Coastal Otago, and its one major city, Dunedin, has, in typical New Zealand manner, attractions both urban and rural, offering you the chance to see New Zealand’s indie music heartland, while having the island’s most accessible wildlife at your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Paula F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Oustanding and knowledgeable guide and nice small group. So enjoyed the yellow penquin sanctuary, the steepest street in the world, the university which was having a graduation that day and although we did not get to view any albatros it was great to know where to look as the ship set sail. The Castle gardens were fantastic having a guided tour. Lots of great pictures from the garden. So unspoiled. Highly recommend this tour. Was only 9 of us and it sure beat the big busloads of people with only one guide per a huge amount of people. We were able to hit more places and learn more from our guide than in a large group and the price was much less than what Holland America offered.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

ssstarr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a wonderful tour of the City of Dunedin and The Otago Peninsula with Matteo and a diverse group of travelers. From walking up the steepest street in Dunedin to observing penguins up close at The Peninsula I felt like I experienced one of the best places to visit on the South Island. Matteo was our guide and he is outstanding. It was great to have such an experienced and calm driver to take us on the tour who easily shared his extensive knowledge of the city, land and the wildlife on the peninsula. It was a fun, relaxing and really interesting day.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Allison S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour was cancelled due to severe weather, but we were contacted and given the option for a full refund or to do a bus tour of the city. We took the bus tour and were very pleased with the customer service, knowledge of the driver, etc.

Doing what: Otago Peninsula Guided Coastal Walk Including the Chasm and Lover's Leap

Jason S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A truly Unique historic home, due to its having most of the original contents still in place. An added surprise was seeing the restored 1920's Fiat owned by the family. Tour guide was terrific. Unfortunately you will not be permitted to take any photos inside.

Doing what: Olveston Historic Home Guided Tour

Val W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

penguins and hiking! as an added bonus, the fees go towards protecting the penguins habit and rehabilitating injured birds

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Donald D

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Not enouigh time to experience each destination. Weather was terrible but sites were interesting.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

tmusky

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We stopped to see the steepest street in the world, then stopped at a University to see a building architecture, then off to see penguins, seals and albatross. The bus and guide were good, the penguin guide was quite good, saw one penguin chick in the wild and a blue penguin on nest, lots of seals close up, several yellow-eye penguins under rehab, and one albatross for several seconds but later saw several and nesting birds while passing through the area on cruise boat. The weather was horrible on our day with lots of rain which fogged up the bus windows badly, not much the tour company can do about that. However, this was one of our best days on our NZ cruise so we would recommend it.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Robert United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

Slightly over hyped in terms of the scenery you see but staff very enthusiastic, commentary good and buffet car well stocked. Good wet day activity.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Robin M C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The train journey was somewhat boring, having the same view on the outward journey as on the return journey. The peninsula tour was limited, without even a glimpse of the castle and no penguins

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

janielkins

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an awesome way to see the city and the Peninsula. it was a small group and the driver was safe and knowledgeable. Especially when it came to wildlife and birds as well as the Penguins, he did all he could to help us see the few that remain. We saw the baby blue penguins in the back of their boxes. If possible plan to go back to the beach in the evening to see more of the fairy penguins. In the rehab center we had a great opportunity to see a large one. Wear layers as the wind can whip up and go from warm to chilly in no time. There were lots of steps. My husband has a bad ankle, but we were able to do the entire tour, at a slower pace with his walking stick. There are rails throughout most sections. Our guide would reiterate verbal parts of the tour that we might have missed. We truly appreciated this courtesy.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Thomas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Taieri gorge is well worth a visit - this trip will enthral rail enthusiasts as well as nature fans as the historic, restored train makes its way over 14 bridges up the gorge. The scenery is spectacular and for those wanting a bite to eat or a drink the friendly team on the train is there to serve.

We used Back to Nature to organise the trip for us and they topped of the trip with a tour of Otago Peninsula and a visit to some penguins.

Highly recommended.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Chadatorn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a very good experience. Beautiful coastal walk way and you can take a photo with a lovely sea lion. I recommened

Doing what: Otago Peninsula Guided Coastal Walk Including the Chasm and Lover's Leap

David P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour of the Otago Peninsula was wonderful. Chris, our guide from Back To Nature Tours was so personal and informative. The train trip was just OK. Might have been better in the summer than in the middle of winter.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredible tour- a definite must!!!!. Great way to spend the day, Chris our guide was the best.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

desioshilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Chris, the owner and our tour guide was wonderful. His love of the land and his knowledge was complete and well communicated. We found sea lions on the beach, he was able to take some pictures of my husband and I. The train ride was also very informative. I ordered a box lunch for the morning train ride which was well worth it. They do have a diner car on the train, but as soon as you could stand outside on the train, I did that, I also think they might have sold out of sandwiches. You can however bring your own picnic. Back to Chris's part I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Fuddster Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A good trip up into the highlands around Dunedin. Train travel like this is unique.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

richardthomasau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very pleasant day. Railway was very scenic and relaxing. afternoon trip to peninsula was very interesting and personal in small group

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

bcrisler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful tour that allows you to experience the spectacular interior scenery of theTaieri George, as well as an afternoon drive along the picturesque Otago Peninsula. The provided lunch option was good and the price was a great value for an all day tour. We were returned to our ship on time.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Sheila T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

the views are spectacular and the drive around the peninsula had great views. The tour guide was very good and showed us a lot of interesting things.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Claudia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fabulous!! We took this tour while on a ship, and I was worried about getting back to the ship on time. However, our guide, Matt, assured us he would have us back before the ship sailed, and he did just that. We had a small group of only 7, and Matt's exuberance about his city made the day perfect. We started with a tour of the city of Dunedin, and then we went to Larnach Castle. Some of the group toured the castle, but we went through the gardens with Matt who told us about all the native plants and how the imported plants are having an effect on the wildlife of the area. After lunch on our own in a nice cafe on the castle grounds, we went to tour the penguin habitat, which was fascinating. Matt is clearly passionate about these animals, and his enthusiasm made the tour all the better. Finally we saw the albatrosses flying majestically. I'm so glad we booked this tour as it was far better than what the ship offered, and it was much less expensive.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Raewyn N M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

our trip to Olveston house was a very enjoyable one would reckonmend it anyone.

Doing what: Olveston Historic Home Guided Tour

ANN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a beautiful place can highly recommend staff were very knowledgeable

Doing what: Olveston Historic Home Guided Tour

Teri T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was one of our favorite excursions on our New Zealand/Australia adventure. Matt, our guide, was able to give us tons of information about the Otago Peninsula. The photo opportunities that this tour offered were amazing and now my new Facebook cover photo! I would highly, highly, highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour and informative guide. Highly recommended. We went to several different high points around the city with fantastic views, had an interesting tour of the peninsula and city, visited the albatross area where we were lucky enough to see several albatross and we visited the penguin reserve and the penguin hospital there. Lunch was at the local castle which is more of a manor where we were able to walk around the gardens and our guide gave us interesting info about the trees and plants of the area. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message