With just about everywhere in Ireland reachable by train from Dublin, the capital makes a great launch pad for exploring the country’s highlights. Whether you’re looking for a high-speed train to whisk you around the sights or a slow-chugging ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1867 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved this tour. Paddy was a delight. The only thing I would have changed was more time at Glendalough the lake itself. So beautiful!

Doing what: Wicklow Mountains, Avoca and Glendalough Rail Tour from Dublin

GMR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Norman was a wealth of know and his enthusiasm for trains was evident. I was able to add an addition day to see the Cliffs of Moher. Wish I could have stayed another day to go to the Aran Islands. Rail tours are well designed and fun to use the trains instead of the couch the whole time. Thanks NORMAN!!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Cork, Blarney Castle and Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Walter F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

long way to the bottom--glad there was a jitney. the trip down was worth it beautiful breath taking and awesome all in one stop/ Makes you stop and think about the world we live in and how complex it is and how simple it is at the same time.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

Helen T C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

your guides were engaging and helpful Everything was on time and the Aran Islands were a great experience.

Doing what: Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin

lwhalen1130

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was fabulous. Brandon, our host, was wonderful and very informative. lunch in the pub was great, the Cliffs were BEAUTIFUL!! Well worth it and I would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

CGribben USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a wonderful tour and our tour guide Paddy became a great friend. He was so likable and so much fun. Should you decide to take this tour, which I think you should, I would hope that you would have Paddy as your guide.

Doing what: Northern Ireland including Giant's Causeway Rail Tour from Dublin

gysl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guide had a lot of information and was helpful and pleasant. The guide also gave us a handout with information about what we were seeing. This handout set them above their competitors so we could understand easily.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

SAMTA D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our trip was amazing. It was extremely organised and comfortable throughout. Our guide, Jonathan, was the best part about the trip. He was knowledgeable and funny. He kept as entertained and engaged. We loved him. All in all we had a great time. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Jonathan E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Took this tour with my wife and had a great time. It is a long day so get a good night sleep the night before. Out tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. The cliffs were great, the castle was amazing and it was great to get out of Dublin and see more of Ireland.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Jenna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I cannot say enough how great this tour was! Best way to see multiple towns in Ireland. Transportation was very nice and it was great to not have to worry about getting to and from places. The tour guides were friendly and entertaining.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Martin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Outstanding tour! Driver and guide were fantastic. Everything happened on time and was well coordinated with great information. Thank you!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Gregg P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We just loved this tour! It was one of our favorites of the trip. Jonathan was amazing. He was so knowledgeable and pleasant.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Everything about this trip was amazing my only complaint is that I wish we had more time at each location, especially at Galway. Guide was knowledgeable and transportation was easy to use. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A very enjoyable trip. The rail trip from Dublin and return was much more enjoyable than a bus ride. It was a full day but had plenty of time at all the stops to explore the area. Our guide was very good and provided many stories and anecdotes during the trip.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Kathleen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic trip and guide! John was very knowledgeable and a superb guide. Pointed out all the little things that mattered most. The train and bus system in Ireland is fantastic. Everything is like new and very clean.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Brian was an ideal tour guide.

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

Cheryl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a good trip. The Waterford tour was very interesting. The train trip through the country side was beautiful and made for a relaxing day. We were even audience to a couple of locals who knew we were all tourist and they broke into song It's a long way to Tipperary. It was a fun day....a bit of walking though...so wear comfy shoes......

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

Megan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the highlight of our Ireland visit. Our guide from Dublin to Killarney, Paddy, was wonderful and stayed with us once we got on the coach to drive around the Ring of Kerry. There were surprise stops and great personalities along the way. The coach was comfortable and they made sure to stop when we hit a gorgeous vista to take pictures. It was a long day but completely worth it. Definitely do this trip.

Doing what: Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful, worth the visit, nice set of stops, only wish it were a little longer...

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Wendy C A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great day out of Dublin! We squished alot into one day because we had limited time but well worth the early rise and late night! Beaches, burrens, cliffs, castles, flowers, fairies....our tour guide Jonathon kept us intrigued and smiling the whole way. Great look at so many Irish landscapes and insight into history and folklore. Well done!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Vinita D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband,12 year old daughter and I did this tour. We were visiting Ireland for 4 days and felt that this would maximize our time in this beautiful country.
I highly recommend this tour. It is very well organized and all the tour people are very caring.
We started at Dublin's Heuston rail station and were met by Jim who had our tickets and vouchers. He traveled with us on the train to Galway and pointed out different towns, midlands, the Shannon river etc. At Galway station we were met by Anthony who kept our luggage in the hold room and then walked us into town. We spent 4 hours in Galway walking around, having lunch and high tea and took a tour of the town. We went back to the station to pick up our luggage and to meet the coach.
The coach took us to Bunratty village for our overnight stay at at The Bunratty Castle hotel. We had time to freshen up and walked over to the castle for a Medieval Banquet. It was a lovely dinner with a mead reception, food eaten without utensils and live music entertainment.
Next day we joined the tour from Dublin and Limerick and headed to Bunratty castle, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway bay and finally ended at Galway rail station.
The trip was excellent but I felt a bit rushed and would have liked more time at the cliffs and at the castle.
We returned to Dublin by train. Our guide accompanied us and the other travels from the tour. He ensured that we all got seats and space for our luggage. He also surprised us with some refreshments on the train.
On the whole we had a great time and met a lot of wonderful people.

Doing what: 2-Day Western Ireland Tour from Dublin by Train: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Brendan Enright, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable, funny and courteous. He made the trip very enjoyable! The tour was a great way to travel, with enough time to enjoy the sights, walk around and take pictures. Although it was a full day, the trip was planned out well and it went very smoothly. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

lebner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Liam was awesome. We had basically a private tour, it was just my mother, myself and the tour guide. Liam was extremely knowledgeable and personable. We loved the Kilkenny castle and the tour of the Waterford Crystal factory.

Doing what: Waterford Crystal and Kilkenny Rail Trip from Dublin

lebner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. The rail tour of the countryside was beautiful, but the cliffs were spectacular and the guides took the time for scenic stops along the way from the cliffs to Galway for us to take pictures. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Linda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The trip for our group of six exceeded my expectations. This was one of the places I wanted to visit on a first trip to Ireland. Everything was First Class from start to finish. Excellent coordination at the beginning of the trip as we gathered at Dublin. Superb guide who had a good time with us! Terrific driver. Perfect lunch stop location. I give it 5 stars plus!

Doing what: Limerick, Cliffs of Moher, Burren and Galway Bay Rail Tour from Dublin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message