Visitors and locals alike assert that if there's one thing to be sure to do in Dunedin, it's a ride on the Taieri Gorge Railway. Get out of the city, enjoy stunning views, and absorb interesting historical information all in one place by taking a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 48 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

snoopy250cr Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great slow train ride with awesome views, great time overall.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

Wayne T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed our trip. It took us through some amazing scenery. The staff throughout, from the railway station and on the train,were so lovely. It's a great way to spend a few hours and not too expensive.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

desioshilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Chris, the owner and our tour guide was wonderful. His love of the land and his knowledge was complete and well communicated. We found sea lions on the beach, he was able to take some pictures of my husband and I. The train ride was also very informative. I ordered a box lunch for the morning train ride which was well worth it. They do have a diner car on the train, but as soon as you could stand outside on the train, I did that, I also think they might have sold out of sandwiches. You can however bring your own picnic. Back to Chris's part I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Belinda L C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A good trip up into the highlands around Dunedin. Train travel like this is unique.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Frank H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Just a delight to travel through some amazing scenery. A very well run tour for rail fans and anyone interested in spectacular scenery. Just great.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

richardthomasau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very pleasant day. Railway was very scenic and relaxing. afternoon trip to peninsula was very interesting and personal in small group

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

bcrisler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful tour that allows you to experience the spectacular interior scenery of theTaieri George, as well as an afternoon drive along the picturesque Otago Peninsula. The provided lunch option was good and the price was a great value for an all day tour. We were returned to our ship on time.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Marie-Therese B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Outstanding scenery with plenty of time to fully appreciate it. The one quibble I have is that due to the large gap between some of the steps on the train I found it difficult to step up onto the train. Perhaps a portable step could be provided for those less able to climb onto the train.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Superb run up and down the Taieri area with great commentaries. A long train journey with lots to see and plenty of photo-opportunities. Be careful if you have a dinner-date at the end of it, as we had to wait about 20 minutes before we could get back to Dunedin Station as there was a freight-train on the main line when we rejoined it outside Dunedin. Well worth the effort! A must-see when in Dunedin.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

chriss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First class trip, spectacular scenery and lovely staff. Very pleasant always

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

Marie-Therese B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was an excellent journey with lots to see.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

Sheila T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

the views are spectacular and the drive around the peninsula had great views. The tour guide was very good and showed us a lot of interesting things.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Graham R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip on the train , scenery was breathtaking ane train comfortable and staff was subperb, Les took us on our mini van tour around the peninsular this was very informative , Les was a great host and took us out of the way , this trip is well worth the cost .

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Ross K Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great train trip. It's best to get a seat on the right of the carriage to have the best views.
The commentator was American and although his commentary was okay, his accent was annoying. The endpoint of the journey inland was a little disappointing. There was nowhere to sit, just a few CWA stalls selling useless trinkets. We had to wait there while the train shunted for our return journey.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Charles L

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Beautiful scenery and great train ride. Commentary was a bit traditional with facts and figures and did really tell us the story we were expecting.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

KENNETH T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great day
The bus was on time,the train trip was great. And the packed lunch was very fresh and tasty

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Ingrid J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very interesting and enjoyable tour! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. The views from the train ride were spectacular. The city tour was very interesting as well, with great views.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

ANNE D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great train trip and fantastic trip to the peninsula where I was lucky enough to see two bull sea lions, some fur seals and some penguins. Thanks to my guide Chris.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Appuswamy R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The train Journey was interesting more from historical perspective than from sceneries. The running commentary was great with lot of information conveyed in a jovial manner to reduce the monotony of constant confrontation with boulders and Gorge. After motoring through various parts of South Island where there was abundance of greeneries and waterfalls this trip offered another side of boulders and Gorges. Yeah something different for sure!.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Stephane R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Train ride was disappointing: there was really nothing much to see. Some carriages were not air-conditioned. We booked a package with lunch box, which we did not receive and got NZD 20 refund instead. Otago Peninsula is beautiful, and worth much more than Taieri Gorge: make the former your priority.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

jim s

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Very good, but felt the train trip was too long, and we did not have air conditioning and our windows only opened a small amount. The train was late getting back to Dunedin which cut our bus trip short, but due to our driver, still managed to see most sights of the Otago Peninsula which was wonderful.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

HELEN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

From the time we were picked up for our Taieri Gorge Railway journey it was an enjoyable experience. The views along the way were magnificent and one that you would always remember.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

great views

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway from Dunedin

Pat S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was well organized. Rides were prompt and friendly whenever they were needed. The accommodations were clean and more than satisfactory. The view in TeAnau was great. Even in the rain the Milford sound tour was outstanding. The boat captain went out of his way to make it the best experience. I loved the train through Taieri Gorge. The old cars were magnificent , the engineer kept us ready with our cameras for the best views. I would do it again

Doing what: 3-Day Milford Sound, Te Anau, Taieri Gorge and Dunedin Tour from Queenstown

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message