Edinburgh ATTRACTIONS See all

Edinburgh Castle

Look up anywhere in Edinburgh's old town and you'll see Edinburgh Castle, seeming to grow out of the blackened cold volcano that forms its plinth. There's evidence of human habitation on this spot that dates back to 900 BC, and the Castle has been ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This is well worth it to buy if you are visiting more than a few castles. You still have to wait in line. The only thing is there are only a few places that you can convert this purchase into the actual pass. Edinburgh Castle, Stirling Castle and a few others. So you need to make sure one of the spots is one of the first places you visit. Luckily we stopped at Stirling on our first day.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Aisha A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Viator's service was awesome and never disappoints every time I book with them. Skipping the line to Edinburgh Castle was a great idea as we had a short time in Edinburgh and didn't want to waste time queuing for tickets. The Castle itself was not bad though there are a lot to see except the exceptional views of Edinburgh. If you're visiting the city for the 1st time, it is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Gina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great experience. It's so easy hopping on and off the buses and with the Royal Edinburgh Ticket you can take any of the different hop-on buses to see different parts of the city. It was a great value having Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Yacht Britannia. Just a note, if you use the red buses, you cannot get to the Yacht Britannia, but the red buses will take you there. Be sure to ask when getting your ticket. Other than that, great value.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Laurie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Hannah was an excellent tour guide. Highly recommend this tour of the Royal Mile and the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Chrisopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Edinburgh castle and the royal mile is a blast back in time and wonderful experience. People in this beautiful Scotland city are super.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Leslie N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

MY favorite city and tour. The Edinburgh Castle was amazing and I could have stayed there all day but we had the Palace too. Both amazing! Have to admit we just did not have enough time for the boat but still feel like my ticket was worth the price and we did not have to wait in line anywhere! Bus driver pointed out all of the highlights and it was easy to get on and off-do not miss this!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

LEO

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The Hop on Hop off is definitely the best way to see the sights around the centre of the city but give the Edinburgh Castle a miss unless you are really interested in huge crowds and military history. The Palace and the Yacht Britannia are well worth the visit

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Ralph P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The Edinburgh Castle was a gem. The guided tours of the grounds provided a great overview of the Castle History and structures. It is a must see for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Nicole W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing! We loved learning about Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

jubitzbk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was great to skip the long, long line to enter Edinburgh Castle. We printed the paper voucher. It was unclear where to receive the tickets, but the castle staff were very helpful and gave us directions.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

marcia b b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The hop on hop off two day bus ticket was perfect. We rode four different buses going around the city for two days and it took us to everything we wanted to see. The green bus is an excellent introduction to Edinburgh with a live guide. We stopped at Holyrood House, the Royal Botanic Garden, the Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh Castle, Greyfriars Bobby, and saw more sites than we could visit in our time in Edinburgh. The only drawback is that some of the buses stop running by about 5 pm and that wasn't always late enough to catch one back to our hotel area, so we ended up riding a city bus one evening. Not a big deal, but it would be convenient if each route ran until 7 or 8 pm. Otherwise, I highly recommend the hop on hop off two day bus ticket!

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Mike_in_Kyiv United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I'm giving it 5 stars. But we never went to the Edinburgh Castle. We visited Elgin Cathedral, Duffus Castle and Glasgow Cathedral. Nice venues, easy using the pass.

Doing what: Historic Scotland Explorer Pass

Sandy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I really recommend taking this walk tour of the city and Edinburgh castle. the tour guide from Mercat tours was great and really knowledgeable about the city and it's history and loved living there. If you can get Gillian to the be the guide you will have a wealth of knowledge about Edinburgh by the time the tour is done. While it rained the whole time that we were there we were ready for the wet weather an didn't let that hamper our enjoyment of the day

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Larry

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The guided tour that is available lasts about 25 minutes and is informative.

The lines and ticket process at Edinburgh Castle aren and #39;t managed very well and there were about 2000 people waiting at the entrance.

