With just about everywhere in Ireland reachable by train from Dublin, the capital makes a great launch pad for exploring the country’s highlights. Whether you’re looking for a high-speed train to whisk you around the sights or a slow-chugging ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1947 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ARIF H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had great time in Ireland and thanks to Viator for great services they provided. We loved our tours as the viator staff and the tour guides were friendly and professional. We felt like we had family member with us and we were very happy and comfortable with all of our tours that we took Trains and buses. Due to this great experience with viator, we will be using them again for our next overseas trip/tour. Thanks Viator for exceptional services and affordable tours.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

ARIF H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had great time in Ireland and thanks to Viator for great services they provided. We loved our tours as the viator staff and the tour guides were friendly and professional. We felt like we had family member with us and we were very happy and comfortable with all of our tours that we took Trains and buses. Due to this great experience with viator, we will be using them again for our next overseas trip/tour. Thanks Viator for exceptional services and affordable tours.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Enrique T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The cliffs were amazing along with everything else.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was great. You got see to a variety of sights along the way to / from the Cliffs to break up the day.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

chimchimcheree50 New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Fantastic tour- very long but absolutely worth it. You will not be disappointed- only enriched by what you see, hear, do and feel:

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. The tours that we booked thru Viator, were conducted by Rail Tours. THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO TAKE A TOUR. We were treated like Royalty. We were accompanied throughout the entire tour, which was wonderful. The bus tour portions were great. The tour representatives were outstanding. Kudos to Andy, Brian, Margaret and Liam. They were wonderful and made the tours even more enjoyable. We had reserved seats on the train portions of the tour, so we were always able to sit together. They provided taxi service where necessary. This was a very wonderful experience and highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I would highly recommend this tour. The tours that we booked thru Viator, were conducted by Rail Tours. THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO TAKE A TOUR. We were treated like Royalty. We were accompanied throughout the entire tour, which was wonderful. , We had reserved seats on the train portions of the tour, so we were always able to sit together. They provided taxi service where necessary. This was a very wonderful experience.

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

Pete

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Beautiful area.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Anna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very well planned and organised. Lovely guides, it's was over all expectations.
And lots of thanks to Irish Railtours.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

Carolyn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our 4 Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara trip was wonderful. Our tour guide for the first several days was Jonathan an he was one of the best we have ever had for guides. His knowledge of history, literature, politics, economics, folklore was excellent and we were delighted that he talked much of the time since he wasn't the driver too. His humor and caring attitude was excellent and we loved his quotations of poetry and music the whole trip. Our scenic views were spectacular and this made our vacation one of the best ever. I highly recommend this tour by Viator and Ireland Railtours. Their coordination and handling of all of us tourists was excellent.... they practically held our hands to guide us where we needed to be. It was a great vacation and I would love to do this trip again someday!

Doing what: 4-Day Ring of Kerry, Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Galway and Connemara Rail Tour

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great tour. Well worth the time. It was interesting to hear the guide's take on the troubles.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

JEFFREY R. E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A full day of travel, beauty, information and history - this tour was fabulous! And our tour guide, Liam, was the BEST!!!

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

Rita B United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing tour, would highly recommend. The tour guide was fantastic, he was very knowledgeable, he had great stories and was very funny.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Laura J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time on this tour. It was very well organized and Andy was a great guide with a lot of info and advice on where to go during free time. We stayed at a nice B and B in a good location. We enjoyed the trip very much.

Doing what: 3-Day Cork, Blarney Castle, Ring of Kerry and Cliffs of Moher Rail Trip

mhamilton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

From boarding the train at 7:00am to arriving back in Dublin around 10:30pm, everything was fantastic! My group was headed up by Andy and he was delightful. It was a lot to pack into one day, but definitely worth it. My company's in-house travel agent recommended Viator so I knew I was in safe hands. The Cliffs of Moher were the top highlight of the trip, but coming in second was standing on the beach in Doulin looking off to the cliffs as well as the Aran Islands. I would definitely book another tour in any city using Viator!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

dianfauzana Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

one way to ride the train. however, we could not see any scenery - we ride way early in the morning and trip back it was already dark. our guide Andy was informative and he sings. the cliffs was good - stunning.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Terrence P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent day trip with a very knowledgable Guide who doubles as a historian! Could not have been better informed and was a real history lesson all day long.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Tina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

FYI- after doing 7 tour in 8 days i would do more coach tours then rail tours. You get more time at the main attractions this way....during the rail tours you see more but are rushed along and feel unsatisfied. However this tour in particular is a toss up rail or coach so...... This was by far my favorite sightseeing tour on our trip. The cliff are beautiful and the weather cooperated. Galway was ok not what we expected ....basically we went in a bar there ate dinner and got ready to catch the rail back to Dublin. Guides were funny and broke out Irish whisky on the trip home...would have loved to party with them but we had another 15 hour tour the next day. Still the tour gets 5 stars for the cliffs alone!!!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Xan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! Saw lots of Ireland in one day. Andy, our guide, was so fun and informative. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

mlangor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was wonderful from start to finish. Our tour guide Liam was a wonderful and funny man with LOTS of energy and spunk. We were a small group of five and he made sure we were having a great time. Everything was well timed and organized. Kilkenny castle was breathtaking and the little street train around Kilkenny was lots of fun. The tour of Waterford Crystal was very informative and interesting. The pieces they make are absolutely stunning. Its definitely worth the extra money to do a rail tour. It was very peaceful and beautiful. My 8 year old son who is obsessed with trains was overjoyed with the experience. If you take this tour, I hope you get Liam as your guide. He is incredible.

