Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 777 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, informative tour to see the city from the top of the cable car, from the top of the old city walls and strolling around the streets. I would thoroughly recommend doing this, lots of interesting information about the city, its history and culture together with simply amazing views. Fab!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

John O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely amazing experience, would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Maria.baqueriza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide Sandra, magnificient city walls

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

dayn3328

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide and beautiful scenery. If you like GOT then you'll definitely want to go on this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

haysey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour. Guide was excellent and shared excellent information about the city. Cable car and city walls walk were highlights in a great day.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Sarah G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour our guide Lana was extremely knowledgeable and showed us a whole host of locations used in Game of Thrones - from memorable moments to smaller scenes, it really did bring King's Landing to life. The tour is a great way to get around to see the city too. We really enjoyed hearing about the history of Dubrovnik as well as the GoT connections. Highly recommended! My husband and I also did the Trsteno Arboretum tour in the afternoon as well. It was just us and Lana but we had an amazing time - the location was just half an hour from Dubrovnik and we seeing the famous locations here too was great. It was also just a beautiful spot to spend and afternoon. The instructions of where to meet the guides were easy to follow and we felt the tour was great value for money for all we did. Thomson, our tour operator, offered a walking GoT tour also through a third party but it was considerably more expensive than booking in advance. A must-see for any Game of Thrones fans visiting Dubrovnik!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Inka R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I took the tour together with my husband. We especially loved the fact that our guide also gave us historical details and other facts about the sights besides those related to the GoT series. The tour was everything we expected. The day was hot as hell, though, so maybe a slightly slower pace would have made the tour easier for those of us who are not used to the heat since it includes a lot of walking and stairs.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Anastasia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Andrea was incredible, such a wealth of knowledge and the tour was one of the best experiences I had whilst in Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was fabulous! So energetic despite the crushing heat. We were definitely slowing down 1/2 way through but our guides enthusiasm and knowledge kept us going!! Highly recommended

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Valued Cardhold R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic place Fantastic site Fantastic day.... All round we loved it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide was wonderful, very knowledgable and patient with the group as we stopped for amazing photo ops.
This tour offers a part of the Old City every visitor should experience. I enjoyed the late afternoon time since the sky was particularly beautiful.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great Tour!! The entire family enjoyed both the GOT facts and the amazing history of Dubrovnik.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Bradley G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour provided breathtaking views of the city and surrounding area. The 5:30 tour was great as we were able to get views of the city as the sun set.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Chelsea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The cable car was fun and the view was spectacular! The walk around the city was great as well - the guide was one of the best I've had on any trip! EXCELLENT TOUR!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Duncan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Both tours were excellent. Our guides - Marko around the walls, and Sandra around the old city streets, gave us a superb insight into the history of the city and key events that had affected the city over the centuries. This included the more recent troubles in 1991 when the city was under siege. Our two outstanding guides provided stories and facts about the historical significance of the city with good humour and interest. The whole experience was excellent.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Nandy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour operator, very experienced, love the tour and the country will visit again

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Alison H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved, loved, loved this tour. Our guide was fantastic and full of modern and historic information about the town as well as so much detail on the locations for Game of Thrones. It gave us a different perspective on the city and I always love that when visiting a place because you end up seeing parts of it that you wouldn't have normally.

So much has been filmed here and they explain what's real and what's CGI mostly real and how the crews worked around the tourists. It's really interesting and worth doing. This particular tour seemed to us to be more detailed and interesting than the other Game of Thrones tours we saw going around the place.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Melissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour and our guide was absolutely AMAZING and surpassed all my expectations. We did the 3 hour walking tour option without the added visit to Trsteno Arboretum, which was more than enough! Our tour guide I wish I could remember his name to give credit where much credit is due was SO knowledgeable about anything and everything related to Game of Thrones as well as the history behind every filming location and landmark that we visited during the tour in Old Town. He was essentially a walking encyclopedia of information and was more than prepared to answer any questions that the group had. He was also very well spoken and eloquent. In a nutshell, I HIGHLY recommend this tour. It was the perfect mix of Game of Thrones trivia and historical information and the highlight of our trip! It was also the perfect way to see all the highlights that Old Town has to offer in just one day, including walking the city walls!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Adam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very good indeed. Both tours were highly informative, and pointed out some good details - historical as well as contemporary. Glad I opted for the evening wall walk due to the heat. Was the highlight of the trip to walk completely around the entire old city. Highly recommend you do the walk as a guided-tour due to some crowds, our guide took us to a quieter entrance, as you otherwise miss out on things to look out for.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was awesome! Our guide was clearly very knowledgeable about the show, as well as Dubrovnik and #39;s history. She added some humour to the tour, which was great, especially in the heat. Great balance of GOT knowledge/Dubrovnik history. Make sure to wear decent footwear as some steps are slippery!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Trevor P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very very good from start to finish. Guide had very good knowledge of Dubrovnik and fan of game of thrones with lots information of how the show achieved its images along with film shots of what you were looking at.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Ann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very informative and learnt a lot. Really enjoyed this walking tour.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Kevin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour combining GOT and a general tour of the city. The cost is reasonable as it covers the entry fees to the main parts of the old city you would otherwise pay for i.e the city walls and the fortress. It was crowded walking around the city and on the walls, but that is unavoidable especially in peak season. The old city is gorgeous and the views from the city walls are well worth the trip. Our guide was very excited about GOT, she provided the group with main GOT facts as well as facts about the actual history of Dubrovnik. My wife and I very much enjoyed seeing the show locations and the print out scenes the guide carried were really helpful in imagining the scenes.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Christopher M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour. The guide was knowledgable and provided plenty of information on both Game of Thrones and some general history of Dubrovnik and the surrounding areas. Well worth doing if you are a GOT fan and would like to see some of the other sites Dubrovnik has to offer.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message