Historic Cork is one of Ireland’s loveliest cities. Only Dublin beats it in size, and Cork has a strong character and sense of identity, celebrating Irish poetry, theater, song and dance. The city is on Ireland’s south coast in the province of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 666 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another great tour. Our guide was amazing! Couldn't have asked for a better day from the moment we met our guide at Hueston station until the return home. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true vacation! Rail Tours and Deros Tours looked out for me every step of the way. Dingle tour guide Morris was engaging and entertaining. Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay tour guide Jonathan foresaw the groups needs with a flawless plan. There's is no way I could have coordinated a tour this encompassing on my own.

Doing what: 4-Day Cork, Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay Rail Tour

Dr James K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour operators were very efficient in checking us in. Great amount of of area and information.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Jonathan did a fantastic job handling transfers from bus to train with all train travel in first class reserved seating. Everything went without a problem. He produced a great tour by being highly knowledgeable on the history of Ireland!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

DSPRINGER7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed our trip very much! Jonathan was very knowledgeable and the best tour guide!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Blarney Castle Tour and CLifff of Moher Rail Trip but thought the RIng of Kerry was a little boring. We would have liked to had more photo ops on the road and did not like the way they rushed through the town and the tour guide did not tell us when the photo op was in front of us to take. If photo ops are on opposite side of bus we miss them. Tour guide Bob overall was very good and told a lot of interesting stories and histories. We did not like the Bed and Breakfast in Killarney. They put us far away from everyone else in a bed and breakfast that was old, small rooms and bathroom and no tv. We had a 20 minute walk to town each way and we are in our late 60's Think you should take age into consideration when booking places as my husband had two knee replacements. We will say the Breakfast was excellent and the manager was very nice but we saw tons of vacancies with tv's close to town. We also had to carry our luggage up steps which is hard at our age. the owner of the B and B did help us. Just be sure to ask where your accomodations will be before you go as others had much better places to stay than us and we felt we should be discounted for this! We loved the train ride and saw a lot of the countryside. The Cliff of Moher were the highlight of the trip! We also found the food in Ireland to be very good!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Carolyn D Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The price was much greater than the full day value. We did enjoy Blarney Castle and felt that we had enough time to visit glad it wasn't busy. Our trip to Cork was brief and bothersome that we were allowed to walk through the market but not stop and shop. Some of our stop points were so fast that it felt like a day of being on the bus rather than experiencing the location. For many of us international tourists, this is the one and only time we'll see these places.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Gregg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We just loved this tour! It was one of our favorites of the trip. Jonathan was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and pleasant.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

GMR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Norman was a wealth of know and his enthusiasm for trains was evident. I was able to add an addition day to see the Cliffs of Moher. Wish I could have stayed another day to go to the Aran Islands. Rail tours are well designed and fun to use the trains instead of the couch the whole time. Thanks NORMAN!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Natalie S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

So early!! Other than that, it was a great trip. There was only the slightest bit of a sprinkle, and we weren't inconvenienced by it. The scenery is spectacular, of course, and I took many pictures that turned out quite well. The lunch stop had good food, not unreasonably priced. One day out from Dublin, around the Ring, and back to the city is a crazy trip to make, with not much time in any one place, but that's what I knew to expect. We were well taken care of by the personable guides, who are not full-out tour directors. The guide on the bus, of course, was more informative. The trip was no more than, but as much as I expected. Since we'd already spent time in Killarney on two previous trips, we wanted to do the Ring in the limited time we had available, and that is what we did.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Jill

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great once we finally got to the destination!!! Train ride was a little ehhh, but overall loved the he experience. Pete and driver John were great

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

ckuch United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall it was a good trip. A large area was covered and we got to see many things. Blarney Castle grounds are amazing and a horticulturists dream. The long line to kiss the Blarney Stone was anticlimactic but part of the process. The B and B accommodations in Killarney were sub par. While the host was pleasant and the breakfast was very good, the place was old and tired. My expectation for a charming Irish cottage was way off! I emailed Rail Tours to resolve for the second night but they were not helpful and said there were no more B and Bs and if I wanted a hotel we'd have to pay an extra 78euro for the two of us. Not a good option for standard lodging.

