Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Castle

Look up anywhere in Edinburgh's old town and you'll see Edinburgh Castle, seeming to grow out of the blackened cold volcano that forms its plinth. There's evidence of human habitation on this spot that dates back to 900 BC, and the Castle has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

rasaky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Wendy was a wealth of knowledge and we really loved our walking tour so much information and history along the Royal Mile and then the Castle Edinburgh Castle is spectacular, would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Susan P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skipping the line was a great idea! Loved seeing Edinburgh Castle -- a must-do for Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

These buses are a great way to get an overview of the old town and out to Leith for the royal yacht. We were not able to get into Holyroodhouse since HRH is currently staying there but we will go back later to tour. It was fun to watch the attendees at the Royal garden party. There is something very sexy about guys in kilts. Not so much ladies in funny hats. The tour of Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and informative and would be a hit with kids. The tea room was a very fine respite from the rain. The royal yacht Britannia is not to be missed. It was a view into the mostly private part of the royal family's lives and is a fun tour for kids. The 48 hour time period to ride the buses was a big plus. We stretched it over 3 days from noon on the first day to noon on the third day. There is some overlap of the routes but we found that to be helpful when we started walking the city as it all seemed familiar. We took each bus all the way around on the first ride and then got off and on where we liked on subsequent rides. We preferred the recorded tours because they were easier to hear. Since the live tour guide was riding on the upper level and we were on the lower level to keep out of the rain hearing was a problem. I have mentioned rain. It has rained every day but Edinburgh is used to that and it didn't keep us from going wherever we liked. That said, it also doesn't rain constantly so it's fine if you have good rain gear with you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved how we were able to skip the lines and just walk right in. We decided not to get the audio tour and just walk around the castle. Loved that we were able to see and take pictures of everything, but the crown jewels. Highly recommend seeing the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

KEBeeler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great value. We were able to visit the Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the royal yacht. We used the hop on/off bus both days to get us prom place to place, as well as riding a the complete loop on a couple of the lines.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Debi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a deal! I only wish we had had more time. The drivers were charming, the tours interesting and informative and the sights too wonderful to describe. this was an excellent value and our skip the line ticket to Edinburgh Castle was worth the whole price.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Mary W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed Edinburgh castle, and the fast track ticket was convenient. Loved the church, the jewels, and the people who worked there were helpful and friendly. Thank you again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our time at the Edinburgh Castle. We went during the week on a rainy day and there wasn't much of a line to skip. We would recommend to get the skip the line ticket, just in case.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

PS Dutta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

All three attractions with the Royal Edinburgh ticket are worth visiting. Edinburgh Castle is the highlight! The flexibility to avail buses of four tour operators allows coverage of all areas of Edinburgh. Value for money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Brent J New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Gotta say Hop on Hop off is a great way to see a city if time is limited.....Edinburgh Castle is a must see.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Anna USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic! The Royal Edinburgh Ticket includes access to all of the double decker bus tours in their network plus admission to Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Yacht Britannia and Hollyrood Palace. I was able to go to the Castle and the Yacht and used the buses for 48 hours. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

VLMD94

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We recommend purchasing this entrance ticket to avoid waiting in lines. Edinburgh castle is a top site to visit and can have long lines. Audio-guides are available and also recommended to get a more in-depth overview of the castle and its history.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

LYNN B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was a lovely young lady who kept us entertained as well as informed. She provided much insight into Edinburgh's history, tales, and locations. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire tour which ended in Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This purchase involved just obtaining a voucher for entrance into the Edinburgh Castle avoiding the lines for ticket purchase. It is for people who either want to use the audio tour or who just want to tour the castle under their own direction which we do. The voucher worked as advertised, although you do need to go through a station in the entrance area to swap the voucher for a ticket. We had no wait at all there not sure whether in the summer there would be delays with this swap process. Certainly Edinburgh Castle is something everyone needs to visit while in Edinburgh!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Victoria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great little tour. Helps you understand the Royal Mile a little better. Edinburgh Castle is spectacular. Could have spent a whole day just exploring that. I have forgotten our tour guides name but she was sweet woman and was very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Fernando M C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Hop-On Hop-Off Tours were very handy given the short amount of time we had to see everything. However, some of the bus stops could be clearer but when in doubt return to Waverley Bridge because all of them depart from there. The Edinburgh Castle Admission was practical even though when there weren't any queues when we went. However, since we didn't stop at the ticket booth we had to look for a map as there weren't any at the entrance. Even though the castle tour could be done without the audio tour, I was disappointed that this wasn't included in our admission. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Gagan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour allows you to HOHO buses of all operators in the town. This makes sense because each operator operates on different routes and the HOHO pass allows you to explore the pass on all routes. Buying a HOHO pass from a single company may restrict one to a particular route. Further, the entry tickets for HMS Britannia, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace can be used even after the expiry 48 Hrs., which is good considering that one does not have to rush through all the places.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Melanie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our Guide Charles was amazing! He told us so much about the history of Edinburgh and took us to some very nice courts and closes. Together we went into Edinburgh Castle and there he told us something about the castle and recommended in which order we could explore the remaining castle on our own.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

chtesl c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Edinburgh Castle is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been! So happy I got to Skip the Line - it was looong and drizzling! Thanks Viator! :

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I have always wanted to visit the Edinburgh Castle. It definitely lived up to my imaginings. I would recommend seeing this piece of history to everyone

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour is quite simply fantastic value for money and one of the best ways to see as much of Edinburgh as possible in a short space of time - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone going there. Also great value for money with fast tracked entry to Britannia Yacht, Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse. It's worth knowing that attractions close at 4pm at weekends in winter?? so you should plan your day with that in mind.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Shaneen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour hosted by Margaret. We saw lots of very interesting things that we had previously walked right past without noticing! Margaret's commentary was informative and pitched at completely the right level. We went into Edinburgh Castle where Margaret describe the various places of interest then left us to our own devices to explore. Timings given for the length of each bit of the tour were spot on. Really enjoyed it and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Laurelee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a day we had with this one!! We used our Hop-On Hop-Off pass which included passes to Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace. These two attractions were simply amazing and wonderful. especially the castle.
The tour itself around Edinburgh was entertaining and interesting as well. The commentator was informative and amusing as well. Highly recommend if you are in Edinburgh.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Yan USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I enjoyed my Edinburgh Historical walking tour of the Royal Mile very much! Our guide Hannah was great, well informed, friendly, warm and funny. I learned some very interesting details about the Royal Mile and the Edinburgh Castle. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

glendahall13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very cold wet weekend in Edinburgh but this 3 in one tour ticket experience we felt well worth it.
Hop on bus good value and stops located well.
Holyrood House well worth it too
Really enjoyed the Royal Yacht.
and Edinburgh castle was excellent even though we did get wet through doing the visit.
Both Holyrood , Castle and Royal Yacht we had straight through entry with no waiting included in the price

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message