The southernmost of Croatia’s principal islands, Mljet is best known for its eponymous National Park, which occupies its western cape, and is connected by ferry to mainland Dubrovnik and the nearby Peljesac Peninsula. Dominated by the saltwater ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

aitch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

En route to Mljet by sea there are stunning views of the coastline and islands that you would not normally see only minor disappointment was that there was no commentary on the boat identifying the islands and coastline. The large island of Mljet has a monastery floating in the lake which after a short boat ride you visit, views from the top of the monastery are stunning. A further short boat ride takes you to another inland lake which you explore at your leisure, walking, cycling, swimming, or just relaxing enjoying the surrounding scenery and wildlife. Would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Lynne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

LOVED this tour. There were only 2 other people besides my daughter and I and I would encourage everyone to do this. Last reviews were from 2014 but this was more than worth every cent - go to Mljet ASAP

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

George H B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

There were only 6 of us with a local guide, Olga on this trip. It was a genuine small group tour. Olga was interesting and entertaining and gave us plenty of free time as well as good explanations of the islands and many other facts about Croatia and its recent past. Mljet itself is a beautiful island and the tour on the lake with lunch on the water's edge by the old monastery was a highlight, marred only by the ubiquitous wasp plague. There is an opportunity to bathe in the lake (take reef shoes or similar for the stony ground!) and then to take a 20 minute flat walk back along the lake edge. For the historians there is an old Roman villa and Byzantine Church at the harbor edge which can also be explored before getting back on the ferry. All-in-all an excellent day out.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Patricia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This island is really pristine and beautiful. It is well worth the time! Our guide was knowlegeable about the history of the area as well as all of Croatia and his insights added tremendously to the experience. We had a small group of only 3 people on the tour so we got a lot of personal attention.After visiting with the guide I would go back to Mljet and spend a day or two.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Willem Hoffmann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

The Island of Mljet (Croatia) is a truly wonderful place to visit. It offers beautiful vistas of lush green natural vegetation, absolutely beautiful lakes, the quaint Church of Marija on a dimunitive little island (easy to stroll around the whole island in less than 30 minutes), and a stunning bike route (easy to rent a high quality mountain bike). For Christians, this island has an added attraction as being one of the stop-over places for Paul during his missionary endeavours. I can highly recommend this one-day trip to anyone visiting Dubrovnik or the Dalmatia area in Croatia.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Lina L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

We found the trip was very expensive, but Mljet island really is special, so it was worth visiting. Free time given to swim in the lake or to rent a bike or a kayak was great. Lunch was nice too:)

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Jill R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I was hoping for more information/history of Mljet. It was really just a ferry ride and entry into national park. I would've also liked more information about activities to do on Mljet in the free time allotted.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Piotr G

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Mljet was beautiful but the tour was average. We were left to wonder around St Mary and #39;s Island by ourselves with little explanation of history when compared to other tour groups. If you do not like seafood, make sure that you eat at the restaurant on Saint Mary and #39;s Island. This was not pointed out.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

SJ B

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Generally a very pleasant day out but very overpriced. Mljet is beautiful. Would suggest bringing a picnic so you can spend more time at the lake. Restaurant is 15-20mins walk away from the lake.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Francisco J A

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

It was what we were searching for have a excursion to Mljet without complications

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Alexandre T

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The place is amazing, the scenery is stunning and we do recommend strongly a visit to Mljet National Park.

However, we cannot rate the tour provided by Viator as high as the place itself. First of all, the lunch was a disappointment. The fish was dry and hard. Considering how good the food is in general in Dalmatia this is definitely a low level restaurant that should not be used by the local travel agency. Secondly, the tour itself does not offer any real advantage over doing it on your own. We took the same public catamaran that everyone else can use, we entered the national park with perfectly normal tickets bought at the national park entry and took the normal boats in the lakes that, again, everyone can use. The guide itself was friendly and have good command of the english language but the insights she provided were not essential.

In summary, it's an exceptional place that must be visited, but the tour itself is not worth the price.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Kezza

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2016

Because of the weather we only went to the Mljet Island but didn't get to go into the National Park, which was the reason for our trip. Our guide was not very informative so all up it was a very disappointing day.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Lisa B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

Mljet is definitely worth a visit. However, this trip is very overpriced. Whilst I expect to pay a little more for the convenience of a pick up and guide, the additional amount charged for this versus doing it yourself (which didn't look that difficult) was exorbitant, especially given that the lunch was largely inedible. The notes should also have been clearer about the possible activities and what to take eg swimwear.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Ho Fai Hoover S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

A silver Mercedes picked only us up from the hotel, already it was a good start. Took only 10min time from the hotel to the pier. By the time we reached the pier, we saw an elderly couple and Olga (our tour guide) and who greeted us upon arrival. She was super-friendly and we conversed for the majority of the ferry ride, which was 1.5hr. By the time we reached Mljet, the only historical place she told us about were the two small churches and several other minor detail information that weren't clear. Our lunch which was the fish dish was terrible ...but we didn't want to be rude about the taste when she asked how it was. However, lunch didn't come with a drink ...not even water...we ordered a bottle of water + soda while the older couple ordered a coffee + beer. I paid for the soda and we left to go on another ferry...all of a sudden the waiter rushed out and said we needed to pay for the water as well. Huh?? Only WE had to pay for the drinks and not the elderly couple?? THIS we didn't understand. All in all, we expected a decent lunch that included water at the very least for the money we paid for the tour. After this incident, the tour guide smoked her cigarette and just conversed with the elderly couple (who were Italian and we Chinese). Thank goodness I researched a lot about Mljet before joining the tour, because she did not do a good job presenting this place to us. If I could give her a grade from 0-10, she deserves a 2.4 (for introducing herself in the beginning of the ferry ride). Olga just talked with the Italian couple (since that's the language she feels most comfortable with speaking). We felt left out. And we still feel ripped off. Over $100 USD to go on a tour like this, we might as well go on our own for less than half this price!

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Maria Carmen L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

I am writing to you to express my dissatisfaction with the trip booked with your company to Mljet National Park in Croatia.

I must tell you that we receive an email communicating the pickup time, 7:45 am, we responded to this email confirming our assistance. At 7:30 we were punctual at the point of collection, but at 8:15 there was no one appeared, friendly gentleman call the contact phone number of our bond, and what was our surprise to learn that the time pickup was at 8:40 !!! So we had to wait an hour until they came to pick us up.
I think this proves the only thing on your part is a very bad organization.

Also I have to say the quality of the trip was very poor. Not too much information.

Honestly we are not too satisfied with the services received.

We sent an email and we are still waiting for an explanation.

Doing what: Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message