Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Castle

Look up anywhere in Edinburgh's old town and you'll see Edinburgh Castle, seeming to grow out of the blackened cold volcano that forms its plinth. There's evidence of human habitation on this spot that dates back to 900 BC, and the Castle has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

raci88

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Royal Mile Palace of Holyroodhouse Scottish Parliament Arthur's Seat. Hop-on Hop-off buses are so easy to catch all over town! Very convenient, helps you get your bearings as well. I highly recommend advance purchase of Edinburgh Castle so you don't have to wait in the long line. I took the Hop-On Hop Off to the Royal Mile it drops off right by Edinburgh Castle where there are lots of pubs, restaurants and shopping. Give yourself a few hours at Edinburgh Castle. Edinburgh Military Tattoo @ Edinburgh Castle, St. Margaret's Chapel. I had lunch after right by the the Castle at the Witchery, delicious splurge! try and make a reservation ahead of time. Worked by way to Holyroodhouse where Scottish Parliament is as well and you can begin your ascent up to Arthur's seat comfortable hiking shoes, water, camera and give yourself 45 minutes or more for the climb, absolutely worth it!! Sunrise or sunset the best!! Finished with dinner at at Whiski Bar and Restaurant, flights and delicious food!!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Barry H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

On our trip we visited Glasgow Cathedral, Stirling Castle, Urquhart Castle, Balvenie Castle, St. Andrew's Castle, St. Andrew's Cathedral and Edinburgh Castle. We purchased out pass before leaving home and it was well worth it. The lines to get in weren't too long when we visited with the exception of Edinburgh Castle and there it was so nice to have a separate line to get to the ticket office. Well Worth It.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Kelsey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the best purchase I made for our entire 2 week trip to the UK. You can get to everything you could ever want to get to from the buses available with this pass. Not to mention the fast pass for Edinburgh Castle and admission to the Palace of Holyrood. Time did not allow for us to get to the HMY Britannia but we did take the bus that goes out to Leith and the Britannia which was highly enjoyable just in itself. My recommendation is to start your day early because the buses do not run very late into the evening. If I had one complaint it would be the fact that none of the tour buses include evening tours, which would have offered a different view of the city as well as being able to get around easier for more dinner options. Overall, EXCELLENT experience and a MUST buy if you plan to stay in Edinburgh!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Janice B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was well worth the money and enabled us to see far more than would otherwise have been possible in only two days. The ticket included entry to the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh castle and Holyrood Palace and a choice of 4 different bus tours. We saw lots of the city and also went to the royal Horticultural Gardens ans St Arthur's seat. The only trip not included and which we did on our own was to Rosslyn Chapel another great experience. Would highly recommend this tour the Majestic.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is well worth it to buy if you are visiting more than a few castles. You still have to wait in line. The only thing is there are only a few places that you can convert this purchase into the actual pass. Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle and a few others. So you need to make sure one of the spots is one of the first places you visit. Luckily we stopped at Stirling on our first day.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Aisha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Viator's service was awesome and never disappoints every time I book with them. Skipping the line to Edinburgh Castle was a great idea as we had a short time in Edinburgh and didn't want to waste time queuing for tickets. The Castle itself was not bad though there are a lot to see except the exceptional views of Edinburgh. If you're visiting the city for the 1st time, it is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Gina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. It's so easy hopping on and off the buses and with the Royal Edinburgh Ticket you can take any of the different hop-on buses to see different parts of the city. It was a great value having Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Yacht Britannia. Just a note, if you use the red buses, you cannot get to the Yacht Britannia, but the red buses will take you there. Be sure to ask when getting your ticket. Other than that, great value.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laurie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hannah was an excellent tour guide. Highly recommend this tour of the Royal Mile and the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Chrisopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Edinburgh castle and the royal mile is a blast back in time and wonderful experience. People in this beautiful Scotland city are super.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Leslie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

MY favorite city and tour. The Edinburgh Castle was amazing and I could have stayed there all day but we had the Palace too. Both amazing! Have to admit we just did not have enough time for the boat but still feel like my ticket was worth the price and we did not have to wait in line anywhere! Bus driver pointed out all of the highlights and it was easy to get on and off-do not miss this!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

