Historic Cork is one of Ireland’s loveliest cities. Only Dublin beats it in size, and Cork has a strong character and sense of identity, celebrating Irish poetry, theater, song and dance. The city is on Ireland’s south coast in the province of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 678 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our 4 Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara trip was wonderful. Our tour guide for the first several days was Jonathan an he was one of the best we have ever had for guides. His knowledge of history, literature, politics, economics, folklore was excellent and we were delighted that he talked much of the time since he wasn't the driver too. His humor and caring attitude was excellent and we loved his quotations of poetry and music the whole trip. Our scenic views were spectacular and this made our vacation one of the best ever. I highly recommend this tour by Viator and Ireland Railtours. Their coordination and handling of all of us tourists was excellent.... they practically held our hands to guide us where we needed to be. It was a great vacation and I would love to do this trip again someday!

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Pete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful area.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. The tours that we booked thru Viator, were conducted by Rail Tours. THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO TAKE A TOUR. We were treated like Royalty. We were accompanied throughout the entire tour, which was wonderful. The bus tour portions were great. The tour representatives were outstanding. Kudos to Andy, Brian, Margaret and Liam. They were wonderful and made the tours even more enjoyable. We had reserved seats on the train portions of the tour, so we were always able to sit together. They provided taxi service where necessary. This was a very wonderful experience and highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous tour and a beautiful sight to behold! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Even in the pouring rain, was still able to appreciate and enjoy the Cork and Blarney Castle tours. The rail tours are fabulous and the Ireland's countryside is worth exploring!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Patrick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing scenery

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Patrick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Long day, but very organized.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

YounHee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Brian was great. Many thanks to him.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Laura J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time on this tour. It was very well organized and Andy was a great guide with a lot of info and advice on where to go during free time. We stayed at a nice B and B in a good location. We enjoyed the trip very much.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Janet G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Brian and Ray were excellent. The only thing we were not crazy about was that several different tours were pooled into one large coach bus. I prefer tour that limit tour size to no more than 14-16.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Tina O

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

We wanted to see the whole Ring of Kerry and we were in Dublin so we decided to do this tour. Ill be honest and say if I had to do my tours all over again 7 tours in 8 days I would do more coach tours then rail tours. For this tour we took the rail to the coach and then proceeded to The Ring of Kerry which was a real nice drive along the coast and towns Dingle Bay, Waterville, Killarney, village of Sneem. The drive provides photo opportunities that are OK but the true fact of the matter is the nice things about the Ring of Kerry are the little villages and their uniqueness and you just can't capture them in this tour because you get rushed along to complete the circle. The village of Sneem stood out to me as a really nice place but you only get 20 minutes there to run into a gift shop.....but the other little stores in the town are what caught my eye. If we go back I will do a trip around Ireland staying at the little villages for a night because this tour is nice but your just passing all the real little gems right on by all day.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Katharine D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

This tour was not my cup of tea for several reasons. We weren't given any itinerary until it had already started. Things were a little unorganized. We were constantly picking up and dropping off people who were on shorter or longer tours. Sometimes our tour guide found out minutes beforehand than new people were joining our group. We changed bus drivers 3 times. We stayed 2 nights in the town of Killarney. Again, we didn't know until very last minute where we were staying. Some people in the group were at nice hotels in the center of town where all the shops and restaurants were. I got stuck in a charmless B and B 12 minutes away down a very busy street. It was awful. At one point we got off the bus and took 2 trains to a little town, only to meet up with the same bus again that was carrying all our luggage. It made me wonder- why did we get off the bus in the first place? The last day went from 7am to 10pm, which was too ling for everyone. If we had shaved a little time from our many stops, we could have easily caught an earlier train back to Dublin from Galway. Out tour guide was very helpful and informative, but he didn't work for Viator- this whole trip was outsourced to another company. Overall I would have skipped the Blarney Castle and stuck with the Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher, which can easily be done in a 2 day, 1 night trip from Dublin.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Carol A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Another great tour. Our guide was amazing! Couldn't have asked for a better day from the moment we met our guide at Hueston station until the return home. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true vacation! Rail Tours and Deros Tours looked out for me every step of the way. Dingle tour guide Morris was engaging and entertaining. Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay tour guide Jonathan foresaw the groups needs with a flawless plan. There's is no way I could have coordinated a tour this encompassing on my own.