There were several stops along the way to the major attractions. We had photo opps and lunch breaks however, the tour company didn't include the fees for some of the stops sheep dog demo, peat village. Very nit picky for 5-7 euro per person...make it an all inclusive. The train had some construction delays, which Railtours was aware of. We got off the coach bus to get on a train, sat for nearly 2 hours with various delays while our coach bus continued to our next destination with empty seats and our luggage. Seemed crazy when we had this transportation option. The tour guide said it was some contractual thing with train?!

The tour guides were good, some better than others. We saw a lot and learned a lot. Like any tour, there are places that you would like to spend more time. This tour allowed us to see some major sites on our short trip to Ireland.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Bob V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip! Jonathan was a great guide, very funny and knowledgeable. A great introduction to modern Irish history. The scenery was spectacular!
The Belfast portion was terrific we split between Titanic and Black Taxi tour, and both were more than satisfied.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Tom W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Did you know Winston Churchhill kissed the blarney stone? After kissing the blarney stone I feel like my lips are now within six degrees of all lips! Was really good to see the Blarney Castle. Also the fish and chips and beer at the restaurant under the largest store in Ireland was awesome!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Megan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the highlight of our Ireland visit. Our guide from Dublin to Killarney, Paddy, was wonderful and stayed with us once we got on the coach to drive around the Ring of Kerry. There were surprise stops and great personalities along the way. The coach was comfortable and they made sure to stop when we hit a gorgeous vista to take pictures. It was a long day but completely worth it. Definitely do this trip.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Joe D

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great way to see a lot of Ireland over a short period of time.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Marge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful, Enjoyed the tour --- as the other three tours we took, the guide was very good -- major criticism was the lack of on board washroom facilities --- spent too much time at major sites waiting in line for washrooms.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Lisa C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The sights were amazing! And I think the guides we got were wonderful and very knowledgeable. Just a couple things I would have preferred. A bit more time in Cork and Cobh, and some of the other stops in the Ring of Kerry. Also, adding new people to the tour took time from our own tours, which left for less time in some of the places. The final thing was our B and B we stayed in during our stay in Killarney. The host was WONDERFUL, but for the amount we paid for the trip, a nicer spot would have been preferable.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Richard S

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour guides were friendly and very informative. Logistics with train and bus tours was very good. Was very disappointed with B and B accommodations in Killarney. We have stayed in B and Bs on numerous occasions and this was the worse we have stayed in. Suggest taking the tour but confirm the choice of your accommodations when you book.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

kjn729

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The tour itself was just OK and felt a bit unorganized. Spent much of it on the bus. Not many stops off the bus for photo ops, people were taking photos on the bus as the bus was being driven. Our guide Bob was good and provided a lot of history and was entertaining but the content of the tour itself was subpar. After a wonderful tour experience small group in Scotland through Rabbie's, also booked via Viatour, this tour

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

kjn729

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

unable to complete review, so this is a continuation. The worst part of the tour was the awful B and B experience at Drimon. The nameless host as she did not give us her name upon meeting her made me and my friend feel uncomfortable and unwelcome during our 2 night stay. She said my friend was demanding and that her place was not a hotel when asked for extra hangers. She also got angry that my friend was drying t-shirts and socks from hangers in the room and ordered her to take them down. She could have asked nicely but instead scolded her like a child! Then had the nerve to say we were rude. Unbelievable, we never experienced such rude behavior in all our travels.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Sandi United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best tour we have taken in any country. Norman was the absolute best guide. We have made a friend for life with Norman. I have told all my friends to make sure they ask for him when booking a tour. I would give this tour a 10 if possible

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Msailrph

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Despite gloomy weather, the trip was great! Our guide, (Morris I believe) was friendly and informative and made it fun. Stopped for a sheep herding demo along the way which was neat and had lunch in a quaint town. The train ride part was enjoyable and the train guides were super!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well organized. Communicated to us well. Good timing on stops. Tour guide made sure to look after the group. Tour guide was knowledgeable and personable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message