LEO

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Hop on Hop off is definitely the best way to see the sights around the centre of the city but give the Edinburgh Castle a miss unless you are really interested in huge crowds and military history. The Palace and the Yacht Britannia are well worth the visit

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Ralph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Edinburgh Castle was a gem. The guided tours of the grounds provided a great overview of the Castle History and structures. It is a must see for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! We loved learning about Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

jubitzbk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was great to skip the long, long line to enter Edinburgh Castle. We printed the paper voucher. It was unclear where to receive the tickets, but the castle staff were very helpful and gave us directions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

marcia b b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hop on hop off two day bus ticket was perfect. We rode four different buses going around the city for two days and it took us to everything we wanted to see. The green bus is an excellent introduction to Edinburgh with a live guide. We stopped at Holyrood House, the Royal Botanic Garden, the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Bobby, and saw more sites than we could visit in our time in Edinburgh. The only drawback is that some of the buses stop running by about 5 pm and that wasn't always late enough to catch one back to our hotel area, so we ended up riding a city bus one evening. Not a big deal, but it would be convenient if each route ran until 7 or 8 pm. Otherwise, I highly recommend the hop on hop off two day bus ticket!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Mike_in_Kyiv United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I'm giving it 5 stars. But we never went to the Edinburgh Castle. We visited Elgin Cathedral, Duffus Castle and Glasgow Cathedral. Nice venues, easy using the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Sandy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really recommend taking this walk tour of the city and Edinburgh castle. the tour guide from Mercat tours was great and really knowledgeable about the city and it's history and loved living there. If you can get Gillian to the be the guide you will have a wealth of knowledge about Edinburgh by the time the tour is done. While it rained the whole time that we were there we were ready for the wet weather an didn't let that hamper our enjoyment of the day

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Larry

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The guided tour that is available lasts about 25 minutes and is informative.

The lines and ticket process at Edinburgh Castle aren and #39;t managed very well and there were about 2000 people waiting at the entrance.

Expect to spend about 1.5 to 2 hours at the castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Shane C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Hop-on Hop-off tour is the only way to become familiar with a City you haven't visited before. Most of the buses had guides or earbuds with commentary. Driving around in Edinburgh is in my opinion, horrendous and even walking can be difficult trying not to get lost. There are numerous sights to visit with The Museum of Scotland, Dynamic Earth and Royal Yacht Britannia being highlights.Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse are alright but i'm about castled out at this point.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

rasaky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Wendy was a wealth of knowledge and we really loved our walking tour so much information and history along the Royal Mile and then the Castle Edinburgh Castle is spectacular, would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Susan P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skipping the line was a great idea! Loved seeing Edinburgh Castle -- a must-do for Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

These buses are a great way to get an overview of the old town and out to Leith for the royal yacht. We were not able to get into Holyroodhouse since HRH is currently staying there but we will go back later to tour. It was fun to watch the attendees at the Royal garden party. There is something very sexy about guys in kilts. Not so much ladies in funny hats. The tour of Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and informative and would be a hit with kids. The tea room was a very fine respite from the rain. The royal yacht Britannia is not to be missed. It was a view into the mostly private part of the royal family's lives and is a fun tour for kids. The 48 hour time period to ride the buses was a big plus. We stretched it over 3 days from noon on the first day to noon on the third day. There is some overlap of the routes but we found that to be helpful when we started walking the city as it all seemed familiar. We took each bus all the way around on the first ride and then got off and on where we liked on subsequent rides. We preferred the recorded tours because they were easier to hear. Since the live tour guide was riding on the upper level and we were on the lower level to keep out of the rain hearing was a problem. I have mentioned rain. It has rained every day but Edinburgh is used to that and it didn't keep us from going wherever we liked. That said, it also doesn't rain constantly so it's fine if you have good rain gear with you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved how we were able to skip the lines and just walk right in. We decided not to get the audio tour and just walk around the castle. Loved that we were able to see and take pictures of everything, but the crown jewels. Highly recommend seeing the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

KEBeeler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great value. We were able to visit the Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the royal yacht. We used the hop on/off bus both days to get us prom place to place, as well as riding a the complete loop on a couple of the lines.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Debi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a deal! I only wish we had had more time. The drivers were charming, the tours interesting and informative and the sights too wonderful to describe. this was an excellent value and our skip the line ticket to Edinburgh Castle was worth the whole price.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message