Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 261 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful tour - the tour guide was exceptionally good. Being a small group it was very friendly. Dunedin is a lovely city and we especially enjoyed the Otago Peninsular and discovering a couple of sealions on the beach

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Sheila L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good and interesting tour. Very good tour guide and good value.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great day ,the train trip was amazing with great views and history had the best sausage roll ever in the snack bar on train

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

jenndavebuck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip fantastic views very well organised loved every minute well worth doing

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was well worthwhile and was good value for money. The tour guide was friendly and informative.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Roberta H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was wonderful. We covered a lot of territory, saw some magnificent views and other sights including Allan Beach. Our only negative was the vehicle as it was older, noisy, and difficult to climb into and out of. Our driver guide Les was excellent, but often we had difficulty hearing him over the car noise.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved Olveston House and the surrounding sights. Well done.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

trickymick0

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Had a great day with a friendly a guide who was a wealth of infomation.
Although it rained for part of the day we really enjoyed this adventure.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful day, everything ran like clockwork, such an added thrill to have the city sights added to the rail journey. So much more for so much less as offered by the Ship.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The excursion was great. Our ship arrived in port late so we were bused to the top of the gorge which added another dimension to the trip. The staff were great and very informative as to what we were seeing. The city tour was likewise very interesting and provided great insight into the early days and what has occurred since. It was a lot better than many of the tours run by the cruise company if for no other reason than there were fewer people and you received more personalized attention.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The highlight of the day was the Taieri Gorge Railway which started from the picturesque train station--notice the tiled floor in the lobby. Although the restored antique cars were perfectly comfortable, we stood most of the trip outside on the platform between cars to get the most of the terrific views. On the recommendation of a local we went to the Ironic Café just across from the train station for lunch. The seafood chowder was sensational--best we've ever had. The 2-hour city tour was sort of anti-climactic after that, but Dunedin is a pretty town and I would love to go back. Didn't even have time to go to the Cadbury factory right down town. Man!!

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Albert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic tour! The Taieri Gorge is a fabulous place.
Our tour guide around Dunedin has an infectious affection for Dunedin, a great young fellow.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Patricia G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fantastic tour. Great. Definitely would recommend it to my friends.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Kenneth J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our cruise ship arrived too late to catch the train, but our bus driver said that was a good thing. He was right because the bus trip to the train turn-around at Pukerangi afforded wonderful views of the countryside that we would not have seen had we taken the train up the gorge and back. The train ride back to Dunedin gave us plenty of opportunity to experience the Taieri River gorge.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Keith E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent the Taieri Gorge Railway tour is well worth it with some excellent views. The station at Dunedin is spectacular too

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

DonnaW

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

An excellent tour of the Otego Peninsula and Olveston House. Great guide and timely sightseeing all around. A very hilly and scenic city. The railway station was beautiful. Time to walk all around the city was valued and enabled visiting sites instead of just driving by them. A very worthwhile tour!

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

Linda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip, We really enjoyed the railway tour. Our city sightseeing was cut short as we were on a cruise ship and had to be back at the ship. However our guide did take us to the main areas.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Ronald T H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Dunedin was our most enjoyable tour in New Zealand.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Desley T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, it was different the train trip. Great scenery.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

rferencz03

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent value compared to ship's excursions. Because the ship was late clearing customs, we could not make the outbound ride, so the tour drove us to the far point of the railroad which was a different route than the train and we were given a guided tour of the country side on the way, The train ride back to the city was perfect.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

George C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Don't book it with cruise line. You see more and do more with this tour booked on victor.com. They picked you up from Port Chalmers and dropped you off at the port. The bus takes you to the train station. You will pick up your tickets at the tourism office. It is fast eventhough it may be crowed at times. The train conductor is very knowledgable about the Taieri Gorge and funny. You have a snack car with the train. After the beautiful train ride, you have about 45 minutes to walk around the downtown area before the bus come to pick you up for a city driving tour. The whole thing is very well organized. The tour company People are super friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

nana2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful day. Missed taking train in Dunedin because getting off ship took too long. Lucky me because drive to meet train at turnaround was beautiful. Lunch on train was very nice and sandwiches surprisingly good with a small glass of wine. Coach clean and airconditioned. Gorgeous ride through gorge. Tour of city and peninsula informative and our bus driver/guide very knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message