Doing what: 4-Day Cork, Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Cliffs of Moher and Galway Bay Rail Tour

Dr James K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour operators were very efficient in checking us in. Great amount of of area and information.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

jimmyz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Jonathan did a fantastic job handling transfers from bus to train with all train travel in first class reserved seating. Everything went without a problem. He produced a great tour by being highly knowledgeable on the history of Ireland!

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

DSPRINGER7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We enjoyed our trip very much! Jonathan was very knowledgeable and the best tour guide!

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

We loved the Blarney Castle Tour and CLifff of Moher Rail Trip but thought the RIng of Kerry was a little boring. We would have liked to had more photo ops on the road and did not like the way they rushed through the town and the tour guide did not tell us when the photo op was in front of us to take. If photo ops are on opposite side of bus we miss them. Tour guide Bob overall was very good and told a lot of interesting stories and histories. We did not like the Bed and Breakfast in Killarney. They put us far away from everyone else in a bed and breakfast that was old, small rooms and bathroom and no tv. We had a 20 minute walk to town each way and we are in our late 60's Think you should take age into consideration when booking places as my husband had two knee replacements. We will say the Breakfast was excellent and the manager was very nice but we saw tons of vacancies with tv's close to town. We also had to carry our luggage up steps which is hard at our age. the owner of the B and B did help us. Just be sure to ask where your accomodations will be before you go as others had much better places to stay than us and we felt we should be discounted for this! We loved the train ride and saw a lot of the countryside. The Cliff of Moher were the highlight of the trip! We also found the food in Ireland to be very good!

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Carolyn D Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

The price was much greater than the full day value. We did enjoy Blarney Castle and felt that we had enough time to visit glad it wasn't busy. Our trip to Cork was brief and bothersome that we were allowed to walk through the market but not stop and shop. Some of our stop points were so fast that it felt like a day of being on the bus rather than experiencing the location. For many of us international tourists, this is the one and only time we'll see these places.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

Gregg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We just loved this tour! It was one of our favorites of the trip. Jonathan was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and pleasant.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

GMR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Norman was a wealth of know and his enthusiasm for trains was evident. I was able to add an addition day to see the Cliffs of Moher. Wish I could have stayed another day to go to the Aran Islands. Rail tours are well designed and fun to use the trains instead of the couch the whole time. Thanks NORMAN!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Natalie S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

So early!! Other than that, it was a great trip. There was only the slightest bit of a sprinkle, and we weren't inconvenienced by it. The scenery is spectacular, of course, and I took many pictures that turned out quite well. The lunch stop had good food, not unreasonably priced. One day out from Dublin, around the Ring, and back to the city is a crazy trip to make, with not much time in any one place, but that's what I knew to expect. We were well taken care of by the personable guides, who are not full-out tour directors. The guide on the bus, of course, was more informative. The trip was no more than, but as much as I expected. Since we'd already spent time in Killarney on two previous trips, we wanted to do the Ring in the limited time we had available, and that is what we did.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Jill

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great once we finally got to the destination!!! Train ride was a little ehhh, but overall loved the he experience. Pete and driver John were great

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

ckuch United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Overall it was a good trip. A large area was covered and we got to see many things. Blarney Castle grounds are amazing and a horticulturists dream. The long line to kiss the Blarney Stone was anticlimactic but part of the process. The B and B accommodations in Killarney were sub par. While the host was pleasant and the breakfast was very good, the place was old and tired. My expectation for a charming Irish cottage was way off! I emailed Rail Tours to resolve for the second night but they were not helpful and said there were no more B and Bs and if I wanted a hotel we'd have to pay an extra 78euro for the two of us. Not a good option for standard lodging.

There were several stops along the way to the major attractions. We had photo opps and lunch breaks however, the tour company didn't include the fees for some of the stops sheep dog demo, peat village. Very nit picky for 5-7 euro per person...make it an all inclusive. The train had some construction delays, which Railtours was aware of. We got off the coach bus to get on a train, sat for nearly 2 hours with various delays while our coach bus continued to our next destination with empty seats and our luggage. Seemed crazy when we had this transportation option. The tour guide said it was some contractual thing with train?!

The tour guides were good, some better than others. We saw a lot and learned a lot. Like any tour, there are places that you would like to spend more time. This tour allowed us to see some major sites on our short trip to Ireland.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Bob V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent trip! Jonathan was a great guide, very funny and knowledgeable. A great introduction to modern Irish history. The scenery was spectacular!
The Belfast portion was terrific we split between Titanic and Black Taxi tour, and both were more than satisfied.

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message