Onofrio's Fountain Tours

6 Reviews
Just through the main Pile Gate into Dubrovnik’s Old Town, Onofrio’s Fountain stands to the right of Stradun, the main thoroughfare through the cobbled streets. The fountain was constructed between 1438–40 and it is the ingenious end point of an aqueduct that traveled 12 km (7.5 miles) from a spring at Šumet – which still supplies Dubrovnik’s water today – into the city. Both fountain and aqueduct were designed by architect Onofrio della Cava; the latter has a huge brick central dome, originally topped by a dragon, and 16 elaborately carved water taps spouting over a stone trough. Although the dragon was destroyed in the earthquake of 1667, the fountain is one of the city’s most important landmarks and provides shade and respite for weary visitors. A smaller fountain, decorated with leaping dolphins, stands at the opposite, eastern end of Stradun; this was also designed by Della Cava and originally supplied water to the market traders on Luza Square in front of St Blaise Church.

Practical Info

Stradun, Dubrovnik. Open to all free of charge. Best accessed on foot in Dubrovnik’s pedestrianized Old Town.
Location
Address: Stradun, Dubrovnik, Dalmatia, Croatia 20000, Croatia
Read More

8 Tours & Activities to Experience

times
icon-filterFilter
Clear all
Select Dates
Sort by:Default










mobile_o
Having trouble booking online?
(888) 651-9785
Call (888) 651-9785