Coastal Otago, and its one major city, Dunedin, has, in typical New Zealand manner, attractions both urban and rural, offering you the chance to see New Zealand’s indie music heartland, while having the island’s most accessible wildlife at your ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 46 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chadatorn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a very good experience. Beautiful coastal walk way and you can take a photo with a lovely sea lion. I recommened

Doing what: Otago Peninsula Guided Coastal Walk Including the Chasm and Lover's Leap

David P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The tour of the Otago Peninsula was wonderful. Chris, our guide from Back To Nature Tours was so personal and informative. The train trip was just OK. Might have been better in the summer than in the middle of winter.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredible tour- a definite must!!!!. Great way to spend the day, Chris our guide was the best.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

desioshilo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Chris, the owner and our tour guide was wonderful. His love of the land and his knowledge was complete and well communicated. We found sea lions on the beach, he was able to take some pictures of my husband and I. The train ride was also very informative. I ordered a box lunch for the morning train ride which was well worth it. They do have a diner car on the train, but as soon as you could stand outside on the train, I did that, I also think they might have sold out of sandwiches. You can however bring your own picnic. Back to Chris's part I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Belinda L C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A good trip up into the highlands around Dunedin. Train travel like this is unique.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

richardthomasau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very pleasant day. Railway was very scenic and relaxing. afternoon trip to peninsula was very interesting and personal in small group

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

bcrisler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful tour that allows you to experience the spectacular interior scenery of theTaieri George, as well as an afternoon drive along the picturesque Otago Peninsula. The provided lunch option was good and the price was a great value for an all day tour. We were returned to our ship on time.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Sheila T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

the views are spectacular and the drive around the peninsula had great views. The tour guide was very good and showed us a lot of interesting things.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Claudia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was fabulous!! We took this tour while on a ship, and I was worried about getting back to the ship on time. However, our guide, Matt, assured us he would have us back before the ship sailed, and he did just that. We had a small group of only 7, and Matt's exuberance about his city made the day perfect. We started with a tour of the city of Dunedin, and then we went to Larnach Castle. Some of the group toured the castle, but we went through the gardens with Matt who told us about all the native plants and how the imported plants are having an effect on the wildlife of the area. After lunch on our own in a nice cafe on the castle grounds, we went to tour the penguin habitat, which was fascinating. Matt is clearly passionate about these animals, and his enthusiasm made the tour all the better. Finally we saw the albatrosses flying majestically. I'm so glad we booked this tour as it was far better than what the ship offered, and it was much less expensive.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Raewyn N M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

our trip to Olveston house was a very enjoyable one would reckonmend it anyone.

Doing what: Olveston Historic Home Guided Tour

ANN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a beautiful place can highly recommend staff were very knowledgeable

Doing what: Olveston Historic Home Guided Tour

Teri T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was one of our favorite excursions on our New Zealand/Australia adventure. Matt, our guide, was able to give us tons of information about the Otago Peninsula. The photo opportunities that this tour offered were amazing and now my new Facebook cover photo! I would highly, highly, highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour and informative guide. Highly recommended. We went to several different high points around the city with fantastic views, had an interesting tour of the peninsula and city, visited the albatross area where we were lucky enough to see several albatross and we visited the penguin reserve and the penguin hospital there. Lunch was at the local castle which is more of a manor where we were able to walk around the gardens and our guide gave us interesting info about the trees and plants of the area. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Graham R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip on the train , scenery was breathtaking ane train comfortable and staff was subperb, Les took us on our mini van tour around the peninsular this was very informative , Les was a great host and took us out of the way , this trip is well worth the cost .

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Ross K Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great train trip. It's best to get a seat on the right of the carriage to have the best views.
The commentator was American and although his commentary was okay, his accent was annoying. The endpoint of the journey inland was a little disappointing. There was nowhere to sit, just a few CWA stalls selling useless trinkets. We had to wait there while the train shunted for our return journey.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

KENNETH T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A great day
The bus was on time,the train trip was great. And the packed lunch was very fresh and tasty

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Robert T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very informative. Excellant guide. Wildlife park was great feeding the animals.

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Ingrid J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A very interesting and enjoyable tour! The tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. The views from the train ride were spectacular. The city tour was very interesting as well, with great views.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

ANNE D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great train trip and fantastic trip to the peninsula where I was lucky enough to see two bull sea lions, some fur seals and some penguins. Thanks to my guide Chris.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

jacklyn j

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Daniel is a rockstar - we had a fabulous day with him

Doing what: Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula Wildlife Tour

Appuswamy R Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The train Journey was interesting more from historical perspective than from sceneries. The running commentary was great with lot of information conveyed in a jovial manner to reduce the monotony of constant confrontation with boulders and Gorge. After motoring through various parts of South Island where there was abundance of greeneries and waterfalls this trip offered another side of boulders and Gorges. Yeah something different for sure!.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Stephane R

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Train ride was disappointing: there was really nothing much to see. Some carriages were not air-conditioned. We booked a package with lunch box, which we did not receive and got NZD 20 refund instead. Otago Peninsula is beautiful, and worth much more than Taieri Gorge: make the former your priority.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

jim s

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Very good, but felt the train trip was too long, and we did not have air conditioning and our windows only opened a small amount. The train was late getting back to Dunedin which cut our bus trip short, but due to our driver, still managed to see most sights of the Otago Peninsula which was wonderful.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

HELEN S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

From the time we were picked up for our Taieri Gorge Railway journey it was an enjoyable experience. The views along the way were magnificent and one that you would always remember.

Doing what: Taieri Gorge Railway and the Otago Peninsula Day Trip from Dunedin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message