Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 803 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We did the combination tour and it was great. I loved how they split up the two tours with one in the morning and one in the late afternoon. It gave us a chance to rest from the heat in between as well as avoid the streets/walls during the busiest times when all of the cruise ships are docked. We had Marco for the Old Town tour. He was so charismatic and made the tour very entertaining. He was also very cognizant of the heat and made sure to keep us in the shade as much as possible. Later in the day we did the City Walls with Jelena who was also great. She was so knowledgeable and the tour itself was just amazing. The views from the wall are unbelievable. Just keep in mind there are a LOT of steps, a lot of up and down, and no shade. Definitely bring water, sunscreen and a hat. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

aitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A must for all visitors to Dubrovnik. This tour started with a walk from the Old Town to the cable car which takes you to the top of Mt Srd with panoramic views over the Old Town and surrounding areas, photo opportunities not to be missed.
Our guide took us on a very informative tour of the Old Town walls perched high above the streets and rooftops below. Stunning views of the town and vertical clifftop defences.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Eramatala

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend this tour and highly recommend the tour guide, she was extremely knowledgeable and answered every question including of kids who had hundreds questions beginning with why!!!. She used her time very wisely and we saw and learned everything that needed to know during the time she spent with us. It was August and the lines to the Teleferic were long yet she made us get into the gondola in a record time. During the wall walk, she enriched us with lots of history and we were all very happy that we took the tour.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Rabia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent! Well organised and very enjoyable for fans of the show. Our tour guide Zoran immersed us in the GOT world, while guiding us across more than half of the ancient city walls. Great for people who have not seen the show as well. Keep a hat/cap as in August it was very sunny and warm. Hydrate and be ready to climb steps. Loved this tour! Very scenic.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

kellymclaughlin28

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I had a great time on tour with Ivana. Although the tour is quite highly priced, you do get a lot for your money. The guides know a lot of interesting information about Game of Thrones and are very passionate about it, which you could easily see throughout the tour. I was in a group of around 10-15 people and we were taken lots of the places scenes were filmed as well as shown photos of comparisons which really made you be able to imagine the characters being there. There were also some great views and photo opportunities of Dubrovnik which added even more to the experience. The tour doesn't really cover much history of Dubrovnik itself so if you are looking for an overview of the city this tour might not be right for you. If you are a GOT fan however and wanting to learn more about where it was filmed than this tour is definitely for you!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

dora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A great tour to get a grasp of the old city, although it can be tiring towards the end

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

lynnmorgan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is a great introduction to Dubrovnik and its history. Good way to start your visit.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

monnibonni2000 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is not for anyone with back or pain problems. Unfortunately that day I was having some pain issues but the tour guide was very nice and let us go at our own pace while keeping the tour going for the mobile visitors. We loved the cable car ride and touring old town. The guide was very informative. We would have liked to had more time on our own at old town. I was unable to do the City walls walking tour but the guide gave us our tickets and we took a rest and my husband was able to go back and fullfill his dream of walking the wall which looked awesome and wish I would have had another day here to try it the next day. Dubrovnik is awesome and we would love to go back. Beautiful country!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Leonard M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Brilliant in every respect! We would have missed so much about the history, ancient and modern of Dubrovnik had we not taken the tour. It made it so much better and more interesting when we strolled around the city on our own the next day spending time at places recommended which we may have missed without the guide's suggestions. Both guides spoke excellent English and were clearly passionate about their country. A great experience, don't miss it!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Viki S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It didn't matter whether you were a GoT fan or not, this tour was fascinating. Our tour guide, Lana, was excellent and gave us a very good overview of the general history of Dubrovnik as well as the GoT references, background to the choice of sights and background stories to the cities reactions to the filming. Thoroughly enjoyed this. Would highly recommend the additional Arboretum tour linked to this.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Leeann M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is more than a Game of Thrones tour. It's a tour with great photo opportunities, fantastic vistas and excellent information about the history of the town. Our guide Zoran was excellent. Very clear in communication, passionate about his city and very informative about GoT. Throughout the tour he held up images of the various scenes filmed around the town from season 2 onwards, so his stories, images from the show and the actual setting for filming combined bring GoT to life. From the outside shots of Little Finger's brothel, to the scenes in the Red Keep, and from the filming locations for the walk of shame to the tower of the undying....you see it all in 3 hours. You also get tickets to walk the walls of Dubrovnik and some tips for the restaurants to try - as recommended by locals. Yes, this was an excellent tour. Afterwards go buy a souvenir and have your photo take in the iron throne on Boshkoviceva laneway No. 7 - it's off the main street Stradun of the old town near the clock tower end of town.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Charmian G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an amazing tour, definitely highly recommend our tour guide! He has an amazing wealth of knowledge about the ancient and modern history of Dubrovnik and did a great job of trying in his personal experiences to better illustrate everyday life for folks living in the area as well. I've taken quite a few walking tours in various cities and this was by far one of the best!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Graham E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Local guide was excellent, so knowledgeable and well spoken. Trip was good value to include cable car, city wall walk, old city walk and entrance to the fort. Learned so much about Dubrivnik from Zoran. Thoroughly recommend it.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Resa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was excellent made special by the wonderful tour guide

