Dunedin Cruise Port Known as the architectural heritage capital of New Zealand, Dunedin was once the largest and wealthiest city in the country.  Sitting on the Otago Peninsula on New Zealand’s South Island, this lively university town with ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 288 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The Cadbury chocolate factory tour was very interesting and our guide was so enthusiastic. The visit to Larnach Castle was amazing, what a beautiful mansion and glorious gardens. The views from various spots on the property are pretty good too. We enjoyed the guided tour through the castle where we learned of its interesting history. Lunch was at the property but I think they need to learn to deal with large crowds much better, however we enjoyed our meal. Our visit there was followed by a tour around Dunedin, including the famous railway station there. A very good day.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well worth it! Our tour guide Chris was great, very friendly and informative and took us to some beautiful spots on the Peninsula and we saw seals! Being in a small group made it more personal and we loved our Dunedin/Otago experience.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Donna Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We enjoyed this tour. The chocolate factory was interesting with lots of free chocolate! Would have like to see them actually making the chocolate but I understand the restrictions they have to have in place.
Lots of sightseeing and our tour guide was very informative. We had lots of photo opportunities and he was always happy to stop wherever someone wanted to snap a picture.
Larnach Castle was impressive. Beautiful place although a sad story behind it. Lovely lunch in the restaurant.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour far outdid our expectations. Professional and fun from the word go. Our driver and guide Adrian was from the area and was both knowledgeable and passionate about the people animals environment history and future of this area. The tour began in the city exploring the main sights with time for photo stops and questions. Onward to Lanarch Castle for a self guided tour and lunch in the Ballroom! Finally to the Penguin Place sanctuary and hospital to view penguins, seals and if you're lucky albatross. Great value for money. An awesome day with something for everyone. NB some cliff walks and steps. My 72 yr old sister had had a hip op and managed fine but some people struggled.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Well organised, had a great day on the Train to Taieri Gorge, thoroughly enjoyed it. Bus tour of city was also pretty darn good. Trip through the gorge was beautiful, lovely scenery. A must do tour if you a visitor to Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

mattxerri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour. Matt our guide was great. He knew a great deal about the wildlife, plants and surrounding area as he grew up there. We were lucky to be able to see all life stages of the Penguins from adult to chick. Larnach castle was picturesque and the little tour Matt gave us of the gardens showed us some of the native trees and plants in New Zealand. We also went around the town and stopped and look at the local landmarks. It was really enjoyable. Our favourite tour of the trip by far. Well worth it if you are a nature lover.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit

john b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

if you have to one off your bucket list this is a must do .stunning scenery with rivers running through gorges ..old fashioned train carriages with toilets and buffet on board ...much needed as this tour is nearly 5 hours return trip ...leaves from dunedin station a must see also even if not doing trip

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Tracey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Chris was an awesome tour guide with lots of local knowledge. Stopped at interesting points showing us a variety of landscapes in Dunedin. Also want to thank Chris for having my scarf delivered to the ship that I left on the bus, which I needed the next day.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

tempe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The best land excursion we had on this cruise. Mateo, a native of the area, gave us tremendous amount of information about history, geography, etc. We made 3 or 4 short stops in Dunedin, including Baldwin Street and the train depot. Enough time to look around, take pictures, get a feeling for the area. We drove through the countryside, past Mateo's families farm/ranch on our way to Larnach Castle. We opted for entrance and tour of the inside, which was restored in every detail. Gardens and grounds also were very nice.

Highlight of the excursion was the Yellow Eye Penguin Reserve. We able able to view the penguins in their natural habitat going through a series of natural tunnels and wooden blinds. The grounds are quite amazing.

The Royal Albatross Center at the tip of the peninsula was quite windy which was great for flying!! Saw a few gliding towards and them climbing up over land. Drive back to Dunedin was just enough time to unwind and relax.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin and Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour with Optional Larnach Castle Visit

Leah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Very knowledgeable tour guide and got back well before our ship was scheduled to leave.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

Yvonne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great trip along the gorge on the railway. Spectacular scenery. Pity about the rain. Excellent coach tour around the city with great commentary from the driver. Returned to the harbour in plenty of time to reboard our cruise. Don't pay cruise prices take this tour instead.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

cherie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Had enough time to see all of Cadbury, Larnach Castle and lots of sight seeing. Tour guide was very knowledgeable. Fantastic tour highly recommend

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

Matthew G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Really enjoyable tour. The countryside around Dunedin is beautiful and green, no wonder the Scots settled in this area. The Cadbury tour was fun, where the guide seem to have much fun as the guests : Larnach Castle was most impressive, an excellent example of yet another banker with more money than sense.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Dunedin Sightseeing, Larnach Castle and Cadburys Chocolate Factory

ron.wright2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic views from the train on this trip and some great old style carrages as well. Another well organised trip with a good guide.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

amandamccloskey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, very relaxing and well organised. No issue being picked up by the coach and dropped back off again. Driver kept the commentary going and felt as though we got a good overview of Dunedin.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

mazza562001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Good tour , enjoyed the train ride and loved our tour of the city .

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Penelope L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Amazing. Crew aboard the train were fantastic and added to the experience.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

sallyspelman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful tour - the tour guide was exceptionally good. Being a small group it was very friendly. Dunedin is a lovely city and we especially enjoyed the Otago Peninsular and discovering a couple of sealions on the beach

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Sheila L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very good and interesting tour. Very good tour guide and good value.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Karen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great day ,the train trip was amazing with great views and history had the best sausage roll ever in the snack bar on train

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

jenndavebuck

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great trip fantastic views very well organised loved every minute well worth doing

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Taieri Gorge Railway Tour and City Sightseeing

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was well worthwhile and was good value for money. The tour guide was friendly and informative.

Doing what: Dunedin Shore Excursion: Small-Group Tour of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message