Expect to spend about 1.5 to 2 hours at the castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Shane C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The Hop-on Hop-off tour is the only way to become familiar with a City you haven't visited before. Most of the buses had guides or earbuds with commentary. Driving around in Edinburgh is in my opinion, horrendous and even walking can be difficult trying not to get lost. There are numerous sights to visit with The Museum of Scotland, Dynamic Earth and Royal Yacht Britannia being highlights.Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyroodhouse are alright but i'm about castled out at this point.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

rasaky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Wendy was a wealth of knowledge and we really loved our walking tour so much information and history along the Royal Mile and then the Castle Edinburgh Castle is spectacular, would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh Castle

Susan P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Skipping the line was a great idea! Loved seeing Edinburgh Castle -- a must-do for Edinburgh!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jeannie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

These buses are a great way to get an overview of the old town and out to Leith for the royal yacht. We were not able to get into Holyroodhouse since HRH is currently staying there but we will go back later to tour. It was fun to watch the attendees at the Royal garden party. There is something very sexy about guys in kilts. Not so much ladies in funny hats. The tour of Edinburgh Castle was fascinating and informative and would be a hit with kids. The tea room was a very fine respite from the rain. The royal yacht Britannia is not to be missed. It was a view into the mostly private part of the royal family's lives and is a fun tour for kids. The 48 hour time period to ride the buses was a big plus. We stretched it over 3 days from noon on the first day to noon on the third day. There is some overlap of the routes but we found that to be helpful when we started walking the city as it all seemed familiar. We took each bus all the way around on the first ride and then got off and on where we liked on subsequent rides. We preferred the recorded tours because they were easier to hear. Since the live tour guide was riding on the upper level and we were on the lower level to keep out of the rain hearing was a problem. I have mentioned rain. It has rained every day but Edinburgh is used to that and it didn't keep us from going wherever we liked. That said, it also doesn't rain constantly so it's fine if you have good rain gear with you.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved how we were able to skip the lines and just walk right in. We decided not to get the audio tour and just walk around the castle. Loved that we were able to see and take pictures of everything, but the crown jewels. Highly recommend seeing the Edinburgh Castle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

KEBeeler United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great value. We were able to visit the Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the royal yacht. We used the hop on/off bus both days to get us prom place to place, as well as riding a the complete loop on a couple of the lines.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Debi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a deal! I only wish we had had more time. The drivers were charming, the tours interesting and informative and the sights too wonderful to describe. this was an excellent value and our skip the line ticket to Edinburgh Castle was worth the whole price.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Mary W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed Edinburgh castle, and the fast track ticket was convenient. Loved the church, the jewels, and the people who worked there were helpful and friendly. Thank you again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

Jennifer K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed our time at the Edinburgh Castle. We went during the week on a rainy day and there wasn't much of a line to skip. We would recommend to get the skip the line ticket, just in case.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Edinburgh Castle Entrance Ticket

PS Dutta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

All three attractions with the Royal Edinburgh ticket are worth visiting. Edinburgh Castle is the highlight! The flexibility to avail buses of four tour operators allows coverage of all areas of Edinburgh. Value for money.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Christopher C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I am a huge walker and so I could have easily done without this tour. However, the great aspect of this tour is the fact that you also get a fast track ticket to the Edinburgh Castle which could easily save you hours in line depending on the time of day you go. You also get tickets to the Holyrood Palace and the Royal Navy ship. I didn't have any inkling of venturing out to the harbor to hop on the boat been on too many in my life. I also couldn't utilize the Palace ticket as the Queen was in town and that is her residence while in Scotland. I feel like I was one of the few to get on AND OFF at locations. Most people just stayed on through the whole ride. If you want to get a nice tour of the most touristy parts of the city, and also learn a little bit of history to boot, then it's worthwhile. I personally wouldn't use it again and wish I could get a partial refund of my unused Holyrood and Royal Ship ticket. I'm not upset about it though and would say to use this to get around the city. It's a beautiful city.

Doing what: Royal Edinburgh Ticket Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tours and Edinburgh Castle Admission

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message