Pile Gate is a grand entrance into Dubrovnik’s Old Town, on its western wall. Built in 1537 to protect the city from invaders and monitor trade, Pile Gate was originally reached via a wooden drawbridge, which was raised every evening, the gate ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gillian W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

A lovely start to our holiday, we booked this walking tour so that we would get some insight into the area and it certainly delivered and more - Tea our guide was extremely knowledgable and really made the walk enjoyable.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

suemills9912

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The karaka cruise makes the trip worthwhile on its own. There are beautiful views of Dubrovnik from the sea. The crew are dressed as Game of Thrones characters and encourage you to try on costumes for yourselves for a photo opportunity, which is optional but a bit of fun for series fans. The walking tour was also good fun. The guide used a tablet to show scenes from the series and demonstrated well where many scenes were filmed and told tales of what went on in the city while filming was taking place. The route was well planned as the paths upwards were less steep than the downward ones, making it easy to keep up the group. The final stop was at the Game of Thrones store where fans have a photo opportunity sitting on the iron throne. Light hearted and good fun all round.

Doing what: Game of Thrones Tour with Karaka Cruise and Dubrovnik Walking Tour

Stephanie w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The water was abit choppy but none it was a fun and safe boat ride over to king's landing. The tour gave insights to key GOT. scenes and personal stories and antidotes from the guide. Not just for GOT. buff, but she threw in bits of the town's history as well as filming sights of the upcoming Star Wars movie.
We ended the tour at sunset by blackwater's bay. That made the tour super magical.

Doing what: Game of Thrones Tour with Karaka Cruise and Dubrovnik Walking Tour

A A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent! Lovely ship, you can dress up as a GofT's character. The tour guides were very friendly and helpful. Once we arrived in Dubrovnik, Anna, the tour guide continued the tour of GofT's filming locations. Anna had an iPad to show each scene and where it was filmed good idea. Very good value for money.

Doing what: Game of Thrones Tour with Karaka Cruise and Dubrovnik Walking Tour

pekkalehtomaki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good tour and the guide knew a lot. On the walking tour, could have been a bit better still with a good quality IPS tablet even quality paper copie to show the pics from GoT scenes.

Doing what: Game of Thrones Tour with Karaka Cruise and Dubrovnik Walking Tour

Belinda M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

A great tour of the Old Town - our guide was good and the sights were interesting, and we were not rushed. While we did really enjoy this tour, we loved the City Walls walking tour the most!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Heather P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

It wasn and #39;t informative at all. Too much interference. Our tour guide was lackadaisical. We were just walking in the sun. Worst walking tour I ever had. Not recommend.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Joshua Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour guide was AWESOME!! Was very informative, interactive, entertaining and funny. He made Dubrovnik one of our favorite stops!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Highlights and Hidden Sights Walking Tour

Liza Ceciel V

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour guide was a bit strange and different. The info received was good.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Highlights and Hidden Sights Walking Tour

Rhys J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed this walking tour. The guide was in exactly the place specified and we soon got going. The guide spoke excellent English. She gave us information about many of the important buildings, as well as easy to understand explanations of the historical background. An excellent experience.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Doris N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent guide. Well prepared with a great deal of information. I really learned a lot in 90 minutes.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide whose name I have unfortunately forgotten a 23 year old university student was well informed, spoke great English, and made appropriate selections regarding what to highlight. The 90 minute tour was an excellent way to get oriented in the Old Town and make future selections regarding what to see in the next two days, as well as understand the significance of the well preserved structures that comprise the Old Town. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Highlights and Hidden Sights Walking Tour

Ernie B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour guide was in the location stated in the email provided. Her tour was very informative and we enjoyed the time spent with her.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Linda B

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour was informative with a lot of special historic facts. I also did the city wall tours.. a must do. The views and pictures that will last a life time are with it.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Camille D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very good tour. Larger group than expected. Recommend emphasizing meeting location, almost missed tour, waiting in wrong location.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Robert W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Gave us a reasonable understanding of the old towns history. Probably a bit too much detail. The main points were also covered.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Marlene L

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour of the Old Town was good, but very hard for the guide as the streets and squares were so crowded. We felt rushed, and when we got back home, had trouble remembering the names of what was in our photos.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Miss A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was excellent. Friendly, considerate, very knowledgeable and an excellent sense of humour!

Doing what: Dubrovnik City Walls Walking Tour

Jane

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This was a great, brief tour of the old city and our tour guide provide much interesting information!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

david b

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This walking tour was very informative. As there were only 10 in our group it meant we could easily get round and hear our guide.
I would recommend a walking tour for any visitors as there is lots to see and learn about

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Leslie H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

We purchased a 2-hour guided walking tour through Dubrovnik. The actual tour lasted just over 1 hour- started at 10:25 and wrapped up at 11:35am. I would have selected a different tour had I realized that the actual product would not be as advertised. We were provided with a map which outlined the 2 hour tour- very different path than we took. We did see some highlights and our guide was knowledgeable but he did not seem very committed to providing the tour. The main streets and market were highlighted and very interesting however we would have enjoyed seeing more of the town area as expected rather than the smaller area that we covered. Disappointing,

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for any confusion our tour description may have caused. We had updated all of the information in the tour to reflect the 90 minute tour time, save the highlights area. We have now corrected that text. Thank you again for your feedback, and we do hope you had an excellent vacation.

lauren z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

informative and wonderful!

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Carole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent introductory tour of Dubrovnik. The tour was short but the guide was very informative and organised and the small group size 8 was great.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Kasper K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Short and thorough. Due to a lot of people that were in Dubrovnik at the time, it could be a little bit hard to hear all the information. Furthermore, the guide failed to communicate all information to all the people, as she told nice information to some of the guests, while we were walking from place to place.

Doing what: Dubrovnik Old Town Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message