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

YounHee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Brian was great. Many thanks to him.

Doing what: Cork and Blarney Castle Rail Trip from Dublin

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guides were exactly where the meeting instructions said they would be in the train station and at the proper time. So the meeting up went smoothly. We were assigned Calum I hope I'm spelling that correctly! as our guide.

The train ride to Limerick went by quickly as we enjoyed breakfast on-board. Once in Limerick, we were picked up by our driver John in the Yellow bus! and Calum gave a commentary of Limerick as we made our way through the city and onward to Bunratty Castle.

Bunratty Castle and Folk Park were a wonderful place to visit! We were greeted by a tour guide and whisked away while he informed us of the castle's history. After the informative tour and enjoyable quirkiness of our guide we explored the castle on our own and then ventured back out and explored Folk Park. It is such a quaint place, maintained beautifully. We only wished we had been given more time as Folk Park is so large, we were only able to see about half of it before we had to start heading back to our bus.

We then drove through the countryside to our lunch stop in Doolin at Gus O'Connors Pub. My husband and I both had the chowder and ham sandwich that were quite yummy! With his pint of Guinness and my Coke, our total was 27Euro.. not too bad, but the prices could be a little better given what we had ordered. Although the pub was pleasant and friendly, I do feel as though this was a forced venue and as such they are able to charge higher prices. We were only given one hour before meeting at the bus again, so that does not give you much option for finding another place to eat. I do not remember seeing any other eateries on the little road, so perhaps you are stuck/forced to dine at the pub. There were lots of little shops not just your run of the mill tourist souvenir shops along the road. We were able to stick our heads in three or four of them before we had to meet at the bus.

Next stop was the Cliffs of Moher. This was the highlight and, quite honestly, the only reason my husband and I chose this tour. The cliffs are more impressive and more breath-taking than we could have imagined. No pictures do it justice. Truly. You must experience them for yourself. Depending on how much free time you are given at the site, I highly recommend saving yourself time -- upon arrival, climb the stairs/paths, staying on the right. Once you reach the top and can see the cliffs, walk up to your right. There is a tower - pay the 2Euro per person cash only to climb to the top it is worth the money, trust me!. The right path gives you the best views of the cliffs. I am not saying walking on the left on top of the cliffs is not good to do, however on this tour you are only given so much time and to make the best of it, I recommend staying to the right in order to get the best views of the cliffs.

After meeting the bus, we drove to Galway by way of the Burren. We had one stop that allowed us to walk out on the rocks for pictures. My husband and I ventured out to the edge and were rewarded with fantastic views of the Atlantic crashing along the rocky shore. Highly recommend wearing hiking boots on this tour so you have good traction on the rocks and can walk out to see the waves. Not many on our tour had good shoes on and we were asked to show the pictures we took back on the bus as we were the only ones who walked all the way out.

In Galway, we bid farewell to John and the Yellow bus and were given about one and a half hours of free time before needing to meet Calum at the train station. We decided to have a quick pint at a pub and then grab sandwiches that we stuffed in our backpack for dinner to eat on the train and spent our time exploring in the vicinity of the train station. There are lots of shops, though some are on side streets I found my Aran wool sweater in a local shop nearby!.

At our appointed time, we met our group at the train station and boarded for our return trip to Dublin. Some of the other tour members began singing and soon Calum pulled his recorder out and our train car quickly turned into an Irish concert on wheels! It was fantastic.

All in all, we had a superb day with Calum and John and the Yellow bus :. It was certainly worth the money and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a tour to the cliffs!

Given the size of the grounds, consideration should be given to allow for more time at the stop for Bunratty Castle and Folk Park.
Stopping somewhere with more dining options for lunch would be welcome since Gus O'Connors Pub is the only option.. it would be nice to get to choose and not be stuck in going where the tour operator most likely has an agreement/contract and may or may not receive a kickback for taking everyone there. It would also be nice to be able to choose to grab something to go giving you the ability to walk around and explore the street and shops without having to race through a sit-down meal in order to have any hopes of having time to visit any of the shops.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Sara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Expect an early morning and late night with a late lunch! We took the train up to Belfast and joined up with another tour group there. After a windy drive through the Northern Irish countryside, you arrive at the rope bridge. Our tickets for crossing were included, the tour we met up with had to pay for the crossing only 5 euros. From there we went to Bushmills Distillery for lunch, got there around 2:30 pm, had a bonus stop at gorgeous castle ruins, then went onto the Giant's Causeway. There was an option to purchase a walking tour there 5 euros but we didn't purchase that and had a great time just wandering around and climbing on the rocks! We had enough time for a drink at the nearby pub before having to meet the bus to take us back to Belfast to meet our train. Definitely bring snacks, and expect to eat takeout for dinner when you get back to Dublin!

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Patrick R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing scenery

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message