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Robyn P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide Marco was so passionate about
Dubrovnik and Croatia he made the walk and walls tour so exciting. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Tara Y

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This trip was so great. Our tour guide was amazing and super helpful. We had a wonderful time! We thought about doing the trip on our own but we were so glad we got to experience it with the group and get the insider info. Thank you so much for an amazing time!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

lfl

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The walking tour was great in giving us a historical overview of Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls - highly recommended. Our guide, Marco, was well-versed in history and demonstrative in regaling us with stories about Dubrovnik. The small group size also helped keep everyone together, though it can be a little difficult hearing Marco if you are standing behind, especially with the winds atop the Ancient City Walls. The duration of the walking tour was just right but we could do with some helpful, non-touristy to-do/to-eat recommendations within the Ancient City Walls.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

ajb1605

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The only complaint I have is that the tour was so GOT orientated - I was expecting a tour of Dubrovnik with GOT thrown in. As much of the places visited were from several series ago this wasn't so enjoyable but still would recommend if you are a GOT fan.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Esteban C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Though it was too warm weather, Kresmir gave a lot of explanations on the history of the walls and the city. He was very nice, fun and helpful.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Esteban C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Though it was too warm weather, Kresmir gave a lot of explanations on the history of the walls and the city. He was very nice, fun and helpful.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Laura Kim K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

I booked this tour because I am a big GoT fan, and I was not disappointed. We did the long tour including Trsteno Arboretum, which all in all took about 5 hours. Our guide Natasha was very nice and knowledgeable both about the series and about the city itself. The tour is a mixture of regular city tour which is also very interesting and visiting locations where they filmed for the series, including Fort Lovrijenac and the city walls. The guide has a lot of photos of the scenes from the series, and it is cool to compare them to the real scenery. I enjoyed the tour very much, but I have to deduct one star from the rating because of the following reasons:
We climbed the city walls, where there is almost no shade, in the middle of the day when the sun was very hot. It would have been nicer to do this first thing in the morning, when it's not that hot and also fewer people on the walls.
I can understand that the GoT specifics make up most of the tour, since it is literally named GoT tour, but in my opinion some more information about the city in general would have been great.
The Trsteno Arboretum was very nice, but since it's almost a half an hour to drive there, we would have liked to stay a little longer. The stay there seemed quite short, and we would have liked to explore the gardens some more.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Rebekah R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Good tour to see some Game of Thrones filming locations. The tour guide was nice but she talked way more about Croatian history than Game of Thrones, not something we were expecting. Overall though a good route and we were shown pictures of the show where we were. Just don't need the massive history lesson!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Nathan C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

So much of GofT is computer generated so many of the sites are partial views in the real world. I would of liked more history on the castle instead. I guess if your a die hard that needs to know everything this might be ok for you. I'm an avid hiker and waiting around for slower group members took up much of our short day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, informative tour to see the city from the top of the cable car, from the top of the old city walls and strolling around the streets. I would thoroughly recommend doing this, lots of interesting information about the city, its history and culture together with simply amazing views. Fab!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

John O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely amazing experience, would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message