Dubrovnik ATTRACTIONS See all

Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls

Dubrovnik’s Old Town is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls that date back to the 10th century. Up to 6m (19ft) thick and 2.5m (8ft) high in places, Dubrovnik's Ancient City Walls were built to protect the city and deter would-be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 869 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

CHARISSE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide ZARINKA was fantastic - I apologize this review is about a year late! I weep with Geek happiness. King's Landing is all over this place. Also, even if you've never watched the show - I think anyone would be impressed with Croatia's beautiful sites via this walking tour. When my friend lost her phone, she made sure we had a way to catch up with the group. I felt like we had plenty of time to absorb and admire what we were seeing and at the end of the day still felt like we visited so many places! You even get to walk the wall again something any tourist can appreciate. The cheap, but delicious food suggestion for lunch was greatly appreciated. Trsteno Arboretum shouldn't be missed pay the extra for this option - it's gorgeous. We went in the summer - so bring water. Highly recommended - thank you so much Zarinka! Seven blessings!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

adnil48

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Even if you are not a game of thrones fan, you will enjoy the spectacular views

Doing what: Dubrovnik Shore Excursion: Viator Exclusive 'Game of Thrones' Tour

dennisgoss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Worth every penny! Our guide was patient and personable! This tour is a brilliant way to see Old Town and if you watch/love Game of Thrones, you'll love this tour! The optional Tower Wall section is quite a bit of climbing and if you have any issues with high places, beware! In the event of rain, a poncho is preferable to an umbrella in order to have both of your hands free for railings and safety. Plenty of excellent photo ops!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Patricia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Very informative!! Recommended for great overview of the city and history.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Lynne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A fabulous tour and guide. If your a massive game of throanes tour then this tour is for you.
It is an amazing olace and the people are just lovely.
I will definitely be returning
Mrs Lynne mason

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Wheatwood

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Lana was a fabulous tour guide. In my opinion, this tour was the perfect mix of GOT information and Dubrovnik history. She was energetic and very positive, answering our many many questions.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Losttraveler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

To all GOT fans, this is a must.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was great and this tour allowed us some time for getting the photos we wanted.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Danielle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour. Very informative and interesting way of learning about the history of Dubrovnik wether or not a GOT fan. Definitely worth booking.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Daniel E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a wonderful tour of Dubrovnik. Our guide was so knowledgeable, and made our tour interesting and fun! Would definetly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Caza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An excellent tour We would highly recommend this one. The city walls tour was very strenuous for me as I have bad knees but I am so glad that I did it. The guide was excellent and very knowledgable.
Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Julie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A very fun and nice tour!
The device and earplugs give some disturbance while walking what was sometimes very painful for the ears and really not understandable when he was talking meanwhile. But we told him this and he took it in account. After 15 minutes I took out the earplugs because is was too much for me as for halve of the group and just tried to listen to him without it, what worked perfectly fine.
During the tour we saw a lot of nice stuff and the fact the guide also had pictures and even the GOT scenes on a tablet was awesome because then you could really recognize the places again. Meanwhile he also gave some history about Dubrovnik itself without the intervention of GOT what was also very nice to know.
Highly recommend a tour with Viator.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Haryadi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was pleasant and good. As that time was badly raining, so we decided to stop this tour and back to our hotel.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Theresa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour. Not only did it provide heaps of GOT moments but also provided a lot of history and local information. I'm glad I did it on my first day in Dubrovnik as I picked up heaps of ideas for things to do during my stay.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

ALAN A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great guide, Nick. Always giving details with video and/or pictures to familiarize us with the scene that took place at a certain spot.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

MR D R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fantastic tour, ended up lasting 3 hours because the guide was obviously very interested in the subject and in the fall of Yugoslavia.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Barbara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Was great and the tour guide was really good.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Guru P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour provides a very good overview of the Old Town and City Walls. The cable car ride up the mountain gives a panoramic view of the the city as well as the Old Town. Worth taking the trip as a lot is covered in 4/12 hours

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

zenajim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Guide was very good had good information about the city walls and the surrounding area

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

great way to experience Dubrovnik for the first time with a highly knowledgeable guide - cable car and City walls walk were highlights

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Oliver C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Really engaging tour, great guide. Very enjoyable!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This walking tour with Marko as our guide was the absolute highlight of our visit to Dubrovnik and of our 7-day Adriatic trip as a whole. His English was excellent and he was very knowledgeable about the history of the city. We were particularly interested in more recent history 1990s and he spoke with passion about the war during the early part of that decade. The city is an amazing place due to the fortifications combined with interesting architecture within the old town i.e. the city walls. We had a very good reasonably priced meal at a restaurant in the old town where the waiters were very friendly.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Karen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We missed our scheduled tour time, but were accommodated with another time.

The tour gives you great insight on Dubrovnik and #39;s rich history. It only takes up a few hours, so you will still have plenty of time to explore the city.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Combo: Old Town and Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Rachel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant opportunity to hear all about Dubrovnik's history from Roman times to the present day. Very knowledgeable guide made the walls an even more fascinating experience.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Ancient City Walls Historical Walking Tour

Claire C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful tour. Cable car ride gave us a great view from the top. We walked the wall and again the views were fantastic. Our guide was very knowledgeable and spoke great English. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Super Saver: Mt Srd Cable Car Ride plus Old Town and City Walls Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message