Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 321 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a wonderful trip....spectacular scenery and expert commentary. Richard took us on a very comprehensive tour of the sights of Dunedin after the train trip.
This excursion was excellent value for money and less than half the cost of the similar tours organised by the cruise ship.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Margaret S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our scotsman driver was excellent and a lot of fun. He was extremely knowledgeable and had a pleasant and informative way of telling us about Dunedin and the surrounding country. The train trip was good but we wee a little disappointed with the countryside but realize the rain this year has been an issue and coming from oz I guess we think we are the only ones who suffer this trouble. The rest of the Otago Peninsula trip was beaut. I definitely would recommend this trip to any one travelling to Dunedin and expecially those with not a lot of time. regards

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Rhonda H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Dunedin - what a town - we will be back! The excursion undertaken was one of the highlights to New Zealand, it was value for money, not rushed and our driver 'Richard' was exceptionally knowledgeable and conveyed it in a way that everyone could understand he must have been a radio announcer in a previous life. we would recommend this excursion to any traveller.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing with Olveston House Tour

scar13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Just breathtaking , the scenery was wonderful, the explanation of what we were seeing was excellent. The volunteers were very helpful and keen to assist with food advise and selling of souveniers. Great tour for young and old alike. Great fun, thank you

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

camfam4 Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide was articulate and very knowledgeable, we stopped at key points in the area.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Gifford T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This is the tour to go on, especially if you like trains. Great views of the countryside. Train was comfortable. You probably get more history of the area than possible any other way. Also the city sightseeing was most informative.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Leonard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide Theresa made what was an ordinary tour an very interesting one. Her knowledge of the area and its history kept us engaged throughout the trip. Theresa could talk about anything, so it seemed.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

joe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was and EXCELLENT TOUR. The guide we had was FABULOUS.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit

johnandcathusa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

THE BACK TO NATURE TOUR COMPANY WAS FANTASTIC,JUST AS DESCRIBED WAITING FOR YOU AT THE PIER FOR A GREAT DAY. THE SCENERY FROM TAIERI GORGE RAIL TRIP WAS BEAUTIFUL. THE GUIDES WERE INFORMATIVE AND REPRESENT THIER BEAUTIFUL CITY AND OTAGO PENINSULA WITH GREAT PRIDE AND RESPECT FOR NATURE. THANKS DAVE AND CHRIS

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great Tour. Just as described. Viator staff will wait for you even if you are delayed getting off the ship. We got to see more than the ship's tour and a lot less expensive. Viator is the only way to go!!

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great overview of the Dunedin area. The Cadbury's Chocolate Factory tour was fun and they gave lots of chocolate. Larnach Castle was an interesting place with very detailed and beautiful craftsmanship throughout and a sad but interesting story. The sightseeing portion was, unfortunately, filled with rain and fog, so we weren't able to see as much as usual but our guide gave us a lot of great information about Dunedin and we were able to see a lot of the beautiful city.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

rr.dukes

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was an excellent trip with splendid views of the Taieri Gorge and River. The train was a very comfortable refurbished 1937 carriage with excellent commentary throughout the trip. Our bus driver also was very informative and gave a great tour of the city and history.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Cadbury chocolate factory tour was very interesting and our guide was so enthusiastic. The visit to Larnach Castle was amazing, what a beautiful mansion and glorious gardens. The views from various spots on the property are pretty good too. We enjoyed the guided tour through the castle where we learned of its interesting history. Lunch was at the property but I think they need to learn to deal with large crowds much better, however we enjoyed our meal. Our visit there was followed by a tour around Dunedin, including the famous railway station there. A very good day.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well worth it! Our tour guide Chris was great, very friendly and informative and took us to some beautiful spots on the Peninsula and we saw seals! Being in a small group made it more personal and we loved our Dunedin/Otago experience.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Donna Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed this tour. The chocolate factory was interesting with lots of free chocolate! Would have like to see them actually making the chocolate but I understand the restrictions they have to have in place.
Lots of sightseeing and our tour guide was very informative. We had lots of photo opportunities and he was always happy to stop wherever someone wanted to snap a picture.
Larnach Castle was impressive. Beautiful place although a sad story behind it. Lovely lunch in the restaurant.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour far outdid our expectations. Professional and fun from the word go. Our driver and guide Adrian was from the area and was both knowledgeable and passionate about the people animals environment history and future of this area. The tour began in the city exploring the main sights with time for photo stops and questions. Onward to Lanarch Castle for a self guided tour and lunch in the Ballroom! Finally to the Penguin Place sanctuary and hospital to view penguins, seals and if you're lucky albatross. Great value for money. An awesome day with something for everyone. NB some cliff walks and steps. My 72 yr old sister had had a hip op and managed fine but some people struggled.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organised, had a great day on the Train to Taieri Gorge, thoroughly enjoyed it. Bus tour of city was also pretty darn good. Trip through the gorge was beautiful, lovely scenery. A must do tour if you a visitor to Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

mattxerri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour. Matt our guide was great. He knew a great deal about the wildlife, plants and surrounding area as he grew up there. We were lucky to be able to see all life stages of the Penguins from adult to chick. Larnach castle was picturesque and the little tour Matt gave us of the gardens showed us some of the native trees and plants in New Zealand. We also went around the town and stopped and look at the local landmarks. It was really enjoyable. Our favourite tour of the trip by far. Well worth it if you are a nature lover.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit

john b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

if you have to one off your bucket list this is a must do .stunning scenery with rivers running through gorges ..old fashioned train carriages with toilets and buffet on board ...much needed as this tour is nearly 5 hours return trip ...leaves from dunedin station a must see also even if not doing trip

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Chris was an awesome tour guide with lots of local knowledge. Stopped at interesting points showing us a variety of landscapes in Dunedin. Also want to thank Chris for having my scarf delivered to the ship that I left on the bus, which I needed the next day.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

tempe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best land excursion we had on this cruise. Mateo, a native of the area, gave us tremendous amount of information about history, geography, etc. We made 3 or 4 short stops in Dunedin, including Baldwin Street and the train depot. Enough time to look around, take pictures, get a feeling for the area. We drove through the countryside, past Mateo's families farm/ranch on our way to Larnach Castle. We opted for entrance and tour of the inside, which was restored in every detail. Gardens and grounds also were very nice.

Highlight of the excursion was the Yellow Eye Penguin Reserve. We able able to view the penguins in their natural habitat going through a series of natural tunnels and wooden blinds. The grounds are quite amazing.

The Royal Albatross Center at the tip of the peninsula was quite windy which was great for flying!! Saw a few gliding towards and them climbing up over land. Drive back to Dunedin was just enough time to unwind and relax.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit

Leah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Very knowledgeable tour guide and got back well before our ship was scheduled to leave.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

Yvonne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great trip along the gorge on the railway. Spectacular scenery. Pity about the rain. Excellent coach tour around the city with great commentary from the driver. Returned to the harbour in plenty of time to reboard our cruise. Don't pay cruise prices take this tour instead.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message