city and see the beautiful sights that Wicklow and Glendalough had to offer. Comfortable and well paced tour a must for any trip to Ireland!

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

cnoonan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gorgeous! The castle in Kilkenny was breathe taking. The grounds of the castle was beautiful. It really gave you a taste of what a castle should be. Fully decorated, it was like going back in time. Wicklow was so surreal. The walk to the lake, awesome. The scenery looked like a post card. The monastery was very interesting. Our guide, Siofra, was great. Wish we had more time in Kilkenny.

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Francis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The trip to the Wicklow Mountains was outstanding. The sites of Lough Tay and Glendalough were awesome. Luckily, we had a sunny day.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Edward F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my first visit to Ireland. Friends recommended a visit to Glendalough, so I went looking for a tour. This trip on Viator, actually operated by Wild Rover Day Tours, had great reviews, so I booked it. I was NOT disappointed. Glendalough is spectacularly beautiful, rich in beauty and history. Kilkenny has a beautiful castle and some nice medieval buildings. Unfortunately, it wasn't clear when we arrived at the Wicklow Gap, but two out of three isn't bad! Grainne is a wonderful guide. Her knowledge of history and culture is quite extensive. I particularly appreciated her skill at storytelling. She helped make both Glendalough and Kilkenny come alive for me. It helped that we didn't have any rain during the walking tours! Hats off to John for professionally negotiating those amazingly narrow streets and lanes!

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Maria-Trinidad C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

What a fantastic day!! Our tour guide, John, was knowledgeable, funny and charming. He made sure everyone got included in photos. The Wicklow mountains are breathtaking and the final stop Glendalough gave us the opportunity for a lovely long walk in beautiful surroundings. When I visit Dublin again I will definitely book this tour.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

hollylynettesmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was my second time to do this tour, and it didn't disappoint.

The weather was beautiful and our guide, Yoan, decided that since the weather was so wonderful and frankly, since Ireland's weather changes quite frequently we should go to Glendalough first. I cannot emphasize enough what a great choice that was! We had one of the best walks around the lake with the most picturesque weather!!

We made our way to Kilkenny and were allowed a few hours there. The weather changed a little, so we were super thankful we went to Glendalough first. Kilkenny is a great city that is easy to maneuver, so we were able to see a lot in a little amount of time.

Yoan was incredibly knowledgeable and his passion for Irish history is evident. Bravo to him and the busdriver his name escapes me, but he's from Wicklow for creating such a wonderful day for my mother and me!

Doing what: Kilkenny City and Glendalough Day Trip from Dublin

Daniela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing but the best part for me and my boyfriend was the view to the guinness lake in the Wicklow Mountains. The guide Trevor was really nice and funny. We loved Ireland and we hope to go back one day to visit more and more.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

H.W. O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great tour! Our tour guide Richie knew a lot about the places we went and added a good amount of humor. It was snowing very hard in the Wicklow Mountains, so we didn't saw a lot of the Guinness Lake. However, we went to the Powerscourt, a fantastic alternative.

Doing what: Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin

Patricia G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

amazing and various tour : from the sea side to wicklow mountains. Very friendly bus driver who gave interesting informations for discovering the area. Our english was not good enough to understand everything but it was our choice to have the comments in english. This tour gave us the wish to discover more of this nice country.

Doing what: Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message